• Discover new ways to elevate your game with the updated DGCourseReview app!
    It's entirely free and enhanced with features shaped by user feedback to ensure your best experience on the course. (App Store or Google Play)

San Francisco, CA

Golden Gate Park DGC

Permanent course
4.035(based on 121 reviews)
Filter course reviews

Filter reviews

Filter reviews

Golden Gate Park DGC reviews

Filter
1 3
felix-j
Experience: 23 played 7 reviews
4.00 star(s)

crowded but awesome 2+ years

Reviewed: Played on:Oct 9, 2021 Played the course:5+ times

Pros:

hole 11. spiking that pyramid is so damn fun.

the maintenance of this public course is amazing.

all the disc golfers i've encountered here have been friendly.

Cons:

crazy crowded if you don't get there early. even on weekdays. night time glow rounds weren't crowded but there are lurkers/homeless in some areas so don't be too startled if you hear some weirdness in the trees. this is golden gate park...

Other Thoughts:

it's a great course, just tough to find a time where there aren't dozens of people already there. park near fulton/25th for glow rounds.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
7 0
mattaparity
Experience: 3.5 years 5 played 4 reviews
4.50 star(s)

Setting Standards 2+ years

Reviewed: Played on:May 15, 2021 Played the course:5+ times

Pros:

For beginners through pros, GGP GC offers a great diversity of holes and throwing options. It's hilly in spots, requires you to switch up your throws constantly and with multiple pin placements it's fantastic to see new options every other week. It's also technical in spots which makes it challenging for even experienced players.

Most people playing the course are courteous, people will group together, and there are picnic benches before and after the round with a couple of food options in the warmer months. Occasionally the local disc golf club will come together for meetings and disc sellers will drop by to show their wares.

Cons:

A couple of holes are more an exercise of tree avoidance than accuracy (#13, #17), and #12 can cause delays due to not seeing the group in front of you (or not ringing the bell between #12 and #13) to know if you can proceed. Lots of players lose their disc on the hole and it's more a safety consideration.

Additionally there can be delays with #3 and #5 depending on pedestrian and cyclist traffic - which then bottlenecks people at the start. Finally, the #7 - #9 complex can be a safety issue depending on whether people call out "fore" properly. #7 due to not seeing people walk up the hill to the #8 tee pad, and #8 due to throwing directly towards the tee pad at #9. Courtesy and communication generally make these non-issues but important to know for new players.

Other Thoughts:

I'd strongly recommend anyone coming to San Francisco to swing by and play a round. Compared with East coast courses, it's quite a change. And I'd also recommend warmer clothes as most visits will be chilly, unless you miraculously catch a warm day in San Francisco.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
6 1
Breh
Gold level trusted reviewer
Experience: 14 years 192 played 190 reviews
4.50 star(s)

2+ years

Reviewed: Played on:Oct 28, 2019 Played the course:once

Pros:

A very iconic park with a lot going on. The course has a beautiful kiosk board with course map by hole 1. There's bathrooms to the left of the road before the disc golf course. The course itself has very easy navigation to follow and some really cool pin placements. It's a good course for all skill levels and is challenging enough for advance players yet easy enough for begginers. Good tee signs/ tee pads. Nice visible baskets most can be seen from tee pad and catch well. The layout is a good mix of holes and none feel the same. Great use of small elevation, and good saftey nets protecting other tee pads

Cons:

I wish some of the pin placements were there year round and didn't change just the signature type ones. Couple par 4s in long should still be par 3s but no biggie. Some of the spinners marking pin location weren't in the right spot

Other Thoughts:

I've heard this course can get very crowded we should up at 7:30 am and had no problem. Overall this course is great, just falls a little short of the super wow factor of some 5 star courses. Overall it should be on everyone's playlist and is a phenomenal course
Was this review helpful? Yes No
4 0
Peltier
Experience: 29 played 16 reviews
4.00 star(s)

Beautifully designed course in an iconic park 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Sep 15, 2019 Played the course:5+ times

Pros:

Beautiful iconic park. Easy parking. Relatively easy to navigate. Not overly challenging. Nice baskets and tee boxes. No wonky pinball / luck shots, though several holes will require methodical tree navigation. Lots of resting areas, so you can chill and play a relaxing round (see cons for how crowded it gets.). Location is fantastic and you could easily make an entire day out of GGP (much more than just the disc golf course.). Moderate elevation changes. Several holes with birdie attempts (great for someone with less than a 300' drive.). Great course maintenance. 3-4 pin placements per hole. Difficult to lose a disc on this course. Proper signage. Safety nets protecting tee boxes in danger zones.

