• Discover new ways to elevate your game with the updated DGCourseReview app!
    It's entirely free and enhanced with features shaped by user feedback to ensure your best experience on the course. (App Store or Google Play)

Red Feather Lakes, CO

Beaver Meadows DGC

Permanent course
3.615(based on 19 reviews)
Filter course reviews

Filter reviews

Filter reviews

Beaver Meadows DGC reviews

Filter
3 0
Coolio_Hyzer
Experience: 21.1 years 26 played 2 reviews
3.00 star(s)

Lefty Biased Tough Course! 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:May 10, 2014 Played the course:2-4 times

Pros:

-The Mt. Setting is gorgeous
-The terrain is great
-Man up or go home on #1 drive(over water shot)
-Great Exercise
- Quiet
-Off the beaten path
-Lots of water hazards which I like

Cons:

-Signs, signs, nowhere are SIGNS! (very difficult to navigate, even after a round or two)
- Very Lefty back or Righty fore biased. (a con for me anyway)
- Losing discs is a guarantee.
-The tubing run is very muddy in the Spring which is when I visited.

Other Thoughts:

I had a lot of fun, we stayed at the resort for 3 nights and got quite a few rounds in, I would like to play this course mid summer when the runoff has dried, If you go to play leave yourself at least 3 hrs. after arrival as the worst part of the course is the difficult navigation.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
9 0
mndiscg
Diamond level trusted reviewer
Experience: 16.1 years 483 played 478 reviews
2.50 star(s)

Great Potential 2+ years

Reviewed: Played on:Mar 29, 2014 Played the course:2-4 times

Pros:

-Beautiful land. This course is located in the foothills of the Front Range of the Rockies. There are beautiful vistas all over this land.
-There was a good mix of open and wooded holes. On open holes there was usually some elevation or a few obstacles. Wooded holes weren't too wooded and all were fair.
-There were some (3-4) decent water shots here.
-The people working were nice and helpful.
-Plenty to do on this scenic dude ranch. You could bring others here for a relaxing weekend away from civilization.
-Restaurant on site is decent.
-Baskets are in decent shape.

Cons:

-Horse poo every where. This is a dude ranch.
-The course plays next to or on roads, ponds, trails, etc and there are people performing other activities or just hanging out here. This is definitely a multi-use place.
-Navigation is exceptionally horrible. Maps were somewhat helpful but you still need to go ahead to scout out most of the basket locations and finding the next tee can be quite hard sometimes.
-This course isn't really beginner friendly. A lot of the holes are long or have too long of water carries for people who can't throw reasonably far. I am a decent player and the challenges weren't really my kind of fun.
-Some of the holes crisscross or are just too close together. Seems crazy for a course on this much land to have that problem.
-The course is pay to play and the maintenance certainly isn't up to par for p2p courses.
-This course is set at 8500' elevation and you will walk a lot during your round. Not for the out of shape player.
-Many holes were missing tee signs and that didn't help navigation at all.
-Tees are natural and many aren't in the best shape.
-High altitude courses can expect quick changes in weather, be prepared for anything. Weather could be much different than Ft. Collins.
-Loss of discs can occur in both water and tall grass.

Other Thoughts:

-I really wanted to like this course more. It is in a beautiful area with some really nice people. However, disc golf seems to be low on the priority list here.
-I don't know if I would recommend the trip up here to play this course and Sundance. They are both pretty courses and they will challenge you. They will also frustrate you as I said before, disc golf is not top priority. If you want to visit a dude ranch then disc golf is an extra bonus.
-If they offered another set of tees to help out players that can't throw super far, cleaned up navigation and signage and worked on the tees, this course would probably get a solid 4 from me. There is potential.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
2 1
tbsox
Experience: 18 years 40 played 17 reviews
3.50 star(s)

Nice Area; Problematic Layout 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Sep 22, 2012 Played the course:once

Pros:

The front office and local amenities were both great in terms of atmosphere. Its a really pretty area and the views are very nice. Its a great combo of tight holes with a few grip and rips.

