Highland Park, IL

Fink Park

Permanent course
2.175(based on 21 reviews)
Filter course reviews

Filter reviews

Filter reviews

Fink Park reviews

Filter
8 0
EspressoPatronum
Gold level trusted reviewer
Premium Member
Experience: 18.6 years 224 played 215 reviews
2.00 star(s)

A Respectable But Average Chicago Niner

Reviewed: Played on:Aug 6, 2023 Played the course:once

Pros:

- well maintained park with some mature trees
- full color tee signs with maps (not huge, but they work)
- basic but serviceable Mach something baskets
- concrete tees
- course is very accessible for carts or those with disabilities
- some minor amenities like benches, picnic tables, and garbage cans throughout course
- may be able to use bathrooms inside adjacent racquet club also owned by park district
- numbers on baskets made navigation a bit easier

Cons:

- tees could be a bit larger
- entirely flat
- while there are some mature trees, the level of challenge/obstacles here is pretty low
- some safety hazards throwing over/near walking paths, though the park does not seem heavily trafficked
- as with many wide open courses, not always immediately obvious which basket goes with which tee pad

Other Thoughts:

Fink Park is a respectable, beginner level nine hole course. I think I appreciated this course a bit more than the nearby Highland Park/Deerfield courses which are "bowling alley" style, crammed into a very narrow strip of land. This course is compact but works around the park in a more natural fashion. I was between 1.5 and 2 on this, but decided with the level of maintenance and the equipment a 2 was justifiable.

The park is clearly well maintained like most in the area, and the equipment, while basic, is all serviceable and in pretty decent shape. This is an enjoyable enough quick round if you aren't looking for much challenge. It will probably only take 30 minutes to play solo.

Like many suburban Chicago nine hole courses, there's no real "x factor" here - no real tough shots, water, elevation, etc. It's near a ton of other 9 holes so it makes for a nice bagging run but there's no real reason to go out of your way for Fink Park otherwise.

The first couple of holes play near some condos; you don't get too close to them but if you shank a shot it could end up in their backyards. Later on, there are some hazards near walking paths, with hole 6 actually throwing over the path. While I never like to see this, the course was absolutely deserted when I was there on Sunday morning, and others have said it was deserted on weekdays, so I think the risk is low as long as players are careful. Some of the holes do have fairways pretty close together so if the course were busy there could be a bit more issue. However, I can't imagine this place getting busy unless there was a league or something.

Overall, the park is well maintained and while nothing to write home about in terms of natural beauty, it's a fun enough round if you're in the area. I wouldn't come out of the way for this unless you want to course bag like I was.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
2 1
DiscGolfer80
Experience: 4.7 years 57 played 56 reviews
2.50 star(s)

2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Apr 8, 2020 Played the course:once

Pros:

Not a bad course for beginners / recreational players. A few holes have to play around trees or clumps of Buckthorn bushes. Pretty wide open despite the trees/bushes.

Cons:

Course can be wet / soggy at times depending on season, so bring some water proof shoes.

#6 & # 7 play across the walking path.

Residents love letting their dogs run around without a leash.

Other Thoughts:

Parking lot can get busy with people to go play tennis, baseball games, or camp depending on the day and time. Definitely a good course for practice.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
2 0
LaserGlide68
Bronze level trusted reviewer
Experience: 30.8 years 226 played 24 reviews
2.50 star(s)

28 Miles North From The Sears Tower 2+ years

Reviewed: Played on:Jan 28, 2017 Played the course:2-4 times

Pros:

Good variety in shot selection, backhand/forehand, if you get behind some scrub/trees a tomahawk would be needed.

Plays away from the rest of the Park activities (soccer, baseball) although there is a walking path that comes into play on Holes #'s 5, 6, 7.

Cement Tee Pads, quality Tee Signs with map/distance.

Attractive smaller park, played in late January, probably very pretty in the summertime.

Cons:

There was lots of semi-frozen water through much of the Course, and some large puddles on #8, so you can see that this would be a very soggy Course after any rains...

