• Discover new ways to elevate your game with the updated DGCourseReview app!
    It's entirely free and enhanced with features shaped by user feedback to ensure your best experience on the course. (App Store or Google Play)

starting the lawnmower to hinging back to pulling? ACE IT Disc new series Help

jerkwagon

so i have been playing for 3 years now, athletic my whole life, hockey baseball, snow/skateboarding, surfing etc, Started playing DG for fun and only threw stupid nose up hyzers.

Ok youtube, watched a bunch of videos, (before there were coaches searchable in the aglo) found an old video that said, reach straight back and start the lawnmower, so i started that, I was getting about 220ft max sometimes more but 200 on the reg. after a year and half of watching others just throw 350 at the course with no effort, it made me realize that im not doing something right as i should be getting better, my accuracy was pretty decent but still i should be throwing farther..

so i made a post on reddit asking for what i should be doing. mixed bag of stuff, one guy described it as elbowing down a door, (pulling more)

Then i found Overthrow, Josh was able to translate drills i could understand (well mostly) i could see my form improving and i finally understood that "you never pull" because when you do , you tend to release late etc.. You turn your hips and it puts your in the pocket and then you release. For 5 months of field work i thought i was doing this, until people said i was still pulling, Then it finally hit me, my right arm (bicep) should stay 90ish degrees from my chest until i release (dont flame me , yes i know pros go past this, but my point is you dont ELBOW to 140 degrees) I FIGURED IT OUT, focused the hell on this, but again not much for gains,