Grayslake, IL

Central Park

2.435(based on 20 reviews)
Filter course reviews

Filter reviews

Filter reviews

Central Park reviews

Filter
9 0
EspressoPatronum
Gold level trusted reviewer
Premium Member
Experience: 18.6 years 224 played 215 reviews
2.50 star(s)

The 2nd Best Central Park

Reviewed: Played on:Jun 2, 2023 Played the course:once

Pros:

- beautifully manicured park with native flowers throughout
- lightly wooded with some decent technical challenge from mature trees
- decent equipment - concrete tees, Innova DISCatcher baskets, color tee signs with maps
- wood chips on ground to prevent mud
- gravel around some baskets
- most navigation is pretty clear
- rough is generally more forgiving than others have noted
- multiuse park has general park amenities in areas outside of disc golf course
- course is mostly in a dedicated area away from other park activities
- hole numbers on baskets
- course sign at beginning with map

Cons:

- concrete tees are very narrow
- mostly flat
- fairly easy with not a ton of challenge for more advanced players
- a few significant safety hazards, including crossing fairways and blind tee shots
- a little backtracking
- no real amenities on course; no practice basket

Other Thoughts:

I think Central Park in Oak Brook is still my preferred Central Park (and a lot more challenging), but I really enjoyed my round at Central Park of Grayslake. While the course is in a heavily used multi-use park, the disc golf course was isolated and deserted. This is one of the prettier parks I've been to in the Chicago suburbs, with well mown and maintained fairways, abundant native flowers, and several fallen trees (not obstructing play) with some interesting bark falling off all over. I got to know the bark firsthand trying to climb up on to a trunk looking for a disc, only to lose my balance and fall off sending bark exploding into little bits and raining down into my shoes - go me.

This course is a little low on the technical challenge. It does incorporate a few minor rolling hills, and about half the holes have some decent distance. Overall, it is quite short, fairly open, and doesn't have a huge amount of intrigue that would prompt driving a distance. I think the natural beauty of the course, which may not be world-class but is quite high for Chicagoland, made a soft spot in my heart for this one - I'd probably put it as high as a 2.75 personally.

Other reviewers have noted the rough being bad - I didn't really find this to be the case. There is some ability to lose a disc here, but most holes aren't exceptionally long, and most rough is pretty short and open. Perhaps in late summer it would be worse than in the first days of June.

The biggest cons here are the crossing fairways on 6 and 7, which have been thoroughly documented. This always makes me sad on an otherwise very nice course; there surely was another way to lay this out. This does cause a bit of backtracking, as does the play from 4 to 5, but this isn't too bad, and most navigation is pretty clear. The course sign shows the map and it is also available on DGCR. Hole 7 also had a bit of a minor safety hazard in that you really can't see the basket from the tee. It follows the fairway so that's the best guide.

On hole 9, I did have to shorten it up a bit due to pavilions being in use for parties and people walking everywhere - this was the only hole that was really impacted by other park activities. While some of the holes are a bit on the short side, this is a fun course that I think is worth playing. It's kind of a combination of pitch and putt with several longer holes you'd actually use your driver for - a bit for everyone. There are many 9 holes near this one so it's worth a short trip if admittedly not a longer one.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
8 0
MrFrosty
Diamond level trusted reviewer
Experience: 30.9 years 764 played 386 reviews
1.50 star(s)

Wear Long Pants 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Jun 14, 2020 Played the course:once

Pros:

Central park is a 9 hole course in a small multi use park . The course sits away from any other activities , except the occasional walk through from a local resident .
The Equipment : The tee pads here are cement and hold footing well . They are oblong but narrow . More on cons . The signage is fine , with hole # par and distance plus flight path and next tee on it . The baskets are yellow banded Discatchers . There is a nice kiosk with map near the entrance to the course .
The Landscape :The fairways were mowed and the course and park grounds were very clean . This park receives a lot of care . The course lacks any real elevation . It is flat and easy on the knees . The course plays park style around a deeper section of woods that you will enter around hole #4 . The overgrowth is in abundance in this particular section . You have to watch your disc go in or you may have a fit trying to dig it out . Good use of some of the trees here , and greater use of putting a 9 hole course with a 345' 335' and 3 holes 295 + in a small tract of land away from the rest of the park activities . .
The highlights . No real highlights here . The course plays short . I guess the best hole was the 345' hole #3 that bends a little right to left with some trees in the fairway to the open green at the back of the park
Time , if you keep your disc in the fairway , you can play this course in about 25 minutes . A foursome will be done in an less than an hour .

