• Discover new ways to elevate your game with the updated DGCourseReview app!
    It's entirely free and enhanced with features shaped by user feedback to ensure your best experience on the course. (App Store or Google Play)

Allen, TX

Bethany Lakes DGC

3.15(based on 21 reviews)
Filter course reviews

Filter reviews

Filter reviews

Bethany Lakes DGC reviews

Filter
8 0
sillybizz
Diamond level trusted reviewer
Premium Member
Experience: 22.4 years 437 played 434 reviews
2.50 star(s)

Who was this designed for?

Reviewed: Played on:Apr 19, 2024 Played the course:once

Pros:

- Lots of big open holes to showcase your distance
- Tons of water near many greens or have to carry
- One short, tight fairway to keep you honest
- Minimal elevation changes matter when putting or approaching

Cons:

- Wide open and long can get boring
- Not a quick 9 hole course for bagging
- Lots of opportunity to lose discs in the water
- Baskets are old DISCatchers that are rusted and worn
- Navigation is tricky in spots with no aid in sight
- Bird crap everywhere
- Lots of fishermen and other park users make throwing some fairways dangerous

Other Thoughts:

Bethany Lakes is not my cup of tea, I'll be honest. I played it at the end of the day during a day long bagging session hoping it would be a short, putter course to cool down on. What I found were multiple wide open 450+ foot holes that also had a few water carries. Hole 9 is a ridiculous hole that requires 400+ or more feet to carry the water across the pond without much of an option to avoid. Is this course built for pros? If so, why? They probably are going to go play a better course than this to get challenged. I saw a dad and his 10 year old teeing off on hole one and felt bad for them. Unless you really want to throw a destroyer over a pond avoid this place and find something better which there are plenty of options in the area.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
7 0
aclay
Gold level trusted reviewer
Experience: 39.8 years 327 played 254 reviews
3.00 star(s)

Bethany Lakes 2+ years

Reviewed: Played on:Jun 29, 2018 Played the course:once

Pros:

-- Variety. Long and short holes, water hazards, a tunnel shot and two tee shots over water.
-- Decent concrete pads, although a little short for the longer holes, and nice baskets.
-- Alternate pin locations...
-- Park is beautiful and well maintained
-- Not crowded with disc golfers.
-- Parking lot next to holes 1 and 9.

Cons:

-- Navigation. Once you find hole 1 (east of the parking lot), you'll be fine through hole 6. However, the walks from 6-7, 7-8 and 8-9 are long. You will question whether you are going in the right direction. Keep going.
-- Very little shade.
-- The walking path that winds through the first part of the course (and provides some OB challenge) means you will often wait for walkers. We started a round at 7 a.m., and saw a lot of walkers.
-- Water will eat some discs. Signs say no wading. The deeper/bigger water is so polluted that you can't see a foot deep into it. If your disc goes in, say good bye.

Other Thoughts:

-- After open (or at least semi open) holes 1-7, No. 8 surprises you with a 200-foot tunnel. In the short position, the basket is on the left edge, where a slightly off-target shot can end up down the hill, or even in the water. In the long position, the basket is down hill through some trees in front of a shallow creek.
-- Hole 9 gives you a 300-foot water carry, a lot to ask of most players. You can bail out to the right, but that bring the street into play. My playing partner nearly hit an oncoming car and likely scared a couple of car drivers.
-- Very long on the first 3 holes, a surprise for a 9-hole city park.
-- The rec center on site opens at 6 a.m. on weekdays, 10 a.m. on Saturdays and 1 p.m. on Sundays.
-- I wouldn't travel a long way to get here, but it's worth a try if you're in the area. If you live nearby, you're happy.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
4 0
TheHipstick
Bronze level trusted reviewer
Experience: 21.1 years 171 played 69 reviews
2.50 star(s)

7,8, and 9 drag this course down. 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Jan 27, 2018 Played the course:once

Pros:

Set on a very nice public park, very well kept park, plenty of parking
Each hole has signage with the layout of each hole, signs say alternative pin locations, but I didn't notice any sleeves in the ground
Nice concrete teepads
Older DisCather baskets
Nice mixture of open and risk/reward shots with the pond in play

Cons:

The biggest draw back for me was the flow of the course after hole #6
If your not familiar with the park or the layout you could get confused
I really liked hole #8 for the tunnel shot and the risk/reward shot, but the walk from #8's basket to the tee of #9 really killed it for me.