Cons:

Very crowded. Be patient. A few holes share fairways with each other. The spinning pin placement selectors on the tee box signs were not all accurate. They may not update these. A couple holes have very elevated baskets, these are ok as a novelty item, but more than one really are not necessary in my book.

Other Thoughts:

Overall a great course for the area and certainly one worth going out of your way to check out. Could be on the easy side if you are really good, but not a basic course. Beautiful walk through the park. Friendly locals.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
5 2
huffoa4874
Experience: 10 years 8 played 3 reviews
4.50 star(s)

Beautiful course 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Jun 20, 2017 Played the course:once

Pros:

-Located in a fantastic park. A lot of activity and things to do. The course and the entire park are beautiful. Easy to access. You can spend all day in the park after throwing and never get bored.
-Its a really good challenge. Some narrow fairways and good distance.
-Great elevation changes throughout the course.
-Baskets and tee pads are great quality.
-Plenty of benches and trash cans

Cons:

-It gets very crowded on nice days (which is expected). But folks are generally friendly.
-I had some difficulty navigating in spots. At one point I walked to the next tee only to realize that I had skipped 3 holes. Another group helped me out and showed me how to circle back.
-Some fairways are tight next to pedestrian areas.

Other Thoughts:

Just an incredible area! Definitely worth the trip to see it. This park is huge. Check out the Japanese Tea Garden.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
12 0
Moose33
Gold level trusted reviewer
Experience: 12.5 years 219 played 216 reviews
3.50 star(s)

Diverse course in a beautiful and diverse park 2+ years

Reviewed: Updated: Played on:May 9, 2019 Played the course:2-4 times

Pros:

I had heard all of the buzz about Golden Gate park and how beautiful it is and how the course is well put together, so while in on business with a few hours to kill I made my way to the park and attacked the course.

At 2 pm on a Thursday it was already crowded which speaks to the popularity. The course plays through some great, enormous evergreens with well worn paths, many of which are lined with timbers.

The signs are mainly on low angled stumps on the ground with fairly accurate maps and a small wheel to show which of the three or four positions the tee is in.

Pads are decent sized and may of them are paved lined on the outside to prevent you stepping in a puddle when it's wet. It's not a new course so there aren't any of the modern 12+ foot long pads but plenty of room for a good run up.

There is also a good variety of elevation, nothing crazy but good use of up and down. A few blind baskets add to the interest as well.

The baskets are green banded which can make them slightly harder to find than the traditional yellow bands, but they are well maintained and balanced.

There are also some nets placed where there could be some danger of an errant disc hitting you.

There are also benches or logs to sit on for most holes, and since I was carrying all of my luggage for both rounds it was welcomed.

Cons:

They cons are mainly those associated with older courses. Pads could be bigger, though I didn't knock it for that.

Despite the nets, there are still a few unsafe spots where the next pad is too close to the previous basket. I nearly decapitated a very nice couple with a drive that was only about 30 ft past the basket.(turnover shot went way further than I thought I could throw it). Think that was hole four.

They also use Mandos for safety reasons which while effective is not my favorite design choice.

There are also not a ton of long holes, but that makes it more accessible to the masses.

It's very good, make no mistake, but it doesn't have a true wow factor like I was hoping for.

Other Thoughts:

Very pretty course, and definitely worth a play. I think that my idea of west coast courses was mildly ruined by the Portland area ones that are so fantastic, but this one is defiantly very good.

The use of the giant beautiful trees and elevation is very good. The park in general is fantastic. I spent 5 hours playing and walking around and you could could probably spend days in the park and never see everything.