Neighbors (the Course butts right up to an area of Condos) told me they see ducks swimming on the Course after heavy rains..no bodies of water nearby!

Couple of Tee Pads were cracked, I list is as a Con as some might see it that way, didn't bother me.

Other Thoughts:

I haven't played any other Chicago-area Courses yet, I read how many are small and blah, this one rated above average for the typical area courses, and I think it's a great Starter Course. Has some good Distance shots, and others require some Shot shaping.

These types of Courses are essential, as they allow new Players to learn how to play the Game, before heading down to other better Illinois Courses such as Joliet, or Lockport.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
2 0
mrbro855
Gold level trusted reviewer
Experience: 10.4 years 363 played 105 reviews
2.50 star(s)

Nice Niner!! 2+ years

Reviewed: Played on:Aug 12, 2016 Played the course:once

Pros:

Course was in a park that housed a racquetball club. Course wound from the parking lot through the back open area of the club.
Looks like they are remodeling?? First couple pads were large concrete, while the rest were older smaller pads- fine for the course but wondering why the difference?
Course was a good length- most just past my tee reach.
Enough trees and shrubbery to provide basket protection and provide thought to most shots.

Cons:

None really. No elevation to use.
Perhaps on a busy day one might have to be alert for walkers on the paths.
No one out there on the day I went.

Other Thoughts:

In Chicago for work taking in as many courses as possible. Like the rest, this one did not disappoint. Not worth driving lots of miles for, but certainly playable regularly if you live in the area.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
4 0
The Valkyrie Kid
Diamond level trusted reviewer
Experience: 45.8 years 1563 played 1507 reviews
2.50 star(s)

Groovey Chicago 9'er! 2+ years

Reviewed: Played on:Jun 29, 2016 Played the course:once

Pros:

The Fink DGC is set out in the corner of the park behind the tennis club. The park is well maintained, very clean, flat and has enough mature trees to define some fairways and provide you with some obstacles. There is a large course sign at the beginning.

The course has some length with a few holes stretching over 300'. There are concrete pads that most players think are too narrow. I was fine with them. The baskets are old and have the number on the side on a little square plaque.
One cool feature here is a soft, rubberized material under the basket to prevent compacting. This is the same material that you sometimes find under swings or climbing area. I'm not sure if it's really needed but it's cool anyway.
There is some challenge here. # 8 is 325' and there are plenty of obstacles on your route in the form of, mature trees, smaller trees and bushes. Pick your route.

# 9 has a large tree in the center of your fairway and a small nature area that you would like to avoid (just to keep it looking nice).
# 2 at 304' is a pretty hole playing down a natural fairway.
Fink Park is great for beginners but I think it's a very comfortable course for recreational players, seniors and better players just working on their game.

Cons:

The course is packed in this smaller park. I guess there could be an issue on busy days, both with other park users and other players.

I could see some drainage issues.

Might have to wait for walkers on # 6 and # 7.

Other Thoughts:

Another Chicago 9'er that is what it is. It's not going to host any big tournies and better players may scoff at it's shorter distances, flatness and wide open holes. But for the majority of the disc throwing population, this course gives us a stress free, relaxing place to come out and get a quick round in. I'd play here all the time, weather permitting. You crazy Chicago land folks can play in ice, snow and freezing temperatures all you want. I'm good when the thermometer hits 50.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
4 0
Parsaver
Experience: 5 played 5 reviews
2.00 star(s)

Standard Suburban 9-Holer 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:May 22, 2014 Played the course:5+ times

Pros:

-Located in a well maintained suburban park in a nice neighborhood
-Has enough space, trees and brush to make for some interesting holes but nothing truly special
-Holes are located in an area pretty well secluded from other park activities. There is a walking path that comes into play but it is usually not too busy
-Great course for beginners, no real chance of losing discs, enough trees to require one to learn how to throw different shots, but nothing frustratingly hard
-While an advanced player feels they should deuce every hole, #1 and #4 are the only "gimme" holes.
-Nearly every hole offers a variety of lines to take to the basket, which is good for practicing every shot in the bag. This is particularly evident on 4, 7, 8 and 9. For example on 9 you can play a big spike hyzer around the tree, a low hyzer under the tree branches to the right of the trunk, a low straight shot under the tree branches to the left of the trunk, an anhyzer or flick around the tree on the left or even a flick roller!
-2, 3, and 5 require well controlled straight shots, if you catch an early tree you'll need a solid upshot to save par
-8 is probably the toughest hole on the course, 325 late dogleg left, requiring a big forehand or anyhzyer, those who can't get it there with those shots will need to get crafty with the late turning turn-over, roller, or sneaky hzyer.
-Good baskets, tee pads are pretty good as well but can get slippy when even a little wet
-Good signage and flow, you'll have no problem with navigation. First hole right next to the sign as you pull into the parking lot and you can warm-up putting at basket 9.
-Course is located right of the Edens express way, is probably one of the most convenient courses for those who live on the north side of the city.
-There is a tennis center on site with public restrooms, water fountains, and vending machines. Also, you can turn in lost discs to the front desk's lost and found.
-Never crowded on weekdays

Cons:

-Not to much variety in the way of distance, park doesn't allow for any bomber holes. 5 shots in the 300ish range, 2 holes 270ish, and 2 shorty's.
-No technical holes. There are enough trees to punish shots far off line, but 2 and 3 are the only holes where you need to "pure" gaps and even they can allow off lines shots to get through.
-Nothing too challenging for experienced players, taking a four will feel like an unforgivable sin
-This course holds water. Most courses in this area are pretty soggy after rain but Fink is the worst. Holes 3, 4, 7, and 8 are seemingly always wet even after days of sun. If you have a pair of boots with waterproofing you'll usually be fine but wearing gym shoes out there if it has rained recently is just asking for a pair of wet socks.
-Tee pads are not always lined up in the direction of the basket, this is not a big deal but is evident on 1, 3, 5, and 7. It can get confusing for first time players on 7 because the pad points more toward 3's basket than 7's.
-Creek can come into play if you crush a drive past #6, but you can usually fish out the disc. Roof of the tennis center can come into play on 8 and 9, but there are ventilation cubes on the side of the building that you can climb to retrieve them.
-Can sometimes get crowded on weekdends in the summer, but never too bad.

Other Thoughts:

-This is the best all around course in the north shore area, but that's not saying much.
-Of course you have to be very grateful for every course put-in in this area, and this one does a pretty good job.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
3 0
Zaklipsey
Experience: 2 played 2 reviews
2.00 star(s)

Average 9 hole 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Jun 17, 2013 Played the course:5+ times

Pros:

Allows all type of players to have fun.
Can challenge an experienced player every once in a while.
Usually well maintained
Signs are available on every hole
Concrete pads
Usually not too crowded
One of the better 9 holes courses in the northshore
Aceable holes
Usually able to smoke freely
Not windy even on windy days the trees surrounding park block wind well

Cons:

Course is short
Challenging holes are few but every hole is capable of being birdied.
Course holds lots of water so if it rains heavy may take several days to dry out and makes the course miserable
Sometimes course doesn't maintained because the park in general is so big.
Concrete pads are shorts and need to be remodeled.
Course needs a main sign and rules posted.
Also no practice basket to putt although 9th hole usually becomes the practice basket.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
1 3
chrismilano
Experience: 15 played 6 reviews
2.50 star(s)

Home course 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Jun 19, 2013 Played the course:5+ times

Pros:

+Good signage
+Good baskets in decent condition
+Some technical holes. Trees add a degree of difficulty
+Course is easy tot navigate.

Cons:

-No elevation change. The course is almost entirely flat.
-WIth the exception of a few holes, almost every tee off is wide open.
-The course does not challenge an experienced golfer.

