• Discover new ways to elevate your game with the updated DGCourseReview app!
    It's entirely free and enhanced with features shaped by user feedback to ensure your best experience on the course. (App Store or Google Play)

Lincolnton, NC

Betty G. Ross Park

Permanent course
1.575(based on 14 reviews)
Filter course reviews

Filter reviews

Filter reviews

Betty G. Ross Park reviews

Filter
9 0
dndelli
Gold level trusted reviewer
Premium Member
Experience: 16.8 years 134 played 131 reviews
2.00 star(s)

Betty G. Ross Park

Reviewed: Played on:Sep 4, 2023 Played the course:once

Pros:

Betty G. Ross Park is a nice little community park that features a swimming pool, rec center, athletic fields, a fishing pier, and of course this disc golf course. The course is an 18 hole, par 3 layout that is appropriately designed with casual/recreational players in mind. While the course uses natural tees, I found them all to be level, and compacted very well.

The course spends a decent amount of time weaving through the woods, but there are also a number of open holes on the course as well that help mix things up. Near the parking lot, there is a helpful course map that is vibrant and colorful. The tee signs on the course match this map, and are equally as helpful.

There is an elevated basket on Hole 2 that helps keep things interesting, in a park that is relatively flat. A few of the holes are located near the South Fork of the Catawba River, which adds to the ambience. There was a ripple, just upstream of Hole 5's basket, that could be heard from a couple of holes around the course that gave off a peaceful atmosphere.

The course finishes with two great holes back-to-back, providing an exciting finish. Hole 17 requires a technical flex shot (or insane luck) to have a look at birdie. Hole 18 starts in the woods, and throws out into the open.

Cons:

Unfortunately, four of the new tee signs are already missing. This is an issue, from my point of view, because when a course uses natural tees, tee signs are really imperative for finding where the tee actually is. A couple of times, I had to wander around a bit to try to find the correct spot. Luckily, as I said before, the dirt on the tees is really well compacted, so they were easy to identify. In the meantime, Holes 6, 8, 11, & 12 are missing tee signs.

Nine of the baskets are clearly relics from when the course was a 9 hole course, and feature rusty single chain DISCatchers. So on Holes 3, 5, 7, 9, 11, 14, 15, 16, & 17, keep an eye out for chain outs. The other holes have nice, double chained DISCatchers.

There are times when the course interacts closely with other areas of the park. From the look on the Course Map, some small athletic fields have been built right in the middle of Hole 4's fairway sometime after the course was built. When I played there were sprinklers running and a sign that said to keep off the field. I just moved further back and treated it as a water carry, still unfortunate since it was the longest, most open hole on the course. Hole 5's basket is right next to a seemingly newly constructed fishing pier that has a pathway cutting through the fairway down to the river. Hole 12 plays towards an electrical area that is fenced in with barbed wire.

Navigational signage could be used to make the course flow better. Around the middle of the course, there are a number of walking paths that intersect, and it was hard to tell which path to take to reach the next tee. It is also extremely easy to accidentally play Hole 10, when looking for Hole 7.

Due to the flat nature of the course, and the similar distance for all of the holes, the course can start to feel repetitive and relatively boring during the stretch of holes from #6 to #16. None of these holes are bad, but it would be nice if something could be done to spice this section up. Maybe another elevated basket.

While none of the rough around the course was quite in the Instant Disc Loss territory, it was quite unruly. Waist height rough can be found right off the fairway for all of the wooded holes. Most of the time, this rough is accompanied by thorns. For a course that seems to have been designed with casual players in mind, it would probably attract more repeat visits from said casual players if the rough could be fought back some. At least a few feet.

Other Thoughts:

Players who visit Betty G. Ross Park will find a well designed course that is perfect for a short, but fun round of disc golf. It likely won't ever be a destination course, but it isn't likely to disappoint either. For now I am giving it a 2.0 rating. I think the course would likely warrant a slight bump if it had either permanent tees installed or the missing signage was replaced, and a few navigational signs added around the course.

Favorite Holes: 5, 17, & 18
Was this review helpful? Yes No
5 0
Notverygood
Silver level trusted reviewer
Experience: 14.8 years 76 played 35 reviews
2.50 star(s)

Fun but un-refined 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Nov 18, 2017 Played the course:once

Pros:

This course is surprisingly fun despite being rough around the edges.

