• Discover new ways to elevate your game with the updated DGCourseReview app!
    It's entirely free and enhanced with features shaped by user feedback to ensure your best experience on the course. (App Store or Google Play)

Form Analysis for Goddy

Goddy

Good evening, everyone. I have read through this forum off and on since I started playing and I have finally decided to create a form analysis thread. I understand the body mechanics and sequence of a proper drive, but I am struggling to translate certain aspects into my own drive.

This first video was from last week, driving a putter 330-340ft. I had recorded this video in slow-mo for myself and I am not sure how to link a video with a faster playback speed selected. I have always tried to keep the disc in place during my backswing, and after watching this I realized I was doing so way too early. I believe this caused an intermittent nose-up issue I have with distance drivers.

I went out this afternoon to try and delay my backswing. I did not succeed, though it felt like I was waiting until all my weight was on my back foot before the plant. This was a distance driver shot from today, measured out to about 440. I recorded four other drives that unfortunately looked the same, but all five were within fifteen feet of each other.

Finally, and this may all be connected, when I mess around and throw the Feldberg-style in the field (backswing in an arc vs. bent elbow) it is very easy for me to feel the lag of the disc when throwing hyzer and put serious power behind my shot, but I cannot for the life of me recreate that lag-feeling with my normal bent-elbow backswing.

Thank you all for taking the time to read through this and provide any insight that you may have.