• Discover new ways to elevate your game with the updated DGCourseReview app!
    It's entirely free and enhanced with features shaped by user feedback to ensure your best experience on the course. (App Store or Google Play)

Duncanville, TX

Crossroads of Life DGC

3.995(based on 55 reviews)
Filter course reviews

Filter reviews

Filter reviews

Crossroads of Life DGC reviews

Filter
8 1
guarenteedace
Experience: 12.6 years 43 played 5 reviews
4.00 star(s)

let jesus take the wheel 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Updated: Played on:Feb 10, 2014 Played the course:5+ times

Pros:

The xroads is a great course that will challenge golfers of all skill levels, although beginners may find it too difficult. there is a good mix of holes out here, long open holes, tight fairways, lots of trees and some great elevation changes (hole 14) that make things interesting. hole 15 is a monster and really can make or break your round. ive taken an 8, if anyone gets a 3 pm me and ill buy you a beer! the park itself is very clean and usually mowed. there are also some alternate pin placements for added replayability.when the tees are in all longs this course is at its best. crowds have never been a problem the times ive been. also worth noting is that there is an opportunity to stop in and grab drinks food etc at a conviently located convient store by the teebox to hole 17. the funkytown flyers did a great job with several bridges scattered about .

Cons:

as far as the actual disc golf is concerned the only con would be for beginners. this course isnt that hard but a certain skill level is required to have an enjoyable round. the course closed wednesday evenings and sunday mornings. it is on church property so during certain times on wednesday and sunday the course is unavailable. i prefer secluded courses and while there are parts of the course that are, the highway and other sidestreets are in view on most holes.

Other Thoughts:

one of the "big Dogs" in the dfw metrolex. if youre going to drink a few beers keep them hidden. its a church, please show respect so the park will remain open(use trash cans). xroads is also located a mere 15 min drive away from 2 great courses, Cedar Hill and mt lebanon baptist encampment!
Was this review helpful? Yes No
4 2
kette_master
Experience: 19.1 years 105 played 9 reviews
4.00 star(s)

Well designed and challenging 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Feb 3, 2013 Played the course:5+ times

Pros:

The tee pads are big. The course flows quite well. Many risk/reward shots. This course will challenge all players.

Cons:

Hole 5 - throwing over the parking lot with a mando.
Bushes within 10' of the basket on the fairway side should be removed - hole 4.
The fairways of 12, 13, and 14 need permanent OB lines to separate the fairways. I understand they draw these lines during tournament play.

Other Thoughts:

This course is worth checking-out and is one of my favs in the DFW area.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
1 7
TheHipstick
Bronze level trusted reviewer
Experience: 21.1 years 171 played 69 reviews
3.00 star(s)

2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:May 24, 2013 Played the course:once

Pros:

Nice big tee boxes. Most of the holes had signs showing the hole lay out. The course has a good mix of long and short holes as well as up and down baskets.

Cons:

Course doesn't flow very good from hole to hole. Most of the holes I found myself looking around trying to find the next tee box. Hole #9 is missing the sign with the layout of the hole.

Other Thoughts:

Overall I really liked this course and would recommend it. Would play again.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
5 2
austinmford
Experience: 1 played 1 reviews
4.00 star(s)

Fantastic, but tough 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:May 13, 2013 Played the course:once

Pros:

Good mix of a few ultra longs and a lot of technical shots
Mostly Wooded, few open holes
Great design
Well kept, it had just been mowed and trimmed
We saw no other Frigoers or pedestrians to avoid
Signs on all the tee boxes, all cement

Cons:

Needs a community post board sign thingy
Sooo many trees
Lil bit tough to navigate
Traffic on 67 sucks

Other Thoughts:

Definitely worth the drive to go check it out, great course.
Good design, challenges you on all levels
Was this review helpful? Yes No
7 0
ColtonV
Experience: 12.7 years 10 played 4 reviews
4.00 star(s)

Crossroads 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Apr 18, 2013 Played the course:2-4 times

Pros:

-It is extremely diverse in the sense that there are many heavily wooded shots and plenty of opportunities for wide open drives!
-The lengths fluctuate throughout the course but overall they lengthen as the course continues. (Starting in the 200-300 range and making it up to nearly 800).
-The elevation is nothing crazy but there are plenty of uphill drives as well as some long drives from some form of elevated landing.
-It is very challenging.
-It has some really cool nature elements within the woods.