The locals were all really nice, welcoming, and helpful. I had a good time hanging out with one group watching a heron by hole one eating some moles/voiles that he was snatching from the ground. Didn't know they did that, but was highly entertaining.

There is also a ton of great dining within walking distance just south of the park. Will be back for more disc golf and Indian food next time I'm in town!
Was this review helpful? Yes No
8 1
coyotepower
Experience: 18.8 years 87 played 34 reviews
4.00 star(s)

Typical of SF. Holier than thou locals 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Aug 5, 2018 Played the course:once

Pros:

- Playing in GG park is amazing. Great park with beautiful trees and abundant nature for being in the middle of SF.
- Course layout was unique and interesting. Not a lot of bomber holes but just enough to keep the High Speed Drivers at hand.
-Fun shots uphill/downhill.

Cons:

- Groups of 6-8 playing together
-Waiting at every hole as there are none long enough to get 2 groups playing at once on a hole.
- Assholes who think they know better than you when it comes to your own shot.
-Never attempt this course on a Sunday. Lots of college students trying to impress chicks and DBags who have nothing better to do than sit behind you and talk nonsense.

Other Thoughts:

While the course itself is excellent overall, the amount of people playing on a Sunday afternoon was absolutely ridiculous. Couple that with a tight course with little room to spread out made for a frustrating day with a lot of waiting. Took 3.5 hours to play./ Several groups of 6-8 playing together. F that. The locals didn't make it any better with their nonsense. Consistently telling my group when to throw and correcting us on if we yelled FORE or not. Dude Im staring at my shot and its nowhere near that group. Don't yell FORE for me and then chastise me on how "we do it here". Would only play here on a weekday in the early morning. SF needs more DG courses.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
7 14
Schreuds2.0
Gold level trusted reviewer
Experience: 7 years 93 played 81 reviews
4.50 star(s)

Disc golf Paradise 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Updated: Played on:Feb 2, 2018 Played the course:once

Pros:

-Great warm up area.
-Holes are open, with trees. That forced me to play in 3 dimensions which lots of courses don't do.
-The course itself is beautiful and you get the feel that this area was meant to be a disc golf course and not just some after thought.
- Course is challenging, but attainable, meaning there is oppurtunity for birdies, but also (with my skill) some necessary par or bogey.
-Almost all holes had a great use of elevation, mandatory, or both. Every hole had multiple ways to attack which makes every hole a new challenge.
-Excellent tee pads and signs
-Location in San Francisco makes it really easy to access.
-Many courses I've played are courses that should be played if you happen to be in the area, this course alone is a reason to come to San Francisco.
-Places to sit down by each tee
-This course gets a 3/4 on the new Shoe Index
-Baskets are great quality and also very visible from the tee, some tee shots are blind, but the tee sign helps indicate where the basket is

Cons:

-Difficult to navigate without a map or kind stranger.
-Terrain can be hazardous to those who are not very nimble.
-Some assorted garbage on the ground near the beginning and end but that is pretty standard for a popular course in a big city.
-Also lots of pot smokers, which is nothing against the course really, but just unfortunate for those of us who make good decisions.

Other Thoughts:

Golden Gate Park is a really cool park, outside of this course. So much to do! You could spend a whole day in this massive park. I saw some bison... what?
Was this review helpful? Yes No
4 1
Ajampalm
Experience: 94 played 11 reviews
3.50 star(s)

Very nice inner city course! 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Oct 10, 2017 Played the course:once

Pros:

Accurate tee signs, concrete tee pads, good fairways/lines to hit on most all holes.

Cons:

As to be expected getting to the course for a non local isn't inexpensive (was $15 for a Lyft each way from only 2-3 miles away), and lots of homeless activity.

It is a blue level course without question, so if you are looking for a challenge this course is fun and fair, but it would not be hard to shoot into the mid to low 40's on a good day.

Other Thoughts:

This was the first course I have played in California. It was a blast, and having different scenery than in the upper midwest is always a plus.