The last 3 holes are all open and fun to play. Mostly long but they are all neat throws or good open views with shot options. 1 was also a great hole with a good long over water throw.

Cons:

There were a few holes on the front 9 that even with a map were nearly impossible to find. The 6/7 transition even with a map was ridiculousness. We found the complete 7th hole before we found the hole for 6. Plus the drive for one flew over the head of the second hole. The only other option for the first drive of the 2 was to go high into trees.

Looking at the big picture the negative on this course is that its a beast of a course. While it is challenging and fun to play in the process by the end of the course my playing partners were all running low on fun because there was only so many times they could get beaten down by the course and keep their heads up.

Other Thoughts:

This is not built to be an amateur course. It is built to be challenging and a bit over the top. I was a fan of the course and may play it again in the future but this is not a family friendly course in terms of throw difficulty and overall distance.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
2 6
StimpiSteve
Experience: 165 played 11 reviews
1.00 star(s)

Needs improvements. 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Aug 7, 2012 Played the course:once

Pros:

Beautiful area for disc golf. Great hiking area. Good workout.

Cons:

The course was so poorly marked, and most of the baskets were hidden, that nearly every fairway had to be walked twice. Hard to find next tees.
It appeared someone put the course in a few years ago and forgot about it. Not a "Pay to Play" quality course. Very discappointing experience.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
2 7
Nancyjo9
Experience: 62 played 1 reviews
1.00 star(s)

Raw 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Aug 9, 2012 Played the course:once

Pros:

The views are nice. Restaurant was nice.

Cons:

, however that is the only thing I can say that was nice about the course. There were crossing fairways, missing tee's, changed fairways with no instruction. Tee's throwing down a road where there were horseback riders. The first hole is over a pond, close to 300 feet, being an amateur player, I should have just tossed a disc in the lake never to be seen again. The distances were not correct on the map or the tee sign (if there was one). Half way through we were ready to quit. Another player caught up with us and showed us the back nine, which better having someone to show us where to throw and the correct approximate distance of the hole. I will not be back, it was a waste of my $5 and there are much better courses to play.

Other Thoughts:

Better map with correct distances and pin locations., restroom that doesn't look like a horse trough. Amateur tees for a few of the holes. FLAGS on the baskets you cannot see.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
1 1
jdw80550
Experience: 21.2 years 90 played 15 reviews
4.00 star(s)

Excellent way to spend an morning 2+ years

Reviewed: Played on:Sep 7, 2011 Played the course:2-4 times

Pros:

Amazing Views!!! The reason that you come to Beaver Meadows is not to just play disc, it's to enjoy the wonderful area that is Colorado. There are 18 holes with lots of variety and distances. definately some tight shots, but a surprising amout of open shots for a mountain woods course.

Cons:

Long, Long, Long! Make sure that you bring plenty of water because you will HIKING, not walking the course. If you have issues with up and down, elevation, or bad knees, I would recommend that you not play. Can require alot of climbing if you are all over the place with your discs.

Other Thoughts:

This is definately worth the $5 bucks to play all day. One round normally takes closer to 3 hours due to all the walking and elevation. You can camp on site or stay in one of the room suites and the disc is included in the fee, which make it a nice place to take the family.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
2 7
Sidearm Slinger
Experience: 26.1 years 18 played 4 reviews
4.00 star(s)

Spot on 14erDisc 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:May 30, 2011 Played the course:once

Pros:

Instead of repeating 14erDisc's entire review i'll just say i totally agree with the whole thing because it's spot on.

Cons:

Had to skip 4 holes due to run off. Not the courses fault, just nature of the beast with spring mountain discin.

