• Discover new ways to elevate your game with the updated DGCourseReview app!
    It's entirely free and enhanced with features shaped by user feedback to ensure your best experience on the course. (App Store or Google Play)

Help, I have an awful natural hyzer!

clydeanator15

I'm very new to disc golf (only played 4-5 times now), so I need some advice. Almost every time I throw my driver, it cuts hard to my left. I'm keeping it close to my body, and staying pretty well level. I'm using a disccraft xpress driver. It has a 0 rating, so it should fly pretty straight. Tips?

Welcome to the game, and DGCR! This is more Sidewinder's territory, but I just want to wish you luck. Start off nice and easy. Don't overthink your drive. Keep your throw flatter and follow through on an even plane.

And most importantly, have fun! You will improve, I gaurantee it.

Thanks BigSky!
And honestly Bassman, I'm not sure. Between the huge hyzer, and the fact that every disc.I throw seems to be a tree magnet, I can't really tell you.

First off, hyzer and diving left are two different things. Hyzer refers to the angle of release of the disc. Releasing the disc flat and it diving left could be that the disc is too fast or too overstable for you right now, and/or that you are releasing nose-up.

First off, hyzer and diving left are two different things. Hyzer refers to the angle of release of the disc. Releasing the disc flat and it diving left could be that the disc is too fast or too overstable for you right now, and/or that you are releasing nose-up.

Ahhh, thank you for clearing that up. It's supposed to be a perfectly stable disc. I haven't really had an experienced teacher, as my brother got me in to it, and he's only just started as well. So it's been lots of YouTube. I'm going out this morning to work on my drives!