• Discover new ways to elevate your game with the updated DGCourseReview app!
    It's entirely free and enhanced with features shaped by user feedback to ensure your best experience on the course. (App Store or Google Play)

Baldwin City, KS

Baldwin City Lake

2.935(based on 7 reviews)
Filter course reviews

Filter reviews

Filter reviews

Baldwin City Lake reviews

Filter
10 0
Pizza God
Diamond level trusted reviewer
Premium Member
Experience: 36.3 years 1756 played 608 reviews
3.00 star(s)

The good and the bad

Reviewed: Played on:Feb 15, 2024 Played the course:once

Pros:

Has most of the tee signs
Baskets are mostly OK
Has some good holes
Elevation
A couple of water carry shots
Course map at entrance
Very cool basket placement for hole 10

Cons:

Grass tee's
A couple of the tee signs are damaged or flat out missing
Better have a 300ft drive for some of those water shots.
At least one basket badly damaged
A few holes that are mostly wide open with artificial OB (not a fan)
Parking issue - Sign says "do not park on grass" but there isn't any parking area so to speak and the little road in the park is one lane.
No restrooms or port a potties.

Other Thoughts:

This is a mixed course. I really liked several of the holes but there are several that are not all that good.

I parked near hole 1 in the grass, I didn't notice the sign till I was walking to hole 9 and looked at the course map. Hole 9 should be hole 1 with hole 8 being hole 18 in my opinion.

Course starts out with 3 holes in a mostly open area with only a couple of tree's. The only obstacles were the OB lines. Being winter time, it was kind of hard to see where these lines were as everything was mowed.

I liked the next few holes and found them challenging
Hole 4 has you throwing across the road with the "lake" being on the right.
Hole 5 for a right handed player also has you hyzering over the lake to the basket
Hole 6 is the scariest hole and is actually a very good risk reward hole. Again, you are throwing over the edge of the lake to a basket perched just over the edge of the dam. Come up short and you disc may hit the dam and roll back into the water. Hyzer out and your down below the dam for a fun upshot to the basket. There is a road along the top of the dam. Yep, I skipped off this to the fairway of hole 8. Make sure you don't overthrow your upshot from here or your in the lake. Good chance of hitting and rolling back down the side of the dam too. I was very happy with a simple 3 here and escaped loosing a disc.

Hole 8 is a decent hole. uphill to a nice little green with OB park boundary to the right behind the basket and a couple of gradian trees to throw under.

Hole 9 was a fun little hole, flags were set up for a tee from under one of the pavilions making it the only cement tee pad. However you don't get a very good run up with the cement picnic table being behind you. This is a nice little shot over the lake.

Then you come to hole 10. the tee sign shows an alternate tee, but there was nothing marking it so I played the tee sign. Nice slight turnover shot to a basket located under one of the umbrella style pavilions. While not making it really much harder, it was very cool to play.

The rest of the course pretty much follows the bountry of the park with rough on the right and artificial OB on the left. Hole 12 did have a very nice green area. Hole 17 has the lake behind the basket, big overthrow risks throwing into it.

Hole 18 is over the edge of the lake and circle end of the driveway.

In general, wind would be the biggest issue out there. If you play the OB's on the more open holes, landing spots are important.

This is an old park, in the late 1800's this was a brick yard. You can see some building foundations and a few old kilns in the rough. It was converted to the water source and recreation area for the City about 100 years ago.

Would I play here again? Well, it's not the worst course I have ever played. If I lived close I might put it in rotation. But as far as driving a long way, probably not. There are much better courses less than an hour away well worth playing.

I actually did run into someone playing this course. He quit when it got to hole 6 because he said he can't throw that far and didn't want to loose a disc to the lake.

I have this course 3 stars because of the good holes. I would rate it higher if it had cement tee pads and better upkeep.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
12 0
Surge5
Gold level trusted reviewer
Experience: 9.9 years 170 played 170 reviews
2.00 star(s)

Prairie Grass Pit 2+ years

Reviewed: Updated: Played on:Sep 9, 2021 Played the course:once

Pros:

18 holes with some OB danger all around. The satellite image tee signs are surprisingly helpful in navigating the course as they have the other tee locations marked if they are in the image (e.g. 5's tee by 4's basket).