The shorter 18 hole course winds through the woods in this city park, coming close to the river, but it hardly comes in to play. Although mostly wooded, the course is a moderate to easy difficulty level depending on your abilities. To me, it felt like the holes became more challenging as you went.

There is a beautiful, color sign at the parking lot showing the rules of the game and the course map. A really nice touch, and eye catching enough that it could draw new players to the game.

Cons:

Unfortunately, the navigation (once you get away from the color sign at the parking lot) is lacking. There were some spray painted trees marking the way once I got into the woods, but without a course map I would've been lost...

The tee pads are natural, normally not a big deal, but for some holes they were hardly, if at all, marked. Pick a spot and throw...


Other Thoughts:

Despite its short coming's, I still enjoyed this course. It's fun, but not too easy, not too tough.

If you're out this way, or passing through stop by and throw a round.

A Charlotte local could have a fun round here, but if you're only in town for a day or two, there are plenty of others I'd rather play.

Cliff notes:
Fun, but rough around the edges
Was this review helpful? Yes No
3 0
Mike C
Gold level trusted reviewer
Experience: 15.2 years 168 played 74 reviews
2.50 star(s)

Fun but unrefined wooded 18 hole course 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Updated: Played on:Apr 25, 2017 Played the course:once

Pros:

+ 18 holes now instead of 9 like the course used to be.

+ Elevated basket on #2.

+ Lots of fun technical shots. Nothing very long, but plenty of trees to contend with on basically every hole. Only a few more open holes, and none of them are completely open.

+ Plenty of ace runs, but they're all ones you'll have to work for.

+ The course is pretty secluded feeling. It plays through the woods bordering some baseballs fields, a pool and other activities, so you'll hear other park guests but won't see them too much, especially on holes 6-18.

+ Good flow and easy navigation considering the lack of tee signs. Next tee markings are usually easy to spot.

Cons:

- Lacks proper tees. The tee areas are generally boxed in with branches or rocks to indicate where you throw, but they are natural.

- No tee signs. There are a few holes with number posts, but those are few and far between. For the most part you're following white spray paint blazes from the basket to the next boxed in tee area, with no other markers for the course.

- No tee for #5. I made one up that seemed about right based on the DGCR indicated hole distance.

- There is a stream running through the park that overflows after heavy rains. Some of the holes were a bit flooded, forcing me to tee off 20' up the fairway, and I could not play #14 due to a few feet of standing water throughout the entire hole.

- Short, easy, and too many straight shots. Gets a little repetitive throwing straight basically every hole, but the designers did a good job mixing up left and right finishes for the pin placements at least.

Other Thoughts:

Betty G Ross is a shorter 18 hole course, but I still found it enjoyable. Its certainly rough around the edges, with its natural tees and lack of tee signs, but I didn't find navigation too difficult. The flooding was unfortunate, but during typical weather it shouldn't be an issue.

This obviously isn't going to compete with the areas upper tier courses, but its a fun course in its own right. If you're a beginner looking for a challenge, or an intermediate player working to hone your shorter shots, this is a good course for you. More skilled players will find it a little on the boring side, but its certainly not a throwaway park by any means.

There are a number of courses nearby I'd suggest playing before Betty G Ross, but if you've already played them and want something new, or you just want an 18 hole course that's on the shorter side, this course will fill that niche.

All in all it plays like a flatter, shorter and easier Bradley Center.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
3 0
Bennybennybenny
Diamond level trusted reviewer
Experience: 13.2 years 306 played 289 reviews
2.50 star(s)

Want to play disc golf without playing your actual lie? 2+ years

Reviewed: Updated: Played on:Dec 5, 2015 Played the course:once

Pros:

-Betty G. Ross is a fun, really tight, ace run kind of course, with a couple of more open holes and a few unique parts to the course.
-When I found out that this later became an 18 hole course and read the previous reviews, I was confident that this would be fun and a great way to spend a Saturday morning. It starts off interesting with a very tight hole only like 190' long or something and then (#2) you play a downhill ace run that starts off in the open and goes into the woods to an elevated basket. Definitely a hole that'll get someone interesting in the course.
-Many unique shaped fairways here, very good variety between left, right and straight. #3 is a severely forced anhyzer around the trees and holes 6 and 9 are both really cool hyzers off the tee.
-I thoroughly enjoyed the front 9. It started off very interesting and got even more interesting once I got to #4. It's an open hole between the woods to the right and the softball field. It has a mando gate maybe 80' from the tee. #5 was also cool with the creek running parallel to the fairway. It was a nice downhill ace run. I also loved #9's fairway going left and around a fallen tree. A birdie is definitely doable but if you don't gently hyzer, you will suddenly be praying for a 3.
-Next tee arrows on the hole transitions. Not on the first few but after #5, you will definitely see them.
-There is a 12 ft. deep pool at the park and the fields are usually empty. There are also two park entrances. Unless you go to the pool, I'd recommend going to the one straight ahead down Motz just so you'd be closer to #1.
-Ends well with a fun #18 that starts off in the woods and goes slightly uphill out in the open. #17 was really fun too, it's a very tough "odd fairway" shaped hole that is over 300' long. Very challenging hole but also be rewarding.

Cons:

-It's not that navigation is "really hard" but it is tricky at times. You better follow the trial where the arrow is pointing because some holes are close to each other.
-#5's tee is not marked. I just marked my own beside the small fenced electrical area beside #4. This is the only hole without a tee but most of the holes on this course do not have tee signs. They have logged tee pads which is good but you will have to walk up the fairway to find the basket on some holes. And I agree with the previous reviews about how the hole lengths stated seem very inaccurate but most holes are still fun nevertheless.
-Sooo many drag piles and thorns. I played really awful today and must have moved my disc a hundred times because the spots you can land can either be thorny or maybe just impossible to play from. I took a lot of relief! I don't know if anyone will fix this problem, it still feels like a raw course. There is some overgrowth on #7.

Other Thoughts:

-This is a fun course. If you live within 25 miles of it, I definitely don't think you should skip it because it does have a lot of aesthetically pleasing assets to it. For the limited space at this park, the course did a very good job with the variety. I could very easily tell this is a vast improvement to the old nine hole course. It may need some improvement but all in all. It's a good way to get outside. This is a pretty good course.
-Favorite hole: #4. Longer hole. I don't think it's 380' but it's definitely over 300'. Very nice hole around the ball field. Mando gate makes it unique because it isn't forced.
-I'm giving this course a 2.5. Some holes have gotten me to reconsider from a 2 to a 2.5. I really hope the locals will work on it, and I would if I had more time, and I will when I can. Make time to come here just for fun, and bring your friends because I feel like a few friends from my school would find this a good "start" to their interest in the game.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
3 0
ibleednewyorkblue
Experience: 1 played 1 reviews
2.50 star(s)

Roll with the changes 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Oct 26, 2015 Played the course:5+ times

Pros:

Like the previous reviewer, this course has gotten much better. The course has expanded to 18 holes, many of which are tight with the proper amount of skill for competitive play. This course is usually empty, allowing you to play at a comfortable speed or simply replay a hole (or 9.) Many of the holes are parallel to the river, which adds a bit of anxiety to each throw.

This slowly becoming a personal favorite, since a player can practice on the entire course in about an hour.

Cons:

Signage: Kind of hard to see. Maybe it was just because it was the end of the season and it wasn't too prority but many of the holes did not give the player a true sense of where to go for the next hole. It's nothing a can of neon spray paint can't do.

Baskets: Many of the baskets have been moved to increase skill play. Just one question- Where the hell did hole 11 go? It took me several minutes of looking but to no avail. I guess that could be a signage issue too.

Landscape much? Hopefully you don't overthrow because the pricker situation is horrible. I almost donated a few discs to the course because of it. Let's try to do a better job!

Other Thoughts:

Overall, a much improved scene compared to its original layout. I look forward to playing there really soon!
Was this review helpful? Yes No
1 4
inspector_dek
Experience: 12.2 years 16 played 1 reviews
0.00 star(s)

uggg 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Jun 15, 2012 Played the course:2-4 times

Pros:

well being from lincolnton I am glad they have put one there.

Cons:

every thing else. Not fun. No challenge. not set up well.

Other Thoughts:

if you live close and need a place to practice and its the day before trash pick up and you cant use your trash can. I guess you can go there.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
9 0
extrovert
Experience: 35 years 56 played 7 reviews
1.00 star(s)

Design Flaw 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Apr 5, 2010 Played the course:5+ times

Pros:

It's there.

Cons:

It's there.

Other Thoughts:

I designed this course. I pitched the idea to Lincoln County & they bit, then they provided me little to no money & little to no land to use in building it. It was originally supposed to be a full course and extend back into the wooded areas but they changed their minds on that idea. I actually had to beg for what little bit of land is used and then early into setting the course up I took a job in Charlotte and wasn't able to work on the course any longer. It was my first attempt at creating a course & it could have been great. I've played all over the USA and had great ideas for this park, sadly, they remain ideas.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
15 2
billnchristy
Gold level trusted reviewer
Experience: 15.2 years 64 played 60 reviews
0.50 star(s)

Mindbendingly Mediocre 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Updated: Played on:Jun 17, 2009 Played the course:once

Pros:

Uhhh....
Bathrooms nearby?
1 is a good place to get your first ace.

Cons:

5 and 6 unplayable due to some kind of commune set up? There was a car parked in front of 5...I was tempted to just throw but maybe it was a blessing in disguise.
8 had a pile of cinder blocks stacked up around it...now rocks like Rankin is cool because it is natural...a pile of cinder blocks is not something I consider a quality obstacle.
The bathroom had more urine on the floor than could have possibly ever been in the toilet itself.
The course was a pond from all the rain the last few days (not something I count against, but it added to the craptasticness).

Other Thoughts:

Now many know that I am not the most harsh reviewer but this course was the absolute worst I have played. The people camping compounded the problem but it probably would've gotten something near a 1 without them.
There is a raging river next to 9 and while it is a decent bit off the line I could just see shanking a disc in there to top the day off so I skipped it too.
Back in the woods just had a deliverance vibe to me...I had given thought to walking the trail to see where it went but did not feel like "squealing like a pig" tonight. This is not a slam on the location...the town actually reminded me of upstate NY...it was just the vibe I got being alone in the rain.
I think the course could be a solid 2 if it was revamped and utilized the land better.

**I found a tick the size of the width of my pinky last night on my hip (played the day prior)...please be careful!! **
Was this review helpful? Yes No
12 1
DiscGolfCraig
Diamond level trusted reviewer
Premium Member
Experience: 20 years 604 played 547 reviews
2.50 star(s)

Nuthin' but a 'G' Thang 2+ years

Reviewed: Updated: Played on:Apr 3, 2015 Played the course:once

Pros:

Betty G. Ross's 18-hole layout is a vast improvement over the old, nine-hole design. What was a poor course has become a fun, decent course that the locals can enjoy.
- By the time I was standing on the first tee, I could tell this course was already a marked improvement. If you never played the old layout, consider yourself lucky. The old, unimaginative, short first hole was replaced by a wooded, mid-range shot.
- The course takes great use of the land. I'm glad everyone involved in the redesign realized there was lots of unused land in the back of the park, and decided to put it to good use.
- There are some legitimately enjoyable holes on the course. Granted, there are also a lot of average, nothing-special ones as well. My favorite hole on the course is #5. Never mind that I couldn't find the tee pad/markers, if one even exists, I love having a mid-range tee shot of 225 feet to a basket nestled behind trees, located pretty close to the river. If this hole was lengthened, I would love the increased risk/reward factor of people pulling out drivers taking a run at this basket.
- I also enjoyed the couple of holes that were left over from the original design: old #8 & 9 became new #13 & 14. These also used parts of old holes and incorporated them into the course, including the use of hole #5 listed above. The only sentimentality I had was that the old #2 was gone, meaning you couldn't throw a ricochet shot off the rec center building anymore to get to the basket.
- This is a heavily wooded course, with only a couple holes being in the open. Also, only a couple holes on the front 9 come close to other park activities. Besides that, the back of the park is pretty much exclusively for disc golf...with the caveat that I could see a person using the fairways and transitions as a walking path.
- Mostly a good flow to the course. Starting after hole #5, from there on out, there are next tee signs to make navigation much easier. The first five holes do have signs, but because the holes are more spread out, navigation between holes (mainly trying to find tee pads) was more difficult.
- For being a heavily wooded course, the course still offers plenty of birdie chances and ace-runs. The fairways are wide enough, and the holes are mostly mid-range length, that rec level players and above should be able to post low scores here. During my round, I only had to scramble to save par once. Other than that, it was birdies, birdie chances including two ace-runs, and ho-hum pars.
- This course will appeal to casual and beginner players. At its posted length of 4257 feet (which I question some of the hole lengths below), the average hole comes in at 236 feet. 14 holes are listed between 200 - 299 feet (again, I question some of those lengths), meaning you don't need a big arm for this course. I threw Roc or Buzz off the majority of tees.

Cons:

I'm not sure if the designers have stopped working on the course, or if the redesign is just going very slow. Either way, in its current state as of April 2015, the course still feels a work-in-progress, creating some obvious problems.
- The first of these problems is the inconsistencies presentenced throughout the course. Some holes have the makings of a tee pad (framed by logs) while others have some other tee marker (#4, for example has a board across the grass) while others seem to be non-existent, most notably #2 & 5. On #2, for example, is the tee pad the one used for the old #3 (there is still the old tee sign there), or is one of the bare patches in the grass? If so, then the hole length is incorrect.
- Also, the navigation between holes is inconsistent. To its credit, navigation gets markedly improved beginning with hole #6. There's a stretch - holes #6 - 11 where there is very little walking from one hole to the next, and you can find the tee pads easily, which is awesome. The issues come up in smaller ways, such as trying to find the tee for #5. Having an arrow on a wood pole 75 feet from #4 basket doesn't provide much help. Also, having more arrows on the longer transitions would eliminate the need to guess which path to walk down to get to the next tee.
- Hole lengths are inconsistent, and clearly wrong on about a third of the holes. On #2 & 5, without clear tee markers, I picked what appeared to be the tee areas. If I was correct, then both holes play a good 50 - 75 longer than their listed lengths. If the listed lengths are correct, then there are no clear tee markers at that distance. Also, #17 & 18 both play much longer than their listed lengths of 255 & 260 feet, respectively. Both are a good 100 feet longer, which is actually a good thing. Designers, just get your distance correct.
- No tee signs. That might not be a bad thing, except when you see the old, bad layout had tee signs. I'm cautiously optimistic that means the designers might be willing to improve the course before it is finalized and signs are created.
- The course does have a sense of monotony. The general vibe of the course is a wooded hole in the 225 - 250 foot range, with the hole being straight or only slightly doglegged. Basically, if you can throw straight at that distance, you'll have birdie putts on a majority of holes. A little more variety would have really spiced up the course.

Other Thoughts:

If you were turned off by the old layout, as was I, I'd encourage you to give the new layout a chance. This is actually an enjoyable, short-length course. It's a poor man's version of Trails in Anderson, SC. For a more local reference, I'd compare it to Crooked Creek Crossing in Stallings, a suburb of Charlotte, or Bearskin Creek in Monroe, in terms of skill level.
- The course isn't flashy, but it is consistent. There wasn't one bad hole on this course; conversely, there wasn't one signature, challenging hole. As stated, #5 could be better if lengthened. The same could be said for a couple other holes as well. #17, which is in the 350-foot range, is probably the signature 'challenging' hole. It's the only one that seemed to have an element of station to station throwing to get to the basket. I also enjoyed the design of #9 with a downed tree across the fairway creating an added obstacle.
- Let's hope the local disc golf community maintains and improves some of the issues. The redesign was done last year, and already it seems some issues will be creeping up quickly if attention isn't given. There are still some small stumps on many holes. Also a lot of underbrush wasn't completely removed. And with growing season starting again, this could quickly become an issue/nuisance.
- Who knew that 321 was becoming its own little disc golf hotbed? From Charlotte, get on 321 in Gastonia, knock out Rankin (and Bradley which isn't technically off 321), then head up to Lincolnton (Betty G Ross), Hickory (Hilton) and Sawmills (Veterans Park) and you've got a nice day trip on your way to the mountains.
- Big improvement over the old nine-hole layout. It's a decent intermediate-level course, which is what you should expect for a course of this rating.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
4 0
JackAce
Experience: 15.2 years 4 played 2 reviews
1.00 star(s)

2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Updated: Played on:Apr 4, 2009 Played the course:5+ times

Pros:

A course to practice at or to teach new player show to play. It's pretty short so you can teach players without them getting too discouraged. Not alot of DG traffic. Course map near parking lot near #1. Course is easy to navigate. Each hole has posts where the tee pads are supposedly at. Course is in a nice family park with bathroom facilities, and plenty of parking all around the park. I like the fact that #2 goes beside the rec center, so you have a giant "wall "playing down the left side of the fairway. It's not a natural object, but it adds a cool narrowing of the hole.

Cons:

#3 & #5 are often unplayable because of "park-goers" in the way. #4 could be a great hole if it was not right beside a playground. #9 does end in an odd spot. You can take the path all the way around and come out right beside #2 and the parking lot if there has been no recent rain. Otherwise just cut back up #9 fairway and walk passed the pool and rec center to the parking lot. The tee pads are not clearly marked. Park is nice but the course is poorly kept up.

