Des Moines, IA

Crivaro Park

Permanent course
2.565(based on 18 reviews)
Filter course reviews

Filter reviews

Filter reviews

Crivaro Park reviews

Filter
9 0
knobby325
Gold level trusted reviewer
Premium Member
Experience: 8.7 years 323 played 248 reviews
2.50 star(s)

Nice Park Course in the Heart of DSM 2+ years

Reviewed: Played on:Sep 29, 2020 Played the course:2-4 times

Pros:

-Concrete Tees
-Decent Layout, nice old growth trees to work around
-Baskets are OK
-Easy to access, quick play
-Good mix of Short/Medium

Cons:

-Some tee signs missing
-Extra tee pads on 2, 5 and 7 don't really add much
-No benches / trashcans
-Other park activities can come into play (especially on 8 and 9)
-Lots of road noise from busy SE 14th Street

Other Thoughts:

Crivaro Park DGC is located a couple of miles south of the state capital complex in lovely Des Moines, IA. A fairly typical city cark course with little elevation and a smattering of large trees to work around. A couple of short holes (both under 200') bookend a romp through the park. Hole #8 can have a basketball court come into play, if you're long. Hole #9 has a shelter to the left of the fairway. Play is relatively short, a good warm up for other courses not too far away (Ewing or Grandview). Missing tee signs, the lack of benches and trashcans, and the road noise from SE 14th Street keep the rating down a bit. Still, an enjoyable round to be had, or a good place to bring a beginner. I will probably play here again.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
7 0
The Valkyrie Kid
Diamond level trusted reviewer
Experience: 45.8 years 1563 played 1507 reviews
2.50 star(s)

If Only The Neighbor's Would Keep Spike Chained Up! 2+ years

Reviewed: Played on:Aug 11, 2016 Played the course:once

Pros:

Crivaro Park, named after the former mayor of Des Moines, the Honorable Pete Crivaro, is a fairly good sized city park, which sits right on the very busy 14th Street. Crivaro features all the amenities that most city parks have, picnic areas, a nice children's pool and splash area and playground. The area where the disc golf course has lovely green grass, is flat and has just the right scattering of mature trees.

The course is an excellent beginner/recreational course. The holes are a nice combination of short pitch and putt lengths (140-185') and recreation distances of 240-335'. The scattered trees provide just enough challenge and diversity to keep things interesting. As a previous reviewer stated, you would almost have to try to lose a disc here. Newbs, wives, children and one disc wonders will enjoy this course and avoid many of the frustrations such as hunting for their discs in deep rough.

The course features these pretty royal blue DGA baskets with the red number plate on top. The concrete tee pads are trapezoid shaped. The metal tee signs are basic and give you the basic information. Be aware that the tee signs on # 1 and # 3 are set facing the opposite direction of the basket. Pars listed are consistent with this type of course such as # 8's being a par 4 at 300'. Ignore them or embrace them and go for that eagle. This is America and the choice is yours to make.

Cons:

Lots of noise from 14th Street.

Lack of challenge for most players.

Not a destination course, just a course that would like as a warm up or on your way home. The central Des Moines location makes this course so convenient to reach.

Other Thoughts:

On about hole 7 as I was rushing trying to beat the threatening skies, a crazed pit bull type pup came charging up on my blind side. For the last three holes, this demon dog had a wonderful time charging up on me, time and time again. I tried everything, yelling, waving my bag, pretending to throw my disc at him. I would have loved to fling some good throwing rocks at him but Crivaro Park is spotless, not as much as a pebble or a small stick to throw at him. Had I been packing heat, I couldv'e have wasted him. No warning shots from me. Everything I did just added to his glee. I'm not a dog person and I don't always differentiate between a vicious attack dog and a frolicking pup. What I do know, was this was most annoying as I attempted to finish the last three holes before the skies opened up. And open up they did as I finished on 9. At least as I was rushing over to get into my car, it finally gave me relief from the demon attack pup of Crivaro Park!
Was this review helpful? Yes No
6 1
bigreddog
Gold level trusted reviewer
Experience: 12 years 195 played 62 reviews
2.00 star(s)

Short and close to Ewing 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Jun 5, 2016 Played the course:once

Pros:

Baskets are great, tees are concrete and large enough for how short the course is. 10/10

You would have to really try hard to lose a disc. 10/10

Several holes have multiple gaps you can throw through with paths to the basket. Decisionmaking 8/10

The obstacles on this course are used well for the most part. Holes 1 and 9 are short and pretty open and boring, but the rest have at least some obstacles to provide a mild challenge. 7/10

Course was well mowed. There aren't really tee signs showing the holes, but there are posts showing hole numbers and distances. No benches or trash cans. Course Maintenance 7/10