Other Thoughts:

A really nice park and course. Just make sure you are familiar with the layout after hole #6 so your not doing any extra walking trying to find the remaining 3 holes.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
4 0
tkmcdougal
Silver level trusted reviewer
Experience: 16.3 years 196 played 96 reviews
3.00 star(s)

Bethany Lakes 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Jun 30, 2017 Played the course:once

Pros:

This is a good little 9 holer than makes the most of the land that was provided and takes advantage of the limit trees. The first few holes are open holes. As long as you stay to the right you won't be near the water hazard. The next holes are shorter and make use of the water hazards the courses provides. These holes provide the risk/reward shots with the pond in the backdrop of the baskets. You can go for it or lay up and take your 2 and move on. I liked hole 7 alot as you have the pond to the left. When I played there was a pretty strong wind off of the creek I had to factor in. This was my first time playing the course and I really liked how they had alternative pin locations as well. I'm not sure how often they are moved but they were in the longs when I was out there.

Cons:

My main issue with the course starts after hole 7. It wasn't marked vey well to indicate where to go for hole 8. Hole 8 was in terrible condition when I played. The rough was really rough. The hole hadn't been mowed in weeks. There was a 5 foot window for the tunnel shot and that is all. Once again their weren't signs pointing you in the right direction for number 9.

Other Thoughts:

This course could drastically improve if they put arrows under the previous baskets indicating which direction to go. Overall, the designer made great use of the land that they were provided by maximizing the minimal trees and the water hazards. Hole 5 was a cool shot if you wanted to be aggressive and try and split the trees over the water for the birdie run. This is definitely one of the better laid out 9 holers in the area.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
2 1
waterdog44
Experience: 7.9 years 5 played 2 reviews
4.00 star(s)

Nice Well Kept 9 Holer 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:May 6, 2017 Played the course:2-4 times

Pros:

This is a very nice 9 hole course that is well maintained, being next to the Allen recreation center and all. This was my second time there and my first completion of the course, went halfway first time. No. 1 is open and a bit lengthy - had to ask a nice lady and her dog if I should go ahead and shoot ( hanging under a shade tree not noticing any disc action ). They kindly moved on and I made a nice upshot and putted for par. The wind was light and southerly like you want it. I nearly put the no. 2 drive in the water but a tree kicked it back in play. I did put it in the water on 3 about 5 feet out, there was a handy stick so I took my penalty and proceeded with my recovered disc. No. 4 drives over 125ft of water or so. My shot was hard enough to go across even though hitting one of the big tree branches on the other side. I lost a disc there last time ! Five went ok, I was asking if the fishing guys over there were ready. Had never seen hole 6 - found it no problem. Some trees in the way , no water on that one. From there hole 7 - I went to the right too far and across the back parking lot. You really want to stay to the left of the back parking area and you'll run right into the no. 7 teepad. 7 is a fun left hander around the edge of the lake, a little downhill. Would be a good backhand shot, though I'm typically gonna use a forehand. Head south towards Bethany and you'll find the no. 8 teepad heading back left through the trees, kind of narrow. The basket was in the middle for my visit. Thick branches and brush both sides, but if you penetrate to the left you'll go down the hill into the lake. I found an extra disc while looking for mine in the left side brush. Yellow Hornet midrange. I found my disc too. No. 9 is my water nightmare! I had stood on the teepad once before just to gauge it. Nope I can't throw that far LOL. I threw one straight into the water, reshot from the tee curving one to the right edge stayed 3 foot out in the water. A nice girl fishing with her Dad helped me get the disc with her pole LOL. I'm adding penalties as I go. From there I tried to sail it over the trees, but it landed 35 ft up in a tree and stayed. From my new estimated lie I threw across the width of the water. Then threw a great upshot from the grass over there. That put me at 8 and I two putted to finish. Gave myself a much deserved 10. I was looking at the way across the water on satellite map and it's shorter across by the fountain, not straight on. Difference of over forty feet, which I can't handle. Several fisherman around this part of the water wondering when I would leave , I'm sure. If I can figure out hole 9 across the water it will be a lot of fun. It was anyway - beautiful spring day !