Other Thoughts:

Only thing to add is there is mad run off up there right now. If you can wait another month or so to play this course, it would be a wise choice. Also, if you stay at a lodge you can play for free. Lot's of stuff to do around the area and if you have a group it can be a great weekend.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
10 0
14erDisc
Silver level trusted reviewer
Experience: 14.3 years 40 played 40 reviews
4.00 star(s)

Hard, Hilly, Waterbound 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:May 28, 2011 Played the course:once

Pros:

A very unique, tournament quality Colorado mountain course. It is a course with tight corridors and a few open pastures. It will take pretty much every throw you have in your bag. It has holes that go uphill, downhill, hyzers, anhyzers, and one 800 foot par 4! This is a course with four holes (1,9,10,18) that have imminent throws over large bodies of water (lakes or rivers). 18 is particularly scary in that it is a 15 foot strip of land with a river on one side and a pond on the other. Be prepared and willing to lose a disc on one of the four water holes The rest of the holes are through heavily wooded areas and require a huge amount of accuracy, precision, and distance. They allow you to test the limits of your accuracy, and the tiny corridors are always awesomely fun! Hole 7 is one of the best and most fun downhill shots I have thrown... a long bomb downhill off of a nice overhang. Hole 9 will bring you back to the water, as the pin lies about ten feet from it. This is a really cool view of the pin, pond, and entire Beaver Meadows Resort in the background. There are also 5 or so holes where the basket is located in a stand of aspens. While this may not mean much to some people, I love playing through those tight bundles of white aspen trees... something not all too common in CO. Hole 15 is also a great & hard hole! Super tight anhyzer through a very narrow corridor including a fallen tree. Hole 19 is a 120 foot straight shot which can easily be turned into an ace. If you hit it, you get a snack or soda from the lodge... always a fun treat.

This course is not for the faint hearted... It is hard. While it may not be as technical as many other CO mountain courses, the long distances coupled with fairly-technical aspects makes for a unique challenge. All of your throws will be tested, and risks will need to be taken (which usually seem to go either way). This is a course where if you "play it safe" you are more than likely to bogey every hole. Some may consider this a negative... but all the more challenging and unique makes it all the better. The course layout is wonderful on the land they have... it is clear a good amount of thought went into making this course.

Cons:

This place is a "dude ranch" and can certainly get overcrowded by others attending the camp area. When I went there was a wedding taking place which happened to get in the way of hole 18 for a small amount of time. This would usually not be an issue, but the fact that this is a $5 pay-to-play facility makes me feel like I should have minimal distractions (and certainly not have to worry about hitting 4-year-olds fishing). That being said the course is certainly worth the $5. It is clear the money goes to something good in the fact that the course is properly maintained and laid out. Next, is the horse poop... it is literally everywhere. Expect your disc to land in or around horse poop multiple times... and expect horse poop to be in the way of your planting foot multiple times. It is more plentiful in the holes out in the open... but it is fairly hard to avoid everywhere in this place!

Many many holes require pre-scouting at this place. While most holes have signs, they only give you an idea of the general direction. I'd say atleast 8 holes require scouting to see where the pin is actually located. The three times I did not scout (and used my map for a reference), I payed dearly. Expect to take up some extra time scounting!! Many of the signs in the course are broken, making it even harder to scout holes. Finally, the map they give you for $5 is not 100% correct as of May 29th, 2011. After hole 13, the map is not completely accurate. While the course still follows the general layout the map proposes, it is easy to get lost focusing solely on the map.

As of May 29th, 2011, the hole 5 tee-box is blocked by construction vehicles.

Other Thoughts:

While I did manage to muster up a long list of cons, they are worth enduring to play this course. This is a great mountain course requiring loads of hiking, and a large variety of shots. It is certainly a course that will leave you in the positive your first round there. It is certainly worth the $5, the views are gorgeous, and the challenging course will leave you happy at the end of the day.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
2 8
TheBrownZombie
Experience: 17.1 years 93 played 14 reviews
5.00 star(s)

2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Sep 13, 2009 Played the course:once

Pros:

We were kind of iffy about going to this coarse because we just recently went to the sundance trail ranch, also located in Red Feathers, and we had a bad experience over there. But this coarse is was amazing every hole had something different, there was alot of different size holes. I have alot of different discs, and i almost had to use a different disc on each hole.

Cons:

The only thing that sucked was it was really really windy that day, and it was hard to throw unless you were in the woods. Otherwise it was amazing.

