• Discover new ways to elevate your game with the updated DGCourseReview app!
    It's entirely free and enhanced with features shaped by user feedback to ensure your best experience on the course. (App Store or Google Play)

[Question] Looking for midrange/approach that works at 60-80% power

Evan27

Bogey Member
Hi guys, I am new to this forum. I've been playing disc golf for many years and just recently started to seriously improve my game. This question concerns one of my weakest areas of disc golf, which is approaching from outside 50 feet to the the next distance I can reliably power down a fairway driver (for me this is champion banshee and probably would put that at approx. 120 ft give or take 10 feet or so. So for me this is about i.e. flat footed shots in the woods or behind trees trying to give myself the best chances on a putt.

I think the more glide the better in this situation (travels further on misthrow). Right now the best thing I've found is the DX shark, which has worked out okay for me, but that is usually due to luck (it doesn't go on the intended line, but still somehow gets me close enough). I switched to a g-star shark to provide more stability at higher speeds(over 80%), but it lost me some of the accuracy within my gap. I've looked at lot within innova molds and one thing I found out is my middle finger can't handle beaded rims without getting irritated.

I have no experience with other manufacturers so I wanted to get some input and also wanted to see if this was a common range that people struggle with.

I struggled with that distance because I'm not too good at low power shots. Upshots shouldn't be forgotten with field work, I take a stack of putters and work that shot to warm up. Here's what I use

Sonic 75% of the time. Soft, glidey upshots. Good for any distance from long putts to 180ft. Straight or turn over. Never in strong winds.
Pig for overstability. Headwinds.
Wizard for when those two don't feel right. Stable. Baby-flexes.