Cons:

#1 Safety . Some safety issues here . You will get an occasional walk through on the course by a resident that knows nothing about disc golf . While on my round , I walked up on a man practicing his ball golf game that was chipping golf balls to the #8 basket . The fairways criss-cross on #6 and #7 . I can see someone being hammered by a drive from the #7 tee box . #9 fairway is close to an outdoor performing area .
#2 Navigation : Can be tricky . The first 3 holes are easy . #4 is a dogleg alley shot . You have to come back out of it to get to #5 which is on the right . If you didn't print a map , you will spend a lot of time looking for the 7 tee , because no one would guess it crosses you fairway .
#3 The rough . This is some of the most unforgiving rough that I have seen , especially in a 9 hole course . It took me a long time to dig a drive out of this rough It's a shame when you need a spotter on a small course like this .
#4 Who ? As in who is this course designed for ? The course is too short for anyone intermediate skilled and up . Really , the players that would benefit most would be locals and people to introduce the game to . These are just the type of people that are going to chuck their drive into the high rough . And the rough doesn't discriminate . It will be terrible for right handed and left handed alike .
Equipment . Not a problem for me , but these concrete tees are thin for kids and locals making a run up on the tee . Can you say Twisted Ankle ?

Other Thoughts:

You know , the park is nice , and this might not be terrible to slip away from a kids practice to throw a round in . I think that the course designer had good intentions , by adding length and tight fairways , but the players that will take advantage of the course will not have a good experience if they are spending over half the time here looking for and losing discs . Keep your throws low .

My Recommendation : Too easy for intermediates and up . Rough is unforgiving and NOT a good play for families , dates , or newbies . The locals might enjoy a round if living close by
Not too far off the expressway , the course is a quick play for travelers and a slew of 9 hole courses and Fairfield Park that a Course Collector can add to their totals .
I might pass by this course , otherwise .
Was this review helpful? Yes No
1 1
DiscGolfer80
Experience: 4.7 years 57 played 56 reviews
2.50 star(s)

2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Apr 1, 2020 Played the course:once

Pros:

Layout is descent with a bit of a challenge for beginners since it is playing thru a wooded area. Baskets and pads were in good condition, easy to move from basket to next tee pad.

Cons:

Easy to lose disc since holes are playing thru a wood section of the park. Careful playing #6 & #7 since the fairways intersect each other.

Other Thoughts:

Could get busy with residents in the summer, so early spring or fall probably best time to play.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
1 2
KKennedy0909
Experience: 20.6 years 9 played 8 reviews
2.50 star(s)

Fun 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Jul 19, 2017 Played the course:5+ times

Pros:

The course is in a fun park and has a fairly good layout.
Is fairly challenging for recreational players.

Cons:

The course goes through a forest and there is high potential for losing a disc if a throw gets away from you.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
7 0
Qikly
Diamond level trusted reviewer
Experience: 11.7 years 181 played 148 reviews
1.50 star(s)

2+ years

Reviewed: Played on:Jul 2, 2016 Played the course:once

Pros:

Central Park's DGC packs some nice variety into a small piece of land. The tree coverage is ample enough to force lines and require considered approaches. Holes move in and out of, as well as alongside of, the central patch of trees here in a way that creates a nice set of lines and obstacles off the tee, forming tight windows to drive through, narrowing lanes to approach, and boundaries to avoid. The design seems sensitive to avoiding repetition, and it definitely succeeds in this. Central Park seems notably more technical than most small park courses I've played.

Holes can stretch out with some surprising distance given that this is a small park course. Fairway drivers are just as essential as mids here, a nice change of pace from many other such courses. Lines are varied enough to prompt using a variety of discs.

The course is easy to navigate and quickly played. Conflict with non-DGers seems to be minimal. Fairways seem to be well-groomed.

