• Discover new ways to elevate your game with the updated DGCourseReview app!
    It's entirely free and enhanced with features shaped by user feedback to ensure your best experience on the course. (App Store or Google Play)

Discing down

mmilam90

Bogey Member
I've been playing for a few years and have heard this term thrown around occasionally. I think it's time I tried my hand at it. My home course is fairly long, but the first hole is a wide open straight 285 feet. My goal this summer has been to successfully drive with only a mid or putter. I've been able to do that a handful of times this month and want to try discing down my whole game.

My bag does have a handful of high speed drivers that only work out for me on a good day. Luckily I have been on a fairway driver spree and have a handful of teebirds, escapes, saint pros, eagles a rival and an apache. My go to mid is a lucid truth and driving/approach putter is a fuzion judge.

Could I start my discing down attempts with the following?

Teebird
Saint pro
Escape (beat in bio fuzion and newer lucid)
Rival
Apache
Truth
Judge (fuzion for driving and classic to putt with)

If you're actually discing down, I'd even dump the Escape.

Seems to be some overlap in the Teebird/Rival/Saint Pro area. No clue about the Apache.

The most important part of discing down when I did it was learning to throw mids and putters and only throwing speed 7-9 drivers on wide open driver holes. Once it finally clicked what a mid was for and I could throw 250 foot+ beautiful midrange/putter shots with no fade or put them on hyzer /anhyzer lines my game improved dramatically.