Other Thoughts:

Hole number 7 was amazing. There are different start points for some of the holes. For example hole number one has another start point right after the bridge for people who aren't experienced enough to throw straight over water. There was a bunch of water holes, so i would recommend bringing a bunch of discs, my friend lost two discs on the first hole in the water. It is cool that they have a kayak and a paddle boat for you to try and find your disc.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
8 0
TalbotTrojan
Gold level trusted reviewer
Experience: 15.8 years 112 played 104 reviews
4.00 star(s)

Big Time 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Sep 12, 2009 Played the course:once

Pros:

This is a monster of a mountain course that is just crazy fun. This course is part of a dude ranch retreat center that really has seen Disc Golf as an investment in the future. The course was designed really well using all the land features available to create unique challeneges at every turn. You will go up and down mountains and get your fair share of exercise. The baskets are all in great condition with holes having at least a few options as to pin placement. There is a great variety of length in the holes including a few monsters, one close to 800' uphill. They frequently go diving for discs and based on the quality of the owner I am guessing they will do everything possible to get the discs back to you. There are great facilities near this course including a restuarant that serves amazing food and a bar with satellite TV. There are some very memorable holes on this course including all the lake holes, 8 and my personal favorite hole 17 (a long downhiller with a narrow start).

Cons:

On the water holes there is a really good chance to loose a disc as there are a couple of long water carries or small landing areas. There are several holes that you will need to scout first. The tee pads, though they have recently been redone still leave a lot to be desired. The tee signs are nothing more than log stumps with numbers on them (unless they leave out the signs from the CSDGC's). This is a pay to play course.

Other Thoughts:

What a great experience this course is though I know it is not for everyone. This course is supposed to be super challenging but it is not as technical as it would appear at first. You will defiantely want a spotter on several holes and you will want to bring discs that you can sacrifice to the lakes. Look for short tees on 1 and 7 if that is something that interests you. You are at a very high elevation on this course so be sure to bring lots of water. There is also a tremendous amount of hiking up and down hill so be prepared. This is also a very long course. The owner is very proud of his course but knows that it is still a work in progress. So far he has done an amazing job but look for this course to improve in the future.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
3 0
ddevine
Experience: 45.3 years 133 played 39 reviews
4.50 star(s)

SHWEET! 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Aug 29, 2009 Played the course:once

Pros:

Great layout in semi-remote high country setting. Excellent pin placements on many holes that demand precise control and mastery of righty/lefty forehand and backhand shots. Hole 9, a downhill with the pin precariously close to the pond, is spectacular and thirsty and ranks up there as one of my all-time favorites. Creative layout maximizes ponds and rewards well placed finesse shots, especially on hole 18 where you can lay-up or go for the gold. Greaat setting, with food/drinks available. This is now my most favorite course in Colorado. Be sure to bring flippy plastic, as well as extras (I left two in the ponds).

Cons:

A bit raw with some fairways that need some work, and some blind tee shots that almost demand spotters (particularly hole 7). The baskets can be hard to spot (painting the cages bright orange would be a great help!). Some of the tee pads were treacherous, with loose dirt and slopes that maximized slippage.

Other Thoughts:

I love high country DG and I love trees. I can see why the Colorado State Championships will be held here in Sep 2009. I will definitely play this course whenever I visit the family in Ft. Collins (weather permitting, I am a So Cal guy).
Was this review helpful? Yes No
2 1
dosahl
Experience: 16.3 years 45 played 16 reviews
3.00 star(s)

not real fun 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Jul 24, 2009 Played the course:once

Pros:

THe setting is nice. It is a challenge. THere is variety in the length of the holes and some interesing pin placements. The people running the resort were friendly and nice. Holes 1 & 2 &10 & 18 were good play. The pin place ment for 8 makes for some good conversation

Cons:

The course should be walked first as there are way too many blind baskets. I think over half of the baskets are not visable from the tee (which is fine if you know a direction). Most of the pins are surrounded by trees. While trees on a course are usually a good thing, they are a hinderance here for many. The folliage is way too thick in many spots and needs to be thinned to make hole challenging and not impossible. Too many holes followed the road. You play down the road and the basket is just off the road to the right or left. It is odd to make the road also the fairway.

