St. Paul (West Saint Paul), MN

Garlough Park

Permanent course
3.085(based on 25 reviews)
Filter course reviews

Filter reviews

Filter reviews

Garlough Park reviews

Filter
10 1
ReinZ_96
Gold level trusted reviewer
Experience: 13.6 years 104 played 46 reviews
2.00 star(s)

A+ Pitch and Putt 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Sep 18, 2021 Played the course:2-4 times

Pros:

1) Garlough Park's biggest plus is the variety that is on offer here, you could not ask for more from a pitch and putt 9-hole.

Elevation: Much, much more than I expected before arriving at the course. Every hole has at least a little bit and some are quite steep. Hole 1 starts you off with a bang, throwing straight uphill with a moderately tight line. A deceiving hole that looks much longer than it actually is. In the opposite vein, hole 9 finishes you off with a tricky downhill shot that requires good speed control to keep it close to the basket. Holes 4 and 6 are the closest to flat here, but they still have some slight change in elevation.

Shot/hole shape: While there is a slight favor towards lefty holes, the balance between left/right/straight shots is very good here. There is one hole with a big dogleg for each direction, a few holes that don't really favor either handedness, and two holes that have multiple lines available off the tee.

Technicality: This course is generally quite technical; you need to hit your gaps on most of the holes here. Despite the short length, bogey can still be in play on quite a few holes for most players with early kicks. Good mix of gap size and gaps that you need to hit early and late into flight. Hole 4 has a decently small gap 225ft-ish off the tee that you need to hit to have any chance of making the dogleg, hole 6 has multiple very tight lines to choose from. Overall, from a technicality standpoint, enough of a challenge to keep a more experienced player entertained but easy enough to not be discouraging for a beginner.

2) Tees are in good shape, grippy, and plenty big enough for the distances on the course. Technically there are two sets of them, which is always nice. But, the shorts are just grass/dirt and in some cases not level. Plus, the long tees are already very short to begin with. I would say the shorts are only really going to be enjoyed by children or very beginners.

3) Baskets, while nothing fancy, are in good enough shape and catch well. Anything better than Mach IIIs is always a plus in my book.

Cons:

1) Tee 'signs' are just wooden posts with the hole number painted on them (in some cases barely
visible/readable). No distances, or anything else.

2) The walk from 3-4/6-7 is a bit long, but not really unintuitive. After finishing 3, go behind the green and take the path to the right down the hill to 4 then come back the same way after 6. Though, a first timer not paying close attention could definitely accidentally go straight from 3 to 7 without realizing. Otherwise, navigation is very simple and straight forward.

3) Given the pitch and putt nature of the course, a very minor con, but objectively compared to other courses it's still a con. A couple holes just feel too short. Hole 3 is 130ft uphill and pretty wide open. I cannot fathom a situation outside of playing in a tornado that I would be happy taking anything higher than a 2. And hole 7 is 120ft and pretty steep downhill, easily in jump putt range for many people.

4) Erosion is starting to show in places around the course and I could imagine it getting quite sloppy during wetter times. Specifically, the path through the woods between 3-4/6-7 and around some of the baskets. Some woodchips, I think, could go a long way here.

5) Some parts of the course are quite cramped, and I could see some unwanted hole interaction occurring. Though, it would probably take a pretty big shank to really be a problem. So, not much of a con but still worth mentioning.

Other Thoughts:

Overall, Garlough Park is a great pitch and putt style 9-holer. Perfect place for a quick round on lunch or when you are otherwise strapped for time. Great for bringing a beginner or working on throwing your putters. And, generally, just a very fun course and the best pitch and putt course I've played. I'm very much on the verge of giving the course a 2.5 instead of a 2.0, but it just BARELY falls short on account of the pitch and putt style and only being a 9-holer. Though, I still highly recommend the course if you are a newer player, bringing a newer player with you, or just want some great pitch and putt golf.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
4 1
jland969
Experience: 18.5 years 77 played 11 reviews
3.00 star(s)

Lunch-Break 9er 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Jul 5, 2018 Played the course:2-4 times

Pros:

1. Nice quiet setting for urban environment
2. Concrete pads
3. Quality baskets
4. Some technical shots
5. A couple longer shots
6. Achievable and enjoyable for any level

Cons:

1. Very short, definitely not a destination site
2. Poor/limited signage
3. Layout between 6-7 and 7-8 feels counter-intuitive and can be confusing

Other Thoughts:

A fun, very small course to take any disc golfer. Some elevation change makes it interesting with some heavily wooded rough. I pulled 5-6 different discs from my bag, which is atypical for a course this small. At the same time time you could easily get away with your top 3. Check the map to understand where you are heading after hole 6, as it is a little clunky.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
2 2
TCDGFAN
Experience: 19.7 years 44 played 7 reviews
4.50 star(s)

Perfect technical 9 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Jun 10, 2018 Played the course:5+ times

Pros:

Free, concrete pads and good baskets. Easy to follow except for the 3-4 and 6-7 connections which require a walk down and up the small ravine path. Can be played through in about 25-30 minutes pretty easily. Mids and putters only for the most part. Opportunity for some huge hyzer bombs and 3-4 ace opportunities. Rough is not too bad and the area is maximized very well given the space, very little overlap of holes and generally very light traffic. Only used sparingly by mushroom hunters and the occasional pack of wild teens

Cons:

No real room to stretch out the drivers on throws. Definitely RHFH friendly so if you're RHBH dominant it might not be as fun. Signage could definitely be improved with hole graphics and next hole indicators.

Other Thoughts:

One of my favorite 9s and a go-to course for warm ups. Up-keep is at an all-time high with more room to improve. Definitely an underrated gem!
Was this review helpful? Yes No
2 0
Flanakookn
Experience: 7.7 years 17 played 11 reviews
3.50 star(s)

Fun Ace runs 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Jul 30, 2017 Played the course:5+ times

Pros:

Great little technical course. A couple of grip it and rip it holes but most of the time it's about placement not distance.

A few of the holes are set up for great ace runs. 3, 7, & 9 most definitely.

Everyone in my family including my teenage daughters have hit the chains on #7. As of this review no aces yet though.

Cons:

If you don't place your shot well you are probably looking for it in the woods.

The "long" walk from #3 to #4 and then back again from #6 to #7 is eroding away and lots of tripping hazards to be mindful of.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
4 0
LeftyHukin
Experience: 9.7 years 14 played 8 reviews
3.00 star(s)

A Surprising Little Course 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Aug 18, 2015 Played the course:2-4 times

Pros:

As I have been looking to open my eyes this year and try several new courses rather than continue to just play one, this was a course that was on my radar. I have heard many great things about it from players in my area, so when I was headed into St. Paul this weekend I felt it was time to get over there. Unfortunately it was not the best conditions, as it was hot and damp, but I will try not to let things out of my control create a bias on my review.

As the title says this course is little. I was expecting an open 9 hole course with some trees in the way or the basket just tucked in the tree lines. I was very wrong and glad to be! This course is very technical, it makes you hit your lines right off the tee or you could be in trouble and scrambling for par. I rarely have played a course where you knew you had a good/bad shot the moment you released the disc, but this is one. If you hit your line you will be rewarded, but if you do not then... have fun in the surrounding woods.

Leave the drivers at home and come to work on your placement shots with putter/mids. I enjoy technical courses since I feel they improve your game very rapidly by forcing you to be accurate,

The holes themselves are not very long, but have great elevation changes. Hole 1, 3 go straight uphill with 7 and 9 playing downhill. Even the in between holes have you throwing over hills or on the side of one.

The design of the course was great, maybe this is a LHBH bias shining through, but the basket placements were perfect for me to try to hit a lot of ace runs since they are mostly tucked to the right. However they are all slightly guarded and with the trees right off the tee pad adding to the challenge of hitting the perfect line.

Hole 4 was an amazing shot. The longest hole I believe, being just over 300ft, but you throw into an open field with trees surrounding the tee pad, but you have to hit a 20ft gap between 2 wooded areas roughly 240ft away and have the disc fade or turn over to the right through it just to have a look.

The tee pads themselves where in great shape, felt a bit awkward since they didn't seem as wide as other places, but these pads work just fine.

The course design also makes it flow every well. It is very easy to find the next tee, as long as you go down the hill to the right after 3's basket and not follow the patch to the left which takes you right to #7.

Cons:

Either study the map at the beginning or take a picture. Not to find the tee pads, but so you know where you are aiming for. There are several blind shots including holes 4,5,8 and I guess 9. You can easily make an educated guess, but it really helps your shot selection if you know exactly where the baskets are.

There was a sign asking for people not to litter, but there was a lot of cans and bottle in the surrounding wooded areas. Some trash cans would do away with a lot of the litter and make the course look a lot more appealing.

