• Discover new ways to elevate your game with the updated DGCourseReview app!
    It's entirely free and enhanced with features shaped by user feedback to ensure your best experience on the course. (App Store or Google Play)

Moundsville, WV

Grand Vue Park - Yellow

Permanent course
2.575(based on 14 reviews)
Filter course reviews

Filter reviews

Filter reviews

Grand Vue Park - Yellow reviews

Filter
10 0
The Last DJ
Bronze level trusted reviewer
Experience: 16.8 years 329 played 18 reviews
3.00 star(s)

Fun & Beginner Friendly Layout 2+ years

Reviewed: Played on:Nov 28, 2020 Played the course:5+ times

Pros:

+ 18-Hole Layout Designed by 4X World Champion Johnny Sias: The shortest and easiest layout at Grand Vue Park is perfect for beginners but still fun for more experienced players.

+ Innova Discatcher Baskets: These targets are sturdy and catch putts well. Bright yellow bands make the baskets easy to see.

+ Tees: Two sets of tees (long & short) are marked. While these tees are natural they do provide a liberal amount of space to take your drive. They are all flat with signage that provides accurate pars and distances.

+ Landscape: Aside from being a beautiful property the rolling hills of Grand Vue Park make for some challenging golf. Elevation is used well on this course around the greens. This course plays close to the road which makes for a few tricky OB locations.

+ Northern Panhandle Disc Golf Association: The locals that take care of the park are friendly and dedicated. Be sure to check out their events including the Grand Vue Championship. This is an annual sanctioned event held in late summer.

+ Home of the West Virginia Disc Golf Hall of Fame: Many vintage discs are on display. This exhibit gives visitors a look into the history of the game and the development of flying discs.

+ Location: Grand Vue Park is close to shopping, lodging, restaurants, and entertainment for traveling players.

+ Proximity to Other Courses: Aside from having other courses on the property the Yellow Course is within driving distance from other quality layouts in the Northern Panhandle of West Virginia including Brooke Hills Park and Tomlinson Run. Looking into Ohio you have courses in Saint Clairsville and Morristown to the west as well as Scenic Vista and Thompson Park further north. There are plenty of great courses in and around Pittsburgh as well.

+ Extra Amenities: Grand Vue Park boasts plenty of extras such as cabins, camp sites, playgrounds, swimming pool, rest room, biking, zip line & ropes course, mini golf, hiking trails, ice cream parlor, bar/restaurant, and two (2) additional disc golf courses.

Cons:

- Tees are natural and can be slick after some rain. The newer long tees add a little challenge to the Yellow Course but can be difficult to find. Otherwise course navigation is fairly intuitive.

- Roads come in to play several places. You may have to wait on traffic or carefully place shots to avoid the asphalt. Some sloped greens can produce roll-aways that will put your disc out-of-bounds in the roadways.

Other Thoughts:

The Yellow Course is a great compliment to the other courses at Grand Vue Park. New players will enjoy this layout as holes are short and fairways are forgiving. More advanced players will still have fun as it sets up well for practice with putters and mids. This serves as a good warmup before playing White or Black.

Aside from being a good beginner course the layout is mellow enough for a putter only round, a three-disc challenge. or some RIPT Revenge with friends.

My rating of this course is based on the idea that the park needs an easy layout to compliment the other two more difficult ones on site. Compared to White and Black this course isn't much to write home about. As a short beginner friendly layout the Yellow course is a ton of fun play.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
3 0
Jags
Bronze level trusted reviewer
Experience: 9.9 years 84 played 42 reviews
2.50 star(s)

Short and sweet 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Dec 28, 2019 Played the course:once

Pros:

Nice little warm-up course that you should need no more than putters for...albeit multiple ranges of stability but a couple in all the ranges should suffice. Baskets are nice Discatchers 28's. Nice to see quality baskets even on a putter course like the yellow course. Pin placement adds some technicality to this course. I think there is only one hole over 200 feet but the other holes add some difficulty with perfect pin placement hiding behind trees or close to OB park roads, etc. Short but fun.

Cons:

The yellow course only has grass tee pads. Not really a problem but they were a little muddy and slippery the day we played. Navigation was a little confusing but not unreasonable.