Cons:

-There are a few holes that are hard to find if you are not familiar with the course. For instance, the first time I played I didn't even find hole one's tee pad (it's down some stairs on the left side of the church)
-Some of the brush on a few holes are filled with thorns so you're going to want to stay out of those.
-Cars may come through parts of the course because there is a road that cycles through, but this is very minimal and I haven't ever experienced any real problem in this area.

Other Thoughts:

This is one of my favorite courses in the metroplex! REAL FUN.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
6 0
JeremyKShort
Bronze level trusted reviewer
Experience: 12.5 years 80 played 33 reviews
4.00 star(s)

Variety 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Apr 6, 2013 Played the course:2-4 times

Pros:

A course with a lot of variety. The first few holes are short technical holes with a creek winding around. You get into some of your more standard holes, with a few really long ones thrown in (one near 600' and two over 700'). Hole 15 is a par 5 700'+ hole through the trees, and is one of the most intimidating holes I've seen.

Cons:

This is not a beginner friendly course, don't let the fact it's on church property fool you. The early holes having newbies bouncing off trees or fishing in the creek. The long holes can really wear you down. Hole 5 throws across the parking lot, which really seems like a bad idea. Two hole (7 and 12) use a sidewalk/loading bay for the gym as the teepad. If some activities are going on (Not the regular Sun & Wed services, but socials and the like) there can be people or vehicles all over the teepad. I've never had to throw with a truck on the teepad before.

Other Thoughts:

As I mentioned earlier, closed Sunday mornings and Wednesday evenings to avoid conflcts with the church services. Also take note that at least one of the neighboring houses has a sign up telling you not to trespass. It was very clearly put there in reference to disc golfers.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
5 10
radicl777
Experience: 1 played 1 reviews
5.00 star(s)

love it 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Updated: Played on:Jul 15, 2012 Played the course:5+ times

Pros:

This is one of my favorite courses to play on. The first five holes will either make you or break you. The course runs with the stream pretty nicely on the first couple. Two is one of my favorite holes is you have a straight shot. Hole #6 is a long hole that stretches across a field entering back in the woods. Hole #7 is my favorite hole but can be a disaster if you hit any of the closer in trees or release to high. The next three pretty difficult but definitely manageable. Hole 12 shoots across another field and over an old volleyball court. Hole 14 is killer unless you can really rip into a deep shot. 15 is also dry difficult but the 2 following are relatively easy.

Cons:

It is a difficult course. Very minor things that have been resolved. On some holes it is very easy to lose sight of your disc and lose it. The water hazard is usually shallow but can get annoying if it just raine

Was this review helpful? Yes No
2 9
BaggerBags
Experience: 16.2 years 26 played 1 reviews
3.00 star(s)

Hard isn't always good 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Updated: Played on:Dec 19, 2012 Played the course:2-4 times

Pros:

Any disc golf course is a good thing. Gives the youth ay the church an activity on church property.

Cons:

Strange out of bounds lines, blind shots. A lot of the shots are set up for a RHBH player.

Other Thoughts:

The course seems to favor a RHBH player. A few holes are pretty tricky for a right hand side arm thrower and the left handed player to birdie. I personally prefer a nice mix to level the playing field for everyone. There are some really fun holes! If you are a RHBH player and can throw 400'+ you will probably love the church course. I recommend everyone to try it and come up with their own opinion. New pin positions shorten some holes and made a nice change to the existing course.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
7 1
mashnut
Diamond level trusted reviewer
Experience: 22.3 years 831 played 777 reviews
3.50 star(s)

Fun and challenging 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Apr 12, 2012 Played the course:once

Pros:

The course plays through mostly heavily wooded property with a few open field areas. A handful of longer holes out in the open provide a nice contrast to the technical tighter portions of the course. The rough throughout the woods is thick enough that you'll definitely pay for errant shots. Some elevation comes into play, with a couple fun downhill shots and some tricky greens.

