• Discover new ways to elevate your game with the updated DGCourseReview app!
    It's entirely free and enhanced with features shaped by user feedback to ensure your best experience on the course. (App Store or Google Play)

Tallahassee, FL

Jack McLean Park

3.485(based on 30 reviews)
Filter course reviews

Filter reviews

Filter reviews

Jack McLean Park reviews

Filter
10 0
thrembo
Diamond level trusted reviewer
Premium Member
Experience: 49.1 years 242 played 195 reviews
3.50 star(s)

The Hard One 2+ years

Reviewed: Played on:Feb 24, 2022 Played the course:once

Pros:

The course features two sets of nice large grippy tees, nice tee signs, and plenty of fairway and navigation aids. The course is mostly set in a heavily wooded area and features plenty of decent northern Florida elevation changes. The course has the length and difficulty that better players crave. The course has a couple of signature-ish holes and is fairly scenic. The course is well maintained, for the most part.

Cons:

The course might not be in the best neighborhood but the locals we encountered were friendly and we didn't have any problems.

Some of the tee signs were missing and there was a little trash here and there. I think they might have just had a tournament at the course though so the course overall was in good shape.

The course is long and difficult with plenty of elevation changes so it's probably not the best course for low-level recs, new throwers, and those with a weak constitution.

The course occasionally plays near other park features and randoms sometimes mosey through the fairways.

Other Thoughts:

A solid course that whipped our asses and wore us down but we still had a fun round. Maybe more of a should play than a must-play for me, provided you have the endurance to make it around!
Was this review helpful? Yes No
4 1
gatoremt
Experience: 4.3 years 10 played 8 reviews
5.00 star(s)

Might be one of the hardest drive by

Reviewed: Updated: Played on:Jan 8, 2022 Played the course:5+ times

Pros:

This is a Very Tight and wooded course. Lots of elevation changes. If you have an issue with hitting your lines, you are not going to have a good day. Most baskets are heavily guarded with trees.

Cons:

This layout is has been updated. The city does not have a dedicated crew to keep it mowed and limbs cut back. So the area has a lot of growth. This is why a lot of the baskets are now kinda hidden. Local kids walk through the course and drop trash pretty often.

Other Thoughts:

Bring your own drinks. Not much water on the course. Do not come thinking you are going to shoot your best game. This course has been known to knock a lot of Pros down. If you shoot an even round that is above a 950 rated round. I use to really hate this course. The more I have played it, the more I love it. Really hoping the city will allow for a redesign of this course.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
14 0
blake833
Gold level trusted reviewer
Experience: 14.2 years 160 played 140 reviews
3.00 star(s)

hooooooweeeeeee 2+ years

Reviewed: Played on:Dec 18, 2021 Played the course:once

Pros:

Jack McLean seems like a well beloved old dog for the tallahassee area. It's been a round a long time, but i went out there early on a saturday morning and by the time i was 9 holes in there were already about 8 or 9 other golfers starting a round.

Holes are long and wooded. The shorter holes, from the short tees, are still around 300' plus, with the minimum distance around 260'-280'. These average a little long, but maybe it was just bc it was the morning and my arm was not awake yet.

Tee signs were pretty good. It looked like a big tournament was coming soon or had happened maybe the weekend before, so everything was in great condition- even the circle had been marked on a lot of holes.

The course plays through some light woods on light hills/slopes around the park. It's pretty scenic. There's a couple water features (one on hole... 9 or 10? that's blind from the tee so just kinda be aware) that are incorporated nicely.

I was impressed with the length of the holes given what seems like a tight area. But they really don't feel crammed in there at all.

Cons:

The length of the hole coupled with the tightness/woodedness of the fairways makes the challenge here pretty advanced. My amature skills just couldn't keep up (plus i was way too ambitious on most holes).

That's really the big con. There's not much else to complain about, but there wasn't really anything that made me think "wow this is great design" or "wow this is stunningly beautiful" either.

Other Thoughts:

But it is a decidedly Good course. If it was a little more accessible for those who wanted to go for the basket off the tee, then a 3.5 would be a given. But right now it's just asking a little too much, a little too dependent on luck.

This old-dog of a course still has a lot of teeth, but a good player can make it heel. A regular player like me just has to have fun but be ready for some rough play lol
Was this review helpful? Yes No
4 0
Dscgl4
Bronze level trusted reviewer
Experience: 30.1 years 164 played 18 reviews
2.50 star(s)

Some great holes, many repetitive holes 2+ years

Reviewed: Played on:Sep 5, 2018 Played the course:once

Pros:

I played from the Blue tees so this review is targeted for the long placements. The course is well signed with a handful of creative and challlenging holes on the front ten and last four or five holes. The elevation is used well and the fairways are well defined. There are concrete pads for every hole and I had little problem navigating the course. The first ten holes are generally tight in their lanes but fair and with little undergrowth. The holes are long so strategy comes in to play with many needing a good placement and an upshot to bag the three. A few birdie opportunities. The course appears well maintained and the baskets are in good shape, but it doesn't seem like it gets a lot of play.

Cons:

When I was here the tee pads were damp from previous days' rain and covered with detritus, making them slippery (and many I just drove from behind or off the side). Holes 12-19/20 are generally repetitive and ultimately not a lot of fun. The fairways are around 40 feet wide with deep unpleasant undergrowth off the sides. They are long enough that there's not really a good run, which results in two mid range shots up the middle and a putt for three (hole 15 is a challenging exception). Don't get me wrong, a few of the holes would have been a nice complement to the others, but nine of them in a row quickly becomes repetitive.

I was there when the nearby schools dismissed, so had a lot of foot traffic through the park--not too bad but delayed the game a number of times. Otherwise, the course was empty.

Other Thoughts:

This would be a great 18 hole course if you cut out half of the filler holes. The middle nine might be more interesting from the red tees, but from the blue tees it's a rather humdrum experience. The rough is so rough I lost a midrange XD on what looked like a great shot landing about 40 feet short and to the right of the pin (hole 20). That was the only casualty of the day, but illustrates part of the problem. Early fall the spiders are out and really creepy here--webs between trees that look like they could catch a small child, and a spider the size of my palm was hanging in a web between basket 15 and a near by tree.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
10 0
jrodkelly1
Experience: 30 played 7 reviews
4.00 star(s)

A Truly Wooded Course 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Aug 15, 2017 Played the course:5+ times

Pros:

DESIGN
It says a lot about a course when no matter how bad I play I enjoy playing the course. That is what Jack is to me.
This course offers challenges for all players
The Fairways are Fair and rewarding (with few exceptions)
Most holes are birdie able with few exceptions as well.
Moderate Elevation is used very well and makes the course more fun and more challenging.
Favorite holes- 8, 10,14 the infamous ? mark hole, 15, 16,19, 23. Some of these holes are people's least favorite, but it's only for the level of difficulty. I appreciate their uniqueness.
BEAUTY
The course is the most beautiful wooded course I've ever played it. The slight elevation adds a great challenge to the course. There is even one pond hole, but it is rarely full so its hard to say that there is a water feature on the course. None the less the trees here are incredibly beautiful, don't pass by this place if you are in the area. The tree's also make for great shade from the Florida sun.
BASKETS TEE'S
Some people don't like the baskets here. I have moderate spin on my putts so I don't spit out much on these baskets. If you have a lot of speed on your putts be careful if you aren't hitting the pole. The Tees are average to above average. So as far as baskets and tee's go I'm pleased.


Cons:

Jack does has some strange Pars I will say. Everything is a par 3 except hole 10, and 16. Hole 10 in my opinion may be a little short for a par 4. I think if you can make the first gap you can three fairly consistently. 2 is also possible with a fantastic slight turnover tee shot.
16 is probably a fair par 4 since the first drive demands more of a placement shot. Although once I was only 60-70 feet from the basket with my first shot, but ill probably never be able to shoot that well again.
The one hole that is a true par 4 is 15. It's a tight uphill low ceiling dog leg left. the most perfect drive will leave you 70-80 feet short. the fairway also gets tighter and there is a huge oak tree you have to throw around to give yourself a putt.
very difficult birdies/-1, you can have a great drive but you will probably need to make a long uphill putt with trees in the way. 2, fairway kind of disappears at the end, 3, open then way to tight, 15-near impossible 2
My biggest problem with jack is that almost every hole requires a straight shot. It just needs more variety in that regard.

Other Thoughts:

Jack Mclean's difficulty does not make it a bad course. There may be one poke and hope shot from the tee, and the par player can get a good score here you just have to hit the fairways. So please stop giving courses bad rating for difficulty. That being said if you love wooded courses this course is for you. One of my favorite courses I've ever played. Enjoy a shaded round in Tallahassee.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
3 3
drew2000
Experience: 9.7 years 82 played 6 reviews
3.00 star(s)

Hardest course I have ever played 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:May 27, 2017 Played the course:once

Pros:

This course will challenge the best of all players there are.

Mach III baskets catch much better than I expected them to.

Cons:

This course is so challenging, it just gets very frustrating unless you are throwing truly amazing shots. Around hole 18-20 I got to a point where I was just ready to finish the round and get back to Tom Brown.

Mach III baskets are very very very difficult to spot on this course and is best to play with people that really know the layout and can try to help guide you to the basket

Other Thoughts:

This is definitely the hardest course I have played, and although it was a good course, there wasn't a single hole on the course that made me think "wow this is a great hole" most of the holes feel like you're playing the same hole over and over because of how insanely tight the fairways are. I would've given it a better rating if it had at least one of these types of holes,
Was this review helpful? Yes No
9 0
wellsbranch250
Diamond level trusted reviewer
Premium Member
Experience: 10.4 years 665 played 645 reviews
3.50 star(s)

Very Challenging Course 2+ years

Reviewed: Played on:Mar 26, 2017 Played the course:once

Pros:

(3.593 Rating) Perhaps the most challenging course in Florida.
- CHALLENGING - If you love a good beat down, then you'll love this course. Hands down the toughest course I've played in Florida. (68 Florida courses played as of this review) It's neither the longest or tightest course in the state, but it's way up there in both aspects. At a recent tourney, only 3 open players broke par from the blue (back) tees. These players had personal ratings of 1030, 1027 and 991. 37 other open players shot over par. All 31 advanced players shot over par as well with the best score coming in at +6.
- SHOT SHAPING - Some serious thought process will take place on most tees. You better have both a forehand and backhand perfected or you're going to be seriously handicapped here. Some holes you'll need to be a magician to avoid all the obstacles before you.
- ELEVATION FOR FLORIDA - Compared to the all the Florida courses that I've played as of this review, Jack McLean has the most elevation usage as a total, but not the most elevated shots on an individual hole basis. There are more than a dozen holes with a tee to basket grade difference over 20 feet. That stated, I don't think any of these change by more than 35 feet. So elevation yes, but nothing like the courses in the Appalachian foothills and mountains.
- UNIQUENESS - In addition to the elevation, the overall variety of the sum of the holes is above average. There's a really good dog leg right on hole (10). There a nice 300 foot water clear on (5) from the blue tees, which was my favorite hole and was the only time I shot from the blue tees. Hole (21) has a fun split elevated fairway element to it. However, this course is short of the uniqueness of nearby Tom Brown. No par 5, no true dogleg left, just one water play, no open holes, and no clear iconic hole. In addition, the final 14 holes play up, down, up, down, up, down, up, down... Which oddly becomes sort-of annoying after 8 or 9 holes.
- CHARACTER - I found the disc golf extras and amount of comfort items to be above average. First and foremost, 2 sets of concrete tees and with holes signage at every tee box. The tees are also in the shade in every instance. The blue concrete tees could be a bit longer in length but I'd still rate the teeing experience well above average. Other niceties include shelters with picnic tables along the layout and the baskets are in great shape. If I could add some items, I'd add some more benches (only saw a couple), put in multiple pin placements and build a third set of shorter tees.
- SPACING - The course is laid out really well. I don't recall any times of being in an adjacent fairway and the walks from basket to next tee always seemed less than 200 feet.
- RAW BEAUTY - The natural beauty of this course is top notch. Among the better ones I've seen in a Florida course. lots of cool terrain, lots of sloping fairways and lots of older big pines to avoid. I read on many other reviews stating that trash was an issue. It's either been rectified or I got lucky to be there after a major clean up. I really didn't see that much trash at all.

Cons:

Jack McLean is limited in its reach.
- SKILL LEVEL FRIENDLY - Way too difficult for beginners and recreational players. There are 2 sets of tees, Blues (adv) and Reds (rec). But they play more like Gold (pros) and Blues (adv). As a players with about a 900 rating, I didn't even crack par from the red tees. Jack McLean would really benefit by adding a third set of true Red tees. I'd be willing to bet that many local players play this course once and then stick with Tom Brown going forward. I played my round here on a nice Sunday afternoon, and I was the only soul throwing.
- OVERGROWTH - I played in late March just as the vegetation re-growth was starting to come back a bit and found myself searching quite often. If you play this course in the summer near the peak overgrowth period, you may end up leaving a few disks behind as well taking home a bruise or two. In addition, I spotted poison ivy.
- FORGIVENESS - From the short tees, if you can't throw consistently 325 to 350 threw a 20 to 25 foot wide lane, you're going to find yourself scrambling for par. If its summer, and your disc cuts into the overgrowth, you'll probably consider bogie a treat.
- FLAWED HOLES - There a couple holes out here that are just plan unfair. Hole (3) is the best example which starts out fairly wide. But then makes an abrupt turn down a 6' foot wide lane about 250 feet from the tee. Discs don't fly straight, turn 20 degrees, and then fly straight again. A smart player should probably lay-up to the lane and then run a hundred foot birdie try, rather than risk the random draw of a likely ricochet.

Other Thoughts:

I consider the challenge a course presents a major pro in my ratings. However, when there's a course like Jack McLean, that really only caters to one skill level set, it will be slightly impacted in its overall score thru my scoring method. Had this course had a more reasonable set of short third tees and also the widening of just a couple brutal holes, this course would probably score a 4. I very much enjoyed the challenge, but I will be back at Tom Brown the next time I'm in Tally.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
7 0
epicrat
Experience: 8.7 years 14 played 7 reviews
4.00 star(s)

Underrated course 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Oct 3, 2016 Played the course:once

Pros:

I just played this course yesterday for the first time, despite living in Tally for over a year. It took some balls to try a course other than ol' reliable -- Tom Brown.

I'm gonna give a rating for each aspect (all going under pros, just treat this as the whole review)

Difficulty: 9/10 this course thoroughly rustled my jimmies. There are lots of trees and thick brush you must avoid. Also a few water holes (two retention ponds, though only one had water in it as of 10/3/16) Don't be fooled, though, it's still a ton of fun.

Cleanliness: 4/10 Unfortunately there is a LOT of litter. Not much else to say besides pick your sh*t up when you're done with it. Also, there were some fallen trees in the fairway that you have to climb and throw over. Not too difficult.

Signage: 9/10, solid signage. A few holes have like 100-200 feet between them but most have small signs with arrows to the next hole. If not, there's a wear-n-tear trail you can follow to find your way.

Population and community: ?/10 My dad and I were the only ones on the course. I don't know if it gets crowded on weekends/evenings or not, but weekday mornings are dead quiet.

I think this is a solid 4-star course. I feel the reason it's a little lower is the difficulty. You should NOT go to this course expecting it to be middle-of-the-road difficulty and be pissed when you lose a couple discs. It is unforgiving and pretty dang hard. It is well spread out, not crammed onto two acres. Some elevation changes but nothing too crazy.


Was this review helpful? Yes No
10 0
S.Cann
Gold level trusted reviewer
Experience: 15.2 years 158 played 83 reviews
4.00 star(s)

Jack McLean 2+ years

Reviewed: Played on:Dec 26, 2014 Played the course:once

Pros:

-Tight fairways abound on this course! This is a wooded-courses lover's dream.
-You will use every shot in your arsenal.
-The entirety of the course is shaded, so it would be the perfect course to play in the heat of Summer.
-I found navigation out here to be pretty easy.
-varied elevation (both up hill and down hill shots)
-Impressively, Jack McLean is moderately hilly.
-While the park itself is not DG only, the areas designated for DG are not multi-use as many parks like to do.

Cons:

-The biggest con for me was the overuse of blind holes. A few per course is fine, but we had to walk up and look for just about every single basket.
-This course really needs better signs. There were 2 or 3 tee pads on most every hole and it was extremely rare that all tees had signs accompanying them. Even when there were signs present they were not very accurate as it only gave you a vague line which did not always finish where the basket actually was.
-I threw way more FH on this course than I normally would (and I'm usually 50/50) as this course overused having holes finishing to the right. I also did not throw a single distant driver (despite some decently long holes).
-All tee pads were at least partially covered and many were nearly completely covered in sand, dirt, pine needles, leaves, etc.

Other Thoughts:

This is a very challenging course that will leave you frustrated at times, but can be very rewarding when you hit your line just right. I made a day of playing this course and pairing it with the nearby Tom Brown and they just go so well together.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
4 0
Scottsan
Experience: 22.2 years 8 played 3 reviews
3.50 star(s)

The Trees 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Nov 15, 2014 Played the course:2-4 times

Pros:

The course plays through the woods surrounding a recreation/community center, so facilities are easy to find. Plenty of shade and a nice walk. And once you start throwing, you won't be bored. Definitely not a "pitch-and-putt" course. If you like a challenge, this is the course for you. I found myself using every technique I knew (and some I didn't).

Cons:

The map online has the holes numbered (and placed) differently. The signs (where present) are very rudimentary. (When the signs aren't there, you're often throwing blind or walking through the woods to find the baskets . . . which are older, hard-to-see DisCatchers.) Sometimes there is one tee, sometimes three (most often two).

Other Thoughts:

I live a bit closer to Tom Brown Park, so I play there all the time. II find that one to be better suited to my intermediate level. I can't fault Jack McLean for being difficult, but I can for the poor signage. I'm used to having a good idea where the basket is, even if I can't see it. Going hole to hole isn't as much of a concern as tracking where you're supposed to go from the tee box (and WHICH tee box) to the basket. With better signs, this could easily be a marquee course.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
5 0
reposado
Diamond level trusted reviewer
Experience: 13 years 278 played 276 reviews
3.50 star(s)

2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Oct 21, 2014 Played the course:once

Pros:

McLean is not without flawed holes, but there are a lot of good ones here. Once it has a few holes under its belt, the course begins to produce tight throwing lines through fairly dense woods with a surprising amount of elevation. There may not be anything resembling a signature hole but almost all of them are quality. They are definitely tight, though overly tight for intermediate level players. You will be asked to keep a disc on a straight line for up to 200 feet. You will be asked to hang graceful anny lines. And really, you are going to be asked to throw lines that bend at multiple points.
A ton of variation here, with all of the holes bringing something unique. There is one stretch of holes where you play an up hole then a down hole a few times in a row. But each time the shape is different. You won't be bored.
While some of the lines are unusual, they are mostly fair. What you won't find are random trees in the middle of a fairway. You hit the line, you are good. McLean does punish missed drives. Go off the mark, you will hit a tree. You will likely get kicked into thick brush. There are some spots where disc searches may be difficult but as long as these are in places where you will only land if you screw up, I don't mind them. It's like Magnolia in that way. The best way to describe McLean might be a shorter Magnolia with more narrow fairways. And a bit less precision in the design. But on the other hand a lot more elevation

Cons:

For most of the course there are next tee arrows where needed but man, were the first three transitions tough without them. The map as downloadable here is not very helpful either and I spent a significant amount of time trying to find the third tee.
Similarly, the tee signs themselves are completely vague. They don't help you identify the shape of the fairway and many areas that look like good landing zones end up being thick brush. Lots of good lines to throw here, but without good tee signs, it is hard to identify what a give fairway is calling for without having played the course a few times.
And that underbrush gets thick quickly. Not a great beginner course as they might spend as much time looking through brush as throwing. Unless they play overly cautious.
Some might complain the fairways often ask for too many bends, or create forced layups too often. I enjoyed throwing most of them, but rarely is there anything like an intended landing zone.
The main flaw of the course is that it doesn't start well. In addition to early navigation problems, the first few holes are pretty much the worst on the course. Rather than carved out of thicker woods, these traverse slightly open woods with scattered trees that don't really make for real throwing lines. It took till hole 8 or so before I realized that I was playing some pretty good holes.

Other Thoughts:

I'm not sure what I think about the water carry. It's unlike any other I've seen as you thrown down the length of the pond instead of over the width. To truly carry would be very impressive and reward a player with a birdie chance. Buuut, any hyzer on the toss will mean that you just throw as far as you can and you will land safely to the left of the water. I might like it, I don't know. It's interesting.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
6 0
macfleming1
Experience: 41.1 years 84 played 10 reviews
4.00 star(s)

Tallahassee Gem 2+ years

Reviewed: Updated: Played on:Aug 23, 2014 Played the course:2-4 times

Pros:

One of my new favorite courses, located in a beautiful park. It's very technical, but not overly long. Many holes have two or three tee pads; all concrete and well sized. There are lots of trees, but they are downright unreasonable (i.e. virtually no fairway) on only 2-3 holes. Elevation changes are great (rare in Florida). Signs are satisfactory, so the course is relatively easy to navigate.

Cons:

Very few/minor cons in my opinion. Left-to-right-curved drives noticeably outnumbered straight or right-to-left drives. As a right-hander, I ended up driving with a forearm flick way more than usual. You will indeed be punished when you leave the fairways, so choose a brightly colored disc when driving. Very few benches and trash cans.

Other Thoughts:

In town only briefly, I almost didn't play because it was 100 degrees out. So glad I did! And the ample shade helped. Earlier reviews mentioned trash and a bad element; I'm happy to report the park was super clean, especially on the course, and the two locals I passed exchanged greetings with me. The Parks Dept map is not accurate. Look for the rules sign to the right of the parking lot--the first tee is there. Loop north around the pool center, then the course zig-zags counter-clockwise around the perimeter of the park.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
1 0
dutch_22
Experience: 30.1 years 61 played 4 reviews
4.50 star(s)

Be Brave 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Apr 26, 2014 Played the course:5+ times

Pros:

This course has it all. Tight fairways throughout a wooded canopy, varied elevation (both up hill and down hill shots), and varied flight paths. There are some big arm throws however, they must be controlled throws. There are signs on every T pad, and most T pads are concrete or heavy carpet with good traction. This is by far the most challenging course in the state of Florida. Do not miss playing this course as it will prepare you for anything else you will encounter elsewhere. The course is usually well mowed, and downed trees/limbs of size are usually removed quickly as well. The course plays through areas in the park that are used for nothing but disc golf. You will have the place to yourself.

Cons:

OK, so this is Florida. Those of you that complain about mosquitoes are just out of touch. Just bring bug spray and deal with it. Contrary to popular belief, there are two restrooms, one by hole 4 and another by hole 12. You don't find many more than that at other parks. There is also a good map and scorecard posted at this website and the parks and rec website as well. I encourage you to download it since you won't find them at the park. Yes, this course does boarder a low income neighborhood, and yes those that cut through do drop trash. It is disappointing. The course could use more benches and trash cans, but then again, that is common among most reviews. All in all, the only con's are the neighborhood, some trash, and the challenge to your own ability.

Other Thoughts:

Bring a friend. It sure helps to have a spotter when you play this course in that you can be punished with an errant drive. This course is hard, but hey, it's the hard that makes it great!
Was this review helpful? Yes No
2 3
westflagator
Experience: 12.5 years 26 played 10 reviews
3.50 star(s)

F%$KING Hard 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Apr 18, 2013 Played the course:once

Pros:

Really can't say much here. Very tough course. Signs on the course are good with telling you where to go.

Cons:

Very tight fairways. Baskets need to be flagged or painted. Very hard to see in thick woods.

Other Thoughts:

Unless you can throw fast stuff very straight throw slow stuff and try not to get out of fairways. Very tough to get out of woods.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
3 0
BigArmProductions
Experience: 23.8 years 2 played 1 reviews
3.50 star(s)

Most challenging course in Tally 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Apr 10, 2013 Played the course:5+ times

Pros:

Extremely wooded/narrow fairways
Thought provoking/disc selection
Takes skill, not dumb luck
Multiple tee pads to add variety
Challenging
Next to no one plays this course.

Cons:

Trash, trash, trash
Some more trash
Skeeters (not the disc, but that annoying blood-sucking beast)
Par is set WAY too low (I'd say be prepared to shoot in the upper 70s-low 80s from the short tees, and mid 80s to lower/middle 90s from the big boy tees). Although the set pars are achievable you have to be playing top tier dg. aka this scares away beginners.