I had a great time playing here, and would be thrilled to have this be my home course. The locals were very friendly and accommodating.

If you are in the area this is a must play. Patrick Brown was out there doing course maintenance when I was there. Talk about a celebrity volunteer groundskeeper!

From what I could tell if you are in San Francisco there aren't many to any other options that would compare to this course for the location and quality!
Was this review helpful? Yes No
5 9
adamtheviking5
Experience: 13.8 years 117 played 13 reviews
3.00 star(s)

Meh.... 2+ years

Reviewed: Played on:Sep 25, 2017 Played the course:once

Pros:

The course us well maintained. Folks are mostly friendly. Good quality baskets. Some variety of shots. Overall a pretty good disc golf experience.

Cons:

Unless you live near by, this course is very inconvenient to travel to or park at. Not a whole lot of shot variety because of the lack of space. Holes are dangerously close together and close to lots of other activities going on in the park, such as adults playing kickball with a keg in the middle of the infield. I might look into this actually because ALL the participants were having a LOT of fun. Lots of vagrants and bums and just generally un- hygienic people walking and standing around.

Other Thoughts:

I went to golden gate with the hope of playing a great course based on its rating but its really closer to a 3 than a 4. There just wasnt any WOW factor and the course wasnt that difficult.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
5 2
KMBreith
Experience: 11.9 years 83 played 3 reviews
4.50 star(s)

One of my Favorites 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Aug 29, 2017 Played the course:5+ times

Pros:

Great location in the middle of San Fransisco
Frequent hole movement, some have up to 4 placements
Tee pads are consistent and don't slip
Good variety of shots; short, long, left, right, etc
Multiple practice tees with log benches
Garbage cans at a majority of holes
Dogs are allowed
Friendly people

Cons:

Busy on the weekends if it's nice out
Walkers and bikers frequent the trails along some of the course

Other Thoughts:

This course will go down as one of my favorites for as long as I live.
Since the first time I played to the last; I am always challenged and I always have fun! Great place to play for visitors and out of towners.
Message me if you need a guide sometime :)
Was this review helpful? Yes No
5 0
Treeplant
Gold level trusted reviewer
Experience: 9 years 109 played 62 reviews
4.00 star(s)

Gem of a Course, Well Laid Out, Decent Challenge, Nice Elevation Mix 2+ years

Reviewed: Played on:Jul 21, 2017 Played the course:once

Pros:

- Beautiful, mostly wooded course inside of Golden Gate Park in San Francisco. Considering how tight real estate is in San Francisco, this is one heck of a course.

- Unless you air mail a drive into outer space, it's an open forest floor so there aren't a lot (though there are some) places to lose discs. Not nearly as bad for losing discs as other forested courses.

- Baskets were in decent shape, concrete tee pads in decent shape as well. Not brand new, but no complaints.

- Good signage, though it could be confusing to tell which pin position was in play. I got the impression that the club marked it properly then on a few holes people goofed around with the pin markers.

- Easy to navigate between holes with a course map, without a course map might be a little bit tricky.

- Nice mix of elevation and a few open shots in spite of the course mostly being situated inside the forested areas.

- Most holes had some sort of seating, which is great considering it seems like it would be impossible to play this course without waiting a bit.

- Intermediate players would play this at close to par (the average intermediate player would be a few strokes over par would be my guess), advanced players below par, though there aren't many gimme ace runs or short holes on this. Conversely, there aren't any major bomber holes, you're not going to be able to open up a bunch of wide open drives, but there are a few spots to rip 400'+ drives downhill. Overall a nice mix of distance, however, nothing felt overly repetitive.

- Okay course for a cart, but awkward in a few spots. If it were raining I don't think I'd play with a cart. There are some stairs.

Cons:

- Flight paths are close to other tees and public areas. You really need to pay attention to where you're throwing and what's going on around you. They have netting set up in a few spots, but it's limited coverage and there are lots of opportunities to get hit or hit others if you're not careful.

- Possibly the busiest course we've ever played, though in fairness we did play it on a Saturday in the summer. I'm told the course is pretty much busy all the time, not a big deal though, it's worth a bit of waiting.

