• Discover new ways to elevate your game with the updated DGCourseReview app!
    It's entirely free and enhanced with features shaped by user feedback to ensure your best experience on the course. (App Store or Google Play)

New golfer, did I make the right purchase?

GarrettK

I started playing leisurely about a few years ago never even really knew anything about disc golf. Once I started playing I found out how to throw sidearm and was able to out-drive those whom I played with ease using whatever discs that were at my disposal. I now have been looking into trying to take disc golfing a little more serious just because it's fun to be competitive at something as I already play the video game Madden competitively around the country.

So I just finally made my first purchase of 3 new discs. After reading some reviews on Innova and Amazon I went with the Innova GStar TeeBird 165-170g which I heard is better in wooded areas in which there is ton of those down here in south florida, the Innova Blizzard Champion Boss 130-140g so that I can finally throw 300+ feet I don't believe I touch 300 feet or close yet but after reading reviews this disc can help with that and the Star San Marino Roc 170-175g for my putting and lay up game.

Did I make the right choice on my first purchase of discs? Is there anything else I should look into purchasing in the future? Also is there any disc golfers down here in south florida??

...the Innova Blizzard Champion Boss 130-140g so that I can finally throw 300+ feet I don't believe I touch 300 feet or close yet but after reading reviews this disc can help with that and the Star San Marino Roc 170-175g for my putting and lay up game.

Yeah, I'm sure that Boss will definitely help your distance. :|

You could use a putter, rather than trying to putt with a Roc.

I believe I have a basic putter in my bag. I just thought to get the Roc to try hit a putt from a distance. That is the hardest part for me being able to hit a long putt.