Cons:

By far the biggest detractor of this course is its humble scale: it takes place on a small patch of land that the design more or less maximizes, but can nevertheless only offer so much. The fact that this is a small park course of nine holes really limits its ceiling.

Despite the welcome push for distance, the course nevertheless feels short, a fact magnified by there being just nine holes. The ability to play a decently-engaging round quickly is a plus, but on the flip side this course isn't going to give you much more than that. Just come prepared for what to expect.

The shrubbery off the fairway can be jungle-like, and with enough trees here even a solid player can suffer a tree kick that loses them a disc (speaking from experience here). It can be frustrating to play a quick round on a small course and still have to contend with searching for a disc for 10 minutes.

Other Thoughts:

Central Park was one of the better small courses I visited on a day of course-bagging binging last year. I wouldn't recommend it on its own, but it makes a decent option when supplementing a trip to Fairfield Park.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
1 0
mavsfan0434
Experience: 12 played 11 reviews
3.50 star(s)

If you want to bomb, not for you 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Jul 21, 2015 Played the course:once

Pros:

-Great Tee Pads
-Nice park with ample parking, bathrooms, and other family activities
-Course is well kept
-Baskets are in great shape

Cons:

-Some pretty tight windows with rough all around, miss your spot and you are hunting in some THICK brush

Other Thoughts:

Overall, I was glad I picked this course to play while on my trip in Illinois. I didn't have much time, so went with a 9 hole. This park was super nice, and the course requires all different kinds of shots. As my title says...if you are wanting to go somewhere to throw the disc 300+ feet this isn't the course for you.

The windows to throw in on 4 and 5 are quite insanely small for a newbie like me.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
1 2
boston
Experience: 11.4 years 63 played 10 reviews
3.50 star(s)

Awesome 9 hole 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Jul 10, 2015 Played the course:once

Pros:

Nice variety of shots and distances.

Cons:

Some tee signs are missing.

Other Thoughts:

Could do with some tree trimming around the fairways to open them up slightly in spots, otherwise I have nothing really to complain about.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
1 1
Buchajs1
Bronze level trusted reviewer
Experience: 11.6 years 168 played 44 reviews
2.50 star(s)

Nice little nine holer 2+ years

Reviewed: Updated: Played on:Jun 28, 2013 Played the course:once

Pros:

I think this course is an example of a good nine holer in the chicago suburbs. The area where the disc golf course is set up is primarily a disc folf only area with the exception of a few areas designated for walking paths.

Concrete tees- even though they are not great, the concrete tees are serviceable and provide good footing. Howver they are very narrow.

Well defined fairways- fairwas are cut out of rough and trees. Not many trees to provide obstacles but the rough is unforgiving and on tree kick could leave you struggling for par or even bogey. I like this because the is a punishment if yo do not execute your shot correctlty.

Small elevation changes- elevation is not usually found in this areas courses, however they did a good job incorporating the amount of elevation.

Variety- course has holes ranging from 150-375 and all of the holes have different lines. There are hyzer lines, as well as tough turnover shots and anhyzers.

Amenities- some tee signs are still there. This is a multi use park so there are bathrooms as well as other activities at the park

Cons:

Holes 6 and 7 cross- althoug im sure that this course does not get very crowded there is alwas the chance of hitting someone because of the faiways croo. I think it makes more sense to play tee 6 to sevens basket and tee seven to 6's basket, this would allow for two holes both about 280 requireing a big hyzer and big anhyzer.

Rough can get thick, i would recommend using a spotter on the holes where the rough is more dense.

Multiple tee signs are missing. 3 of the holes are blind where you can not see the basket, of these three two had missing tee signs, if i was here alone, i could imagine having to run up to see where the basket was before you throw.

Other Thoughts:

Thus is a nice nine holer situated in a well maintained multi use park.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
1 11
sturmans
Experience: 21 played 2 reviews
0.00 star(s)

No thanks. 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:May 30, 2012 Played the course:once

Pros:

None.