Tee posts help help to find the next tee and the course is pretty intuitive for the most part, especially because of how small it is. Navigation between holes 7/10

Baskets have numbers on the top to help with navigation. Tee pads generally point toward the basket. No hole maps to assist with navigation and on most tees you can see multiple baskets because of how close together the entire course is. Navigation on holes 6/10

Cons:

No alternate pin positions, though there are a couple of alternate tees on holes 5 and 7. The alternates also do little to change the holes other than adding 30 to 50 feet of distance. 1/10

The course is pretty flat for the most part. There are a couple of ridges that are utilized on holes 2, 6, and 9. 2/10 on elevation

There's not a huge variety of shot paths required on this course, Hole 3 favors a right to left shot, while hole 6 favors a left to right. A few holes have options for either a left to right or right to left (see decisionmaking in pros). Shot paths 3/10

Many holes are either right around 300' (4, 5, 7, and 8) or right around 180 ft' (1, 2, 6, 9). The 3rd hole is significantly longer than the rest. 3/10 on variety of distances.

This is a good beginner course because of its lack of length, its park setting, and lack of hazards. However, the course will provide little challenge to intermediate or advanced players other than the third hole. 3/10 on challenging all levels

Other Thoughts:

Challenge of the course: 1/10

Hole 3 is sweet, but there's nothing special about the rest. This course is good for a quick nine or a warmup before playing Ewing, but it is certainly not the destination course that many in the Des Moines area are.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
3 0
Nemmers
Silver level trusted reviewer
Experience: 10.7 years 89 played 33 reviews
2.00 star(s)

Something for everyone 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Dec 8, 2015 Played the course:5+ times

Pros:

- Centralized location. Set near the State Capitol building off of the main hub of 14th Street in Des Moines, Crivaro is very much an "on the way" course. If you're done with your round at Grandview and want to get in another at Ewing (or vice-versa), Crivaro is smack dab in the middle of your route. Plenty of amenities nearby to fill up on gas, fast food, smokes, drinks, and if you know the right people, some black tar heroin. (Kidding about that last, but the location does kind of strike me as a little sketchy.)

- Good equipment. 9 Mach III baskets are peppered throughout the course, even painted exactly like they are on the Steady Ed Memorial course at the International Disc Golf Center in Appling, Georgia. They catch pretty well, the concrete teepads are grippy and level, and there's plenty of parking. The grass is well maintained in the warmer months as well, making Crivaro somewhat of an oasis among the concrete and blacktop you'll see along the way to and from the better courses in Des Moines.

- Starter course. If you have someone you're trying to introduce to the game, Crivaro is a great place to do it. Holes are short enough (and many have alternate tees) so beginners won't get frustrated, while those newbies who have some Frisbee skills are provided a few holes to air it out without feeling like they're playing on the bunny slopes. A starter DX set from any manufacturer is more than enough for a rank beginner to shoot par on this course. More experienced players will find many ace runs at Crivaro from both the long and short tees. The length of the course and its proximity to a major road with streetlights also makes it a great course for glow during the seasons with shorter days.

- Other activities available. If you want to bring the family and have a cookout, there's a pavilion with restrooms as well as grills available to burn your meat. There's also plenty for the non-golfers to do in the form of a basketball court, swing sets and jungle gyms while you breeze through the 9 or 18 holes. Your round won't take long on this short pitch and putt.

Cons:

- Loud. As I said, 14th Street is a major thoroughfare in Des Moines so traffic is apt to be pretty crazy on that street during your round, regardless of what time you play. 18-wheelers, horns, and bumper-to-bumper traffic can be heard fairly loudly on every hole, so if you like to listen to music while you play your Bluetooth speaker probably won't be enough to drown it out. Better to bring headphones. Suffice it to say that Crivaro is not the course to expect a peaceful round to get one with nature.

- No benches. Though it isn't a long course, its proximity to everything else in the city makes Crivaro a fairly popular park so it can get busy. Its length and location draws beginners and (bless their hearts) bored people sitting around who say to each other, "Hey, wouldn't it be hilarious if we went Frisbee golfing?!" That said, playing here you may end up waiting on people who are trying out the sport with their 40g Met Life Frisbees and grandma's pie tins. Just saying it'd be nice to have something to sit on while you wait your turn watching an eight and 80-year old take 15 minutes to take a 9 on the 110 foot par 3.

- No topless Hooters girls frolicking along the #8 fairway.