A lot of really good holes on the back half of this course. 14 is a nice uphill challenge with trees within 15' of the pin that will punish you for going long. 15 is a true 2-shot hole with a looming tree on the right side of the fairway about halfway down. 16 is a huge hyzer (which should be a par 3) , and then 17 is a short blind hole with a thin gap off the tee and finishing a bit right. I wish there were more inspired holes like this around the lake, but the only other one with decent challenge was hole 7. A 250' downhill with the pin tucked behind a tree with a real large crown.

Several shorter layouts can be made since 1-3, 4-10, and 11-18 all loop back to the start. This also means that the baskets of 3 and 18 can be used for putting practice before your round.

A very quiet area. There may be a few fishermen, but it's unlikely you'll bother them.

Cons:

The rough is horrible. It's probably not as big an issue for the beginning of the year, but in September a lot of it was chest-high and thick. It borders both sides of ten holes, while on one side of a further four. Searching is bad enough, but along with it is the thorns all over and the reed canary grass near the water that will rip you to shreds if you get your leg against it. If you go in the reeds... you're going to have a bad time.

So many uninspired holes. 1-3 are all just mowed strips of land, 4-6 have a little water danger but aren't too much to worry about (except for the murder reeds on 4), and the rest are just filler to move you to the next area of the course (8, 10, 18).

There are no tee pads, which leads to the tee area getting a little marshy. The baskets aren't that great, but are still better than a Veteran. Hole 11's basket has been badly vandalized.

Navigation is a lot easier due to the signs, but some of those signs have alternate tees which are nowhere to be found on the course.

Hole 13. The undefined tee areas make this hole either a ridiculously sharp dogleg, or a straightforward ace run based on where you choose to tee from.

Other Thoughts:

There's a lot of land that isn't used, and that's a shame. There's some elevation, some really great two-shot shapes that could be made... and it's all just... prairie grass. A redesign to remove holes 4-8 and make some real tough holes around the 1-2-3 loop and in the woods south of 13 would improve this place a lot.

Is this worth driving out to from KC or Topeka? Unless you just want to check it off your list, then no. Running the pin risks having to search for your disc for 20 minutes, but laying up just isn't as fun, now is it?
Was this review helpful? Yes No
8 0
Upshawt1979
Diamond level trusted reviewer
Premium Member
Experience: 21.1 years 551 played 429 reviews
3.00 star(s)

Autumn Afternoon on Baldwin City Lake 2+ years

Reviewed: Played on:Nov 24, 2017 Played the course:once

Pros:

The course set up at Baldwin City Lake is fairly decent. 18 holes, with tee signs, and some interesting throws. Water in play once in a while, and one basket under a metal gazebo. Hole 12 was a nice dogleg right that veered into the woods.

The tees are unimproved, but not too rutted or lumpy. The baskets are ok, and each hole has one. Tee signs are not bad, and the layout flows pretty well. Overall par 57 with three par 4 holes.

Much of the course is pretty open, and several holes have cut grass fairways and long rough surrounding them. A few mature trees help break up the lines and protect some of the baskets.

Cons:

I played here on Thanksgiving, and right off the bat some redneck was upset that I parked in the lot closest to the first hole. Had to put down his Bud Light and load up his dogs, guess it was a little too much.

This park has a lake, and fishermen may just be fishing the bank where you are trying to land a drive. I did lose one disc in the water with a rotten drive on hole 8.

Not a bad 18, but not a great one either. There is not a lot to work with but they did a pretty good job with what is available. Concrete tees would be a nice addition, along with a few benches and trashcans. A map could be handy as well, print one or put it on the phone.

Other Thoughts:

Baldwin City Lake is not a bad course in combination with one or two others on a road trip. I hit it after Kanza Park DGC in nearby Ottawa. The park itself and the gear were not as nicely kept, but it did have a bit more personality.