Cons:

They need to maintain the course better. Chop down some of the rough areas so it makes for easier finding of a disc. I would not recommend this course to beginners. Poorly labeled and zero signs to tell where someone is going. This course needs an update and hack saw.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
5 0
notapro
Diamond level trusted reviewer
Premium Member
Experience: 20.6 years 568 played 281 reviews
2.50 star(s)

Intermediate 2+ years

Reviewed: Updated: Played on:Aug 21, 2010 Played the course:once

Pros:

- Disc golf activities are pretty much separate from the rest of the park. There is a football field, a playground, and an outdoor theater, but none of them are really in the way.
- Excellent use of the forest on almost every hole. Lots of well defined fairways due to the dense forest, as well as plenty of tree obstacles in the fairway. Definitely requires line shaping in both directions, as well as some straight shots.
- Some minor elevation changes on some holes help to keep it interesting. #9 is a nice, 340' shot over a shallow valley. Nothing too extreme, but definitely noticeable.
- A tunnel shot, #5, thrown in to add some variety as well.
- Decent tees and baskets, about half of the signs are missing. Map at beginning is also a little off, from what I could tell.

Cons:

- Two holes have crossing fairways, which is never good. At least the people behind you can see that you are going to the next tee.
- While there are defined fairways with obstacles, there aren't any really tough lines to hit or tough holes in general. A good shot is needed, definitely, but an okay one will also turn out OK.

Other Thoughts:

- I enjoyed this course thoroughly, from start to finish. Great forest environment with some challenging holes, and very few boring or easy ones. The layout could be a little better, I guess, but that's nitpicking.
- One of my top rated 9-hole courses I have ever played. Not much elevation change, no water, but otherwise great. Easy enough to have fun, but not too easy to get bored.
- OK, it's not the greatest course in the world. But it's my type of course in terms of length, layout, and setting. Solid 3 discs.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
5 0
Jax11
Silver level trusted reviewer
Experience: 14.7 years 103 played 35 reviews
3.00 star(s)

Nice little 9 holer! 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Jun 6, 2010 Played the course:once

Pros:

- Intricate challenging shots
- Good distance variety
- Well defined fairways with lots of mature trees to navigate.
- High risk reward with the thick rough.
- Rewarding birdie opportunities.
- Very secluded despite being located in a large mutli-purpose park.
- Solid tee signs with distance, par, and a small picture.
- Decent concrete tee pads.
- Baskets were in good condition.
- Course was clean, and had trash cans to dispose of trash.

Cons:

- The rough is really thick in spots and can swallow discs.
- Some teepads were decrepit and falling apart.
- Some fairways criss-cross and could get sketchy if the course ever got crowded.
- Minor navigation issues.
- One missing tee sign on hole #5 (likely vandalism).
- Bugs were bad, bring spray.

Other Thoughts:

Central park really surprised me. I was expecting the typical pitch and putt Chicagoland style golf, but it offered more. It played through a small patch of woods and offered some challenging holes by forcing certain lines. With the nasty rough in spots it was punishing to go off the fairway. Despite being tucked into the woods the holes still had distance variety. The longest hole is 345 ft and its shortest is a neat ace run at 165 ft. At its best this course could reach a 3.5/5 for me if: The decrepit tee pads were fixed up, all the teepads were a little wider, the missing sign was replaced and the rough was trimmed a little bit to make it more accessible. For me the course design and layout is not good enough to push it higher then a 3.5. Not a destination course by any means, but worth hitting if you must choose between a couple courses in the Chicagoland area.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
4 0
Verrice
Experience: 14.9 years 5 played 2 reviews
3.00 star(s)

Nice for a quick game 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:May 22, 2010 Played the course:5+ times

Pros:

This course, when I have been, is not usually very crowded (as compared to Adler Park, for example).

Some of the holes are interesting technical shots, and a couple have room to open up and let it fly a bit (6 & 9 for sure, 7 & 8 to an extent).

I've never had any issues finding my discs, even in some -very- errant tree bounces into chest high 'rough'.

The course makes good use of an otherwise unused wooded area in the center of a very nice park, which includes multiple fields (football, baseball, soccer, etc), a well maintained playground, and even a free to use splash park.

Cons:

This park could see better maintenance; as others have mentioned there are damaged or missing signs. The post for 8 has been missing for at least a year, I believe.