Other Thoughts:

This is my home course, and to be honest it is a pretty average course
Was this review helpful? Yes No
3 1
Buchajs1
Bronze level trusted reviewer
Experience: 11.6 years 168 played 44 reviews
2.00 star(s)

Nice course, good for beginners 2+ years

Reviewed: Updated: Played on:Jul 27, 2012 Played the course:once

Pros:

Good signage- the lines and map was accurate, however the distance was not.

Nice variety of matured trees- tall trees made for a nice asset to an otherwise open course. An made shot shaping a little bit more difficult then it would be on yur typical open course

Nowhere to lose disc- you would have to have major griplock or just have no accuracy to lose a disc

Distance variety- I was surprised that a nine holer had a variety in distances(150-450)

Concrete teepads- these teepads were decent and provided good grip

Cons:

Small tee pads- not much room to take a run-up

Open on most holes - with the acception of a few strategically place trees the course was completely open.

Almost all holes dead straight- no variety in shots, you could play th whole course with a mid range nd a putter.

Other Thoughts:

Short course most people will just throw midrange or putter. If your in the are in the area just go to danny cunniff
Was this review helpful? Yes No
7 0
AdamE
Diamond level trusted reviewer
Experience: 20.4 years 264 played 143 reviews
1.50 star(s)

2+ years

Reviewed: Updated: Played on:Sep 9, 2011 Played the course:once

Pros:

Fink Park is a fun little 9 hole course set in the back of a nice park. The course is flat with some mature trees and there's only rough on one hole. The tee signs are in good condition and navigation is a breeze. It has long, narrow concrete pads. They've been painted green, it was dry out when I played here and they didn't give me any problem at all. There's a decent variety of distance and an ok shot variety.

Cons:

While there are mature trees on some holes, others were nearly wide open. Even the ones with trees don't present much of a challenge.

A couple of the holes throw over a sidewalk. It's easy to see if anyone's coming so there shouldn't be any danger there, but it is worth mentioning.

The tee pads were extremely narrow, possibly the narrowest I've ever encountered. It didn't really bother me but it does force you to throw in one direction and limits options.

Other Thoughts:

I stopped to play here on my way to Wisconsin. The course was right off 41, it was a fast round which allowed us to get out of the car and stretch our legs; exactly what we wanted. It's a great course for locals or new players to learn the game, but it was not challenging or memorable so I wouldn't recommend going out of your way to play here.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
6 0
#19325
Diamond level trusted reviewer
Experience: 22.7 years 351 played 175 reviews
2.50 star(s)

Beginner course in very nice neighborhood. 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Jan 16, 2011 Played the course:2-4 times

Pros:

Fink is located in a very nice neighborhood. The park is flat as a pancake and has tree scattered throughout. It's a very nice park that is taken care of.

Tee #1 is located just west of the parking lot. There is a large sign identifying where the disc golf course is located.

Concrete tee pads.

The baskets are in pretty good shape and have the # located on the bin. I'm not sure what kind of baskets these are. I've never seen them at another course.

The tee signs are pretty good. They have hole description and distance.

Navigation is very simple. This is a great beginner course that does not take long to play.

Cons:

Although the tees are concrete they are painted green. They seemed slick.

5 of the 9 holes are in the 295 to 325 foot range. This course is very repetitive.

Fore more skilled players this course will not offer challenge.

Other Thoughts:

If you live on the north side of Chicgao or Burbs this is not a bad option. There is another course in Highland Park and nearby Glencoe.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
3 0
lordofchance
Experience: 15.7 years 13 played 5 reviews
1.50 star(s)

Nice Beginner Course 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Aug 11, 2010 Played the course:once

Pros:

- Concrete Tees
- Course tries to vary the distances between holes
- Makes good use of trees and bushes as obsticales
- Good site to Practice Ace Drives
- Course is well maintained
- Baskets in good condition
- Tee signs provide recommend routes to basket

Cons:

- Most holes are fairly short and do not really provide the ability for a more experienced player to open up with their arm.
- Most baskets are fairly straight shots from the tee
- There are not many challenging shots on the course

Other Thoughts:

All in all this is a nice looking course and allows for beginners and amateurs the ability to practices their shots. I have not been able to break the 250 mark on my drives so this course allowed me to practice my drivers, but for others I could see this course providing to little variation in shots or distances.