Other Thoughts:

All in all, Crivaro is a passable on-the-way course that every town in America needs and can most certainly afford. It gets plenty of usage and is a quick, painless place to introduce new players to the game...especially those on the fence about it who are hesitant to even give disc golf a try. It's a quick 9 (or however many you want to play) that offers a little something for players of all levels, but it's most definitely not a destination course. With Ewing, Grandview, Walnut Ridge, Big Creek and Pickard all being within 20 minutes or so you're better off heading there, but when you have little time and are jonesing for a game this course will scratch that itch. In short, Crivaro is the fat girl at the club at 2am: You wouldn't even consider her if you had time to work the cheerleaders, but when last call comes around your powers of positive thinking start to kick in and all of the sudden the fat girl doesn't look too bad.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
2 1
dutchrunningriot
Experience: 35 played 8 reviews
2.50 star(s)

Crivaro Park 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Jul 23, 2014 Played the course:2-4 times

Pros:

It is a well maintained course with cement pads and baskets in good condition. The grounds are in great condition with a mature trees to work throws around. A great course for for people to develop their disc golf skills or work on their midrange game.

Cons:

The course is on the shorter end with several holes that you can give solid ace runs at. However, it isn't as challenging as other nearby courses for serious disc golfers.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
1 4
blkwizardsonny
Experience: 21.9 years 88 played 5 reviews
1.00 star(s)

pretty lame filler 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Apr 15, 2013 Played the course:5+ times

Pros:

Only nine holes so takes 30 mins .ace runs ,thats it ,fun winter course i guess

Cons:

Short,holes are kinda the same, no elevation,quite open lots of park users in the summer

Other Thoughts:

This course is just one you play to knock off your list
Was this review helpful? Yes No
2 2
steady1
Experience: 15.8 years 5 played 5 reviews
2.00 star(s)

2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Apr 24, 2013 Played the course:2-4 times

Pros:

Really nice maintained course. It was winter but the lawn was mowed and limbs cleared. Easy to park and access the park. I went on a Wednesday and no players were there. Trees gave some concern but no under brush to worry about. DGA baskets are good quality.

Cons:

Bathrooms closed on off season. This is a basketball and water park. Tee distance course details could be better delineated. A new road is being constructed on #1 so it was out of play. Needs new teebox.

Other Thoughts:

I liked the course as I visited the town and wanted some disc golf time out. Easy to find. Shot -1 par for the 2 games I played.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
5 1
ChubbyChad
Experience: 5 played 5 reviews
3.50 star(s)

Ace of Spades 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Jan 13, 2012 Played the course:5+ times

Pros:

If you are looking to work on your short game or want the adrenaline rush of possible aces this is the course. Short holes, Cement tee pads. Nice flow. Good basket placement. 9 holes. We usually play 27 holes in an hour.

Cons:

The park can get crowded on the weekends, especially in the summer. If the brothas are playing basketball and you hook the tee off on hole 4 it might get interesting. I had a disc skip right through a basketball game one day. I lived.. somehow..

Other Thoughts:

I love this place. I have yet to get an ace, but I've hit the basket a few times. This place keeps pulling me back because it is close to home and the possibility of an ace on many of the holes. Love this place.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
2 0
RockStarValkyrie
Experience: 25.8 years 16 played 16 reviews
3.00 star(s)

One of my favorite 9 hole courses in the area 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Aug 22, 2011 Played the course:2-4 times

Pros:

Nice baskets and tee pads, well maintained, nearly impossible to lose a disc (unless the river is up), restrooms, generally shady, quick nine holes, feel good about your score card, have a decent chance at an Ace on at least half the course

Cons:

No signs, baskets do have numbers above them so once you've played it 1-2 times you'll be fine on the layout, a couple shots can put you in danger of hitting people around the basketball court, pretty short runs on most of the course, not every basket has a long tee even though there is ample room to provide one to lengthen some of the ridiculously short shots (Hole 9 especially)

Other Thoughts:

I love playing this course b/c it's quick and easy, sometimes use it as a warm-up on my way to an 18 hole course, great place for beginners or taking the girlfriend a long, also the ideal place to try out new discs or practice specific techniques b/c so short
Was this review helpful? Yes No
1 1
hogleggbob
Bronze level trusted reviewer
Experience: 15.6 years 217 played 47 reviews
2.50 star(s)

quickie 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Mar 13, 2011 Played the course:once

Pros:

nice concrete pads, and new baskets... very east to follow. i used a driver, a mid and a putter, only threw the driver once. quick round was easy and fun. this would be a great course to introduce someone to the game.

Cons:

not not really

Other Thoughts:

found this course by accident when i was driving across town to johnston from pickard. took 20 minutes to play it and felt like it was decent for a 9 hole course
Was this review helpful? Yes No
2 2
TroyChurch
Experience: 1 played 1 reviews
2.50 star(s)

2 consecutive aces 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Aug 8, 2010 Played the course:2-4 times

Pros:

Great course for mid-range drives and putting practice.

