• Discover new ways to elevate your game with the updated DGCourseReview app!
    It's entirely free and enhanced with features shaped by user feedback to ensure your best experience on the course. (App Store or Google Play)

[Putters] Putter Help

I am brand new to the sport and have only played a couple of times. I bought a 5 disc Innova set of of Amazon, and am happy with the purchase but don't love the putter it came with (Rhyno).

Any advice on another good starting putter I should buy or should I just stick with the Rhyno and learn to throw it better.

Thanks for your help.

go to a store and try a few different putters

Buy the one that feels the best, should only be $8-9

I'd say stick with it, but I love rhynos...

pick a putter and stick with it, constantly switching up molds can be a setback to progression.

most discs fly the same 15ft and in so do what feels right.

Stock answer:

Go to a store or a local league. Hold as many diferent putters as you can in your own hands. Wave them around. Toss them if you can. Pick one that feels really comfortable.
Then buy two (or more) of them at 175(ish) grams. Then give that 150 DX Aviar to a dog. Or a kid. Or throw it into the ocean.

People are going to say a bunch more specific stuff. About plastics mostly, and beads, and Wizards. People are going to say a lot about Wizards.

But just pick what feels good and get a couple heavy ones. Then throw them until they are destroyed or you are tired of them. At which point you can get different ones. Or more of the same ones.

Have fun.

Yep, we're pretty much done here.

Good luck, quartersmostly!

For a player starting out, you can't beat a DX Aviar. Go anywhere that sells discs and there's a 90% chance they will have them. They are cheap, neutral with a hair of stability and are widely available to buy backups. Discraft Magnets fit this bill too, if your local places have lots of DC.

Stock answer: