• Discover new ways to elevate your game with the updated DGCourseReview app!
    It's entirely free and enhanced with features shaped by user feedback to ensure your best experience on the course. (App Store or Google Play)

Eudora, KS

Bluejacket DGC

2.155(based on 10 reviews)
Filter course reviews

Filter reviews

Filter reviews

Bluejacket DGC reviews

Filter
11 0
Pizza God
Diamond level trusted reviewer
Premium Member
Experience: 36.2 years 1745 played 591 reviews
2.00 star(s)

Small town, small park, small course

Reviewed: Played on:Feb 15, 2024 Played the course:once

Pros:

Nice Cement tee pads
Good baskets
Good tee signs
Well manicured grounds|
Practice basket

Cons:

Not enough tree's
Some of the holes are pretty close together.
Hole 6 crosses a sidewalk
Hole 3's basket is right next to a sidewalk

Other Thoughts:

As far as 9 hole small town courses, this one is actually kind of fun to play. While the park does not have much in tree's, it is on a hill so elevation comes into play on several of the holes.

They holes are not super long, I was able to reach all of them on my drive. I think the best hole is hole 5, It's a blind shot that hyzer shots will go down the hill (over hole 2's tee box)

Hole 6 is a "cake" hole with a raised basket. Only issue is this hole crosses over a walking trail. I happened to hit this hole right as all the school kids were walking though the park. I just waited for the crowd to walk on till I threw the hole.

not much else to say about this one.

Would I play here again? No, while it's a decent little small town course, it is not challenging enough to play again. It's a one and done for me. but if your driving though and want a quick round, this one is MUCH better than the middle school course on the south side of town.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
12 0
Pevio
Gold level trusted reviewer
Experience: 12.1 years 190 played 120 reviews
2.00 star(s)

Miniature

Reviewed: Updated: Played on:Nov 23, 2022 Played the course:once

Pros:

Bluejacket provides a lot of fun on a small piece of land. It is well kept up, is in a nice park, and is fairly decent despite only having a few trees of any size. The course starts where it ends, and there's some park infrastructure nearby but that doesn't get in the way of the course.

The best part of the course is its usage of elevation. Every hole goes either up or down, and there are side slopes on several. Combined with varying distances, this course manages to provide a lot of unique challenges despite only having nine holes.

The raised pin on 6 is cool, though personally I would have put it on a different hole since the basket is barely visible from the tee. Some other signature shots are the downhill touch shot on 1 and the tunnel-ish shot on 9 (though some wide hyzer opportunities are available).

There are several holes where distance control might be difficult. This is sometimes because there aren't a lot of trees, but with a few blind shots and deceiving hills, this course manages to provide some challenge in unexpected ways.

Cons:

First and foremost, hardly any trees. There are some, but they're really short and easy to throw over. The only hole where your line is forced is hole 1. On several others, you have all kinds of options. The short trees will grow eventually, but it will take a while and may still leave a lot of lines open. While the course has difficulty despite the lack of technical shots, it's mostly easy to get up and down if you have a bad shot.

Navigation is a bit odd sometimes. The holes are really close together, so safety is a bit of a concern, especially if there are a lot of players on the course. And the basket can frequently not be seen from the tee - and this is a problem since you will always be able to see at least two other holes' baskets. There's a walking path nearby on most holes, but you'll always be able to see if anyone is coming. The only hole that really plays over it is hole 6.

Tee signs are old and weren't that good to begin with. The only helpful information they show at this point is the hole number and distance. But this isn't too much of a problem except on holes 1 and 6, where figuring out where the basket is isn't trivial.

Other Thoughts:

This course does a good job giving the feel of a premier course without having any of the corresponding difficulty, with nearly everything being just a miniature version. The fun factor is certainly there, but there's not enough challenge to warrant a high rating.

Other than planting some more trees, there's not really any way this course can get much better. The land is already utilized to the max, and the design is quite good. However, if you are looking for a little spicier of a challenge, there are a lot of opportunities for safari layouts. With the holes so close together, and the walking path that can be used as extra tees, you can make your own holes pretty much anywhere.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
14 0
Surge5
Gold level trusted reviewer
Experience: 9.9 years 170 played 168 reviews
2.00 star(s)

Little Hills, Big Personality

Reviewed: Updated: Played on:Oct 15, 2021 Played the course:once

Pros:

Stepping up to the first tee you'll notice the tee pads are quite large for a city park 9-hole course.  That along with having tee signs shows that Eudora was willing to invest in disc golf.

Lots of rolling hills make for some decent elevation changes.  Hole 1 is the most dramatic and probably drops 20ft, while 4 and 7 are around 15ft down.  Going the other way, holes 3, 6, and 8 are about 15 feet of an uphill challenge.

The less elevational holes have other challlenges.  2 is a blind basket, 5 has a small tree that takes away the line drive approach, and 9 has a path that can be played as OB for extra challenge.

There are no super short holes here.  And the holes that are shorter go uphill to keep the challenge level consistent.

The course starts and ends right by the same picnic shelter.

The baskets are in great shape for being 8 years old.  Basket 6 is elevated 4-ish feet up, making an already tough-to-get birdie even tougher.

While the park is bordered by a playground, some backyards, a baseball field, and a road; it would be very hard to put a disc over a fence or put other park users in danger.

Cons:

Navigation and safety are subpar, and not in a good way.  On hole 1, you can see the baskets of 5 and 7... but not of 1.  The left-hand hyzer (or righty forehand) line goes directly at the tee of 6.  On hole 2 I mistakenly threw to the basket of 4, and maybe that one's on me, but two blind baskets in a row to start off the day will sour a round.

The tee signs are fading.  4 has been replaced, but 7 is nearing Infinity War snap status (see my tee sign pictures in Files).

The only other negative is the walking path you'll contend with on holes 1, 5, 6, and 9.  It's a small town so I assume the path will never be crowded, but it is worth noting since it affects a decent number of holes.

Other Thoughts:

Is this a good course?  In a word, yes.  Minor gripes here and there, but a solid overall course.  It's open enough to bring a beginner to, but the distance is great enough to challenge more skilled players.

There was obviously some solid planning that went into Bluejacket, and it's only a few minutes off the highway.  Is the hole design incredible?  No.  But the top-notch planning work makes it worth a stop to warm up before Lawrence or Olathe courses, or for a casual 9 holes.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
9 0
Upshawt1979
Diamond level trusted reviewer
Premium Member
Experience: 21.1 years 550 played 429 reviews
2.00 star(s)

Bluejacket Breakdown 2+ years

Reviewed: Played on:Oct 29, 2017 Played the course:once

Pros:

The 9 hole course at Bluejacket Park is kind of a fun run, with birdie opportunities galore. There are nice hills that bring elevation changes on nearly every hole. The trees are sparse, and many of them are still small.

Hole 1 was the best to me. The basket is at the bottom of a fairly steep hill and hidden behind a tree. Hole 6 may be the most difficult. It is longer, and slightly uphill. If you can reach on the drive, you'll still have to avoid the mature tree guarding the green.

The grass was mowed impeccably, with fairways a just a bit shorter than the rest. The tees have been recently upgraded. They are now concrete, and have very nice signs. The baskets are in great shape.

Cons:

When you can see nearly every basket from the first tee, you know the possibilities are limited. Challenge is lacking for any established player. Many of the holes are reachable from the tee driving with a mid range or putter.

Other Thoughts:

I played this course on the way home from Shawnee Mission, and was glad I stopped by. It may not be a destination course, but was a fun chaser to stack on a longer course.

I shot a (-2) 25, and would like to play it again a few times just to see how low I could get with more reps. Fun for practicing, or teaching new players or kids.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
5 0
jcates
Experience: 1 played 1 reviews
1.50 star(s)

BlueJacket Course 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Nov 3, 2016 Played the course:5+ times

Pros:

This course is very close to where I live so I use the course to practice 3 times a week. I try to go on the windy days because there are almost no obstacles or elevation changes. When some of the trees reach maturity the course will be better for the tune up days. The city mows the course really nicely about once a week and it makes the fairway defined.

Cons:

There are no tee signs and so the pads are grass marked by paver stones in the ground. As of 10/01/2016 or some time at that point, the first hole was vandalized and is lying on the ground. It has been brought to the attention of the city and I haven't heard when or if they are going to replace it. Hole # 5 is just past the concrete walking train on some elevation that I just play to. Add in some ob for difficulty.

Other Thoughts:

If I didn't live so close to this course I probably wouldn't take time out of my day to go play here. For beginners or families that want to get their feet wet in disc golf this course would be good.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
6 0
Dsjoats
Experience: 10 years 316 played 15 reviews
3.00 star(s)

2+ years

Reviewed: Played on:Sep 6, 2014 Played the course:2-4 times

Pros:

Wide open course with scattered immature trees. Absolutely no rough. This is a well maintained park setting.
For me this course was just long enough to be interesting. The elevation changes made each throw a bit different.
No need for hiking boots, you can play this course in flip flops if you want.
Great place to practice.
Not a lot of traffic.

Cons:

Tee pads would be nice, but the grass is in good enough shape that this it was not a huge deal for me today.
The tee pads are only marked with small red pavers, and are a bit difficult to find the first time you play.

Other Thoughts:

This place is wide open. You can see just about every basket from the 1st tee. Enjoy the simplicity of this course. There are challenging courses in Lawrence, Lake Perry and the KC Metro area if this is not your cup of tea.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
7 0
phantom51
Experience: 11.2 years 34 played 8 reviews
2.50 star(s)

The elevation made it worth the trip... 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:May 23, 2014 Played the course:2-4 times

Pros:

The Chainstar baskets are in excellent shape. The course is frequently mowed. In fact, Parks & Rec were out there trimming the weeds when I first showed up. There wasn't much pedestrian traffic. Some parents had kids playing on the nearby playground but they never interfered with play.
The course is short, which won't challenge any advanced or beyond players. I threw mostly from a stand still (Lack of tees.) and landed frequently within putting range on the majority of holes.
As for the trees, keep waiting, as they will change the difficulty in the years to come.
The elevation of the hills here, while not steep, did make throws interesting enough. I think that was the only perk that made the trip worthwhile for me. There's plenty of uphill and downhill approach shots to practice.
The lack of underbrush and tall grass helps in not losing any discs, a plus for all disc golfers.

Cons:

First of all, the obvious lack of tees and signage. The park is small and I understand placing tees in will reduce the park's scenic appeal. The stone markers are flat with the ground, so I recommend if you are playing out here for the first time, walk the course first. The tees and baskets often run close to each other. It can be deceiving on where to throw. Is that basket #1 or #7? Hint: #1 is behind the tree and not entirely visible from #1's tee.
No public restrooms out here. The closest gas station that I saw was a Quik Trip near the K-10 off/on ramp into Eudora. No trash cans nearby other than near a picnic shelter, so please pack out what you bring. As for that fact, I saw no litter.

Other Thoughts:

Overall, not a bad little course for a small town. I hope that it does get used by the local players. For practice, this works! I'm sure though that if you're going to make longer than a 15-20 minute drive, go ahead and play Centennial Park in nearby Lawrence or Shawnee Mission Park in Shawnee. I had a few hours to kill before work so I drove out from Olathe to cross this one off the list. Didn't regret it, but wasn't overly impressed either.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
7 2
coopera
Experience: 17 years 85 played 5 reviews
3.00 star(s)

Great Practice Site 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Jun 4, 2013 Played the course:once

Pros:

This is a nice collection of 9 baskets on interesting topography. It is a wonderful location to go out and play safari and to work on a variety of shots. Easy to find multiple shots as it is mowed well and there isn't underbrush to obscure anything.

It will also be a great place to introduce people to the game and to not overwhelm them with difficulty.

Cons:

There are no tees of any sort. Calling it a course is a bit of a stretch for now but it can certainly grow into that. That being said, if you live close enough, it is highly recommended to get some practice in.

Other Thoughts:

My rating is an average of my belief that this is a 2.0 course and a 4.0 practice venue. I think this is in the early stages and I'm excited to see what else is planned for the land but for what it is it is enjoyable.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
10 1
Rob Martin
Silver level trusted reviewer
Premium Member
Experience: 14 years 334 played 42 reviews
2.00 star(s)

It's a beginning 2+ years

Reviewed: Updated: Played on:May 24, 2013 Played the course:2-4 times

Pros:

Great new baskets.
Mowed regularly.
Updated to a 2. Now has a single paving stone (12" sq?) with white number painted on it. Level with ground, so if you don't know where to look, it is difficult to find.

Cons:

All of the trees are newly planted, so they are small.

Other Thoughts:

I'm glad Eudora put in a course. I'm sure this is just a beginning, but they really need to mark some tee boxes, if nothing else, with a rebar post or something.

Give the trees 8-10 years to grow, and it will seriously alter the flight lines.
15-20 years to grow, and it will be a completely different course
Was this review helpful? Yes No
12 0
bigreddog
Gold level trusted reviewer
Experience: 12.3 years 198 played 63 reviews
1.50 star(s)

Could be a good beginners' course 2+ years

Reviewed: Updated: Played on:May 16, 2013 Played the course:once

Pros:

No problems finding discs due to the lack of brush and grass mowed reasonably. 10/10

There is quite a bit of elevation, which I wasn't expecting going in based on what I had seen of Eudora on the drive between Lawrence and Olathe. The elevation was also used pretty well, with a variety of different slopes. 8/10

Grass was pretty short and the course was pretty short so even though there were no benches comfort was not a problem. No water or restrooms that I've noticed. 6/10

There are not many obstacles on this course, but the ones it has are used decently. Most holes have a couple of trees that could come into play, but there are no major or memorable obstacles. 5/10

Cons:

The biggest problem is navigation between holes. There are spray painted markers for the tees that I found on 7 holes but they weren't very visible. No map available at the park. Baskets now have hole numbers on them. If I hadn't found the map on this site on my phone it would have been nearly impossible to determine which hole was which. 1/10

No alternate hole positions, pretty much by necessity since there is no room for them 0/10

Although most of the baskets can be seen from the start, you pretty much just have to guess on where the tees are and which of the baskets in view you're throwing to. 1/10

All of the holes are pretty open, there are lots of small newly planted trees that could be more of a factor down the road. A couple of baskets are guarded by trees but overall there's not much variety of openness. 2/10

Because of how open it is, there aren't a variety of shot paths forced. 2/10

This course is pretty easy, and won't give experienced players much of a challenge unless they just want practice with midrange shots. 3/10

Grass was mowed, but not only were tee signs not present, tees were absent altogether. There was also no map present to show course layout. Overall maintenance 3/10

Baskets are new and in good condition, but the lack of tees brings Condition of baskets and tees to a 3/10 overall

Most holes are pretty straightforward and don't require much decisionmaking. The first and last holes are exceptions, but it's still 3/10

There is not much variety in the lengths of the holes, Many of them play do play different lengths since some are uphill and some are downhill and some are through rolling hills though so it's not too noticeable. 4/10

Other Thoughts:

This course is worth playing if you are close, but for only nine holes it's probably not worth a long drive. This course could be good for beginners assuming that tees of some kind are added. If the course gets more people playing there could be an issue with how close together the baskets are. After the trees have grown this course could get more interesting. Plus, more advanced players could use it to practice and just make up different holes.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

Latest posts

Top