• Discover new ways to elevate your game with the updated DGCourseReview app!
    It's entirely free and enhanced with features shaped by user feedback to ensure your best experience on the course. (App Store or Google Play)

lolbus needs help

lolbus

Hey folks,

Long time browser, first(ish) time poster. I've been trying to improve my BH form but I'm hitting a wall and would greatly appreciate some feedback. I've seen many issues with my swing and the my stats demonstrate that something (probably many things) is terribly wrong (attached below for context). I've been playing for just under 2 years now and have been doing some of SW's drills to try and gain more of a feeling of what I should be feeling in the BH throw. I've read the fundamentals of form a few times over and I'm hooked on thinking about how bodies move in an athletic context, so please talk nerdy to me! When learning, I like to try and understand things from as close to first principals as I can, so apologies in advance if my questions seem obvious, I'm coming from a place of curiosity.

A bit about me: I'm a reasonably tall 34 year old dude (6'3.5) with a decently strong lower body and long arms (6'7.5 wingspan), so I know there's a lot my body has to offer, I just need to figure out how to trick my body into doing what I want. I enjoy many sports like volleyball, softball, squash, and I can get a lot out of my body in those sports. What I find funny is that the disc golf drills have significantly improved the power and quality of my squash backhand - the buttwipe drill specifically has given me a well of power I can now access without putting any strain on my elbow. However, as soon as I get a disc in my hand, everything goes wonk. Recently, I've gotten a really annoying case of tennis elbow that I'm finally getting over that was caused by DG, which is my primary focus here - being able to play my favourite sport (DG) without hurting myself.

Vids:

back view (60% power attempts):