You'll need a good variety of line shaping skills to score well here, with a nice balance of left and right turning holes. A few of the shots call for creative s-curves and other interesting lines. The distance variety is decent, with some ace run chances and some longer multi-shot holes.

The tees are a little on the small side, but the concrete is in good shape with fine grip. The baskets are new and in great condition. The signs are nice with distance and hole layout along with direction to the next tee.

Cons:

A couple holes play over roads and parking lots, definitely a potential safety issue and one that could be avoided here. A volleyball court and baseball field also come into play, hopefully players are considerate enough not to throw over or through other activities. Several spots have multiple baskets in the same area, which is not only confusing for navigating the course, but could be a safety concern with multiple groups on the course.

The rough is thick enough in many areas that it requires just a pitch out rather than offering chances for creative recovery shots. A couple holes run parallel to open areas, making the easiest line somewhere other than the fairway.

Other Thoughts:

I had fun here, and would definitely recommend a stop if you want an interesting challenge. Beginners might find it a little tight and punitive, and the longer holes could be a bit daunting. More experienced players will find some nice tests of different skills.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
5 0
abanana96
Experience: 1 played 1 reviews
4.00 star(s)

2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Jun 2, 2012 Played the course:5+ times

Pros:

The great variety of holes provide for a nice range in the level of difficulty. Elevation change, a creek, and areas of thicker wood make a challenging, but fun round.

Cons:

Underbrush and grass can sometimes be somewhat overgrown. Bur patches come into play on a few holes.

Other Thoughts:

Great course! Do not let its difficulty keep you away. You would definitely be missing out. Its challenges prompt you to become a better player each time you finish a round. You will only want to come back for more of this course.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
3 3
souldout4ever
Experience: 1 played 1 reviews
4.50 star(s)

2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Jun 10, 2012 Played the course:5+ times

Pros:

Great variety of holes. The course has a good flow to it. It includes holes with shots for all players (backhand, sidearm) Tough course.

Cons:

Grass is sometimes a bit high. Out of bounds is sometimes a confusing.

Other Thoughts:

Overall a really enjoyable course. It really will challenge the shots you have in your bag. Your going to need your "A" game if you play a tournament here.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
5 7
zachhasswag
Experience: 13 years 3 played 1 reviews
5.00 star(s)

awesome course! 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Jun 7, 2012 Played the course:5+ times

Pros:

This course is awesome! I go to church here and helped clear out some of the trees(hard to believe we cleared out so much and its still so tight Haha) I live in 5 minutes walking distance of this course and play all the time! Great variety of uphill and downhill shots as well as different distance changes and some accuracy holes.Really helps you learn how to play discgolf. played my first round of discgolf here and scored 28 over par now I'm scoring even!

Cons:

The grass is kind of high every now and then. Hole 10 and 17 have some disc blackholes, luckily I've only lost 1 but I've found quite a bit Haha, there patches of burs on some holes

Other Thoughts:

Great course, if you love discgolf you'll love this course
Was this review helpful? Yes No
8 0
sidewinder22
Diamond level trusted reviewer
Experience: 17.9 years 304 played 198 reviews
4.00 star(s)

Favorite in DWF 2+ years

Reviewed: Played on:Apr 12, 2012 Played the course:once

Pros:

18 concrete tees with mud scrappers, nice tee signs and baskets. Excellent hole design and variety in the use of land and available elevation. Sweet bridges to cross the creek. Good risk vs reward shots and lots of really fun shots!