I would have to bring some of my RHBH friends here to see what kind of lines they can come up with, but as a lefty it really did feel like all I had to do was put the disc on the right hyzer angle and line, then watch for the ace run.

You will not need a driver on this course as the course is perfect for placement shots and working on mid range/putter driving

Other Thoughts:

This was a surprisingly fun course. I came thinking it would be a stereotypical 9 hole course, but was pleasantly surprised with the challenges that the course design gives you.

I hope for some man made trash cans, not tree stumps, to help clean up the course a little, but overall it is still an inviting course right next to a middle school I believe.

If you want to improve your accuracy then you have to hit up this course. It was very technical in places and will punish you if you miss the line. But enjoy the ace runs! There are several, even for a RHBH and even more for a lefty. Don't go out expecting a champ level course because this is not designed to be one. This course is great for beginners and intermediate players looking to improve, while experienced players will still get joy running shots to pad their ace totals.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
3 0
wolfhaley
Diamond level trusted reviewer
Premium Member
Experience: 19.8 years 969 played 542 reviews
3.00 star(s)

Nicely done 2+ years

Reviewed: Played on:Aug 9, 2015 Played the course:once

Pros:

This course is set up in an area that is disc golf exclusive. It's free to play and in ground all year. The baskets are chainstars that were all in great shape and caught well. They did a great job designing this course. They mix up the shot selection nicely. There's up and down, left and right. Even a scummy pond behind #9's basket which I almost skipped into after just missing an ace. The course is free too and located near many other very solid courses. The course was clean and seemed to be well taken care of. The course starts by the southeast side of the parking lot by the small kiosk across the walking path. From there you'll have no problem following the flow of the course.

Cons:

Distances. The course plays on the short end of the spectrum. This isn't necessarily a con to everyone. I personally don't mind short courses as long as they challenge your accuracy which this place does. Just don't expect to air it out here. The bugs, but like anywhere else there's nothing they can do about this. Just be aware of it.

Other Thoughts:

This was just another course that really surprised me in MN. I can here not expecting too much and left wanting to play it again. Sure there are better courses in the area. But if you're in the area and like disc golf I bet you'll have fun here. Again, play the higher rated courses but if you need a warm up or cool down or just get your confidence back round, this is a good place to do it. Well designed, quick, very fun round.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
2 0
Gr8HornedRat
Experience: 17.3 years 52 played 2 reviews
3.00 star(s)

Better than expected! 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Jun 27, 2015 Played the course:2-4 times

Pros:

Decent tees, pins aren't bad, repeated elevation change, and a solid layout using the land very well.

Cons:

The rough if REALLY rough in some areas,there's a long walk between 2 of the holes, there are more than a couple totally blind shots, and some holes run close to each other.

Other Thoughts:

I was expecting this course to be just another little 9 holer. Boy was I wrong. I would easily rate this in the top 5 9 holers in the TC. If it wasn't such a drive for me, I'd play it much more often.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
5 0
Monkeypaws
Premium Member
Experience: 11.7 years 94 played 16 reviews
3.50 star(s)

Garlough is good 2+ years

Reviewed: Played on:Jan 4, 2015 Played the course:5+ times

Pros:

•Elevation changes come into play on over half of the holes, both uphill and down.
•Woods are present and a factor on most of the holes.
•Teepads are concrete, and some folks even clear them in winter.
•The variety of shots you get to use is pretty amazing considering how short the course is.
•Ideal for working on one's short game.

Cons:

•None really, unless knowing you will finish under par is considered a negative.

Other Thoughts:

All in all this is a fun little course to spend a spare half hour here and there when I visit relatives. I usually do putter-only, or putter mid rounds here, and have even gone back to back rounds because I enjoy it so much. Folks might skip over this because of its proximity to Kaposia, the Valley, and other nearby courses, but seek it out and it will be worth your while.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
1 2
Ark_
Experience: 9.6 years 15 played 1 reviews
4.00 star(s)

Up and to the right. 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Sep 11, 2014 Played the course:once

Pros:

Fun for a short course
More challenging than most 9 hole par 3's
Good mix of uphill, flat, and downhill shots

Cons:

Most pins are on the right side of the tee, can be frustrating for newer RHBH players
Can be muddy in places
Hole layout can be confusing
Pin 4 and 9 are too close for my liking

Other Thoughts:

A fun course all around, trees are well placed to make for interesting lines. Will definitely be playing again soon.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
1 0
sc2sick
Experience: 12.2 years 24 played 11 reviews
3.50 star(s)

Good short course 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Aug 15, 2014 Played the course:5+ times

Pros:

Clean, spaced out holes, variety of holes, can play a short run of 6 if you're in a rush before work (front and back 3)

Cons:

Not overly difficult, but that may be a result of the number of times I've played it, sometimes some standing water when it's been raining or early spring

Other Thoughts:

This was the first course I played at when I started to regularly play disc golf, it's still my go to if I'm going to play with friends after work on a weekday and usually where I bring people when introducing them to the sport
Was this review helpful? Yes No
2 0
jonathanwaldo
Experience: 30 played 6 reviews
3.50 star(s)

Fun pitch and putt 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Aug 12, 2014 Played the course:5+ times

Pros:

There are tons of pitch and putt courses out there that I could go without ever playing because they are so boring. This is not one of those. It's short. That much is obvious, but there is just enough finesse in lines that it makes it fun to run aces. Also, this course differentiates itself from other rec courses with it's bucolic setting in Garlough Park. It's right next to an elementary school, but after the first hole, you feel mostly encapsulated in side the course. It's a wonderful mid-day escape from work. It's a place you can bring your kids. I really do love this course.

Cons:

It's really easy. I'm sure anyone with a decent about of talent could play this course -9 under. If you're looking to stretch out your distance and play for a challenge, go to The Valley.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
6 0
mndiscg
Diamond level trusted reviewer
Experience: 15.7 years 480 played 477 reviews
2.50 star(s)

Elevated Ace Runs 2+ years

Reviewed: Played on:May 24, 2014 Played the course:once

Pros:

+List of people that get aces on the board by tee 1. It would be even more cool if everybody sent in there aces. I almost was able to add my name to the list a few times. There are many ace runs here. The front board also had tourney and league info.
+Every hole has at least a little elevation and many holes have a lot of elevation. This makes short holes harder with potential rollaways on the fast greens. This greatly enhanced this course for me.
+Nice baskets
+Nice concrete pads, they were appropriate size for this course.
+The course was clean and well maintained.
+Good hole variety. No two holes felt very similar to me. The holes were on the shorter side but there was a distance variety in there.
+The woods were nice. It could be a nice peaceful round if you have quiet and respectful groups on the course at the same time as you.
+Hole sponsors for every hole are listed on the back of the number plate, it was nice to see that they got a sponsor for every hole.
+Might be maps/scorecards at the first tee.

Cons:

-There were some losers hanging out on the course and that lowered my experience there a little bit. There was one group that was hammered and was playing very slowly and loudly and another that was composed of obnoxious high schoolers.
-The course is very short.
-Erosion and mud could be an issue with heavy use and all of the ups and downs. Hole 6 was quite muddy yesterday but there was an alternate path to avoid it.
-The rough could be rough and there was a lot of water behind hole 9. You could lose a disc here if your shot goes out of control.
-No signage at all and the maps were gone from the box. Navigation wasn't too hard but finding hole 4 could be a little hard, go down the hill, and we skipped hole 8 before going back to play it. For the most part just follow the worn paths but that can be confusing a little.

Other Thoughts:

+You can enjoy this course unless you only enjoy super long championship level courses. Bring your mid and putter and go for as many birdies and aces as possible!
+This course had a high fun factor for me. I will stop here again if I am in the area.
+I would recommend a stop here for anyone. It would be a great place to introduce someone new to the game. I wouldn't go too far out of my way to get here but if you are in the area, play it.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
3 3
notapro
Diamond level trusted reviewer
Premium Member
Experience: 20.6 years 568 played 281 reviews
1.50 star(s)

Beginner 2+ years

Reviewed: Played on:Jul 24, 2012 Played the course:once

Pros:

- Course is set in some woods behind a small school, which seems to be completely devoted to the disc golf. Not sure if it's ever 'closed', that might be the only interference.
- Some interesting shots with some woods. #1 is an uphill flick shot/RHBH anny, #6 is a short but exaggerated RHFH flex shot (trees blocking the thumber line), and #7 is a downhill ace run that has to hyzer around trees. Also some guardian trees near the basket. #2 is a little more open, with a few different lines between tall trees. #9 is another downhill hyzer with trees to get around, with water way past the pin.
- Most of the other holes use denser forest and large patches of rough to force some lines. #4 is a RHFH flick shot around a piece of forest, around a single tree, with a sharp right to the pin. #5 has a hill in the fairway; it is either a tall hyzer over the hill, or perhaps a anny/flick shot around the base of the hill. Interesting pin placement gives you the option. #8 is an uphill shot with a row of trees to get around, to get into a grove where the pin is located.
- Nice cement tees, posts with hole numbers are sufficient. Practice basket also here.

