Huntsville, AL

Indian Creek DGC

4.145(based on 38 reviews)
Filter course reviews

Filter reviews

Filter reviews

Indian Creek DGC reviews

Filter
10 0
youjon5
Experience: 5.7 years 9 played 2 reviews
4.50 star(s)

Beginner's Opinion - Good course, but intimidating 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Updated: Played on:May 18, 2020 Played the course:5+ times

Pros:

+ Great variety of holes. I would even go so far as to say that all 16 of the 18 holes feel fundamentally different from each other. You get: long open fields, woods on one side, woods on both sides, single obstacles, tunnels, tight woods, open woods, bending woods, down-hill throws, up-hill throws, etc.
+ Beautiful course. Even with shrinking of the park, the natural beauty is still evident.
+ Fun. There are a number of fun technical throws and interesting hole designs. I enjoy this course more than any other on a throw-by-throw basis.
+ Amenities. The course has great baskets, concrete tees (some have foot catches!), good signage, and benches on most holes.
+ Well kept. The grass usually kept short, and trash/branches are frequently removed. The course is played frequently, so dirt paths and gaps into the woods are easy to spot and follow.

Cons:

- Deep water hazards. Hole 15 requires a throw over 8 foot deep water. Be prepared to go swimming if you hit the far side of the creek.
- Can be intimidating as a new player. In addition to the water that factors into four holes, many of the holes border woods. These woods have thick underbrush, and are a pain to wade through to retrieve discs.
- Walking paths. There are several holes that play very close to busy walking paths. Be prepared to wait for a safe opportunity to throw.
- Distance/Flow. The course occupies a very large area. As such, there is a lot of walking. The distances between holes are long, averaging about four minutes per walk. Also, there isn't always an obvious flow, and some holes are hard to find. After finishing hole 2, you walk across a bridge and then down a walking path. After hole 3 to return to the walking path. After a few minutes, you hook off into the woods (not marked). You then hike up a hill, passing the tee for 14. You'll find 4 up there. It's definitely confusing, even after you have played the course before
- Overlapping holes. A few holes have the opportunity to hit a player on another hole. One in particular throws over the tee of different hole.

Other Thoughts:

Overall, this is a great course for all skill levels. Beginners like me - take it easy. Play conservatively, and shoot for accuracy, not power (unless you are on one of the wide-open holes).
Was this review helpful? Yes No
9 0
KenanFlagler01
Diamond level trusted reviewer
Experience: 13.9 years 195 played 190 reviews
4.50 star(s)

Fantastic course 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Jun 23, 2018 Played the course:once

Pros:

Indian Creek blew me away. I was expecting a high-quality course; I was not expecting to have to go back and review my top 5 -- even my #1 overall -- and figure out where to place this track. I ended up placing it 2nd out of the 122 I've played to date...and just a hair below 5.0. There was *one* thing I'd change about it -- the grass is too high and can cause you to lose discs in wide open fields -- but that is literally the only thing I'd change about it. Darn near perfect course, in my book.

+ First and foremost, Indian Creek combines the three most important factors any disc golfer is looking for: fun, challenging and interesting design, and a beautiful setting. I was not expecting that last piece (beautiful setting), at least to this level, in a public park + city course. Most courses that aren't in the mountains or rural rolling hills are not able to achieve what Indian Creek does: just a beautiful course and picturesque surroundings nestled into a city greenway park. Amazing.

+ The design of this course is just off the charts. I wouldn't change a thing. It's got long, open par 4's to bomb drives. But these holes are not just wide open holes where you throw twice as far as you can. They use the topography -- hills, ridges, creeks, OB, guardian trees, and gaps -- to force the issue on each shot. Many of the open holes finish with wooded greens, tricky approaches, and dangerous putts. Not only does the course have a string of fantastic par 4's (mostly) on the back 9, but the par 3's are a mix of open and a few wooded, all with unique qualities, risk/reward elements, fast greens, multiple lines to take, etc. It has hyzer lines, anhyzer, flex, and straight. It has some elevation. It has water hazards on a few holes. It has a manmade island hole with a large area of rocks (for drainage?) forcing a layup or "go for it!" decision. Name something you'd like to see in a disc golf course. Indian Creek has it.

+ Easy navigation. Newbies will have no problem. The tee signs are detailed and accurate, showing layout, yardage, and all pin placements.