Other Thoughts:

We came to Beaver meadows expecting greatness. I did not see what other reviewers saw as near perfection. Make sure to check in as the course has changed since the map posted here at DGcourse review. The updated map is spot on. Be prepared to open and close many horse gates assome of the holes are in the horse pasture.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
12 0
srm_520
Diamond level trusted reviewer
Experience: 20.2 years 156 played 142 reviews
4.00 star(s)

Massive Elevation and Challenge to Humble Even the Best Players 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Updated: Played on:Jun 26, 2009 Played the course:once

Pros:

Pro for experienced players: Beavers Meadows is the most mentally and technically difficult course I have ever played. It forces you to create shots you didn't think you had and throw lines you never thought you could make. By the end I was hoping someone was going to greet me with a shirt that said, "I survived Beaver Meadows." 12 of 18 tee shots are blind either down some tight alley or over some massive elevation, which as a first timer to the course, I spent as much time searching for discs and re-teeing drives as I did playing the course. Bottom line - there is a huge amount of risk/reward, skill, and luck involved to shooting low numbers on this course.

Beaver Creek also has money hole - nothing serious, just a little 100-120' straight hole after you finish your round. If you manage to make your shot, the beer is on them, so it can make up for the $5 fee for all day play.

I also need to mention the people running the course. Dave, who ran the shop, went over anything we possibly needed and made sure we received complimentary disc markers for playing the course. The general manager of the facility practically met us at our car to go over everything and make sure we felt at home and ready to play. He also noted that they are currently planning to resurface the tee boxes to make sure they are flat and work on the course because they want a championship caliber course. Finally, the facilities and restaurant were wonderful with good eats and great microbrews to relax you after a round or even just the front nine.

BEST HOLE/S: #8; #17

Cons:

Con for beginners: This course is not for the faint of heart. You will be challenged at every single hole, which can become very frustrating to say the least. The friend I played with was a little rusty, and he did mention a few times that even though it was an amazing experience - it did border on not being fun at times.

In addition, my friend was also pretty accurate when he said that Beaver Meadows hasn't met a tree they didn't like. I get having the unique mountain feel, but some holes bordered on the extreme where fairways weren't only tight - they were simply non-existent. Holes four and seven looked like they simply placed the pin in the distance without removing a single tree.

The map is vital for any first timer and even then the DGA pins can be difficult to spot, so be prepared for some searching. Also, the map is a little off on holes #6 and #11 where 6 plays more along the path and 11 tee box is actually on the other side of the creek.

WORST HOLE/S: #5; #15

Other Thoughts:

I can understand why the state tournament will be held here this year. Granted, it has some very obvious issues with the current tee boxes and amount of clearing that I feel should be done, but it is enlightening to note that the owners are serious about making the best course possible. Although I personally thought Sundance Trails ranks slightly higher, many players may prefer this course since the elevation is bigger, the shots are tougher, and challenge is greater.

In the end no matter what I believe ranks higher, no one can argue that Beaver Meadows is one of the top mountain courses in the country. It's a destination location with friendly people, lots to do, and a high caliber course that will push you to be better with every shot. Do yourself a favor and put Sundance Trail Ranch and Beaver Meadows in your wish list, and plan your next summer trip to the mountains of Colorado.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
3 0
ryyedogg
Bronze level trusted reviewer
Experience: 47 played 34 reviews
4.00 star(s)

Do you have great accuracy? 2+ years

Reviewed: Updated: Played on:May 16, 2009 Played the course:2-4 times

Pros:

This is a course that provides a great escape from the busy courses in the city, while challenging even the best of players. The course is a great mix of open, down and uphill, and technical wooded shots. A majority of the shots are very hilly and tight. The lodge has a small pro shop with course scorecards and other useful accessories. Each hole is marked on a stump and benches are provided at each pad.