Cons:

- Some very short hole lengths, with six of the nine holes at or under 205'. Definitely a course for beginners, though they are still interesting.
- Course is kind of crammed in here, with holes kind of close to each other. Also some walks to get between the front and back portion of the park, and to the parking lot after hole #9.

Other Thoughts:

- Well, for a little nine hole course, it is pretty fun. Some fun uphill and downhill shots, and one around over a hill. Enough trees/bushes/rough to keep things interesting in some spots as well. Very well suited for beginners, and not too shabby for more experienced players to mess around.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
2 1
kelin
Experience: 1 played 1 reviews
3.50 star(s)

Nice little course 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Jun 4, 2012 Played the course:once

Pros:

-Good use of the space available
-Cool shots (in/around the trees and topography)
-If you're looking to get your first ace, hole 7 is waiting for you
-Nice place for a beginner, or to warm up on before going to a more difficult course nearby
-Well kept up, no problems with the holes

Cons:

-If you're looking for a challenge this probably isn't your place
-kind of hard to find where to start

Other Thoughts:

Great place to stop by a play through a quick round with good variation of holes, but not a whole lot of challenge.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
2 0
Jumpinjoe
Experience: 47.7 years 9 played 3 reviews
3.00 star(s)

Garlough is fun to play 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Dec 26, 2011 Played the course:2-4 times

Pros:

This is a fun course for newbies and intermediates. Also it's a very good winter course because it's short. It has a lot of elevation changes and ace run possibilities. We need more of these kinds of courses. Kudos to the designer. (Bill Tompkins had a beautiful S-curve ace on #2.)

Cons:

There is erosion on trails and tee areas that needs to be addressed. These trails and tees could be slippery when wet but we played in cold dry conditions.

Other Thoughts:

Overall a good "neighborhood" course that appears to be very popular. On December 26 we saw about 30 other people playing including an extended family of about 12 people really having fun together. This what DG is all about IMHO.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
4 1
bigbeano
Bronze level trusted reviewer
Experience: 17.8 years 34 played 28 reviews
3.00 star(s)

Nice Variety...but it comes with problems 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Updated: Played on:Sep 9, 2011 Played the course:5+ times

Pros:

-The baskets have nice large numbers on them so you can see which basket you should be going for.
-The tee off areas have a sign with the hole number but no distance (except #4 is missing).
-There is a box at the start that is supposed to have maps/scorecards in it.
-There is a practice basket at the start of the course.

Cons:

-The aforementioned box at the start didn't have anything in it which tells me they don't provide the course with consistent upkeep.
-No on-site facilities of any sort.
-Tee boxes are dirt (and full of tree roots to trip over). When it hasn't rained in a while the tee boxes are dry as can be and it's easy to slip. When it has rained the tee boxes (and most of the course for that matter) is a mud pit...and it's easy to slip.
-Some extremely short holes, with three holes checking in under 160' in length.

Other Thoughts:

The course itself has a nice variety of shots and you can literally utilize any type of shot while playing a round here (with the exception of a big-armed drive). Pay attention to which way the well-worn path goes and you'll find your next tee box. There's a couple of blind shots that can be confusing because of the close layout of some of the holes. Hole #4 goes through the opening of trees and the basket is off to the right. The basket for #8 is the one on the right that is the closer of the two baskets that you'll see (the other one is the basket for hole #1). Some of the baskets are a little bent up, probably from some disrespectful kids. I'll come back to this course because of it's close proximity to me, but I've definitely been on numerous courses that are much better. The course is well-worn and the dirt tee boxes complete with tree roots is a real big turn-off for me.

UPDATE 12/28/2012: I was at the course today and there was a sign at the beginning stating there permanent tee pads are coming in the spring of 2012. Once these new permanent tee pads are in it will greatly enhance the course and I will adjust my rating accordingly. I am really looking forward to these pads, as the natural pads were one of the biggest detractors on the course, in my opinion.