Other Thoughts:

For a 9 hole course it's not bad. The park director and a few who play there are in the process of making some improvements to the course. Additional tee boxes for a longer course. (Blue I believe) Possibly moving some baskets around. I think with a little work this could be a very cool 9 hole course. If you live nearby definitely drop by and play. The more traffic the course get, the more work can be done. The park director needs to see the traffic to keep working on the course.

* I have not seen any recent work done to the course. 3,4, & 5 are nearly impossible to play if anybody is in the park. They really need to rethink the layout if they expect people to come play this course.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
5 6
Dave242
Gold level trusted reviewer
Experience: 30 years 394 played 276 reviews
0.50 star(s)

D+ = Doesn't have much happenin' for a 9 holer 2+ years

Reviewed: Played on:Sep 16, 2007 Played the course:once

Pros:

What I personally like and how this course stacks up:
1) Holes with good risk/reward -- C-
2) Holes that have rewarding birdie opportunities -- D
3) More wooded than open - lots of variety of shots required caused by hole shape and topography -- D+
4) Natural beauty (Appalachian beauty preferred) and seclusion -- C
5) Multi-shot holes with defined landing zones, good risk/reward and multiple options to play them -- NA

Other Thoughts:

I ranked this course subjectively based on my own personal enjoyment factor...more accurately my "personal addiction factor". Since I have played a decent number of courses (115 18-hole, 50 9-hole as of early 2009), my hope is that players/explorers who have similar tastes will find my ratings list helpful as they chose courses to play and explore.

Over time, I expect to fill some of my reviews in with more descriptive verbiage...if what I say adds anything to what has already been written. For now, my list is more important to me than the verbiage of my reviews.

I fully expect others with different tastes/philosophies to disagree with me. See my profile for my rating philosophy.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
8 3
_.-Dut-._
Silver level trusted reviewer
Experience: 25.4 years 111 played 34 reviews
1.50 star(s)

Betty G. 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Oct 24, 2008 Played the course:5+ times

Pros:

One of the more "technical" nine hole courses I have played. Offers a decent amount of shot variety. Has great facilities with vending machines and clean restrooms. Course is easy to navigate and a map is posted at the parking lot near hole two.

Cons:

Some of the holes dont play naturally. A Volleyball net interferes with #4's fairway. There is also a playground that is dangerously close to hole fours teepad and could be a problem for hole 3.

Other Thoughts:

Unless you live close by this course probably isnt worth the drive or effort.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
4 4
willstradamus
Experience: 25.7 years 32 played 10 reviews
2.00 star(s)

Great Practice 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Updated: Played on:Dec 24, 2008 Played the course:5+ times

Pros:

Large Course Directory facing parking lot. Great for practicing anhyzer and hyzer lines as well as trying "new" shots such as rollers, sidearms, and skip shots. Playable with only one disc which makes for a perfect course to teach a friend how to play. Sharks are sold in the office for only 6 dollars. Volleyball net has been moved. The holes do not collide with other holes or fairways. You can play for hours with no DG traffic

Cons:

only nine holes. they have added a bench that plays a factor on #2 but can be easily moved.

Other Thoughts:

I frequently play this course and credit it with shaving at least multiple strokes off my score on Larger courses.

New "Long Version" adds a whole new feel to the course. long signs are still to come.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
14 2
YonderScott
Bronze level trusted reviewer
Experience: 15.9 years 54 played 18 reviews
1.00 star(s)

Short 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Sep 22, 2008 Played the course:once

Pros:

It's a disc golf course. Each hole has a tee sign. There is a map of the course onsite. Easy to get in a quick round.

Cons:

There are a couple of issues with this course. #2 plays right between a building and the woods. There are some lower branches in the way and it's hard to get a shot off. #3 has some horseshoe pits in the fairway. #4 has the tee box nestled between the woods and benches for parents of kids playing on the playground that is next to the fairway. In the fairway is the volleyball court. You have to throw the disc over the net, but don't throw to high or it will hit the power lines that are in the fairway. Once around the corner if you are off with your shot a little it will end up in the baseball field. #5 tee box is really close to the 8 fairway. #9 ends near the basket for #4. You either have to hike up the nature trail or come out of the woods and walk across #4, #3 and #2 to get back to your car.

Other Thoughts:

This is a short pitch and putt course, I only used a driver once and that was on #4 to try and make the turn. I would not recommend driving very far to play this course, but if you do you will want to go during off hours. If there are alot of people in the park it makes 3 and 4 really hard to play.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

Latest posts

Top