Cons:

Poison ivy and decent chance to lose a disc in rough. The grass was a little high when I played but not terrible. Disc hitting someone is possibility with other people on the course.

Other Thoughts:

You start out throwing across a creek a couple times through some woods with some tight fairways, but I didn't have much trouble hitting the gap. I liked hole 3's basket position, my upshot went long and onto the creek bank. It took awhile to get down to my disc, but I made it while not getting poison ivy. My putt from there was almost straight up 15' and I couldn't see the basket from high bank. I managed to hit that putt for a sweet par save, and climbed back up the bank. I also really liked the basket position on hole 6 with the sloping green once I figured out I was shooting to the wrong basket. Hole 7 is nice little downhill ace run. Hole 8 was a tight uphill shot. Hole 9 has some sideways slope with a fast green. Hole 10 was a nice par 4 that requires some precision. Hole 11 is another decent hole. Hole 12 is nice downhill open hyzer shot that is ace-able. Hole 13 plays back uphill toward the building. Hole 14 is fun big downhill bomber with some ob to the right. There are some trees in the way to the left to throw a good distance shot which forced my throw to hit the trees on the right side some 500'+ away and knocked down just safe of the ob. Almost hit the basket on the second shot from about 200' and took an easy 3. Hole 15 is an absolute beast through a long long tunnel and then uphill a good bit to the protected basket. Reminds me somewhat of Iron Hill hole 17 without the bending fairway. I liked hole 16 with its fairway bending placing a premium on shot placement. Hole 17 and 18 were ok. I really liked the way the course plays out from hole to hole and feels like this course really has the best variety in the area.

This was my favorite and most memorable course on my trip to DWF. I played Lester Lorch before playing Crossroads and had a blast here after finally being able to unleash some discs. The use of elevation in the design is really what makes this course great here. The course may not play well when crowded or during tournaments. I was the only person playing the course at the time which gave it a nice serene quality. This is also probably one of the more pretty courses in the area. I would highly recommend any serious disc golfer to play this course. Really high fun factor with some challenging shots.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
4 1
emtrick29
Experience: 14.4 years 20 played 1 reviews
4.00 star(s)

A few updates 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Feb 22, 2012 Played the course:once

Pros:

with the recent addition of bridges and with the underbrush at a minimum, this course has really come into its own. I would rate this course number 2 overall in the DFW metroplex. Super fun.

Cons:

the flags on hole 6 and 12 are OB, sometimes hard to I D.

Other Thoughts:

the dogs on the south side of hole 6 hate disc golfers but love discs, please be respectful to the residents here and stay out of their yards.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
8 0
Roc1Time
Gold level trusted reviewer
Experience: 23 years 131 played 118 reviews
4.00 star(s)

Super Sweetness 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Feb 10, 2012 Played the course:2-4 times

Pros:

Wow! There is so much here and this course has alot to offer in shot selection and variety. You start off with a couple short, very tight shots and then they slowely open to a wide open hole 6. The elevation is used to the fullest here not only on the fairways but on the greens as well. The scenery is great and you dont fully expect it when you first drive up. Almost every shot you have to think ahead becuse if its not the elevation that will get you, there is something else guarding those pins. You will have to use all of those shots throughout the course too because of how the course flows and the variety it offers. There are many holes that are placement holes which I really enjoy instead of the drive and putt courses. You have to be able to throw to point A to get to B and sometimes C and then the pin. Doesnt really favor a righty or a lefty but also not very beginner friendly either unless you like getting your feelings hurt. Nice concrete tee pads and good signs on all the holes. The baskets are nice too.

Cons:

Some of the course is very cramped and during a tourney or if the course is crowded, you have to keep your head on a swivel and watch out for not only other golfers but civilians. As others have said, 1-4 and 12-14 are the worst areas to watch out for. Navigation isnt too bad but there are a couple areas that might confuse a first timer like 8's pin is in the fairway and can be confused as 6's pin. Some of the pads are a little too short but they arent too bad unless you need a runway.

