• Discover new ways to elevate your game with the updated DGCourseReview app!
    It's entirely free and enhanced with features shaped by user feedback to ensure your best experience on the course. (App Store or Google Play)

41 year newbie

360guy

Hello. I am Dale from southwest Ohio.

I started playing in 1981 but still consider myself a newbie. Back in those days we drove thirty miles to the closest course and played with Whammo Frisbee's. After over thirty years of not playing I started playing again with a couple of friends about five years ago. We played that summer and haven't played again since. Now that I am retired I have been playing by myself a couple of times a week. My problem is that I have never played with someone who is better than I am and as a result I have no idea what I am doing.

I have been reading these forums and find it to be a great source of information but I still do not understand a lot of things. For example, I understand what the rating numbers on the disks mean but I do not know how to apply them during in game situations. I bought several disks to experiment with that range in speed from 5 -13. I find that I can throw the innova beast (10 speed) the farthest. I throw about 130 - 160 feet which I know is not good enough and I guess it is a problem with my technique. I am throwing forehand because it is more comfortable.

I have a lot of questions and I am looking forward to learning from you guys. Here are my first questions:

1. What is a fairway driver?
2. What is the difference between a distance driver, fairway driver and midrange?
3. What distance is considered midrange and what distance is a putt?

Thanks in advance.

Hey, I started playing in the early 80s, too, and came back in the last few year. So, I had the same questions you do. In regards to form, disc and distance—there's much to recommend working with putters, which can go 200 to 300 ft or more with decent form.