The course allows you to practice your drives with out having to worry about losing your disc in think brush. The course is worth a visit for a quick game or practice, but do not expect the course to provide much of a challenge.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
8 0
notapro
Diamond level trusted reviewer
Premium Member
Experience: 20.6 years 568 played 281 reviews
2.00 star(s)

Beginner/Intermediate 2+ years

Reviewed: Updated: Played on:Jun 6, 2010 Played the course:5+ times

Pros:

- Nice little section of the park strictly for disc golf. A few pedestrians every once in a while, but nothing too crazy
- Concrete tee pads are a little small, but better than nothing. Decent baskets and signage.
- Good use of trees to make holes somewhat challenging. On some holes, you have to go straight in between two trees to get to the pin, on others you can't go straight at all.
- While all of the holes can easily be done in 2 shots, you have to make a good shot to do so. A few exceptions on the easier holes.
- I use a mix of RHBH and RHFH on this course, plenty of spots to choose your shot selection carefully.

Cons:

- Some of these holes are as easy as they get, at least for a RHBH throw. No trees in the way, and no elevation change.
- Overall, no elevation change at all throughout the course.
- Can get a little wet at times, especially around #7's basket. Don't forget to bring a towel after a rain.

Other Thoughts:

- I like playing at this course, as it really tests accuracy with some medium length holes. Getting it through the two trees on #3, with enough length to get it to the pin, can be a challenge. Mostly a mental one.
- I don't have a huge arm, so these 300+ holes are great for me to practice my distance and accuracy at the same time.
- I gave this one an extra 1/2 disc because there are some holes that really demand a specific shot. I know people who stick with the RHBH throughout, but they use some crazy lines to get it there.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
5 0
steven2361
Bronze level trusted reviewer
Experience: 15.8 years 286 played 53 reviews
2.50 star(s)

Short with a few good holes 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Jan 17, 2010 Played the course:5+ times

Pros:

Teepads have good grip when dry (they're green)

Nice signage

Mature trees all around. They force routes sometimes.

(for me) : Holes 7-9 are rewarding birdies.

The last basket easilly functions as a practice basket

Good for beginners to learn shots

No super long walks between holes and the course leads you right back to your car and the beginning of the course.

Good catching baskets

Right of the highway when you're driving south to Chicago, good for a quick round.

Forces straight shots

Cons:

Paths with unaware people throughout the park.

Can get very flooded

Tee pads are not very wide

Many holes are around 300', very short course

Not a lot of shot variety, mostly straight mid shots.

Flat

Mostly Open

Not secluded, on holes 8-9 a building on the left comes into play on really shaked shots

Other Thoughts:

If you're playing in Highland Park, play here, NOT Danny Cunniff. Keller in deerfield is another close fun 9.

Go to the back of the park to park.

Summary:

Hole 1 is a dumb wide open 280 easy bird

Hole 2 forces a good straight shot about 300', rewarding bird

Hole 3 forces another straight 280ish

Hole 4 gives you two routes. So short though it is an easy bird

Hole 5 is yet another straight 280 ish

Hole 6 is wide open 280ish

Hole 7 is a little more tricky, but not much. You can throw straight at it, Trees block a big left to right and a big hyzer so a straight shot is the way to go

Hole 8 is a fun one. Over 300 left to right, tough birdie

Hole 9 has two solid routes, straight slight turnover to left of the big tree, or just throw the big hyzer to the right.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
4 0
clipnfly
Silver level trusted reviewer
Experience: 14.7 years 60 played 57 reviews
2.00 star(s)

No Lost Discs 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Updated: Played on:Sep 12, 2009 Played the course:5+ times

Pros:

Nicely maintained park. Wide opne spaces. Little chance to lose a disc. Good for practicing accuracy on mid length holes. Larger trees and some tree density on a few holes makes for accuracy pracitce. Nice concrete tee pads with good texture in surface. Nice no-slip. Good signage. Plenty of parking. benches at tee 1 if there is a wait. Baskets are all in good shape. Tree gateway shot on 3 is fun. obsticles on 9 are a nice touch. Tree choices on 7 and I think it was 4 were fun.