The tee pads are fairly narrow, but none of the shots really require a big run-up, so not too big a deal.

Holes 6 & 7 cross, which wouldn't be too bad if people would pay attention. A number of times, even when calling out quite loudly, people have thrown discs while we were crossing the fairway for hole 6. This is a really dangerous area of the course and would be much better served by taking hole 6 and doing a dogleg left to the #7 tee, and moving the #7 tee to where hole 6 currently is, turning it into a dogleg left as well to the existing hole 7.

Other Thoughts:

I like this course mostly because it's not crowded, and is close to home for me. If it was more crowded or further than 30 minutes away, I would probably not use it, as Adler is both of those for me, but the course itself is much better.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
3 1
ltkettch17
Experience: 18.7 years 15 played 4 reviews
3.00 star(s)

Nice short course 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Apr 10, 2010 Played the course:2-4 times

Pros:

Good tee signs and easy to find next hole. Mostly wooded holes with narrow fairways, but not too crowded. Holes tend to have a good variety of dog-legs and obstructions to force players to try different throws. Still, has some holes that are pretty wide open to let you really rip it.

Cons:

Course does not seem to be maintained too well. Lots of overgrowth and thorns in the rough areas. Some of the tee signs are missing and hole 7 crosses hole 6.

Other Thoughts:

Definitely would play again. Not an overly long course, more technical than distance.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
7 0
#19325
Diamond level trusted reviewer
Experience: 22.7 years 351 played 175 reviews
2.50 star(s)

G-Lake 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Nov 19, 2009 Played the course:5+ times

Pros:

This is a nice neighborhood multiuse park. The course is located in a flat wooded section of the park. The rough can be very heavy in the summer.

There is a good mix of long, medium, and short range drives. There are no bomber holes but long enough to make you throw it. Balance is ok but i'd say if favors a righty a bit. For a short 9 hole course it has a few challenging holes. Several with tight gaps you have to hit. The rough can be punishing although they thinned it out quite a bit last summer.

Innova Discatcher Baskets

Nice Tee signs and course Map.

Concrete Tee Pads.

The course is pretty easy to navigate. You can see each tee and sign of the next hole from the basket you just played.

Cons:

The concrete tee pads are very narrow and hard to throw from.

The basket to #7 is in rough shape. Last year someone started a fire in it and it's charred.

The Tee sign to #8 is snapped off and missing.

The fairways of #6 and #7 cross.

There are walking paths in the woods and quite a few pedestrians walk around. Please be careful.

Other Thoughts:

Park at the far north side of the parking lot near the football field. The 1st tee is located a little west of the baseball field.

Check out my Illinois Top 10.
http://discontinuum.org/index...1486.msg68704#msg68704
Was this review helpful? Yes No
7 0
mashnut
Diamond level trusted reviewer
Experience: 22 years 831 played 767 reviews
1.00 star(s)

Nice little course 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Updated: Played on:Aug 23, 2009 Played the course:once

Pros:

The course plays through a small wooded area of a large multi-use park. Nearly all the holes play through fairly dense woods with mature trees and brush off the fairways. The design takes advantage of the woods to create some challenging holes that require accuracy to score well.

There is a nice mix of straight holes and holes that require a right/left turning shot. It felt pretty balanced between righty/lefty holes, and was enough of a mix to keep it interesting throughout. There aren't any real long bomb holes, but there are enough longer holes mixed in with ace runs that it doesn't seem too repetitive.

There is a really nice course map near the first tee that shows the layout of the full course. There are also hole signs that make the course easy to navigate, with the hole layout and distance along with the direction to the next tee. Though there are blind pins, and tees not visible from the previous basket, the course is very easy to navigate. The park is pretty well maintained, and has plenty of parking, and trash cans throughout the course.

Cons:

The tees here are very odd. They are concrete, but are extremely narrow. Many are pointed slightly away from the hole, and because the tees aren't long enough or flush enough with the ground to allow an angled run-up it makes things a little awkward. The 8th tee had a broken/missing sign, though the park is well enough taken care of that I'm sure it will be fixed.