Other Thoughts:

- If you're looking for local info, the club has a webpage at www.sfdiscgolf.org and also a facebook page that can be searched.

- We played five courses in California, this was a close second favourite behind Whale Rock.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
5 3
The Katana Kid
Gold level trusted reviewer
Experience: 8.5 years 184 played 56 reviews
4.50 star(s)

Amazing scenery 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Mar 21, 2017 Played the course:once

Pros:

Wow! I was told this was a great course but seeing is believing.
The holes are all challenging in different ways: height, trees, technical, and more.

Cons:

Because the park is so nice there's a lot of people, but the layout is fine to avoid people concentrations but still you've got to be on the lookout.

Other Thoughts:

I'm really glad I took the time to visit!
Was this review helpful? Yes No
7 0
lazrman778
Gold level trusted reviewer
Experience: 13.3 years 264 played 100 reviews
4.00 star(s)

Golden Gate Park DGC 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Dec 8, 2016 Played the course:once

Pros:

Has practice basket

Has concrete tee pads

Has nice tee signs with alternate basket placements and indicators

Has a bench at every tee pad if I'm not mistaken

Has multiple basket placements for all holes

Has some elevated baskets

Has next tee signs

Has some mandos

More wooded than open fairways with slight elevations - which will be challenging to the casual player

Has two loops of the front and back nines

Nice scenery

Well-maintained

Free parking

Restrooms

Cons:

Baskets are hard to locate on some holes

Walking path cuts through on some holes - one can expect some delays on a nice day

Course can get crowded at times as it's popular with parkgoers and players

Course design and flow could use improvement as there are awkward transitions between holes 6-8 and holes 16-18

Other Thoughts:

This a nice, challenging 18 hole course in San Francisco that I enjoyed playing while vacationing out here. I probably would have had more fun if it wasn't raining on the day I played. The course is really beautiful and a joy to play even when it rained. I took note from the earlier revIews and played on a rainy Thursday morning and almost had the whole course to myself. First thing that I noticed was that there are a lot of trees here that are mature and massive which will challenge many drives, approaches, and even your footwork for putting. As with most DGA baskets, some are hard to spot from the tee pads especially for a first-timer. There were some awkward transitions between holes 6-8 and 16-18 where you had to do some walking and backtracking afterwards. I can see where these transitions could slow down play if the course had a lot of traffic at the time. Add the nearby walking paths on a nice day and the playing time will increase for good reason. All in all, this is a nice course not to be missed and definitely worth bagging if you're in the area.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
6 2
Upshawt1979
Diamond level trusted reviewer
Premium Member
Experience: 21.1 years 550 played 429 reviews
4.50 star(s)

Thumber of Love 2+ years

Reviewed: Played on:Oct 17, 2016 Played the course:once

Pros:

Iconic Golden Gate Park is full of beauty and fun recreational activities. The disc golf course was the reason for my visit, and it didn't disappoint. 18 holes that have a great mix of fun and technical shots. There are usually plenty of trees making things interesting on the fairways, and moderate elevation changes on a few of them. A couple of the baskets are lifted off the ground a bit on tree stumps or a landscaped riser. The tees and boxes are in decent condition, and the grounds were litter free and surprisingly mud free, despite significant rainfall that weekend. Signs at each tee nicely illustrate what is in store for you. There are multiple pin positions in play, and a few are not visible or hard to spot from the box. Gentle rises and falls without a lot of elevation change on a lot of the front nine, and larger drops off the tee give some nice downhill drives on the back. Only one par 4 on the card, so distance is not extreme.

Cons:

A lot of people were on the course, understandably, which can result in waiting for other parties moving at a slower pace. There are a few places where holes are very close together, and care must be taken to avoid people on or in between other holes. The layout is a little confusing in spots, and if you're not familiar with the park I would recommend printing a map to avoid wandering aimlessly. I forgot mine, and paid with time spent searching and asking directions.