Cons:

Kind of short teepads. Hole 9 is a bit much for some of us still in training.

Other Thoughts:

This isn't the only course with water threatening your precious discs. Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? Yes No
2 1
Len Averyt
Experience: 10.8 years 45 played 5 reviews
3.00 star(s)

Didn't care for it at my skill level 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Apr 2, 2016 Played the course:once

Pros:

Very nice clean and neat course.

Cons:

To me, no other really unique character other than it being all water hazards. if your a right handed ,back hand player that hyser bombs from time to time, You will loose discs.
It seemed that all the baskets were placed right where all the other, non disc golfing public was making use of the park. Kids fishing, playing football and soccer.
If your a player like me that is novice and scores in the mid 70's and up. I really don't think you will like this course because your skill level just won't let you enjoy it.

Other Thoughts:

I didn't care for much for the course, by hole 3-4 I was already beat down from playing Shawnee close by and tired. The course, at that point, just kind of P!$$ed me off.

To me it was just one water hazard after another just for the sake of it.


Was this review helpful? Yes No
3 0
Jimbotten
Experience: 4.1 years 21 played 12 reviews
3.50 star(s)

Nicest 9 hole course I've played 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Jan 6, 2016 Played the course:once

Pros:

Offers a variety of shots from finesse to power.
Most shots are pretty with intended trajectories over "nice" ponds.
The first 9 hole course i've played where i really want to play 2 rounds for 18 holes.

Cons:

Signs don't include par info, though im pretty sure they are all par 3. Course is relatively easy to follow, but the walkway from 8 to 9 is lacking a few needed arrows to help navigate. tee signs do show next tee.
Almost no shade in summertime except for hole 8.

Other Thoughts:

Only 9 hole course ive played that i would make a 30 minute drive for.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
6 0
Tommy2am
Experience: 11 years 33 played 16 reviews
3.50 star(s)

One of the better 9 hole courses 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Updated: Played on:Sep 10, 2015 Played the course:2-4 times

Pros:

Mixed shot selection holes. Several challenging holes with water danger. Close to the highway. Beautiful scenery. Concrete teepads. Nice for a 9-hole course. Multiple baskets that are changed out.

Cons:

A LOT of water! There are signs saying no swimming or wading, which are clearly directed at disc golfers retrieving discs. I assume if you did go in to get your disc you would be kicked out of the park. On hole #7...just forget it if your disc goes in the water. It is very far down and the water is very deep. You would literally be risking life and limb for your plastic (and I am the riskiest person i have ever met at going after discs) Poor continuity on some holes. The signage is lacking. Obviously, its only 9 holes, not 18. There is poison ivy and poison oak. The first couple of holes are really just open field shots. You really need a big arm for some of the holes on the course...especially hole 9.