Other Thoughts:

Man this is a great course that offers a good time for anyone but makes for a great day for the golfer who wants to be challenged not only mentally but physically too. With Cedar Hill being righ around th corner, there is even more golf if you do want to venture away from here!
Was this review helpful? Yes No
1 4
Illinois-sidearm
Experience: 13.3 years 44 played 7 reviews
3.50 star(s)

Great variety 2+ years

Reviewed: Played on:Jan 12, 2012 Played the course:once

Pros:

Offers a variety of hole types. Some woodsy holes with water and a few wide open long ones... all combining to test your total skill level.

Cons:

Starts off with a few "over the river and through the woods" holes which if not played smartly, can get you off to a not-so-great round. This course is as demanding as they come and will wear you out, physically and mentally if you're not prepared. Definitely not for beginners.

Other Thoughts:

It's closed on Sunday mornings and evenings, as well as Wednesday evening for church services.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
7 0
MarkFLTRI
Experience: 15 years 73 played 5 reviews
4.50 star(s)

Top 5 in DFW 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Jan 28, 2012 Played the course:2-4 times

Pros:

1: hitting your lines on holes #1 thru #4 is a confidence booster. If the course isn't crowded and/or you didn't do so well, repeat these holes before heading off to the rest of the course (high fun factor)
2: upcoming holes provide challenges such as steep drop offs on putting greens on #6 & #9, and awesome elevation changes on holes #12 and #14
3: holes #10, #11, #14 (OB flags left), #15 (super long and narrow) & 16 require pin-point accuracy. If you struggle with distance and accuracy, put the driver back in the bag and use the mid-range disc to cut down on the frustration
4: clean, well maintained course (a 180 from the west Fort Worth course, name not mentioned)
5: very good drainage. I played just a few days after a massive rain and flooding.
6: close proximity to other top courses

Cons:

Minor:
1: concrete tee-pads on the majority of holes are a bit too short
2: teeing off on #5 across the parking lot can be problematic. (mando sign posted to lessen the chance of hitting cars)

Other Thoughts:

If any of the reviews have kept you away, do yourself a favor and go enjoy what Crossroads has to offer. The final result may be a high score, but the fun factor is through the roof. This course is a 'must play' for all locals and a true destination for anyone visiting the area.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
7 0
JJustinB
Experience: 13.6 years 8 played 2 reviews
4.00 star(s)

Great Course!! 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Dec 30, 2011 Played the course:once

Pros:

Wow, what a great course!! The first few holes snake along the creek are really cool and make you cross a lot of wooden bridges. They are tricky, but if all else fails, you can get to the creek to retrieve a disc. Hole 5 begins a group of holes which are more open and a little longer. Holes 14 and 15 really test your arm. Overall, the course is really well designed and takes all kinds of shots. They did a really good job of using existing concrete for pads, and luckily, the hole signs show where the next box is (its not always real clear).

Cons:

The tee boxes are a little short, but there were a lot of "threading the needle" shots, which didn't require a run up. A few of the holes/baskets are a little close. If you don't pay attention to the previous sign, it is sometimes hard to find the next tee box. The walking paths need to be fixed/rerouted along the creek on 3.

Other Thoughts:

I thought this was a great course and will ALWAYS play it when driving back into Dallas from Cedar Hill. It is kept very clean, and you don't have to worry too much about "hoodlums".
Was this review helpful? Yes No
11 1
RustyP
Silver level trusted reviewer
Experience: 20.1 years 83 played 34 reviews
3.50 star(s)

Work in progress, but already showing tons of promise! 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Oct 14, 2011 Played the course:5+ times

Pros:

The Amenities - quality concrete tees and color signs on every hole, many showing directions to next tee. Ample parking in the church parking lot (just make sure you don't park on the "in" side of the mando on Hole 5). Stairs and bridges where needed. Many trash cans throughout the course with places to sit on several holes.