The water shots were not crazy risky, but brought in an element of danger. Gazebo basket at hole 10 was a putt I should have made but didn't, not even with two tries. I was 7 over par at 64. Made birdies on holes 7 and 16. I had a six, two fives with a penalty stroke for OB, and two bogey fours on my card. The wind wasn't terrible, and I really could have played a lot better. Maybe one of these days I will go back for another shot at this one. Then again, there are still a lot of unplayed courses on my wish list. We'll see how it goes.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
7 0
Rob Martin
Silver level trusted reviewer
Premium Member
Experience: 14.1 years 334 played 42 reviews
2.00 star(s)

HAD potential. 2+ years

Reviewed: Played on:Oct 5, 2014 Played the course:5+ times

Pros:

Good signage has been installed.
Score card/maps near Hole 1.
Actually very interesting shot selection.
Has a Portapoty.
If they took care of the cons, this could be a 3.5 easily.

Cons:

When this was first installed over a year ago, the installation was kind of a slow progression. However, it seemed like the upkeep has stalled out. Hole 3's basket could be ripped out of the ground as it is very loose. The baskets themselves are not the greatest - an off brand made in southern Kansas. Due to poor installation, the height of the baskets, from top of the basket to the chain apparatus, varies from hole to hole.

The biggest disappointment is the tall grass fairways of Holes 1-3, 11, 13-16, Not only are the fairways too narrow, but they are getting even narrower. Particularly holes 14-16, they are not mowing them as wide as they were when the course was first installed, and even then they needed to be wider yet. Hole 12 originally had a tunnel shot through the woods to an open green. The tunnel has grown shut.

No running water.

Other Thoughts:

I'm hoping the city steps up the upkeep of this course. If they don't, I probably won't be back.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
1 6
lazjak
Experience: 3 played 3 reviews
4.50 star(s)

Maple Leaf Fest 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Sep 28, 2014 Played the course:5+ times

Pros:

These pictures and other reviews are quite deceiving -- there is signage, multiple tees, no missing baskets, etc. This course is for real.
Water.
Tight fairways.

Cons:

Oblivious fishermen.
Someone stole the donkey statue on hole 17.

Other Thoughts:

Worth it!
Was this review helpful? Yes No
6 0
Chained Evil
Gold level trusted reviewer
Experience: 14.1 years 1129 played 232 reviews
3.00 star(s)

Rustic discing 2+ years

Reviewed: Updated: Played on:Mar 19, 2014 Played the course:once

Pros:

This course offers a variety of shots like uphill and downhill, short and long, and also has tall grass rough to keep you honest.
There are a few dog leg holes as well.
Slight elevation changes are present here and the shots over the lake give you just enough risk reward challenge. This course will test a variety of your skills.

Cons:

No signage, benches, or trashcans. In the summer it will get hot out here because there isn't much shade. The wind will surely be a factor here because many of the holes are open.
There is a threat of losing a disc on a few holes, especially the water shots, and in the tall grass rough.
There aren't any other amenities here besides the lake, so prepare accordingly. This course can be a bit confusing for the first time player so printing a map would be helpful.

Other Thoughts:

This is a solid play that is off the beaten path a bit. The addition of tee pads and especially signage would make this course a bit better. Signage would be extremely helpful to those visiting for the first time. The shots are here and the wind will add to the challenge of your round. If you are in the area its worth the stop.
***It appears according to 2 new reviews of this course that signage has been added. This is a good thing and if I could bump up my review .25 a disc I would. I don't think signage would make a .5 disc difference so I will be leaving my rating at 3.0****
Was this review helpful? Yes No
4 0
w1ck3d
Experience: 1 played 1 reviews
3.00 star(s)

Baldwin City Lake 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Updated: Played on:Oct 1, 2014 Played the course:5+ times

Pros:

Good mix of par 3 and 4s. Fun, short over water shots. Fairly easy to navigate if you have played there at lease once. hole 3 basket has been replaced and hold 18 is no longer bent.

Cons:

very tight fairways, tee pads aren't marked clearly. a lot of overgrown grass. could use more mowing and clearing of a few tunnels shots. a few baskets chains are crossed and not lined up properly.

Other Thoughts:

With the addition of signage it helps with on the spot par info and rough tee pad/pin location (tees still need improvement. this however seems pointless due to the poor up keep of the course. would love to see more tlc here.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

Latest posts

Top