• Discover new ways to elevate your game with the updated DGCourseReview app!
    It's entirely free and enhanced with features shaped by user feedback to ensure your best experience on the course. (App Store or Google Play)

Should I switch to heavier discs?

nnelson42

Bogey Member
I have been playing for about 10 months and have almost exclusively 150g DX plastic. The reasoning for this is because I heard it was better to start with lighter discs to develop form.

About 3-4 months in I was really doing well. Had a good snap and discs were going exactly where I wanted them. Once the winter came I didn't play nearly as often as I used to, but was still able to play about 10-20 rounds between late december and mid march.

As the days have gotten longer I have been able to play a lot more, but have not been able to get back to the form I once had (or at least the results I was having early on). One of the biggest challenges seems to be the drives. I find that I am turning the over a lot (RHBH...discs are going to the right). At first I thought I might just be strong arming it (which I probably am), but regardless I think you can only probably throw 150g discs so far/hard...Even when I was going good there seemed to be a certain limit to how far I could throw.

Anyway...should I think about moving to heavier discs if I am turning over a lot of my 150g discs? Is my power being limited more by the weight of the disc (and not being able to throw it as hard) or simply by my technique?

BTW...I am 30 years old, 6'1" and in good shape.

Some will disagree, but I don't find that much difference between weights of the disc so much as the plastic type. My 150g Blizzard Boss holds its line and travels similar distance to my Champion Boss at 175g.

Your issue may be the DX plastic is beginning to show its age. Have you tried a fresh Star or Champion version of your fav discs?