• Discover new ways to elevate your game with the updated DGCourseReview app!
    It's entirely free and enhanced with features shaped by user feedback to ensure your best experience on the course. (App Store or Google Play)

Meridian, MS

Highland Park DGC

2.45(based on 10 reviews)
Filter course reviews

Filter reviews

Filter reviews

Highland Park DGC reviews

Filter
12 0
Moose33
Gold level trusted reviewer
Experience: 12.5 years 224 played 221 reviews
2.50 star(s)

Funky 10 hole layout

Reviewed: Played on:Oct 23, 2023 Played the course:once

Pros:

I give this one some credit for being the only course in the area and it's in a city park with baseball fields a swimming pool and other amenities. Best parking area seems to be between the duck pond and the pool.

Two tee locations, one set of mach2 baskets(except for the final one which is a rando disccatcher). Signs are pretty good, but on the ground which is odd.

It starts out with some mid length holes around the park office, and then crosses the creek and you play up and down the hill at the back of the park. Most of these holes are 300ish from the back tees.

The you come down the hill with a shot past a disused stone building near the road and finish with 2 500+ft holes and the final one around 450.

I have to say I was 100% going to give this one a 2 but the final 4 bumped it up a half for me, those were pretty fun and 8 has a deep creek in the middle you can't really see off the tee so that's a fun surprise.

Many of the lines are pretty fun even if it's not a course you will ever say wow about.

It's nothing crazy but was a decent time and people learning to play could have a good time from the red boxes.

Cons:

Only ten holes, but that's really all the had room for without out making little Mickey Mouse holes. Mach 2s are a little bit of a weak basket by current standards, but not so bad.

Lack of pads is always hard on my currently damaged knees, and that holds it back.

The first two holes being right by the park office and its many windows made me nervous. I could see someone like myself with decent power and erratic control putting a disc on someone's desk by accident.

It's no big deal once you play it, but a few navigation helpers would be great. There are a few holes where you have to cross the creek and need to go around a long way and knowing the best way would help.

Other Thoughts:

Pretty fun little course and for a city park sub 18 holer it's not short which was fun. Made it interesting when my only distance driver was the Stiletto I was playing with that round lol.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
6 0
STÜBBIFIED
Experience: 7.1 years 25 played 6 reviews
2.50 star(s)

After the storm drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Jun 17, 2023 Played the course:2-4 times

Pros:

Short 10 hole with 2 starting pads, red/ white, with white being the harder.
Water obstacles, trees to make holes a bit more technical, and refreshing stream to wash off at the end

Cons:

Nothing beyond the typical, grass pads soggy after rain. When people are having picnics they can become additional obstacles
Was this review helpful? Yes No
12 0
Shadrach3
Gold level trusted reviewer
Experience: 5.8 years 323 played 315 reviews
2.50 star(s)

Good, but Lacking Tees 2+ years

Reviewed: Played on:May 29, 2021 Played the course:once

Pros:

A surprisingly enjoyable short course that's mainly just lacking some equipment.

-Park: Highland Park is Meridian's oldest park, and it's a beauty. There are typical ball fields and such, but along with that is a river, plenty of mature hardwoods, some lovely gazebos and displays, and even the Jimmie Rodgers Museum. It has a kind neighborhood feel.

-Elevation: Some nice elevation usage from (3) to (7). Though substantial, it's very well integrated into the flight paths of the holes.

-Shot Shaping/Gameplay: One of the most enjoyable half courses I've played. The first couple are low-ceiling challenges requiring line drives. There's two holes that require crossing the river through trees, and some longer open drives towards the end. The best holes are the elevated ones in the middle, which require consideration of mid-fairway and guardian trees in addition to the slopes. A couple of par-4s are nice additions. This feels like a very old course, but one that can stand the test of time.

-Multi-Tees: Two tees per hole. The shorter tees don't alter the hole dramatically, they just make it shorter for smaller arms.

Cons:

-Amenities: Really the main drag on Highland for me. No teepads and no tee signs, and no navigational cues. The baskets are solid and there are clearly colored tee posts, but it's a bit of a puzzle to figure out exactly which direction to head from each basket and tee.

-Lack of Shaping: This is a bit of a misnomer, because there is definitely shaping. However, it's mostly gentle straight ahead shaping - no doglegs or twisty woods lines. It's not a technician's course, just a course where you can give discs a solid rip but need control as well (my favorite).