Other Thoughts:

The yellow course is a short course but that doesn't mean not fun. It's short holes which all baskets can be seen from the tee pads. Elevation is what adds a nice twist to the course. Every hole has some form of this. I really enjoyed playing this as a warm up before trying the Black Course next door. I don't think anybody would make a drive to play this course by itself but when you add this as a warm-up course this is definitely a destination worth driving to.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
5 0
jjtwinnova
Gold level trusted reviewer
Experience: 9.1 years 246 played 97 reviews
2.00 star(s)

It Was All Yellow 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Nov 25, 2017 Played the course:once

Pros:

The Yellow Course in Grandvue Park is by far the easier of the two on property. With only one hole over 200 feet, the Yellow Course shares very little resemblance to the Black Course.

However, the Yellow Course does have some shining moments.

The Yellow Course is set in the center of the ginormous park, which is perfectly groomed across the board, including a lot of stellar views.

What this course lacks in distance it makes up for in elevation. Almost every hole uses elevation in some way, shape or form, making different rollaways possible, emphasizing the use of angles.

Although you will be throwing a lot of putter shots, the lines forced with trees and hills create a lot of small decisions that need to be made, and surprisingly enough I threw about 6 different discs off the tee.

The Yellow Course is an absolutely great warmup/cool-down opposite of the Black Course, which is very important and much more fun than a normal stretching routine.

Cons:

There isn't too much wrong with The Yellow Course for what it is, a pitch-and-putt disc golf course. No super wow holes, no pizazz, just a warm-up for the beast on the other side.

The tee pads are natural grass, and although flat, I prefer permanent tees with good grip, although no run up is needed.

The tee signs have no map, just hole and distance, although every hole can be seen from the tee and everything is very intuitive.

There are a lot of different kinds of putter shots, but you are still throwing a lot of the same dead straight shot for a relatively short distance. Not a lot of variety.

Plays over, next to, and around the road and other small park activities. There isn't a single hole that does not get in the way of another hole, or the road, etc. Be careful and avoid throwing towards children and automobiles.

Other Thoughts:

This course is exactly right for what it is, a practice putter course. It is definitely not the reason you would travel here, but if you are playing the Black Course, take the 30 minutes it will take to play the Yellow Course. It is a whole lot of fun to play courses like this!
Was this review helpful? Yes No
3 1
sidewinder22
Diamond level trusted reviewer
Experience: 18 years 306 played 198 reviews
2.50 star(s)

Little Yeller 2+ years

Reviewed: Played on:Mar 8, 2014 Played the course:once

Pros:

18 yellow discatcher baskets playing over some fun rolling elevation. There is some challenge with the ob roads, sloping elevation around baskets, a few trees and wind.

Cons:

Natural tees, although not really a big deal since you don't need a runup on any holes. Plays along park roads. Short and mostly straight. Lacking signage and navigation a little tricky.

Other Thoughts:

This is a great course for beginners and warming up for the monster Black course. Lots of fun ace runs and working on approach shots and putts.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
5 0
Qikly
Diamond level trusted reviewer
Experience: 12.1 years 181 played 150 reviews
2.00 star(s)

Short, But Not On Fun 2+ years

Reviewed: Played on:Jun 5, 2014 Played the course:once

Pros:

While a true beginner course in many senses, the Yellow Course retains a surprising amount of technicality relative to that fact. Elevation is in play on all the holes in one form or another, creating an array of interesting conditions. Pins are well-positioned, near drop offs, OB, or approach-thwarting trees. Tees are often similarly well-placed. Plentiful out of bounds lead to the biggest challenges, creating tight, tenuous landing zones and forcing cautious shots off the tee. Throwing lanes can tighten, even to the point on hole 8 where a roller is the safest shot. The incredibly short hole lengths here (all but one less than 200') certainly cap the challenge, but within those confines the Yellow Course offers a surprising amount of nuance. I was pleasantly surprised with how much shot variety and emphasis on precision there was.

For beginners, there are a lot of true golf shots in miniature, exposing them to principles such as line shaping and risk/reward management long before they have the arm to engage those concepts on most courses. Given that they're the target audience here, the design could not be better. Experienced players will challenge their approach and putt game in trying to 2 each hole. Looking for your first ace? You'll find it here if you try to.

Tees are well-signed and well-marked. Parking is plentiful. Bathroom right off hole 1, which is easy to find. The Black Course on site offers the total antithesis to the Yellow - a looooong course of immense challenge - which helps justify the Yellow's relatively narrow target audience.

Cons:

The course is super short, no two ways about it. You'll be throwing standstill shots with slow discs off the tee even if you have a weak arm. The real problem with this is that all the holes feel like they start with the approach. Some of these are rather jazzy approaches, but still. Challenge is therefore very limited if you have some experience, and only engages an unusually narrow portion of your game (approaching and putting), though again, within that there's a nice amount of nuance.