Cons:

Too short for big driving. Hole 7 plays too close to soccer field if games are on. Pad size is a bit small for big run-ups, but no big run ups needed here as holes are shorter... a big run up and you will over throw anyway. We had a debate as to which was the proper basket on 7... we were split as to what was to be the proper one and the basket from 3 that is in line with the tee pad... but if the sign is correct the #3 basket was too far to be correct.

Other Thoughts:

Good example of park dist courses in the area. I would rather play Cuniff just up the road at rte.22... and funny as 1 review of Cuniff said they would rather play Fink... go figure... to each his own. Discs for sale at Ace at 41 and 22 and at Uncle Dan's in Downtown HP if you need discs. Have played here a number of times more than when I first reviewed it... still all points hold up. I like 3, 4 and 9 best here.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
9 0
harr0140
Diamond level trusted reviewer
Premium Member
Experience: 15.2 years 1508 played 475 reviews
2.00 star(s)

Average course with average challenge 2+ years

Reviewed: Played on:Aug 16, 2009 Played the course:once

Pros:

1) Nice concrete tee pads are an upgrade from most of the other courses in the area. (although sligtly too narrow)

2) Baskets are in good condition.

3) Courses uses large mature trees as obstacles and it forces you to pick your line.

4) Course is beginner friendly because it is relatively open despite the large mature trees. It offers a challenge to the beginners by forcing them to picture a shot rather than just throwing as hard as they can.

5) Course offers a good variety in distance ranging from 182' to 325' with a couple other in the mid 250' range. This is a true positive because it alters the disc you will be throwing into many baskets. It is nice to not have the same shot on every hole.

6) Nice tee signs with diagrams.

7) Nice park with good amenities. It is fairly isolated from other activities which is always a positive.

8) Turf is in good condition across the course including around the baskets. It doesn't seem to be too wore down and there is no need for mulch or gravel around the baskets because the turf is healthy.

Cons:

1) Concrete tees are slightly too narrow. Someone else complained about them being slippery but I didn't notice that . . . but it was dry.

2) A little bit too wide open. I like the mature trees but anyone but a beginner can really execute most shots fairly easily.

3) Mature trees are good for this course, but I do think that the baskets or tees could have been better situated. I felt like Glencoe (Watts Park) really incorporated the trees effectively to force certain shots. This course allows you to pick your own shot rather than forcing you to think up your shot.

4) The only thing that interrupts play would be the sidewalk path that runs across hole #6 and #7.

5) No elevation change at all . . . I know it isn't the designers fault it is just the property they have but I do like to see some elevation even if it is just placing a basket on a sidehill or something.

Other Thoughts:

This is an average course. It is one of the better courses in the immediate area but is not a destination course. I think it would be mostly very locals that play because it just doesn't have anything that stands out as not ordinary. I still give it a typical/decent rating because the course itself is designed well, seems to be well maintained, and the amenities make it a good place to go play. It was the 8th course on my 9 course day and am glad I got to play it. I especially liked making a 2 on #9 with a 65' putt across the wind going in.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
9 0
mashnut
Diamond level trusted reviewer
Experience: 22 years 831 played 767 reviews
1.50 star(s)

Short but fun 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Updated: Played on:Jun 8, 2009 Played the course:5+ times

Pros:

This course is in the back corner of a park, on flat ground with a good amount of large mature trees. The trees are well used to define fairways on a few of the holes, and the course is laid out well to take advantage of them. There is a good mix of lengths, from under 200' to a little over 300'. There are a couple holes that are good accuracy challenges, and some where there are only a few trees to avoid.