Other Thoughts:

I had a great time in San Francisco, and the disc golf course was no exception. Thanks to Scooter for joining me for the front nine. His guidance was needed and appreciated. All of the players I talked to on the course were very friendly and helpful. I started out poorly, and was 4 over par after 5 holes, but once I warmed up got a couple of birdies and finished the day at 4 over (59). If you get the chance to play here, do not pass it up. It is not perfect, but the pros outweigh the cons for sure. I wish I was able to give more details, but memories from the visit are a little hazy for some reason. I'm sure other reviews here will more accurately describe why this is a wonderful place to be a disc golfer. I can't pick a favorite hole, but there are several really nice ones. Holes 3, 11, 15, and 17 stood out to me. I hope to return for more disc golfing here, and to explore the city a bit further. What a fantastic town!
Was this review helpful? Yes No
12 0
wellsbranch250
Diamond level trusted reviewer
Premium Member
Experience: 10.4 years 662 played 643 reviews
3.50 star(s)

A Joy to Play 2+ years

Reviewed: Played on:Oct 10, 2016 Played the course:once

Pros:

(3.738 Rating) A beautiful course in the middle of San Francisco's Golden Gate Park.
- UNIQUENESS - The thing I found best about this course was the course layout and the uniqueness of the holes themselves. Although there was a bit of repetitiveness to weaving in and out and threw the trees, the direction to angle my shot and shot style seemed different on every consecutive hole. From pocket left to pocket right to sweeping angle. Slight ups and downs, and a bunch of blind baskets to name a few. Most players will really have to visualize every shot they take. Advanced players will definitely feel challenged by this course. Unfortunately no water elements in play to force a line.
- NATURAL BEAUTY - The beauty was the second biggest thing I took away. Most courses I've played it's just an afterthought... not here. The park as a whole is just absolutely amazing. I've never played a course with such stoic trees. Perhaps it's a California thing.
- CHARACTER - The course has a lot of the character items that you'd see at an older established course. There's two picnic tables at the junction of holes 1, 9, 10 and 18, - the ideal setup in my opinion. There's seating at every hole, and all the tee areas are shaded well. There's a course map and community board at tee #1 as well as a practice basket. There's probably about 50 total pin placements and well designed tee signs with a pin placement location wheel.
- DIFFICULTY - The more challenging of the two courses I hit on my California trip. I think as a whole, it will definitely challenge the game for everyone but pros. You'll have to tactically attack each hole differently and be willing to settle or scramble for par when things don't go your way.
- SKILL LEVEL FRIENDLY - Although not necessarily a beginners course or a pro level course, the course somehow manages to provide a prefect middle ground. the odds of losing a disc is low, great for beginners. The fairways are tight enough to provide a challenge to upper advanced players and lower tier pros.
- SIGNATURE HOLE - Without a doubt hole number 11, I won't spoil it.

Cons:

Really all the cons below (except the first one) I'm nit picking a bit.
- TIME WAITING - This course appears to get heavy use. I had read a bunch of previous reviews regarding waiting being an issue. So I took the tip and played on a Monday morning. The course still had several groups already playing. In addition, I ended up waiting several times for walkers in park "just staring down at their phone". I can't imagine what kind of delays would be expected on Saturday and Sundays.
- NO BOMB IT HOLES - If you're the type that likes to bomb it 500 foot down the fairway, this isn't your course. Most holes require a controlled low trajectory technical shot that bends at the end.
- TEE BOXES - During my visit there was damp silt/sand on many of the tee boxes which caused me to slip a few times. It would be nice to have brooms at a few holes where the issue is more pronounced.
- SPACING - Slightly below average. a couple of hole combinations get awfully close together. Holes 6/7/8, 15/16 and 17/18 specifically. Be sure your aware of other groups teeing off on these holes. Thankfully 8 and 18 tees are protected by nets.
- ELEVATION - A surprising lack of Elevation on this course. It's by no means flat as a pancake, but it probably varies by no more than 40' on the entire course. I was expecting a lot more. There are some holes that probably slide down 30 feet or so. I'll also add that the elevation that is there is generally worked into the layout of many of the holes.
- ACEABILITY - Very few, if any gimme holes. Aceable holes are few and far between for everyone but pros.