+ Nice big, flat, concrete tees.

+ Good-as-new DISCatcher baskets, some with flags on them for better visibility from the tee. Some baskets are placed near water. Some on hills. #17 is an elevated on on a set of stairs.

+ Multiple pin placements for endless variety, new challenges and fun. Some of the placements change a hole from par 3 to 4 (and vice versa). Great element and well executed.

+ Nice amenities at the greenway: playground, paved greenway trail, benches at many of the holes.

+ Besides the grass, which I'm sure is tough to keep mowed, especially in the summer, the park is remarkably well-maintained for how busy it must get. I didn't see any litter.

Cons:

I really don't have anything to gripe about. It would be nice to have short, manicured grass. (They probably get that for tournaments.) When it's wet and high, it can be a little annoying--and easy to lose a disc. (If you see a red Renegade near the bottom of the 10th basket hill, please text me!)

Other Thoughts:

Indian Creek is a must-play. Period. I would consider this a destination course. I think it's underrared on DGCR and literally one is the best two courses I've ever had the pleasure of playing. Go throw!
Was this review helpful? Yes No
24 0
wellsbranch250
Diamond level trusted reviewer
Experience: 10.1 years 651 played 625 reviews
3.50 star(s)

Major Revisions In 2019

Reviewed: Updated: Played on:Apr 14, 2019 Played the course:5+ times

Pros:

(3.722 Rating) (REVISED - replayed April 2023) A parkstyle course that had a forced course re-design in Spring 2019 affecting 5 holes.
- CHALLENGING - IMO, Indian Creek’s back tee layout is the second most difficult layout in Huntsville, after the long tees at the new John Hunt Park course. When playing the back tee layout, the course to me reads as a MA1 level course. It's an even mix of power holes and precision holes. At the most recent big tourney, (2022 Rocket City Blast), an even par 58 netted the pro players a 947 round rating. Myself as an MA2 level player, I have yet to break par on the revised layout.
- HOLE VARIETY - Indian Creek in my opinion has among the best hole type variety in the Huntsville area . Completely open through heavily wooded holes. Water comes into play a couple times on holes (15) and (18) depending on the basket placement. There are some deep twisting pockets to hit and a few full tunnel fairways. There are a few par 4s, but less par 4s than before the re-design. Elevation is here, but it's a mild factor. A couple holes offer neat risk reward water clear options, (15) and (18).
- SIGNATURE HOLE - Hole (14) is awesome and was thankfully unaffected by the re-design. A 420 foot par 3 from the back tee that barrels down a fully wooded tunnel and plays down about 25 feet. IMO, top 5 most signature shots in all of the Huntsville metro.
- NATURAL BEAUTY - The natural beauty of this course is top notch. Among the better ones I've seen in North Alabama. A few holes have some cool terrain, lots of mild sloping fairways and a few fully wooded areas. A nice looking large creek runs through the layout. I really wish more baskets used this element, but it's a pretty swift current, so I suppose it was mostly omitted for safety reasons.
- AMENITIES AND EXTRAS - Indian Creek has great basic equipment and a few extras. There’s a nice community board on the way to (1), but a new map has never gone up. Seating is at almost all of the tees. New tee signage was installed in June 2019. The tees are 5 by 12 and concrete. A couple of the new tees have foul line extensions as well. The baskets are DISCatchers and in great shape. Four holes have multiple tees and I think at least seven holes have alternate basket placements. Also, shelters with picnic tables and restrooms. The last hole also has multiple baskets in place.

Cons:

Mostly just preferential things
- DISCONTINUITY - This course has a few longer transitions that exceed 200 feet between holes. Navigation could be tricky for those that show up here without a map, like after (2) and after (3). However, the flow is reasonable from hole to hole considering the forced changes.
- LACK OF ELEVATION - Probably the fifth best course in town in regards to elevation usage after Mastin Lake, Sharon Johnston, John Hunt and V-Rock, but a far cry from elevation awesomeness. The max change on any one hole is around 30 feet. There's a couple good down shots on (7) and (14). Hole (9) is a very lengthy par 4 that runs up probably 30 feet in grade to the far basket. Half of the holes here I would consider flat. Great for a cart though.
- TIME PLAY - This course takes the 2nd longest to play in town and it wears me out. Over an hour solo and 2 1/2 to 3 hours for groups of four. Players looking for a quick 18 in town should check out Brahan Springs instead.
- NOT MA4 FRIENDLY - Players that can’t throw 325 feet might not like this course. An MA4s birdie potential might be limited to 2 or 3 holes and they would likely average 10 over or so from the front tees. The course would draw a much larger fan base if it added short tees to holes (1), (5), (9), (13) and (18). Hole (9) especially needs one as it plays like 800 feet being uphill.
- WIND - A few holes have very wide fairways on top of a rolling hillside. Wind will be more of a pronounced issue here than at other surrounding courses.
- WALKING PATHS - 6 holes have walking paths in play.
- MOWING SCHEDULE - I've been here a couple times when they hadn't mowed in a few weeks. When this happens, it is important to keep the line on where the disc landed, otherwise expect extended searches looking in open fields.

Other Thoughts:

Having played all the courses in North Alabama, IMO this is the 2nd top course for experienced players. I have been asking local players their favorite city course in town and I have definitely gotten several votes for Indian Creek among the Pros, MA1s and MA2 level players. Even when it isn't a players top choice, it's generally their second or third favorite among the noted groups. The course offers almost everything a seasoned and well-traveled player wants in a destination course, such as fun, challenge, beauty and shot diversity. Overall, I have this course rated as a very high 3.5. If additional short tee pads were added to 4 or 5 holes, this course would get a bunch more play by a wider swath of skill levels. I’d consider upping the course above the 3.75 threshold if the city ever made this happen. Indian Creek reminds me of courses like Cedar Hill in Nashville and Tyus near Atlanta.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
8 0
wericsson
Silver level trusted reviewer
Experience: 10.7 years 53 played 45 reviews
4.00 star(s)

Huntsville's Best 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Aug 7, 2017 Played the course:5+ times

Pros:

18 holes, Discatcher baskets, concrete tees, quality tee signage and NexT signs where needed, so that ticks all the "basics" boxes. Short/long tees on three holes, and multiple pins on thirteen.

Par 57-62, 6255-8094 feet.

There are no gimme birdies out here. The shortest holes are 260, 275 and 280 feet, and all three of those holes have unforgiving greens - a narrow ridgeline, an elevated pin, and water inside the circle, respectively. From there, the distances go much higher, running up to a 735 foot par 4 with water. Water is present on four holes, and only two lack OB altogether. Elevation is present on several holes, from a downhill tunnel to a 610 foot climb up roughly 50 feet. Additionally, for such a long course, the variety of wooded holes is pretty solid.

Overall, I would call this Huntsville's best offering -
the design tests a variety of lines off the tee, demands accurate placement shots over long distances, has some tricky greens, and does not at all feel repetitive: each of the 18 holes has its own distinctive character.

Cons:

The grass grows at an absolutely absurd pace in summer, and it isn't for want of mowing - the city does a commendable job of trying to keep it knocked back, but you'll still probably wander the great grass seas of the middle holes searching aimlessly for your drives at a few points.

Hole 15's green (or the approach to it, depending on pin position) happens to be a popular swimming hole.

The trees in the middle of 18's pond seem to get bigger and bigger every time I visit, as trees often do. Those could get to be a problem over the mid term.

Other Thoughts:

This is not really a beginner course, if that wasn't clear, nor would I particularly relish the experience if I wasn't able to tolerate heat - shade is scarce through the middle, and those are holes that could take a while.

I noticed some previous reviews indicated multiple baskets on many holes, not just multiple positions. At the moment, this does not appear to be the case, aside from hole 18.

If navigating by GPS, get directions to Creekwood Park, NOT Indian Creek Greenway, unless you want to enjoy the (admittedly quite pretty) two mile walk up to the course.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
8 0
Upshawt1979
Diamond level trusted reviewer
Premium Member
Experience: 20.7 years 545 played 429 reviews
4.00 star(s)

Creek Speak 2+ years

Reviewed: Played on:Nov 4, 2016 Played the course:once

Pros:

The pros for Indian Creek DGC stack up well. Included in a standard round are 18 holes, fully outfitted with tee signs and Discatcher baskets, most with multiple pin positions and/or multiple concrete tee pads (excludes holes 8, 10 and 16). Some holes have 2 baskets in place at all times as well. Park grounds feature both large grassy fairways ranging from flat to moderate changes in elevation over rolling hills, and more narrow defined fairways through dense woods, sometimes combining the two. Hazards you might encounter are windy conditions, dog doo, OB lines consisting of water, massive rock covered traps, and walking trails. The often lengthy layout and mature stands of trees may require distance and accuracy, and the pin placements will frequently play very fast with approaches and putts easy to overshoot or roll away from. 5 par 4 holes, played consecutively from hole 9 to hole 13. Layout of the course is not too crazy, but it is easier to follow if you print the map linked to the course page, or find a guide. The utilization of the landscape to keep the course from being dull or repetitive is very well done.