-Missing Hole (10): Highland is labeled some places as a 10-hole course, but there was no sign of the last basket when I visited. Perhaps it was stolen.

Other Thoughts:

Highland is one of the most pleasant short courses I've done. It was just plain enjoyable to throw discs through the old trees, over the river, and down some big hills. I'd play again in a heartbeat. That said, the lack of tees and signage makes me unable to give it a Good in good conscience, so it's at the higher end of my Typical basket for now.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
14 0
wellsbranch250
Diamond level trusted reviewer
Premium Member
Experience: 10.5 years 678 played 650 reviews
2.00 star(s)

Starts Weak, Finishes Strong, Just Like Some Peoples Love Life 2+ years

Reviewed: Played on:Dec 22, 2020 Played the course:once

Pros:

(1.903 Rating) A Typical Park Style 9.
- CHALLENGING - Seeing the general landscape driving into the park, I would have guessed a novice friendly short and bland course layout. Well I'm sure glad I pulled out the full bag for this one. Two of the nine holes are well past my Intermediate level abilities. Hole (3) requires power and nerves of steel. It requires at least 400-foot power to make the front of the circle. Plus there's tall fencing and a large building along the right most of the way, waiting patiently to permanently claim errant discs. Hole (4), requires even more power to make the circle considering the elevation change upwards. I could play these two holes 100 times each and never card a birdie. The remainder of the course is reachable for mortals, but not cupcake. Overall I'd guess that an even par (27) would equate to about a 900 rated round.
- THE FINISH - The best part of this course is the second half. Hole (6) is a really fun park style down-shot with several large trees to game plan a flightpath around. Hole (7) is another fun but more open down-shot with a large landing area. Last I'll mention (9), which was my personal favorite hole. This one parallels a 10-foot wide creek with 10-foot high banks and the fairway crosses the creek.
- QUICK PLAY - Even though the signage is poor, running this one in 30 minutes or less as a solo is possible, so long as the course is empty and a player has a navigational app.
- GROUNDS MAINTENANCE - For my appearance the grass was mowed, large branches were picked up and litter was minimal on high ground. The only exception was hole (3).

Cons:

There's a lot going on along the fairway edges.
- MULTI USE HAZARDS - I did not like any of the first (3) holes due to the built environment conflicts. Hole (1) right away has a park building in play. I generally don't take off points for once such occurrence, but then on the next tee, the same building was in play along the right side. As noted above, Hole (3) also has a large building and fence area in play. Park roads are in play on almost every remaining hole after this. Hole (7) has a building in play and a rip to the right on (8) could put a pavilion in play.
- NAVIGATION AND SIGNAGE - I would define the navigational aspect as reasonable and signage aspect as poor. I did not see a course map on site. Tee signs are limited to two white stakes driven into the ground to define the tee edge. One of the two tee stakes has a hole number on it. Transitioning is easy most of the time as the next tee stakes are generally nearby. However, it took me awhile to transition to both (3) and (8) as the stakes are beyond eyesite. I recommend that first timers use a navigational app.
- AMENITIES AND EXTRAS - The pure basics are passable. Baskets are Mach 2s and the tees are a mix of dirt and grass without leveling. As for extras, zero disc golf related extras. There are pavilions and restrooms in the park though.
- NATURAL BEAUTY - I scored Heritage a hair above 25 percentile among all courses I've played as of this review. A couple holes look really nice, namely (6) and (9). However, there are some major eyesores. Hole (3) has a pile of mangled metal in the middle of the fairway 80 feet short of the basket. Buildings, parking lots and roads are in view the entire time. Also some noticeable trash in Gallagher Creek along holes (2), (3) and (9).

Other Thoughts:

The Heritage Park course has some nice things going for it. The terrain is rolling, but also not over-bearing. The course will push newer players to develop skills too as this is not a cupcake course that can be conquered by players who have thrown less than 50 rounds. I somewhat wonder if the elevated game play here has stymied the new player growth a bit. Perhaps that's a contributing factor as a reason why there is only one course in town. Anyways, overall I'm scoring this one as an average niner. IMO, not worth traveling to play outside an hour's drive. A decent bagger hit for those traveling along I20 to stretch the legs as its not too far off the highway. A fair course for many locals too as the difficulty is most ideal for Rec and Intermediates which make up the largest portion of the regular player population.
- HOLE VARIETY - About average overall, but well above average among niners. Several nice elevation changes in excess of 20 feet. Water is in play 3 times. A mix of moderately wooded to openish holes.
- LAYOUT UPDATE COMING - This review might not be useful for very long. I saw a wall post stating that a new layout is coming.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
7 0
Buford Calloway
Experience: 5.1 years 101 played 4 reviews
2.00 star(s)