The course has plenty of parking by the first tee, and because it is usually not crowded, the 9th basket makes a nice practice/warmup spot. All holes have decent signs with hole layout and distance. The course is very easy to follow, and it's always pretty clear which basket to shoot at next, and where the next tee is.

The park is very nicely maintained, with well-mowed grass, and all downed limbs and brush cleared on a regular basis. It's pretty clear that the park works to keep the course in good shape, and to fix any problems as they happen.

Cons:

The biggest issue with this course is the tee pads. They used to be mud pits, so I was excited when I saw they were being upgraded to concrete. I was very disappointed to play after they were put in, and find that they are not only very narrow, they have some sort of coating on them that makes them extremely slippery to throw from.

The course makes good use of the space available, but it is crammed in a fairly small area. There are a few places where holes throw on top of one another, or in the direction of another tee. It is usually not crowded, but when there are other players it can be an issue. The course also plays over a walking path and next to a soccer field on two holes, so watch for other park users.

Other Thoughts:

This course is a great place to bring beginners, as there is only one hole where there i any chance of losing a disc, and all the holes are very beginner accessible. For more experienced players, this course is definitely more of a place to work on your midrange game, though there are a couple fun holes with some accuracy required.

Of the many mediocre 9 hole courses in the area, this is one of the better ones, and is worth playing if you are in the area. I wouldn't drive too far out of your way to play this one though, unless you're just looking to play something new.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
4 3
Nigel
Experience: 7 played 7 reviews
3.00 star(s)

Great Beginner Course 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:May 27, 2009 Played the course:once

Pros:

Challenging pars for beginners; one nice way to know if your drive is getting better is if you can get it past the trail on hole #7

Cons:

Swampy after rain

Other Thoughts:

Most of the holes are out in the open with very few obstacles
Was this review helpful? Yes No
4 2
Brook
Experience: 2 played 2 reviews
3.00 star(s)

Beginner course 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:May 8, 2009 Played the course:5+ times

Pros:

This is an absolutely terrific course if you are just staring out. It has little to get into your way. Everything around you is pretty straight forward. I have done my best on this course. Yesterday I made par at the sixth basket. That really boosted my game! If you are new to the game you need that. So this is a great place to launch from. There really is no difficulty level. Normally it's not crowded either, so you don't have people to hinder you if you are trying to improve and slow moving. Which is fine, because that's how you get good. There is a very nice club house where you can use the bathroom and get a drink if you need too as well.

Cons:

The only thing negitive is that it gets pretty swampy. If you don't like that sort of thing, don't go after it rains. Brink bug spray and change of clothes if you need too.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
6 10
Dave242
Gold level trusted reviewer
Experience: 29.8 years 393 played 271 reviews
0.50 star(s)

D+ = Doesn't have much happenin' for a 9 holer 2+ years

Reviewed: Played on:Apr 2, 2009 Played the course:5+ times

Pros:

What I personally like and how this course stacks up:
1) Holes with good risk/reward -- D+
2) Holes that have rewarding birdie opportunities -- C
3) More wooded than open - lots of variety of shots required caused by hole shape and topography -- C-
4) Natural beauty (Appalachian beauty preferred) and seclusion -- C-
5) Multi-shot holes with defined landing zones, good risk/reward and multiple options to play them -- NA

Other Thoughts:

I ranked this course subjectively based on my own personal enjoyment factor...more accurately my "personal addiction factor". Since I have played a decent number of courses (115 18-hole, 50 9-hole as of early 2009), my hope is that players/explorers who have similar tastes will find my ratings list helpful as they chose courses to play and explore.

Over time, I expect to fill some of my reviews in with more descriptive verbiage...if what I say adds anything to what has already been written. For now, my list is more important to me than the verbiage of my reviews.

I fully expect others with different tastes/philosophies to disagree with me. See my profile for my rating philosophy.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
Top