Cons:

Don't let google maps take you to Indian Creek Greenway, it is parking and access to the walking trail, and a fairly long walk to the disc golf course. Follow the directions on the course home page. Pedestrians are in close proximity to the course at times, notably on hole 4, so take precautions when necessary.

Other Thoughts:

This is a great course that gave me a tough time. I played on very nice afternoon, and was joined/guided by a friendly local dude named Darren for most of the round. Scored a (+8) 67 with birdies on hole 6 and hole 15, far outweighed by 6 bogies and 2 double bogies. A slow start and that stretch of par 4's put me deep in the red, and poor play in the short game kept me there all day. I found the course to be challenging and still very fun to play. My favorite holes were 5, 7, 9, and 10. Hole 5 is mostly open in front of the hole, but guarded by a hillside that has been anchored in place with piles of boulders. This is farther than it appears, OB, and I threw directly into the center of it. Big arm or bust, the latter for me. 7 is downhill, but there is a line of trees that must be thrown over or around. 9 is the first par 4, hidden from view off the tee by a tall hill and quite a few mature trees, and after you make your way around those uphill a fair distance. Hole 10 is a long drive over an open field of grass, through a gap in the trees that drops in elevation before topping another hill with the basket on top. Worth a trip if you find yourself with discs and spare time in North Alabama.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
2 3
olmster
Experience: 4 played 4 reviews
4.00 star(s)

Best course in the area 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Oct 10, 2016 Played the course:once

Pros:

Course is part of an overall park area in very good condition although some of the fairway grass needed to be cut. No rain lately so no excuses in not being cut. Multiple par 4's that are tough for amateur players but can be done. Good wall map at the outset which everyone should take a photo of on first time played. Just an overall excellent layout and good scenery in & around a greenway along Indian Creek.

Cons:

I didn't take a picture of the wall map and had a hard time locating the 3rd hole. It is a fairly good distance across the creek bridge. Some signage directing you would be good. Several holes are close in proximity to people on the greenway so you will have an audience for your shots. #12 hole is a long par 4 with one gap through a fenced tree line that you can't see from the tee.

Other Thoughts:

A very nice course and best by far in the area.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
1 3
Taylor510ce
Experience: 10 years 15 played 12 reviews
4.00 star(s)

Challenging, but approachable 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Aug 27, 2016 Played the course:once

Pros:

-good mixture of "gettable" and challenging holes
-plenty of "3able" par 4's if you really hit your lines well.
-some nice tunnel shots
-some room to roam for big arms
-if you're an am, you can still shoot under par and really enjoy the day!

Cons:

needs "next tee" signs
Hole 15 could use a warning sign for the pedestrians

Was this review helpful? Yes No
7 3
GMcAtee
Gold level trusted reviewer
Premium Member
Experience: 14.9 years 740 played 85 reviews
4.50 star(s)

The Mt. Airy of Huntsville just got better. 2+ years

Reviewed: Updated: Played on:Aug 7, 2016 Played the course:5+ times

Pros:

Excellent design. Tons of elevation. A large flowing creek comes into play on 3 holes. OB walking trails, large rip rap rock OB on one hole. Beautiful well-maintained park.

Update: Several holes redesigned due to industrial park construction. I believe the course has gotten better with added wooded holes and additional short or long tee pads.. My favorites of the new holes are hole 10 and 13. Hole 10 features a short and long basket, and requires a low drive with a skip to get to the basket. Hole 13 is a long straight tight wooded hole that you'd disc down to a mid-range to stay in the fairway if you are smart.

Cons:

The only cons I can think of is you have to walk across hole 18 to get to 1's teepad. And I wish hole 15's basket would never move from across the creek.

Update: A bit of repetitiveness with new Hole 11 and 17 being wide open with an elevated basket.