Cons:

If I wasn't with someone who knew where they were going, it might have been difficult to navigate the course. Signs would be nice.

Other Thoughts:

Jon Krieg aced consecutive holes (#1 and #2) during our second game today. There were 3 witnesses.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
4 1
dustbuster232000
Experience: 23.8 years 30 played 10 reviews
2.50 star(s)

Good small park disc golf 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:May 19, 2010 Played the course:2-4 times

Pros:

Concrete boxes, good average distance as well as many birdie chances. Well kept and maintained.

Cons:

Can be overly busy on the weekend and local "Atmosphere" can be some what hostile at times. If your taking younger players aim for a weekday to avoid this.

Other Thoughts:

Proximity of the playground means stray shots are a no no. Clipping a kid with a heavy disc can ruin their and your day.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
2 3
bobo262
Experience: 18.9 years 16 played 3 reviews
3.00 star(s)

Good for beginners 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Apr 6, 2010 Played the course:5+ times

Pros:

Good for working on mid-short range
Good for beginners to disc golf
Able to golf course in a short time 30-45 min

Cons:

Only 9 holes
Very short like a mini golf course
Basketball court in center of course

Other Thoughts:

Near Des Moines river lots of mosquitoes
Was this review helpful? Yes No
4 0
arowan21
Experience: 21.8 years 62 played 5 reviews
2.00 star(s)

Worth a peek 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Oct 28, 2009 Played the course:5+ times

Pros:

Short course. Good to work on midrange game. Most of the 9 holes are under 300 feet, and most are short enough to reach with a putter. There are 2 longer holes that are a rip to get a deuce on. Bathrooms and open air shelters are near the course, but don't come into play. It is a good course for night golf as 14th street and park lights illuminate most of the course.

Cons:

Often there are people on the course that are having picnics and make holes unplayable. It is a popular place during the summer. There is also a basketball court near one pin. There really isn't a lot of challenge to the course.

Other Thoughts:

Ewing Park is a short drive from the course. Go there if you want a enjoyable round at a first class disc golf course.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
4 1
THansenite
Experience: 14.6 years 4 played 4 reviews
3.50 star(s)

Short Course 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Sep 1, 2009 Played the course:once

Pros:

- Maintained very well
- Really nice baskets
- Large tee pads
- Great use of trees
- Great "confidence builder" course (I got my first two birdies ever here)
- Plays really fast

Cons:

- Super short holes
- No signs at tees for hole number or yardage
- One basket is pretty close to basketball court

Other Thoughts:

This is a fun little course that plays in about half an hour. Great use of trees to make some of the holes fun, but overall, very easy.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
6 2
cydisc
Gold level trusted reviewer
Experience: 27.9 years 257 played 84 reviews
2.50 star(s)

A fine recreational course 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Sep 19, 2008 Played the course:5+ times

Pros:

Nice blue Mach baskets, concrete tees, large mature trees, well maintained grass

Cons:

BB court can be in play on one hole

Other Thoughts:

It's a nice leisurely 9 holes to shoot on a noon hour or to introduce a new player to the sport. The course flows logically through the park, starting and ending in close proximity to the parking lot. Most holes have multiple routes to the basket with large mature trees as the main obstacles. Good variety of hole distances, so you can use a wide variety of discs from the tees.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
4 3
jamesfleege
Experience: 15 played 1 reviews
3.50 star(s)

2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:May 3, 2009 Played the course:once

Pros:

-Well manicured park
-Great use of elevation that is available
-B Tees on #5 and #7 make for great shots
-A Tees mostly short ace runs

Cons:

-Seems like a pretty busy park
-Not a very challenging course

Other Thoughts:

This course is pretty short and simple. Big mature trees do come into play on every hole. Definitely worth the 30 minutes to play a quick 9.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
7 0
mndiscg
Diamond level trusted reviewer
Experience: 15.8 years 480 played 477 reviews
3.00 star(s)

Small but nice and fun 2+ years

Reviewed: Played on:Nov 23, 2008 Played the course:once

Pros:

-If you are in a hurry this course is good.
-Very easy to find, on major road.
-Nice cement tees and nice new baskets.
-Good chance for hole in one on most holes.
-Large, mature trees on every hole.
-No chance for losing a disc.
-Playground, water play area for kids.
-NIce restrooms and drinking fountain.

Cons:

-It is very short and overall a small course. They did good with what they had to work with though.
-Not alot of obstacles, most holes are pretty much straight shots.
-Not alot of shot variation.

Other Thoughts:

Great course for beginners but if you have some experience playing the game I would not recommend this course. That is unless you are seeking a hole in one because many of these holes are easy to get close on.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

Latest posts

Top