• Discover new ways to elevate your game with the updated DGCourseReview app!
    It's entirely free and enhanced with features shaped by user feedback to ensure your best experience on the course. (App Store or Google Play)

Help with supplies and a few questions.

MoundsPounds

Bogey Member
So I'm fairly new to disc golf, but have fallen in love with the sport and dyeing discs.

I've run through what I have at the house from working with my airbrush stuff and was hoping to see what you guys are using for success. I was using 631 vinyl and it works well but I'm having a few troubles with wrinkles, especially towards the edges of the discs.

So here are my questions. What are you guys using for vinyl. I've seen 651 works nice, and that some are using the greenstar. Will either one make it easier for me with wrinkles?

Do any of you have any tips/tricks for centering the disc on your stencils? How about making sure you get clean edges, no wrinkles?

I also need to pick up a new roll of transfer tape. What do you guys like to use?

Thanks, I've been very impressed with everyone's work on here. You guys do some amazing work.

I use greenstar and love it. it's flexible and easy to work with low clean up afterwards.

how used 12 inch wide transfer tape Lo tac. also green star brand I believe.

I have a squeegee applicator that I like to use instead of a credit card. it comes to a tapered edge instead of a hard one, but I used the credit card and Best Buy gift card for years without problems.

if you look in the tutorials post that is sticky on this forum I have an airbrush tutorial. DyingToPlay also uses airbrush at expert level.

Yeah I looked over the airbursh stuff and got some all free and clear, to do some mixes at it was outlined. My biggest struggle is really applying the vinyl and getting a good smooth surface to work with.
Thanks for the recommendations. I'll give them a try.