While the OB adds a lot to the course's technicality, I'm uncomfortable with having so much road in play. You're throwing alongside it a ton, with elevation risking a roll into the street at several points, and there's even a shot across it. The roads are mostly for the park itself so they're far from busy, but I saw enough traffic on my Thursday early afternoon round to be uncomfortable and have to wait at points.

Navigation got a bit dodgy at the end for me. 16-18 were tough to sort out: I could see all the baskets and all the tees, but determining what went to where and in what order was harder than I think it needed to be.

Other Thoughts:

I was pleasantly surprised by the Yellow Course. It's short, no doubt, and won't be making even my top 50, but it's very well-done for a beginner-focused course. The technicality is significantly richer than I anticipated, as the design is very thoughtful. Don't knock it, as it does the job of beginner course better than I've ever seen. Want to make life harder? Play the Black Course, dummy, which is why you're there anyway.

A park official told me in conversation that a proposed third course has recently been approved. The intent is to build something in between the Black and the Yellow in terms of difficulty. I think that once that course is in, Moundsville will have itself one heck of a disc golf destination.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
3 0
JohtoVillage
Gold level trusted reviewer
Experience: 24.3 years 160 played 74 reviews
2.50 star(s)

Ace Away! 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:May 16, 2011 Played the course:once

Pros:

Even though this course is easily the shortest course I have ever played, I actually had a lot of fun. Its kind of fun to shoot for aces on every hole and really was a good way to get "warm" for the Black Course. Playing a course like this builds your confidence up and is a great course for beginners. Its a great course to just bring your putter and practice only with a putter off the tee. The bright yellow baskets were nice and the teepads were nice. While I wouldn't go out of my way to play this course alone, it was certainly a fun time. It's not every day you shoot in the 30's and this course will give you that chance!

Cons:

This course has no challenge - its probably the shortest and easiest course I have ever played. I shot a 38 meaning that I missed two birdies. I don't feel like I played that well and so if you are looking for a challenge then this isn't the course for you. Great for beginners and practicing your up shots but that's about it.

Other Thoughts:

This course would be nothing if it didn't have the Black Course right next to it. If you come to this park make sure to spend 40 minutes playing the Yellow Course. You may get an ace and its remarkably different than the Black Course.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
2 0
timbur3
Experience: 17.2 years 110 played 51 reviews
3.00 star(s)

Warm Up Ace Race Style 2+ years

Reviewed: Played on:Apr 5, 2014 Played the course:2-4 times

Pros:

- The entire course had great baskets. The yellow rims on the top were nice to know it was the yellow course.
- The course is great for beginners and practicing your midrange game. It can really help you to practice those tighter straight shots at about 150-200 feet.
-The signs were helpful with the distance and pointing you in the direction of the next tee.

Cons:

- Very close to a road and cars go flying around a lot so if you go on the road your disc might get crushed.

Other Thoughts:

There are not too many cons because there is the bigger Black Course right on the property. This is a great Ace Race course to take a run at some 1s. It is fun to warm up with this course and then take on the Black Course.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
5 0
BigAl724
Diamond level trusted reviewer
Experience: 11.9 years 179 played 144 reviews
2.00 star(s)

Good for Warming up for Black Course and for Beginners 2+ years

Reviewed: Updated: Played on:Aug 9, 2013 Played the course:2-4 times

Pros:

-Innova DISCatcher baskets
-Beautiful park in a beautiful setting
-Great for practicing upshots and putting
-Great for warming up for the Black Course
-Solid ace opportunities on every hole
- Despite the short length of holes, there is some good variety with a downhill shot on 10 and a few other slight elevation changes
-Great amenities nearby: camping, plenty of park staff, clean bathrooms, snack bar, and discs for sale
-Very well maintained
-Designers did a very good job of placing the holes on the land they used for this
-Can play in 30-45 min
-Good for children, girlfriends, wives, and beginners
-Use of OB on the road adds to the challenge

Cons:

-Simple tee signs with just the hole number and hole length, although you don't need anything more for this course. Therefore, is not really a con here, just pointing this out because it may lower some people's ratings for this course.
-No tees to indicate where exactly to throw from
-Plays right next to road on about half of the holes
-Most holes are very short, or short at best. Don't bring a driver here (but bring it to the park; you'll need it more than ever on the Black Course!). Hole 1 is as throw-away of a hole as there can be. However, I'm sure they set up the first hole to be that easy to give the beginners a very easy first hole.
-As I noted, there are some changes in elevation and a few trees here and there, but there is hardly anything I felt that was changing my throwing or disc choice throughout the course.
-Course is located in a pretty remote/rundown area. Not too close to anything no matter which direction you come from.