Cons:

Some holes are just plain ridiculous for a lower level player, involving almost a perfect throw. Even with the map on the scorecard, some holes can be a bit hard to navigate because of the terrain and tree layout. Hole #6 had a large tractor blocking my hyzer line off of the teepad(could be intentional?). Make sure you watch your disc after releasing because I have wasted plenty of time searching for my drives at this course. I think knowing the layout is a big plus if you want to play a fast round. Some of the meadow fairway holes are under an inch or two of water in late spring from the runoff.

Other Thoughts:

The layout has improved since the original, and is slowly becoming one of my favorite courses. Although this is by far the most scenic course I have played, I still have Sundance Trail as my pick of the best course in the area. I bumped up my rating from 3.5 to 4.0 after seeing the amount of maintenance being done on the course.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
3 1
GDisc
Experience: 16.2 years 61 played 34 reviews
3.50 star(s)

2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Updated: Played on:Jul 4, 2008 Played the course:once

Pros:

This course provides great scenery nestled away in the Colorado Rockies. It also provides a lodge and restaurant for drinks and a bite to eat after or between rounds. Great diversity in holes ranging from 800+ feet to holes in the 200 range. There are plenty of obstacles from over water shots to Holes where you throw virtually off the top of a ridge to a basket 400+ feet below.

Cons:

This course is hard to navigate for newcomers especially with the map on the scorecard being outdated. A single hole can kill your round if you lose your disc in the thick woods. Keep a close eye on every shot and if you lose it keep your eyes in the trees as well because some shots just are that ridiculous. You throw from above the trees to a basket nestled down in the trees. Map on the scorecards is horrible. The angles of the holes on the map are way off compared to the real shot. Last time I was there there was a huge pile of trash in the middle of the course with things like refrigerators laying in the middle of the woods. I believe they are in the process of cleaning this up but until then it is a real sore to the eye in an otherwise beautiful course.

Other Thoughts:

I do enjoy the location and adventure of this course but at the same time find my self overly frustrated everytime I play. Any bad shot on this course and you will be spending a good chunk of your round searching for the disc or trying to get it out of a tree. Other than that this is a beautiful mountain course that provides a variety of skills in shots from long technical shots to 10 foot putts that can be very difficult. Bring your whole bag of discs here because you will need them all.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
3 2
ponto11
Experience: 32.1 years 26 played 10 reviews
4.00 star(s)

work in progress 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Nov 19, 2008 Played the course:once

Pros:

Outstanding mountain course. Ups, downs, sidehill, flat, over ponds (not much water on courses in CO). Heavily wooded shots, wide open shots, left and right bends.

Cons:

This course is still in it's infancy. Like Sundance, it needs work. You a left scratching your head or walking ahead to find the next tee pad or hole. The map is awful and could be much better with just a bit of graphic design care, which would make playing the course a lot more enjoyable. Lake of signage is frustrating.

Other Thoughts:

Cons can be corrected and I'm sure will over time, which might cause me to change my review in the future.

Facilities are great and I agree, make a trip out of it and stay with the good folks at Red Feather Lakes resort!!
Was this review helpful? Yes No
9 1
DiscGoFevah
Experience: 33.1 years 11 played 1 reviews
4.00 star(s)

Finally! Northern CO gets a top-notch course! 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Jun 22, 2008 Played the course:never

Pros:

To start with, my rating of 4.0 is only because of the small tweaks needed still, and the lack of permanent tee's. I would rate it a 5 with these modifications in place!

-Restaurant/bar/lodging/wi-fi/disc sales/other activities for the family, all on site!
-Scenic, western feel to the course
-Great staff who's very motivated to make their course the best it can be!
-Elevation changes, but minimal amounts of hiking.
-Huge variety of shots/holes, some of a caliber which I've not seen many other places. See DGadvocate review for more on this.
-Hole 18 is basically a permanent "island green", with a lay-it-up option. Sweet!!!
-Cool, arid Colorado weather during the summer, escape the front range!

Cons:

-Natural tee's could use some work, or more permanent construction of some kind.
-Distances and tee signs indicating basket location would be good (coming soon, I hear)
-A couple holes can use a select tree cleared to open up the fairway and allow for a clean shot.
-I would include Amateur tee's on a few holes
-Multiple pin positions would be fun on a few holes, but this is not a con, just a possible improvement.