The 6th hole and 7th hole cross one another which could make for some real safety hazards with multiple groups playing the course. The 6th fairway is also used as a walking path from the parking lot to the football practice fields, so watch out for people walking through who have no idea (and don't seem to care) that they are on a disc golf course.

There were no holes that really stood out to me here to really make this course memorable. It certainly wasn't bad, and made decent use of the available space, it just didn't have anything really special about it.

Other Thoughts:

This course is marked well enough to be pretty beginner friendly, though the tight fairways and punishing rough would make this course likely to frustrate new players. More experienced players will enjoy the test of accuracy through the trees, and there is enough length to keep it interesting.

This is definitely a course that's worth a quick stop, though it's not enough on it's own to be worth too much of a trip. Bring your short game and accurate drives, and this is a fun little course.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
4 4
Michler
Bronze level trusted reviewer
Experience: 31.7 years 247 played 35 reviews
1.50 star(s)

9 holer with maybe 5 good holes 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Aug 20, 2009 Played the course:5+ times

Pros:

Excellent shots required on Holes 3,6,7,8 to make birdies. Cement tees. Good baskets. Course gets an average amount of play which makes getting a round in here reasonable even if you want to throw some extra shots.

Cons:

Rough is extremely rough and easy to lose discs here. Bugs can be bad at times. Tees are way too narrow (obviously created without researching into what is needed). Holes 2,4,5 are boring holes. No long holes that allow you to get out and rip a drive on this course.

Other Thoughts:

Rough is ROUGH! Not the most fun course in the world, but honestly one of the better Lake County 9 holers. Shooting a few under par on the 9 holes is decent shooting. Not alot they could do with the land available to really make the course much better.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
7 1
harr0140
Diamond level trusted reviewer
Premium Member
Experience: 15.2 years 1508 played 475 reviews
3.00 star(s)

Decent wooded 9 holer! 2+ years

Reviewed: Updated: Played on:Dec 29, 2011 Played the course:2-4 times

Pros:

1) Course uses mature woods to really make this course challenging. There are some holes that go through a pretty wooded area. There may be some fairways but the holes are long enough a dead straight shot with a midrange is only possible by the best players.

2) Gravel laid around greens to keep the soil from eroding. It doesn't look like it would hurt anything, but it can help keep the green areas from turning too mud.

3) Course is pretty clean and garbage cans are clearly visible a few times through the course.

4) A couple of tough doglegs and a couple of straight shots. Some anhyzer shots are needed unless you have the sidearm.

5) Strange asphalt tees because they are so long and not very wide. I would prefer a shorter pad with more width, but at least they are paved.

6) Nice map and signs help make the course attractive.

7) Course is set inside of a very well maintained park. It has all sorts of amenities and activites and the disc golf course only infringes on one thing (practice fields for soccer/football) so it shouldn't be an issue.

8) Course has some distance averaging almost 300' per hole. That makes the course even more challenging because you need to throw some overstable drivers to try and get to the baskets. I like that challenge!

Cons:

1) Not very beginner friendly because of how tight the woods creep in on the fairways. Errant shots will be punished!

2) Rough areas on the wooded holes likely have some poison Ivy and also can easily eat a disc.

3) Course layout isnt that great because the criss cross between #6 and 7. Those holes could have been made into 2 doglegs instead of two criss crossing fairways as one potential change.

Other Thoughts:

This course works itself into, out of, through, and around one wooded section of the park. There is only one hole that is fairly wide open and it is the last hole. The rest of the holes all have fairly dense woods. Even #9 has one large tree overhanging the line to the green. In spring it looks like #9 would be even harder because it looks like a collection area for rainwater would be in your way on #9 too (couple that with a low hanging big branch and you would have a tough driving hole).