Not bad, will play again 2+ years

Reviewed: Updated: Played on:Sep 25, 2019 Played the course:2-4 times

Pros:

-The tees and baskets were all fairly easy to find, except for #3. That basket is hidden from the tee and very likely still hidden after first shot.

-The grass had just been mowed in all of the dry areas, which is most of the park right now.

-Nice and quiet area if you hit it during school hours.

Cons:

-Needs a little grooming. There are some very low limbs that IMHO should be trimmed back. Branches block a throw to the right on #3, so you're practically forced to throw forehand to keep in bounds. You almost have to roll out of the tee on #5 because it sits under a tree with low hanging limbs surrounding it.

-You have to throw around a small building on #7, which is fine. But do not approach (walk up to) the basket from the right side of the building. Even after drought conditions that area is muddy, so there must be some sort of leak coming from that little building. The grass through there is thick (bc it's too wet to cut), so you don't realize how muddy it is until your shoe almost disappears.

-No tee pads. Most of the time the ground is in fine, but in some cases (such as #5) you battle roots.

-I haven't tried, but I'm sure outside of school hours, especially in hotter weather, the park is probably too busy to play.

Other Thoughts:

-I went into this course not expecting much, but all in all I was pleased and will definitely be back.

-Hole #3 is a thorn in my side. I've had to retrieve a disc from the park maintenance area (enclosed by blue metal) twice. The other times I'm in the woods. If you can't clear the maintenance area from the tee (about 270'), then this one will give you fits.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
8 0
enragedmullet
Gold level trusted reviewer
Premium Member
Experience: 12.7 years 116 played 80 reviews
2.00 star(s)

Meridian's 1st 2+ years

Reviewed: Played on:Sep 26, 2016 Played the course:once

Pros:

- baskets in good shape, park well maintained the day I played save some brush in the fairway of #3

- restrooms available though some graffiti in the one by the ballpark was "interesting"

- decent variety in terms of distance and types of shots needed, as well as use of obstacles/POV from tee - holes 3-6 especially.

Cons:

- tees: the combo of natural tees, no tee-side benches/garbage cans, and simple posts for the markers leave a little to be desired. #1 is missing its numbers, and none of them have a map/info/etc.

- the fairways on some holes aren't defined terribly well

- I can see how park activities would make several holes a risk to play depending on the crowd. As it was I was just passing through and as such I don't know how crowded it ever really gets.

- #8's main obstacle is a public restroom; #9 has no real obstacle besides a possible errant throw into the shallow creek alongside the fairway (perhaps the creek is higher some days)

Other Thoughts:

- The course info describes #1 as being across from the duck pond; I would add that it's between the pool and the pond next to the pool parking.

- For me the signature hole here is either 3 or 4. 3 shoots over the creek and behind a warehouse, then slightly up a hill. 4 shoots with the warehouse against your back headed up the hill towards the neighborhood. Both are blind shots from the tee.

- I haven't played the other course in town but I understand it's Meridian's first. For the most part, any course is better than no course and I think this certainly applies here. If I lived nearby and knew the patterns of crowds I'd play it regularly. That being said the course is kind of crammed into the park in certain places so I'm not sure if I'd say its a "destination" course. Depending on the day you pass through town it may or may not be crowded.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
3 0
KINGDUCK
Experience: 15.5 years 57 played 34 reviews
2.50 star(s)

fun to play but needs work 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Nov 18, 2014 Played the course:2-4 times

Pros:

-Fun to play
-some long holes to let discs fly
-scorecards with map in admin office
-mostly open, hard to lose discs
-good for all levels to play

Cons:

-some long holes for par 3
-no markings except tee pad posts
-hole 4 warehouse and tree line
-took awhile to find hole 1
-pavilion may cause delays

Other Thoughts:

more land seemed available to make 18 holes-especially if you made many of the holes 290 ft or less.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
5 0
aclay
Gold level trusted reviewer
Experience: 39.8 years 330 played 257 reviews
3.00 star(s)

Finally a course in Meridian 2+ years

Reviewed: Updated: Played on:Mar 12, 2020 Played the course:5+ times

Pros:

Good use of available land, and the course flows nicely. Once you find No. 1 (south side of the pool), you won't have any trouble. Course appears to be well-maintained, and scorecards are available in the office (between No. 1 basket and No. 2 tee). Water comes into play on three holes.