Other Thoughts:

It's hard for me to give a course such a low rating, especially a course in such a beautifully maintained park with very good course located right next to it. Also, I understand that this course is not designed to challenge someone who has played more than a few courses. I get that it is strictly and obviously a course designed for beginners. However, I rate courses strictly based upon my enjoyment while playing the course, and didn't factor in that this course is located right next to the Black Course. It is a wonderful course for beginners. But, if I am using the same scale as all my other ratings, a 1.5 is an accurate rating to me because it is not a complete course at all. This course isn't extremely easy, but it gets repetitive and boring. However, I do want to give credit to the wonderful park that it is located in. Very nice and very well-maintained park, with very nice staff. I recommend treating this only as a course for warming up for the Black Course, unless you bring a newbie to play with you.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
4 0
knettles
Experience: 14 years 163 played 27 reviews
3.00 star(s)

It's Short, and That's Not Bad 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Apr 7, 2013 Played the course:once

Pros:

- All nice Innova Discatchers.
- Wonderful use of terrain.
- Tree locations made more challenging than one would expect.
- Out of bounds on majority of holes upped challenge even more.

Cons:

- Short enough to where you only need a putter and maybe a midrange.
- Tees were just grass (but mostly flat).

Other Thoughts:

This course really surprised me. I went to Grand Vue Park to play the Black Course. After it, we played this one just because it was there. I was expecting it to be super easy and boring, but was wrong. It wasn't difficult, but not as easy as I was expecting. I would say for the length of the holes, this is one of the best short courses I've played. The variety of terrain and OB makes it a really fun round. You can come to Moundsville for the Black Course, but you shouldn't leave without playing this one as well.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
2 2
hogwild428
Experience: 25.3 years 300 played 25 reviews
3.00 star(s)

Short and simple 2+ years

Reviewed: Played on:Mar 19, 2013 Played the course:once

Pros:

Short, easy holes. Good for beginners to learn to play on, but also good for experienced players to get warmed up or get some ace chances.

Cons:

Not a ton of variety. Each hole is about the same distance it just changes whether you shoot up or down hill.

Other Thoughts:

overall, this is a fun course. especially with the black course right there to play after
Was this review helpful? Yes No
3 0
el_duder
Bronze level trusted reviewer
Experience: 12.2 years 44 played 14 reviews
2.00 star(s)

2+ years

Reviewed: Played on:Nov 11, 2012 Played the course:once

Pros:

+Nice baskets
+Beautiful park with many activities available
+Amenities: benches, garbage cans, restroom at hole 1.

Cons:

-Not a lot of variety
-Plays close to road
-Tee signs only show distance, not a big con on the yellow course considering the baskets are pretty much straight ahead, but it would still be nice to show the layout for the hole on the tee sign. Hopefully these will get updated eventually.

Other Thoughts:

The Yellow Course is a great course for warm up (I only used a putter), ace runs, and to introduce new players and especially young players to the sport. It is very easy to navigate and plays pretty quick. I have small gripes about it playing along the road, but unless the park is really busy, it shouldn't be a problem to just wait for any cars to pass. Other than that it's pretty much just one straight, flat ace run after another. There are a couple of holes that offer some elevation change, like 10, 14 and 15, but that's about it.

I had a pretty fun time playing the Yellow Course, but really can't give it more than 2 discs. It is just too short to be considered a "typical" DG course. I think it has it's purpose and I will return to play it with my wife, but I'll be looking forward to taking on the Black Course next time.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
4 0
Jeffrey2636
Experience: 13.7 years 45 played 18 reviews
3.00 star(s)

Great beginner / warmup course 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Aug 8, 2012 Played the course:once

Pros:

1. Set in a beautiful park with lots of other activities going on there.
2. Two courses on site so great course for beginners or even a quick warm-up for The Black (monster) course
3. Short holes provide younger players to be introduced to the game and enjoy doing well on it.
4. Nice (very new looking) Innova yellow topped baskets through the 18 holes. Nice layout of a quick rounder.
5. Well maintained, mowed and in some ways manicured fairways.