Other Thoughts:

I love this course. Every time I complete a round, I'm itching to go after it again. I can't stress how worth the drive this place is. I'd recommend staying the night, getting your green's fees for free, and spending a couple days up there. You'll want that many attempts at the course!

There's been some discussion about the course par. As of now, it is defined as 59. Some purists think all courses should be 54, but I really think I'd give this one a pro par somewhere between 57 or 59. Course record as of now is 52 (Mike Gomez).

If you like to challenge yourself, throw almost every shot in your bag, and you can still feel like you've played a good round without getting two's on 50%+ of the holes, than you'll love this one!
Was this review helpful? Yes No
14 1
DGtourist
Diamond level trusted reviewer
Experience: 21.2 years 188 played 106 reviews
4.50 star(s)

Amazing! 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Jun 26, 2008 Played the course:never

Pros:

After walking the course with me, my daughter who has been to many of the courses I've played, said as a matter of fact, "That was the best disc golf course ever." She could be right. There is the typical up and back down the mountain, but not too much. You make two trips up a hill and back down again. Each time encountering tight wooded holes, hidden baskets, and big downhill bombs. When at the bottom there is a pond to contend with. This course has such well balanced variety that nothing feels like you have already done it before. There are a few shots that take guts even. After teeing off on number ten, I went to the restaurant had a soda and a plate of nachos and then went back and finished the round. Everything about it was awesome. I am a more complete person for having teed off over a pond and witness a trout jump under the flight path.

Cons:

There was a hole in the back nine (either 14 or 15) that was very long and unforgiving. I hung a line out to the right and found myself climbing a cliff face, well, almost. Not really a "con" but I did end the round in a flop-sweat. The only real honest con is that the course is so far out into the sticks and that its costs five bucks to play. The trails from basket to tee box could use more grooming.

Other Thoughts:

Red Feather Lakes, having a population of 525 (2000 census) might be the best disc golf town in Colorado between this new course and the also amazing Sundance Trail. I remember when ski resort town disc golf seemed really cool, dude ranch golf is just as fun. God bless summer time in the Rockies! Thanks DGadvocate for letting me know about this oasis.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
12 1
DGadvocate
Experience: 48.8 years 5 played 5 reviews
5.00 star(s)

2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Updated: Played on:Jun 22, 2008 Played the course:never

Pros:

Great variety of holes - every thing you could want: uphill, downhill, tight and technical, wide open blasters, water hazards on 4 holes. A very challenging course in an idyllic setting.

As of this writing some holes are not in their final state - only because the management wants to tweak them by consensus of the DG community.

There's a very short 19th hole. If you sink it in one shot, you're entitled to a beverage on the house.

Cons:

It is still a work in progress because it just opened, so amenities like benches and signs at Tees are not yet in, but are on their way. Some tees are not yet completed.

Other Thoughts:

What a gem in a beautiful setting at 8500' in the Rocky Mountains - designed by Bill Wright of the Wright Life in Fort Collins, which is an hour away.

The friendly, pro-Disc Golf folks at Beaver Meadows are determined to make this course appeal to every level of Disc Golfer when it is completed.

The three pros I've played with up there all agree it rates a 5 out of 5 due to the variety, challenge, and splendor.

I'll let the pictures suffice for hole descriptions.

Hole 9 finishes near the restaurant where you can grab a meal (the food is fine) and beverage before letting the back 9 beat you up.

The course record as of 7-7-08 stands at 52 by Mike Gomez, a lefty, from Longmont, CO.

The snowpack is running off still and a couple of holes are affected, so you might get your feet a little wet.

Beaver Meadows is a beautiful Resort Ranch with many activities for every member of the family. The ponds are stocked with Rainbows and Browns for fishing too. You can get more info at this link.

www.beavermeadows.com

The Northern Colorado Disc Golf Club is already planning a monthly tournament there.

If you like a challenging course and a good hike in the beautiful Colorado Rockies, you'll like this course.

A bonus is that it's only 20 minutes down the road from another gem - Sundance Trail.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

Latest posts

Top