Other Thoughts:

This course separates the men from the boys. I don't have a huge arm, but the challenge of this course keeps me coming back. Need a few more of these in Northern Alabama.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
1 2
Glitch
Experience: 9.6 years 14 played 4 reviews
4.00 star(s)

Awesome Course 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Jul 8, 2016 Played the course:2-4 times

Pros:

This course has a great variety of shots. The course is also very well maintained. On my way through as I played there were workers taking care of the course. They could get in the way, but they are very polite.

Cons:

Dispite there being multiple baskets marked, they arent there at times. it can be confusing at times. Theres also alot of walking between basket to tee when transitioning.

Other Thoughts:

Great course, I'd want to play it again when it isnt the most hot out
Was this review helpful? Yes No
1 4
Tailwalker00
Experience: 28.7 years 44 played 4 reviews
5.00 star(s)

This place was AMAZING ! 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Nov 2, 2015 Played the course:once

Pros:

EVERYTHING: TEES, Hole design, FLOW, Bathrooms, Alum. benches, HD Tee signs. Well Kept, Green-way there but designed to be accesible but not in the way. IMO, The best in ALABAMA !

Cons:

Nothing other than the length which only some people find tho be a con.

Other Thoughts:

This place is great and is definitely worth the trip if you love great courses. We played in the rain the day we were there and yet still give it a 5 rating. Drainage and course so great!
Was this review helpful? Yes No
4 0
mattdabbs
Gold level trusted reviewer
Experience: 20.7 years 104 played 61 reviews
4.00 star(s)

2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Sep 26, 2015 Played the course:once

Pros:

I can see why this is the second highest rated course in the state. The course is beautiful and has plenty of challenge. The course is pretty easy to navigate. I took a map and had to use it on a few occasions but would have been alright without it. The course is very pretty...rolling hills with some long bombs and a few tighter holes around the walking track. Tee signs and pads were adequate...it would have been nice to know which pin placement it was in. This required a bit of scouting on a few holes to figure out where I was throwing. There was a really long hole on the back 9 that this really messed me up on throwing toward a row of trees with the pin tucked way back to the left but without knowing I just went straight ahead and lost a stroke or two. All of that speaks to the length of the course. Not a ton of birdies out there as the holes are pretty long with just enough OB to keep things interesting and make you either get creative or stick to the fairway. Undergrowth wasn't bad, which is a huge plus...losing a disc here would be pretty hard, another plus for the course. Benches were very, very handy and also made finding the next tee easier.

Just get ready to do A LOT of walking and you should be fine. It was nice how the course double back to the parking lot and had a bathroom facility at the start.

Just a heads up for first timers...when you walk up to the park and walk toward the course from the parking lot...walk out to the pad for hole 1 and throw along the tree line...the pin is tucked back into those woods, just be careful as there is a creek that runs alongside holes 1-2. You then have to cross the bridge and play a few tight blind holes that required a bit of scouting to figure out where I was throwing.

Cons:

No pin markers on the signs. Grass was pretty high preventing rollers, which would have been awesome on this course. Other than that...nothing really to complain about. This is a solid course and one that you definitely need to try out if you are in the area.

Other Thoughts:

Can't wait to play this course again some time. I played it pretty cautiously the first time through to not lose any plastic but now that I see that would be pretty hard to do I would play it more aggressively. Whoever keeps this course up...great job.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
1 0
top4874
Experience: 9.4 years 16 played 1 reviews
4.00 star(s)

2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Aug 13, 2015 Played the course:5+ times

Pros:

Beautiful course along a greenway. Good mix of wide open and narrow tunnel shots. Some long holes to test those with big arms but also requires accuracy.

Cons:

Grass isn't cut very often and it is very easy to lose a disc or five if you don't pay attention where your shots go. Even then you can lose them.

A bit of a challenge for those that don't have big arms. You really have to work for par on a good number of the holes and some of the par 3's should be par 4.

Sometimes families that don't know (or care) the course is there will picnic in the middle of some of the fairways.

Other Thoughts:

Overall a great course. Bring you big boy game for some of the longer holes.