Other Thoughts:

Hole 1. Wide open. Boring. Hole 2. Either wide open with a few trees or the alternate pin is on the edge of the water. OK. Hole 3. Once you are at the pin of hole 2, look northeast to the corner of the park for the hole 3 teepad. It is right by the stream and behind a big pocket of trees. (This is the first of 4 teepads that are quite difficult to find.) This hole plays through trees, over the creek, and by the pond. Nice! Hole 4. This also ends near water so be careful. Hole 5. Big risk reward. Its over the pond and past trees. If the wind or a tree catches you (or just a bad throw), your water bound. Hole 6. Shorter hole with some trees. You NEED a birdie here. Hole 7. It took me at least 15-20 mins to find this teepad. After the hole 6 pin, keep walking east and head diagonally. It is past the building, benches, and trees. Look for the tee sign, which is inconspicuous. It is close to the walking path. Throw cautiously. If your disc goes in the water, it is gone for good since this is a very deep quarry. Awesome hole with great scenery though. Hole 8. Another tough one to find. After pin #7, keep walking ahead right along the very edge of the park. It is in the woods, about 400 feet ahead. Great tunnel shot hole. There are several cleared ground "lanes" heading to the pond on the left, so if you hyzer out slightly, your disc could be gone...even if its just rolling. Hole 9. The single most difficult teepad I have ever had to look for in my life!! Either walk back up the fairway, turn left at teepad #8 and go far around the woods to the left, or continue past the pin on 8, winding through the hansel and gretel style woods trail (you seriously may want to leave crumbs to find your way back), and when you get to the concrete overspill area, walk to the right. If you have come to a playground or to a building, you have gone too far. The actual teepad is right by the street close to where the parking lot is and the pin is right by the parking lot and the front building. This shot is 300 feet plus of solid water, and a bunch of trees on the right before the pin. If you don't have at least a 350-375 foot arm (and can easily throw it consistently and accurately), then you should play around it to the right, by the street. Awesome hole however. The course started off boring, but just got better and better as I played. Big risk-reward holes. I'm sure tons of people lose discs here. The signs need improvement however...like...now.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
3 6
coolpooky7
Experience: 13.7 years 35 played 22 reviews
3.00 star(s)

2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Dec 22, 2010 Played the course:2-4 times

Pros:

This is one of the best 9 hole courses I have played. Almost all the holes have a water hazard. Whether you have to throw over water or the basket is right next to the water. They have a monster water hole on hole 7. it used to be a quarry that was filled in with water. Do not expect to get your disc back if you go in there.

Cons:

It is just 9 holes. Since most of the holes have water hazards you might lose a few discs. I like the challenge but others may not. On top of that, they don't allow swimming or wading in the ponds so you cannot go get your disc. If you wait around till night you could probably sneak in and retrieve your disc.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
12 0
dreadlock86
Diamond level trusted reviewer
Experience: 17.2 years 388 played 318 reviews
2.50 star(s)

surprising 9-holer 2+ years

Reviewed: Played on:Aug 12, 2010 Played the course:once

Pros:

-nice concrete pads (maybe a little short for the longer holes) and discatchers
-surprising amount of variety for 9 holes: big distance, constant water hazards, shorter holes, tunnel shot, 2 tee shots over water.
-alternate pin locations
-beautiful park is well manicured
-not crowded
-parking lot right next to holes 1 and 9

Cons:

-navigation from 7-9 is long and tricky (try and follow the obvious paths). i don't know why they don't just put another hole in between 6 and 7, looks like there is plenty of room.
-very little shade for texas summer days
-distance and/or water are the only challenges on the first 5 holes
-as the reviewer below said, alternate tees would be more beneficial here than alternate pins
-water smells horrible, full of trash, and looks pretty deep
-not a lot of trash cans and one of the few i did see was placed directly on top of hole 9 tee when i was there. no idea why.

Other Thoughts:

This city park 9-holer is full of surprises. My first surprise came when seeing the distance on the first 3 holes. Not what I expected for a little 9 hole course. Not having a big arm, I was disappointed by 3 back to back wide open distance holes. Water comes slightly into play on these 3 but it is easily avoided if you have any accuracy.

The next 3 holes are shorter and take better advantage of the water. Hole 4 backs up to the water, hole 5 throws directly over it, and hole 6 throws from under one tree to a basket in the middle of a patch of trees.