UPDATE 7/11/2012: The concrete tee pads are in the ground now, they are nice and long. I have a feeling they are going to get rough with some age based on the type of concrete that was used; but for now they are in great shape and is an excellent addition to the course. This addition ups my rating from 2.5 to 3.0; ideally I'd give it a 3.25 now.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
5 0
The Valkyrie Kid
Diamond level trusted reviewer
Experience: 45.8 years 1563 played 1507 reviews
3.50 star(s)

Nifty Little 9 Hole Rec Course! 2+ years

Reviewed: Played on:Jul 13, 2011 Played the course:once

Pros:

This is a nice little 9 hole rec course. As stated by others, it's a little too hilly and technical to be considered a "Pitch & Putt" but way too short to be considered an intermediate course. Hence to me, that makes it a Rec course. The hilly terrain with scattered trees is really ideal for a disc golf design and I believe the designer did a wonderful job with his course design here. The baskets are DGA with the red numbers. The pads are natural which certainly could be a problem here in Minnesota's winters. The mailbox with scorecards and maps is a neat idea. Hole sponsership is always great and will help with upkeep on this course. I agree with others that there is a very nice variety of holes here making you throw hysers, anhysers, up and downhills, blind baskets, ACE runs, everything really but monster drives. Just a well thought out design. Very beginner friendly course

Cons:

It has three extremely short holes; #3 is 130', # 6 is 130' and # 7 is 120' but they're fun little throws. The afore-mentioned natural teepads would get muddy during rain or snowy times.

Other Thoughts:

This is just a well designed little recreational course. If you're looking for more of a challenge, there's lots of other more challenging courses around the metro area. But if you just want a quick, fun round or you're introducing someone new to the game, this is one of those great beginner/Rec courses. Enjoy it! I did!
Was this review helpful? Yes No
4 0
Bubbajoe
Experience: 15 years 151 played 7 reviews
3.50 star(s)

The Little Course That Could 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Updated: Played on:Oct 28, 2010 Played the course:5+ times

Pros:

Concrete Tees
Great shot variety
Elevation comes into play on almost every hole
Multiple ace runs
Multiple blind pins
Practice basket
Well maintained fairways
No crowds

Cons:

Very short
Wish it were 18 holes

Other Thoughts:

Situated next to a magnet school Garlough stands as a great leaning/rec course. Too technical to be a pitch & putt but too short to be considered an intermediate this is a great "second round ever" course. With the exception of #4 all the holes are short and well within reach of a mid range or putter while forcing either line shaping, dealing with an elevation change, or both. Garlough flows well for the most part. The only major navigation issue is the transition from #3 to #4. There's a foot path out the back of #3 that leads through the gully to the tee for #4. You then take the path back again after holing out on #6 to the tee for #7. Very fast to play this is great course to warm up on (or cool down from) before hitting one of the larger South east metro courses. Garlough is a positive charmer in the fall and I can't recall a round when I didn't enjoy myself here.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
5 0
E_Rock25
Bronze level trusted reviewer
Experience: 13.7 years 77 played 35 reviews
3.00 star(s)

Fun In The Woods 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Sep 8, 2010 Played the course:2-4 times

Pros:

Fun little course in the woods. Technical & fast to play. Can get a round in in 30 min or less. Great for practicing finess shots. Great use of the location and change in elevation. There is only one or two flat holes on this coures. Great variety of shot requirements 3 left, three right & three stright. Fun Fun Fun! Good course to challenge a beginer or to warm up for Kaposia!

Cons:

Short, drit tees.
Kinda easy for advanced players.
Still fun though.

Other Thoughts:

Great course for my brake form work!
Was this review helpful? Yes No
11 3
harr0140
Diamond level trusted reviewer
Premium Member
Experience: 15.2 years 1508 played 475 reviews
3.50 star(s)

Hidden 9 hole gem 2+ years

Reviewed: Played on:Dec 19, 2009 Played the course:once

Pros:

1) Ingenious idea: Ace list on a piece of paper at the front sign. Send in your ace stats in to an email (listed on piece of paper) and that list will get updated. How were there only 5 aces all year (perhaps noone else sees the list) . . . it is such a short course.

2) Hole sponsors are listed at front sign and also each basket has a semicircle plaque attached to the back of the number plate. This is a nice idea and relatively inexpensive, I just am unsure how many people will actually see them (only those shooting past the baskets). If I were a sponsor I would rather have it attached to the tee post, but it is more apt to receive vandalism there then securely attached to the number plate.