Cons:

1. The tee area is a stone with a number painted on it and sometimes hard to located
2. No tee pads or signs other than the next tee pointer sign on each basket although the course is short to pretty easy to find most of the time.
3. No trash cans and just a few benches. (short course so not a big deal)

Other Thoughts:

Grand Vue Park is an expansive park with now two 18 hole disc golf courses (Yellow and Black), a par 3 ball golf course, zip lines and cabins among many other wonderful features. The park alone is worth going to. With not a ton of options in the immediate area for disc golf, this park now offers a family friendly, beginner friendly learning course where the holes are short and the risk is low. Great place to bring newbies to learn and enjoy the game.

The 18 holes of The Yellow course uses a nice piece of land off to the right of the monstrous Black course but they tee off at the same 1 tee area so if you would like, you to do a quick 18 holes warm-up round on the yellow course and then go right into the Black course. Brilliant use of land for the layout.
At tee #1, there are the nicest scorecards I have ever seen for a disc golf course and detailed maps for the course. The tee pads were the big drawback to the current Yellow course as there were no pads but rather a stone with a number indicating where you should stand to tee off.

The layout is pretty much a lynx style layout so once you start the course, to get back to your car by Tee #1, you really have to follow and play the whole course.

I commend the gentleman who have designed developed and maintain these two park course as they do an absolutely wonderful job doing so.

I would highly recommend getting your children into the sport early on in their life and The Yellow Course is a perfect place to start!
Was this review helpful? Yes No
3 0
Bikinimower
Silver level trusted reviewer
Experience: 21.9 years 174 played 67 reviews
2.50 star(s)

Warm up to a monster 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Sep 8, 2011 Played the course:once

Pros:

Lots of variety
Nice park
Good course to learn on
Good family course
High fun factor for it's size
Clean, mowed and well taken care of
Good use of available land

Cons:

Small, which isn't necessarily a con
Not much of a challenge
Look for cars before throwing

Other Thoughts:

Perfect addition to the area, I heard they were planning on using this land for multiple courses and this one is in perfect contrast to the Black course. The area is new to Disc Golf and if your not familiar you may want to sharpen you skills on this one before you attempt the much bigger, much harder,much more intimidating Black course.

All the holes are short but they did an excellent job of using the available land to the best of their ability. They have a very good balance of shot types and even some decent elevation changes for a course it's size. You do play on and around a road so look before you throw

The course is easy, but not as easy as you think at first glance. Place your throws carefully or you may end up in thick rough or over a steep hill. I thought this course had a pretty high fun factor considering how small it is

Good course for newbys, girlfriends, and kids. It would even be a good warm up for an experienced player before he heads off the tame the mighty Black course. I wouldn't recommend it for a road trip unless you are planning to combine it with the Black course. I don't know if there are more on the way but I sure hope so. Keep up the good work guys!!
Was this review helpful? Yes No
6 0
danhyzer
Gold level trusted reviewer
Premium Member
Experience: 36.3 years 2357 played 131 reviews
3.00 star(s)

The Yello DGC is 4 mello/ or rec players 2+ years

Reviewed: Played on:May 29, 2011 Played the course:once

Pros:

for the length of the DGC, the land was used very stragtically. most Basket placements we're placed where if you made a mistake on this par 2 (is this DGC a par 2 or 3 course?) DGc you got a bogey or worse. good balance of Left, right or straight holes, even had a cool steep downhill hole (but one shot over an park road, so ...even though I thought the hole was cool it could present some danger if the thrower didn't know how to play DG <not waiting for a car>)

Cons:

poor signage, poor next tee signage (As the player had to look for flush to the ground circular numbered markers), grass tees (even though these tees we're 10,000,000 times better than the Black Diamond DGC tees). # 2 basket was shared with the Black Diamond DGC. Locked restrooms. Terrible directions, I don't know why the people responsible for submitting the directions to various directories use the "Disc Golf COURSE's name" as the destination instead of the "REAL" or "PROPER" name of the PARK as these DGC's are located in GRAND VUE PARK, not located in Black or Yellow DGC PARK (I'm a tourist, never been to your beautiful town and your trying to take me to a aprk that doesn't exsist, as when I ask a local where the BLACK DIAMOND/ YELLOW DGC is, they look at you like you just fell to earth.

Other Thoughts:

GREAT PARK, IMHO few subtle changes here and there, like.... Decent tee signs and next tee signs (and I would suggest using some kind of colored electrical or duct tape wrapped around a spoke inside the basket well pointed in the direction of the next tee). Sprinkled with a few benches here and there and......... the yellow DGC would be an ideal DGC for rec/ or players who get intimedated by the black diamond for usage.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
Top