The last 3 holes are the best, IMO, and made the round for me. Hole 7 plays right up next to water on your left. It looks like a hyzer shot but the pin is really just straight ahead and that hyzer is guaranteed to go right in the water. This hole must claim a lot of discs. Hole 8 was my other big surprise. After 7 wide open holes, 8 is a 200' tunnel. At the end of the tunnel you have a downhill upshot through some trees to a basket below just in front of a creek (very shallow). This hole was the highlight of the course for me. Tricky navigation through the woods leads you to the last hole, 300' over water and then the pin is up and around to the right. There is a path off to the right for those not willing to risk the water.

After my initial disappointment this course came through with a little something for everyone. Not the most interesting round but I wouldn't complain if it were down the street from my house. I wouldn't travel any great distance to get here but it's worth a try if you're in the area.


**Like this review? Hate it? Message me and let me know why! I want to make them better!**
Was this review helpful? Yes No
6 1
jrcamp001
Experience: 28.1 years 207 played 12 reviews
3.00 star(s)

Something for everyone 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Jun 11, 2010 Played the course:once

Pros:

Not a dinky course - has some good "D".
Water comes into play on most holes.
#8 is a great tunnel shot to a pin close to the creek.
Great signage.

Cons:

Multiple tees would be more useful than alternate basket locations.
Poison Ivy on 7 thru 9 paths is extensive

Other Thoughts:

This course has something for every golfer to not like - the big arms won't like the technical shots and the technical golfer won't like the open shots, but fact is few 9-hole courses have such a diversity of holes. And the wind on #1 thru 7 can be brutal.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
14 0
Donovan
Diamond level trusted reviewer
Premium Member
Experience: 37.3 years 302 played 188 reviews
3.50 star(s)

Water, It’s Not Just for Drinking! 2+ years

Reviewed: Played on:May 17, 2010 Played the course:once

Pros:

This is a Risk Reward lovers dream 9-hole course. This place has slight elevation, lots of water, OB, woods, wide-open shots, a tunnel shot, and much more. Yes, it is hard to believe this is just a 9-hole course. Unlike other course that have lots of looks in one place, these different types of holes actually seem to transition nicely from one to the other. The first hole is a nice long wide-open warm up hole. Hole 2 incorporates water and a "sidewalk and beyond OB" that creates a narrow but fair fairway. 2 other holes are shot over lakes with #9 being a beast of a drive. #9 does have a long route to avoid the water if you are squeamish. #8 is a semi-heavy wooded tunnel shot with a hard right down to a basket just in front of a creek. This course is just beautiful and is very well maintained. Bathrooms at the building, plenty of trash cans, and some seating areas are all here. One last thing to mention here is that the wildlife here was really amazing (Geese, ducks, lizards, turtles, fish, ...).

Cons:

At the time of this review, #8 basket had fallen down the pole to the ground, but I doubt that is a long-term issue. Oddly enough, I did need the map to play here the first time, as the direction of where the last couple of holes were not real obvious. #9 shot over the water is not for the beginner. It will take a good long shot to clear it. There are poisonous plants are in the wooded hole, but that is common in many Texas courses with heavy woods.

Other Thoughts:

If you hate courses with risk/reward situations and holes where you could lose a disc, this may not be one of your first choices to run out and play. However, I love all types of courses for the most part and the Fun Factor here for me was pretty good. There were a few holes that I wanted to just keep driving on. I wish this was closer to my home as I would play it more often. I would recommend stopping here or even making it a stop on a road trip. It was a real surprise for me.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
7 3
Roc1Time
Gold level trusted reviewer
Experience: 23 years 131 played 118 reviews
2.50 star(s)

Disc Eater 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Jun 4, 2009 Played the course:5+ times

Pros:

Good signs, pads, and baskets. Holes 9 is a sweet shot and it looks great when standing on the tee pad and the grass is super green. Pretty open which allows for pretty much any kind of shot. Mostly everything is reachable with a good shot but the score can skyrocket with a bad one. Doesnt favor a righty or a lefty. Bring sidewalk into play and the course gets even tougher.