3) Posts are located by each tee which is helpful for navigation of the first time.

4) Awesome variety of terrain. The property is mostly rolling and there really isn't a single flat hole on the course (#6 has a tiny rise).

5) Shots required on this course are plentiful. You have an uphill slight anhyzer to start out. A longer throw fairly straight with the basket set on a downslope. Overshoooting #2 is an easy thing to do. Big uphill short hole #3. #4 is a long hole between two sections of woods and the basket is tucked around the corner. Its a tough hole to have a birdie putt. #5 is a simple hyzer or anhyzer, but there is a large hill that blocks the basket which causes the hole to play longer than it actually is (a direct shot at the basket is not an easy shot).
#6 is a short flat ace run, #7 is an ace run with the basket tucked into the woods and on a slight hill but it is at least 15-20' below the tee too. #8 is a rolling terrain hole with the basket tucked to the woods, and #9 is a tighter basket in the woods with a slight right to left turn at the green.

6) I feel that this course used some really outside the box thinking. They knew they had a relatively short property but they used it very well. The holes were all different and there were some holes designed like I have never played before.

7) Unique concept of putting in a disc golf course at an environmental school. I think it is a good place to encourage kids to get outside observe and respect their envrionment, while throwing some plastic around. Good motivational tool and it also can be educational.

8) Beginner friendly because of distance. It is helpful tha there are a couple ace runs, but it is also open enough that a beginner wouldn't struggle too badly and the chance of losing a disc is not very high.

9) There was an incredible squirrel population here. They were active in gathering nuts, and making a mess of the snow covered ground. I love squirrels.

10) Practice basket is located closer to the parking lot before entering the woods opening for #1.

11) Distance variety is nice. From 120-310 and some low to mid 200's too. I enjoy courses that have a wide variety in hole distances. It makes you use more discs and throw more different shots rather than just ripping your drvier everytime to the same distance away.

Cons:

1) Garbage in 2 locations, I suppose being on a school grounds they dont get a lot of trash on the course and it is relatively quick to play, but 1 basket by #1 and another on the east side of the property by #4, 5, 6.

2) Course is very short. It still provides some challenge figuring out the elevation changes and how it will affect your throws, but there are some really short holes.

3) The beginning of the course is a long way from where the final basket on #9 is. It isnt a huge deal because it is a relatively small property. They also routed the course properly for the best disc golf rather than simply trying to end #9 down in the same woods as #1 they took the hole and headed in the other direction for a better hole.

4) Tees leave a little to be desired. I played when there was 10" of snow, but even still I could see where people had played that dirt was being kicked around. I am sure this means the tees are compacted and proabably worn down to dirt (thus leading to erosion). I would think an environmental school would take care of these issues as an educational tool about soil/turf management. It doesnt have to be concrete, but aerate and reseed the tees and make a temp. tee while they heal.

5) Directional sign on #3 to direct you down path would be helpful for a first timer.

6) Doesn't challenge enough, its ok it is at a school, but for the average or better player you won't struggle too badly on this course.Underpar is virtually a given

Other Thoughts:

All in all I had a lot of fun here. Keep in mind I am a course whore so it doesnt take much for me to enjoy a course mostly because new holes are new holes and they present a challenge everytime you play a new course, BECAUSE I HAVE NEVER PLAYED THEM BEFORE. It was a nice park with nice variety, in terrain, woods/open, distance, and shot required. This course for some reason really stands out to me as a unique design and I think they found ways to make good holes that I have yet to encounter. Specific examples are the basket location on #2 being really difficult to stop your disc near the basket, making a really short nearly straight uphill hole creates an interesting shot, #4 the way the hole cuts through an opening between two wooded areas but the basket is still tucked further around the corner, #5 using the hill between the tee and basket as a way to force a shot high above it, or an anny around it, #7 the short ace run with just enough trees to make you think about it. I guess what I am saying is they did things right here and in ways I hadnt seen hole sdesigned before.They used the property effectively and encorporated as many of the cool things on he property as they could. Bottom line: give this course a shot if you are in the area. It is way more fun than it is challenging, just because of some of the shots you get to throw.

WARNING: I did play this course with 10" of snow on the ground so take the review with a grain fo salt. Some things I was unable to see, but even still I could tell the tee areas were beat up pretty good because there was dirt visible on top of the snow from the people who had played prior to me being there. But if anythng I have said is inaccurate then please feel free to let me know so I can edit my review.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

Latest posts

Top