Cons:

Holes 3 and 4 are a little long/tough for par 3 but short for par 4. The solution would be shortening/adjusting No. 3 to make it a legitimate par 3 and lengthening No. 4 to make it a legitimate par 4. No. 3 now requires a long, narrow throw between trees and a fence surrounding a work shed. Lost discs could be an issue here. Shorten the hole and move the basket into the trees. On No. 4, move the basket back and to the right (closer to the road, which is OB). People using the park for other purposes are frequently an obstacle on No. 1. No. 7 has you throwing around/over a building that used to house restrooms. There is ALWAYS water surrounding the basket, especially on the side near the softball fields.

Other Thoughts:

Restroom facilities were available but appear to be closed now.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
8 1
magictenor1
Gold level trusted reviewer
Experience: 24.1 years 386 played 91 reviews
2.00 star(s)

not maintained 2+ years

Reviewed: Updated: Played on:May 18, 2013 Played the course:5+ times

Pros:

Good effective use of the available land. The course flows easily with no long walks between holes. I easily found the next tee when playing by myself for the 1st time. Good variety of type of hole with lots of elevation changes and some water in play. Alternate tee for #9 (it plays across a creek) for less adventurous throwers.

Cons:

no signage which is not that big of a deal since the course flows so well. Dirt teepads. One hole #7 tends to stay boggy for awhile after rain. There seems to be a leak there and it is always wet. The biggest issue I have is with hole #3 which shoots right at a big metal fence. many discs have already landed in there and you have to wait for someone to let you in to get your disc. In order to have any chance to par the hole you must shoot at the fence. Also hole # 8 plays very close to a pavillion which is an issue when it is in use.

Other Thoughts:

Nice little course still being tweeked. My favorite hole is #2 which has alternate flight paths with Ob in play but chance for birdie with a good throw. Nice risk/reward design. Would have liked to have seen maybe a par 4 thrown in somewhere. Hole #4 for example is a fairly long uphill par three that could easily be lengthened and made par 4. Some signage and concrete tees would help. If the course takes off there is a possibility of 9 more being added. Now the closest course to my house and I will be playing there a lot. Update:2020. the course has not been well maintained. Number 3 is mostly unplayable and number 7 is always very muddy and wet to the right of the basket. Due to these facts a buddy and I have developed alternate holes. After #2 we walk up the hill and play from the sidewalk to the #9 basket then proceed to #4. on #7 we play an alternate tee to the left side of the basket avoiding the mud right of the basket.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
6 1
WSP420
Bronze level trusted reviewer
Experience: 22.1 years 51 played 48 reviews
3.00 star(s)

Don't judge a book... 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Updated: Played on:May 18, 2013 Played the course:5+ times

Pros:

-Well kept park
-Parking available next to Tee #1
-The course flows well and the tees are easily seen and obvious as to which is next
-Makes up for short distances with a few more technical Holes
-Brand new baskets
-Ducks!

Cons:

-Only 9 holes (for now!)
-No hole #'s on pins
-No maps/scorecards
-No benches or trash cans except around pavilion areas
-Ducks!

Other Thoughts:

This course is brand new and hasn't been played much at all. The 'dirt' Tee Pads are still grass. Really, not a bad 9 but it stills needs work, and players. I mentioned one of the pros being the flow of the course; all you need to know is tee one is next to the pool and throws toward the creek/ditch. The bright white of the tee posts is easily seen from the previous basket. Every hole is an easy par or even birdie... but one tiny mistake and any one of them can also be an easy bogey. This is a fun course that needs more traffic.

Don't go out of your way for this one. But, if you live in Meridian or close by... go play! It's also probably worth the 30 min. or so from Quitman (Archusa Water Park DGC & Clarkco State Park DGC) if you're playing either of those courses.

Update: Tees now have hole numbers! This course is really growing on me. If it gets enough play another nine holes is a possibility. If that happens Meridian could have a top rate disc golf course at Highland Park.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

Latest posts

Top