Other Thoughts:

One of the top 10 courses I've played to date (68 as of this review) Highly recommended to everyone visiting the Bay area. Just be prepared for a long round if playing on prime times.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
6 5
Mr72datsun
Experience: 10 played 10 reviews
4.50 star(s)

Nice 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Updated: Played on:Jul 26, 2016 Played the course:once

Pros:

Imagine going to pebble beach ball golf course and no one is there. No one to take your money. No one else playing the course. That is how it felt to me this morning. Golden gate park is great in general and the disc course is really a nice bonus. Played the 18 hole course twice. 3 over and even par. Where was everyone? No problem with crowd on Tuesday morning. We completed the first 18 prior to the next people showing up. The people we saw on the 2nd round were all nice and moving along nicely.
Super easy to navigate.
Nice amount of elevation change.
Good for beginners. My wife played all but one hole.
Challenging course for me.
Nicely maintained by locals. Really quite impressive.
Not too many homeless. We saw about 5, but they were all fine.
Perfect weather.

Cons:

The fog horns. Come on guys can't you do something about that?

Other Thoughts:

I wanna play again tomorrow.

There are a number of holes which are labeled as par 4. Some under 400 feet which seems odd to me.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
12 3
todd9500
Experience: 41.3 years 335 played 8 reviews
4.00 star(s)

Welcome to San Francisco 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Jan 11, 2016 Played the course:once

Pros:

First Impressions: What an impressive park system this disc golf course is located in. It was early Monday morning and I had the course to myself so read other reviews to learn about conditions when the course is crowded.

Amenities: There was a portable toilet near hole #1 provided by the Golden Gate DG Club.

Course design/difficulty/obstacles/out-of-bounds: This is a wonderful technical course that takes advantage of the massive trees and some elevation changes. There are some natural hazards to avoid on some holes. There was a good mixture of distances to makes things interesting.

Local DG involvement/navigability/ signage/maps: It's easy to tell that this course has received much TLC in many areas - paths, benches, protective nets, mailbox for maps & scorecards, etc. The course was easy enough to follow with a DGCR map. The signage was good. The San Francisco Disc Golf Club has a website, http://www.sfdiscgolf.org / and a Facebook page.

Tee pads/benches/shelters/picnic tables: Cement tee-pads, benches and trash bins on every hole. There are multiple basket locations.

I highly recommend this course.

Cons:

I hear the course gets extremely crowded on weekends and can be a bit dangerous with errant shots.

Other Thoughts:

Remember the Disc Golfer's Code:

1) Play Smart - Never throw into a blind area or when players, spectators, pedestrians, or other facility users are within range. Use a spotter.

2) Respect the Course - Observe all posted rules. No littering, graffiti, or abuse of equipment or flora.

3) Represent the Sport - Be positive and responsible. Teach others.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
8 2
bobmcnelly
Gold level trusted reviewer
Experience: 13.1 years 342 played 193 reviews
4.00 star(s)

2+ years

Reviewed: Played on:Oct 12, 2015 Played the course:once

Pros:

- easy access right in SF
- great tee signs that give you all the info that you could need
- great concrete tee pads
- gods variety of distances with shorter 200 foot shots to around 500 feet
- tons of large mature trees to offer quite the challenge
- a truly beautiful place to play disc golf

Cons:

- navigation of the course can be a little difficult
- the course can get very crowded
- the layout is very "tight" and with lots of pedestrians wondering the course I could see some injuries happening
- baskets are getting a little beat and can be difficult to see from some of the tee pads

Other Thoughts:

Great course, but I was lucky to play with a local, otherwise I feel I would have been wondering the course quite a bit.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
1 10
Brain
Experience: 14.5 years 8 played 1 reviews
4.50 star(s)

2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Sep 3, 2015 Played the course:5+ times

Pros:

- great course layout
- well maintained
- difficult challenges on every hole.

Cons:

- can take a long time to play.
- if hole 1 is crowded, people can easily jump to hole 10 and really slow down the pace of play.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

Latest posts

Top