If you don't have a bit arm just forget about scoring and enjoy the course.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
6 0
MiketheGoalie
Silver level trusted reviewer
Experience: 17 years 84 played 43 reviews
3.50 star(s)

Long, Hot Buzzy 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Jul 10, 2015 Played the course:once

Pros:

Plenty of elevation changes to keep the variety aspect high, plus a decent balance of righty and lefty fairway shots in the woods. The flow and navigation is pretty good with only one or two walk-and-hope trips between baskets and next tees. Typically, just follow the walking path and you're fine.

The biggest challenge on this course is the length. Seems like nearly every pin was in the longer position when I played on a recent July morning. About 75% of the course is in the open, so bring your sunscreen and your water. Lots of walking, lots of sweating. The back nine especially seem like plenty of grip, rip, repeat just to get you to the approach. Lots of the later holes have Par 4's to help the rec player out, but this course will wear you down which is a challenge in and of itself.

The creek is really only in play on 3 or 4 holes and usually only as a result of blowing past the basket on your approach. The rip-rap OB on 5 was a killer for me as multiple bad decisions had me card an 8 on that one...

Metal benches on every hole, garbage cans could be a little more plentiful however. That said, there wasn't much in the way of trash on the course and overall the park was in fantastic shape. Fairways in the open fields were a little longer than the mowed walkways and greens, but nothing egregious.

Cons:

There's no annotation of the pin positions on the signs and that makes for some scouting for new players. Given the length discussed above, this adds even more steps to a long course. Based on my walk of the course it doesn't appear the baskets get changed to other pin positions EVER. I honestly looked for alternate pin positions based on the signage and could rarely find sleeves in the ground. No obvious, beaten-in greens at those alternate locations either. If that's how the course is being utilized, maybe update the signage somehow? Even stickers or an update sign on the main course sign? Here's my understanding of the set-up when I played:

1-A; 2-A; 3-A; 4-A; 5-B; 6-A; 7-A; 8-A; 9-B; 10-A; 11-B; 12-B; 13-A (I think); 14-B; 15-A; 16-A, 17-A, 18-BOTH

The open field fairways are nearly wildflower plots in places. Sounds pretty. In reality, it means bees. Lots of bees. Mostly bumblebees (non-stinging) but still disconcerting when you're hunting your second drive in the mid-calf grass and dozens of Ghostrider's are buzzing the tower. That reminds me: Leave your green discs at home or you'll likely leave them at the course!

Holes A and B are just tees, no baskets and that's probably a good thing as those are the only holes that play over the walking path and near the dog park.

Other Thoughts:

This course is spread out around a large, popular park that features a playground, walking trails, a creek that runs through it, and plentiful picnic areas. A pavilion with water fountains is near #1's tee and the walkers and bike riders were out early on the midweek day I played. It takes a little navigating among the surrounding neighborhood to find the park, but it's definitely a hidden gem. This is a top-notch, well-maintained course. It's just more about endurance disc golf than tight lines and while challenging, the repetitive nature of that kind of course negatively impacts the fun. Maybe throw in a few more shorter pins to add some variety to the back nine?
Was this review helpful? Yes No
1 3
tnscboy
Experience: 28.8 years 42 played 4 reviews
4.50 star(s)

Long, fun course 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Dec 10, 2014 Played the course:once

Pros:

I love the changes in elevation and great diversity of throw lines. Good mix of long and short holes, mostly long.

Cons:

Sometimes unclear where next tee pad is, but I should have taken a pic of the clearly laid out map at the beginning of the course.

Other Thoughts:

I love this course, I am in town about twice a year, will definitely make sure I hit this course up every time.
Highly recommended!
Was this review helpful? Yes No
2 0
flickit
Experience: 10.3 years 7 played 1 reviews
4.00 star(s)

Good Course 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Oct 11, 2014 Played the course:5+ times

Pros:

This is a great course for anyone who wants a challenge or if you need to work on your driving form. Its long and open on most shots while still demanding some technique shots for getting to the basket.

Cons:

It can get really hot and humid on this course during the warmer months.

There are a couple of holes (ahem 2, 4 and 14) that are really tight tunnel shots. That in itself would not be bad but the foliage on either side is quite thick and you can lose your disc VERY easily.