Cons:

Bring lots of junk plastic....there is tons of water and mostly all of it it deep and is gone if it goes in. Not alot of shade and it gets hot quickly. Long walk once you get started..even for a 9 holer. Lots of people walking around after working hours.

Other Thoughts:

The wind is something else that can get you and its usually always windy. I liked this course when it was a temp 18 but it just seems it lost some of its lure over time.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
6 2
Killer B
Experience: 24.1 years 12 played 2 reviews
4.00 star(s)

Beautiful Course! 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Jun 14, 2007 Played the course:once

Pros:

Beautiful fairways, cement tee pads, DISCatcher baskets, and great looking signs. Course traffic was very minimal which makes for a peaceful game.

Cons:

Only 9 holes. This not a normal con from a small course, but since the course is so beautiful, you just want more. The pin placement on some the holes are in odd locations as well, like hole 8's alternate pin.

Other Thoughts:

Beautiful! One of the best kept courses I've been to. Great wide open fairways, rolling hills, and 3 lakes make for a wonderful game. Though most of the holes are fairly risk free, there are still a few baskets close to the lake that that make for risky play. Hole 9 requires at least a 300 ft drive just to make it over the lake.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
7 0
sgb118
Bronze level trusted reviewer
Experience: 18.9 years 24 played 22 reviews
3.00 star(s)

Bethany Lakes 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Feb 21, 2009 Played the course:once

Pros:

Fun and short. It doesn't take any time at all to finish a round. The park is very nice, and well maintained. All tees are in good shape with all the signs present. The baskets are nice, and there are two pins for every hole, so I imagine that the baskets get moved from time to time. It is especially nice at the end of the course. I like the holes that you drive over the lake on.

Cons:

Water hazards will swallow your discs on all but two holes. When mine went in, it was easily retrievable, but it could definately be a problem. The park is heavily used, and the sidewalk comes into play a few times in the course. (not always a problem) The whole course plays fairly close to the roads around the park, so there are cars on one side and water on the other. A little confusion going from 8 to 9, but we found it.

Other Thoughts:

It is a fun round that makes you think about your shots. We went on an extremely windy day, so that makes things even more exciting. Not a bad little course. I really enjoyed the walk, and there were a ton of ducks and other aquatic wildlife. Hole 8 is awesome. You drive through a tunnel, then the basket is down a nice hill in front of a small creek, very pretty.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
6 1
JeffThroW
Experience: 18.9 years 716 played 33 reviews
3.00 star(s)

I'll take a seven on hole 2 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Updated: Played on:Feb 6, 2009 Played the course:once

Pros:

Some of the best out-of-bounds and beyond with water hazard combined of any DFW course,Loved to play here in fifteen-twenty plus mile an hour wind days.Hole two and nine I saw some pretty rough numbers on that scorecard.

Cons:

People abound walking and jogging on weekends,You only need a floating disc on maybe two holes.Nowhere to sit,The road comes into play if you over shoot seven.Tire marks on your discs likely.In no wind situations this course is a sinch for easy par.

Other Thoughts:

Sac up on hole nine over the pond(best over the water hole in DFW).
Was this review helpful? Yes No
10 0
RustyP
Silver level trusted reviewer
Experience: 20.2 years 83 played 34 reviews
3.50 star(s)

Tougher than it looks 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Nov 6, 2006 Played the course:once

Pros:

Beautiful, well-maintained city park with lush grass, cool little ponds, great baskets, and quality concrete pads.

Althought it doesn't look like much when you pull up to the course, Bethany Lakes can pack a mean punch if you're not careful. The fact that it's mostly open can be a big challenge on windy days...there's a Dallas sponsored pro player who said that this is the place he goes to for wind practice.

Personally, I love water on courses...and Bethany Lakes has a lot of it, on almost every hole. The over-the-water holes aren't quite as tough as they look in the photos, with the exception of hole 9 (luckily there's an alternate route over the road on this one).