Was this review helpful? Yes No
8 3
Dave242
Gold level trusted reviewer
Experience: 29.8 years 393 played 271 reviews
3.50 star(s)

B+ = You Be Feelin' Positive After Playing This 9-holer 2+ years

Reviewed: Played on:Jul 16, 2009 Played the course:once

Pros:

What I personally like and how this course stacks up in my list of 9 hole courses:

1) Holes with good risk/reward. Fair, but harsh punishment for bad decisions or execution. == B+ (Not too punishing for missing your line, but enough to keep you honest and to keep it quite interesting)

2) Holes that have rewarding birdie opportunities for me. I throw 300' accurately, 360' max. == A (Almost every hole is long enough or has an interesting enough shape to make it the perfect challenge for my throwing length)

3) More wooded than open - lots of variety of shots required caused by hole shape and topography == B- (All holes favor RHBH throwers. Even hole 7 that finishes right favors a RHBH turnover throw more than a LHBH due to its shape. That said, it is creatively enough designed to not feel boring or repetitious at all)

4) Natural beauty (Appalachian beauty preferred) and seclusion. == B+ (Beautiful large oaks are all over. In summer it does feel quite secluded for most of the course)

5) Bonus points for multi-shot holes with defined landing zones, good risk/reward and multiple options to play them. == N/A

Other Thoughts:

It's all about feeding the addiction, so I ranked this course subjectively based on my own "personal addiction factor". The grades above tell how well the course will draw me back to itself again and again and again. Since I have played a decent number of courses (125 18-hole, 64 9-hole as of mid 2009), my hope is that players/explorers who have similar addiction tastes will find my ratings list helpful as they choose courses to play and explore.

I fully expect others with different tastes/philosophies to disagree with me....that's the fun of things here. See my profile for my rating philosophy.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
9 0
StrikerME02
Experience: 15.7 years 13 played 8 reviews
3.00 star(s)

Great Course to Improve On 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:May 30, 2009 Played the course:5+ times

Pros:

To start I am going to have to say that my favorite part about this course has to be the baskets. They are top of the line innova discatchers. The chains just seem to grab your discs as they fall into the big nicely constructed basket on the bottom. This course does have a nice set of risk/reward holes with the tight fairways and pinball (skinny) trees it has scattered in the line to the basket. THere are many holes on this course that are easily birdie-able. Also, the tees are nice concrete tees to throw from.

Cons:

Although I do think this is a decent course it could get a lot better. For example, there is a point on this course where the fairways do cross over and intesect one another that you have to pay very close attention so that there arent other discers in the way this area involves holes 6 & 7. Another negative about this course is that you can easily lose a disc. Although there are no water obstacles there is tall grass and big bushes to just devour your discs. All I can recommend is just keep your eye on your disc if it lands in the brush and DONT THROW A GREEN DISC. With all this tall grass and shaded areas from trees attracts a lot of mosquitos and other bugs so make sure you come prepared with a lot of bug spray if you don't want to be a little tiny things dinner. How could this course be improved, well to start it would need to have some long holes. All the holes on this course are pretty short in comparison to a lot of courses, but that is mainly because of all the trees that can get in the way as I mentioned before. Also the fact that there is really no elavation until the last hole is somewhat disappointing.

Other Thoughts:

This course I would say is at the level where it deserves to be checked out. But again I say deserves Not that it is mandatory to check out this course. There is a nice bathroom area by the soccer/football field right by the first tee. It's inside a little building specifically made in order to let people do their business. When I play at this course it is because I want to try and get an ace and practice my tight fairway shots.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
7 1
steven2361
Bronze level trusted reviewer
Experience: 15.8 years 286 played 53 reviews
2.50 star(s)

Decent 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Updated: Played on:Jun 11, 2009 Played the course:5+ times

Pros:

This course has some interesting holes. Varying lengths. The shorter holes are still a little chalenging because of super tight fairways between the trees (Hole 5). The Baskets are GREAT Innova Discatchers with bright yellow tops.

Cons:

Most shots just go to the left for RHBH throwers. Only hole 9 has some elevation. There is way too much weeds and thorns on the sides of the fairway which also makes it easy to lose a disc. 1 crossing fairway (6 & 7). There are no holes really that should test your distance.

Other Thoughts:

Keep your disc low because of all the trees. You need an accurate arm to play this course well as there are a few tees where trees are directly in front of the tee on either side. Don't drive out to this course from anywhere far, but if you're close it's still a very fun course to play. If you're around I suggest instead going to a 18 holer such as Lippold or Bevier. If you only have time for a 9 holer, Adler and Warren are great too.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
Top