Other Thoughts:

This is one of my go to courses to have fun. I would recommend playing this one with Brahan springs so as to work on technical shots as well as distance.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
1 2
mateo4815
Experience: 9.9 years 32 played 6 reviews
5.00 star(s)

Great for Long Throws 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Aug 4, 2014 Played the course:once

Pros:

- Wide variety of shots
- Some very long holes
- Well maintained
- Good signage
- Bench at every tee pad
- Very challenging

Cons:

- Sometimes difficult to determine pin position when the basket isn't visible from the tee
- Course can become very difficult for people who don't throw very far

Other Thoughts:

This course was very nice and definitely one of my favorites. The park can be busy at times and there may be some waiting for joggers or bikers to pass by before you throw.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
4 0
Loomis
Experience: 16.7 years 519 played 14 reviews
4.00 star(s)

Worth the effort 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Jun 24, 2014 Played the course:once

Pros:

Challenging course and a great use of the space. It's fair and the mental challenges are just as tough as the lines. You don't have to be a big arm to be successful on this course. It's long and there are holes where distance is an advantage but unlike some courses that stress distance as the only challenge this course uses it as an added layer to the game play. Like all courses; putting confidently is what rules the day.

Cons:

The tall grass issue is real if you get off the fairway. This is pasture land with creeks and running trails crossing through it. There are times when finding the disc will be more challenging than hitting the right line.

The first two holes A and B do not exist so do not play them. Go to hole 1 and don't waste your time.

Other Thoughts:

Of the three courses I played in the area this was by far the best.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
1 1
ChrisL430
Experience: 16.9 years 66 played 3 reviews
4.50 star(s)

The Creek 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Jul 9, 2013 Played the course:5+ times

Pros:

- Great mix of holes
- A bench on ever hole
- Long pads and short pads on multiple holes to allow shorter arms a little relief
- Great Discatcher Pro baskets
- This course has a great run of par 4s that require different lengths and type of shots to get to the baskets
- Bathrooms at the beginning of the course

Cons:

- Sometimes the city lets the grass get a little to tall before cutting it.

Other Thoughts:

This course is a World Championship level course. If you can only play one course in Huntsville, this is it. The mix of wooded/open/uphill/downhill is great. It's a little on the longer side but I've seen people with shorter arms put up very good scores by being consistent.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
8 0
davetherocketguy
Gold level trusted reviewer
Experience: 19.6 years 114 played 105 reviews
4.00 star(s)

Great Variety 2+ years

Reviewed: Played on:Apr 18, 2013 Played the course:once

Pros:

- Well manicured park - at least it was when I was there.
- Baskets in good shape and this course was one where I actually appreciated the yellow bands that adorn the top of them for visibilities sake.
- There is a variety here that is rarely found anywhere with water hazards, wooded fairways, open field, fast greens and so on.
- There are benches scattered throughout which is definitely appreciated considering the length of this course.
- Excellent use of the existing topography.

Cons:

(Time to be picky - read these cons with a grain of salt and consider the score I am giving this course before giving me a hard time...lol)

- Several of the holes on the back nine starting with #9 going through #13 are just open and long just for the sake of being open and long. If there is any wind at all these holes are just brutal to the average player. Beginners will be discouraged and frustrated with these holes. #9 is absurd in the long position - 600+' uphill? Really?
- Some of the fairways play too close to the paved walkway that goes through the course for my taste and according to the signage is considered OB. There were several times I felt that being this close to that walkway was unneeded and posed unnecessary risk.
- The signage between holes could be updated a bit. Especially between #2 and #3 and #5 to #6.
- #18 seems to present hazards as well with the long basket and the walkway that goes down the middle of the fairway.

Other Thoughts:

Okay, picky cons aside this is a must play course in my opinion in the Huntsville area. I am really glad I stopped by and I think any disc golfer that appreciates a well designed course will love this place. It is going to kick the tail of any dg'er out there.

As with any wooded course (not a con just an FYI) there are the assorted assembly of critters and irritants so come prepared.

This course has tremendous potential for more holes. While I am not completely sure where exactly the park boundaries are it does seem like another 18 holes could be added easily.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
1 3
loraski
Experience: 12.7 years 110 played 7 reviews
4.00 star(s)

Lora 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Sep 26, 2012 Played the course:once

Pros:

My husband and I really enjoyed this course. We liked the mix of long open spaces and some narrow wooded ones as well.

Cons:

Some of the par's were a little unrealistic. More should have been par 4 or even 5 in this novice's opinion!

Other Thoughts:

It is a beautiful course in a great park setting. It took us 2 hours for our first time and it was great exercise.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
Top