The Design - a good mix between tight/technical and open/long with some longer technical shots that really challenge the player. The hilly terrain on the property is used well, giving players a chance to throw up- and down-hill. Several holes that could be "signature" quality including a long downhill empty-the-bag shot (Hole 14) followed by a brutal wooded par 5 that can do serious damage to the scorecard (the "Tunnel Of Death"). Most holes seem well though-out and reward accurate throws while punishing errant ones. Lots of birdies throughout the course, but also plenty of opportunities to take bogey or worse. A good competition course that makes it difficult for any single player to simply run away with a win.

Hole Highlights: Holes 1-4 fall into the short and technical category with thick woods and a winding shallow creek in play. These holes can provide up to 4 birdies to an accurate thrower (with Hole 4 being a very difficult but reachable birdie), but can add 4 strokes to the score just as easily. Holes 6-11 are all moderately wooded with elevation in play on the first 3 and 2 reasonable birdie opportunities (Holes 7 and 9). Holes 8, 10 and 11 are all tunnel shots to some degree, with 11 being a personal favorite. 12 through 14 play up and downhill behind the church building and provide a bit of relief from the woods before finishing on several tightly wooded holes. Hole 15 is THE signature hole in my opinion - with a fairway that is lined with trees on both sides (and several in the middle), an OB road to the right, and over 800ft of distance, this monster rewards an accurate thrower who has good control over the discs landing. Being greedy and going for big distance, especially on the tee, can spell disaster if done improperly...double-digit scores are possible. Hole 16 is another tightly wooded hole, but unlike the last, it has a hard dogleg setting up to a tree-dotted green with 2 mandos.

Cons:

Many of my original criticisms of this course's design have been addressed recently, and this course is shaping up very nicely. However, there is still one major thing I see that's worth mentioning: the layout is very cramped in a few spots and could be dangerous during tournament play. This is especially true on holes 2-4, 6-8, and to a lesser degree on 12-14 (the latter are more open, making it easier to see an oncoming throw). Other than this, I only see small, nitpicky things that will most likely be addressed down the road by the designer or naturally from getting more play and foot traffic (this is a new course, after all). These include clearing brush/limbs within 10ft of the baskets (*cough* hole 2 *cough*), cutting a safer trail along the creek on Hole 3, and better marking the artificial OB lines on a few holes. I also feel that Hole 5 is a bit of a filler hole / afterthought and that some of the concrete tees could be longer, but those are highly subjective.

Also - a minor Con in my eyes - this course can be very punishing to someone just starting out. The woods along the course are still very thick in some parts, making it easy to lose a disc, and the technical aspects of this course might prove very frustrating to a new player. The creek can also be difficult to tread, but easy to find :) However, if a challenge is desired, this is the kind of course where it can be found.

No bathrooms, but there is a gas station across the highway with a public restroom. Pretty sure the convenience store on 17 does NOT have a public restroom.

Other Thoughts:

This course has grown on me very quickly over the last few months. At first, I felt it was too tight on many of the wooded holes, making reasonable approaches to the pin impossible. I also had a difficult time navigating the course at first. Now that signs/stairs/bridges have been installed and more clearing has been done, those initial concerns are no longer valid.

If you happen to meet Sean, the youth pastor/course designer, make sure to thank him for all the work he's done getting this course installed. He's a great guy to play with, and has some big plans for the course!
Was this review helpful? Yes No
6 1
Lesson
Experience: 15 years 19 played 3 reviews
4.50 star(s)

location 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Sep 15, 2011 Played the course:once

Pros:

-great layout it is very enjoyable
-short technical shots
-long distance holes
-fun use of parking lots/light pole for mando etc some things out of the ordinary
-difficult course would be very hard to shoot even 54
-very clean and enjoyable

Cons:

-its far distance from my house
-its duncanville
-blind holes

Other Thoughts:

it was very fun to play and look forward to going back. yes it is pretty hard your first game because there is blind holes and you may not make the right choices of discs or shots unless you walk the hole.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

Latest posts

Top