• Discover new ways to elevate your game with the updated DGCourseReview app!
    It's entirely free and enhanced with features shaped by user feedback to ensure your best experience on the course. (App Store or Google Play)

If you could go back and tell yourself anything as a Disc Golf beginner...

davidalln

... what would it be? Would you have practiced differently? More football field work and less course rounds? More putting and less driving? Buying less discs and learning more shots?

(DISCLAIMER: I am a complete beginner looking to soak up any information I can, so I figure learning from the experiences of others would a good way to learn)

I would say "Slightly younger Camden, you need to learn about the discs you are throwing with. Learn a few and slowly grow in to them. Find some that will help you develop straight shots and build up your arm strength. Be killer with your putting and learn god form first. You will be mad when you are having to go back and re-teach yourself proper putting form. Drive for show, putt for dough."

I just need that little angel (or is it devil) on my shoulder to remind me "You don't need that" everytime I peruse a DG store.

I would say: Don't worry about how discs are designed to fly until you can throw them fast enough to matter... Whenever you can get that Wraith to consistently turn right, then you can worry about disc design characteristics... Ignore all the talk about stable -vs- unstable until that time...

Throw more backhand and non dominant arm

To try and learn online like I do now. For a few years I couldn't even tell you what overstable/understable/hyzer/anhyzer was because I just picked up a disc and figured it out myself. I guess not be so stubborn and learn disc golf by trial and error but read up a little bit more.

second would be to use midranges instead of drivers!

To put down the "ego discs" and learn to throw with slower molds.