A few very unique holes...#8 and #9. Hole 8 plays through a tight tunnel with one pin dead center and anothe dowhill to the right. Be careful on this one, as there's a pond on the left side of the fairway just beyond the wall of trees. Hole 9 is a real beauty...just look at the pic. You can either throw straight ahead and try to carry over the way or play over the road and around the group of thick woods that protects the pin.

I played this course on the day it was installed, and there were multiple pin locations marked...but I don't know if they're currently being used.

As long as you stay out of the water, this would be a great course for a fast lunch-break round.

Cons:

Although I listed it in the "Pros" above, the water can be a definite Con as well. As long as you land right near the edge of the water, you should be OK...except on Hole 7!!! The "pond" on that hole is actually an old quarry that's 40-something feet deep and drops STRAIGHT down on the edges...DO NOT go after your disc on this one!

Other Thoughts:

I really hope to play this course again now that it's been around a while. Since I played it litereally an hour after the last basket was installed, there were still some areas that needed improvement...but judging from the photos, the course has aged beautifully.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
5 0
Tortoise
Experience: 16.2 years 14 played 10 reviews
3.00 star(s)

Ok Course 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Updated: Played on:Sep 26, 2008 Played the course:5+ times

Pros:

This course is in a nice location in a very well maintained park. I don't think I'll ever seen a peice of trash on the ground. The course is pretty challenging. Ecspecially 8 and 9. This is a good course to work on your power. Some of the baskets are pro and some are regular so it makes if interesting. The signs acurrate and none are missing.

Cons:

-Water every where. I've lost two discs to this course. One on hole 2 and one on hole 5 . I don't recommend going in after any discs either. The water is a little scarey in places. On the pond by 7 and 8 there are signs up all over that say NO SWIMMING.
-8 and 9 are neat holes to play but getting from eight to nine can be difficult. The choices are to go through the woods and over the concrete overflow of the pond for 9 or too back track to the side walk and walk around.

Other Thoughts:

8 is a tricky hole. From the tee pad you can't see the basket. It is about 150 through the tunnel of trees and 20 to 30 feet down the hill consealed in the woods on the right hand side. You can pick a map of the course in the recreation building buy the parking lot.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
7 0
sidewinding
Gold level trusted reviewer
Experience: 16.4 years 81 played 68 reviews
2.50 star(s)

2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Updated: Played on:Aug 31, 2008 Played the course:2-4 times

Pros:

This is a very beautiful course around multiple small lakes.

Water is a huge factor on this course. You have to throw over two lakes. One hole's basket is on a peninsula surrounded by water. There are three holes where water is imediately to the left and since all backhand thrown discs fade left, good luck.

For a nine hole course there are some very long open holes that will test your arm.

This course is very fun if you have good control and distance. If you don't you could lose discs.

Cons:

Not enough shade for Texas. Better in winter but then wind becomes a factor.

The first 7 holes have great flow and can be played in about 15 minutes. The last two holes take about 20 minutes because of the distance between holes, the crossing of a deep creek with no bridge between 8 and 9 and the distance back to the parking area and tee pad #1.

I did not play #9 because the sign says it is 300' just to get across the water.

Other Thoughts:

A must play for the water shots.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
7 0
JimBeam
Experience: 16.7 years 16 played 5 reviews
3.00 star(s)

Frustrating 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Jul 1, 2008 Played the course:never

Pros:

Very well maintained, it provides a challenge for both beginner and advanced players. The course is well marked and the holes provide a lot of variety keeping the round interesting. Never crowded.

Cons:

The course can be extremely frustrating. The water hazards can wreak havoc on your bag. they are deceivingly difficult. Disc retrieval is all but impossible in many of the holes dues to the depth of the water even only a few feet from the edge. The occasional sighting of cotton mouth snakes in and around the largest of the lakes also discourages recovery of the discs.

Other Thoughts:

Hole # 7 is strangely difficult. It has claimed at least 13 discs to my knowledge 2 of which were my own PLAY THIS HOLE WITH CAUTION or loss of a disc is likely.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

Latest posts

Top