Other Thoughts:

This course is my favorite course in Tally. There are really good elevation changes, extremely tight fairways, and various teepad locations. The toughest part of this course is keeping your mental game together. There is a lot of potential to hit trees within 20-30 feet off the teepad. This makes your second shot count more than anyone wants.
As stated in the cons section this course is super trashy. We, as disc golfers, should be in constant contact with the parks department asking them to help maintain it. I'm not sure what kind of relationship the local dgclub has with the parks dept, but it would be great to have a club clean up day. No matter who is wandering through the course I've never had anything but sincere questions regarding the game of disc golf, and hoots and hollers when a big throw is witnessed. Most of the folks, who are not playing, are simply passing through; and, for the most part, are probably completely harmless.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
4 3
willied
Experience: 13.2 years 6 played 3 reviews
2.50 star(s)

Decent Course, 2+ years

Reviewed: Updated: Played on:Apr 7, 2013 Played the course:once

Pros:

Lots of holes
Challenging
Signs on most holes

Cons:

Trash everywhere
Some holes lack signs
Amount of trees can get frustrating
Doesn't feel completely safe

Other Thoughts:

The course itself is pretty decent. It's laid out pretty well, and the course is challenging. There are a boat load of trees here, and a lot of the course is somewhat narrow. This did get frustrating for me. A lot of the holes are similar to each other so I would say there is somewhat of a lack of variety, but it's not too bad. A few holes change things up just enough to keep you from going insane. The last 6 or so holes get quite repetitive, though.

The area is a little bit sketchy. There are a lot of run-down houses surrounding the park and there is a lot of trash along the course, much more than I've seen at any other course, which is disappointing. Once we got to a certain hole there were some people sitting around blaring music from their car. The main reason we worried was because we had relatively expensive bikes on the back of the car, although we had a lock on them (not a very stout lock, though).

So all in all the course is decent, but probably not a place I'll be going to again. I enjoy the Tom Brown course more, and the park is much nicer as well.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
4 0
Notverygood
Silver level trusted reviewer
Experience: 14.9 years 76 played 35 reviews
3.00 star(s)

Another great course in Tallahassee 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Jan 29, 2013 Played the course:5+ times

Pros:

Challenging course with some neat hole layouts. Makes you really think about the correct disc/throw combination.

Decent elevation change.

Although overall a tight, tougher course, there are still several open fairways where you can really let it rip.

Easy to follow course layout, one basket leads right to the next tee.


Cons:

Lacks some general maintenance. Trash scattered around in some areas, rough tee pads at some holes and inaccurate or missing tee signs

Unfortunately in a rough area of town.

Other Thoughts:

A fun, challenging course within a 10 minute drive of another great course.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
4 1
flyingdisc
Experience: 13.1 years 18 played 17 reviews
3.50 star(s)

chewed on me, then spit me out 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Updated: Played on:Jun 16, 2012 Played the course:once

Pros:

-Nice Rules Sign
-Plenty of shade
-Pool near course
-Variety of tee pads on some holes
-Should keep the short tempered away

Cons:

-Only bathroom at Community Center
-Need bug spray
-No benches
-Not beginner friendley
-No maps
-Needs better basket identification from a distance (brighter color)
-Better tee pad signs would be nice

Other Thoughts:

I have played one other course like this in my year of playing disc golf and it is the brand new Inverness course in Hoover, AL.. Difficult (for me), yes, beginner friendly, no. I agree with another review, this course is not for the short tempered. I'm a little surprised this course has been here as long as it has and there have not been more improvements on the signs. More details on the tee signs would be nice. No benches that I can recall. The baskets were difficult to see at times, not because of the trees but because the only identification for locating the basket at a distance was the small block of orange on the pole in the middle of the chains. Holes were good length, but if you hit a tree on your opening drive, there is a good chance you will make bogey and be looking for your disc. Better bring your most accurate straight line discs as most of your drives are right down the pipe, and a good distance (check the pictures). Bring your bug spray as there were plenty of mosquitoes who were more than happy to see us. Tee pads were good with Am and Pro concrete pads. When you get too hot there is a nice community pool that the course circles. Nice locals. Must have went on a busy day as there were a LOT of people there, but only saw two others playing disc golf. Definitley need to practice more before going back as this course chewed me up and spit me back out.

06/09/13
Played this course for the second time and I now have a new respect for the course. Shot 6 better this round than I did the first time I played this course. Just have to practice and work on my shots!
Also adjusted my rating with a little more respect.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
9 0
Connor Jones
Gold level trusted reviewer
Experience: 14.1 years 76 played 35 reviews
4.00 star(s)

Enter the beast. 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Mar 20, 2012 Played the course:once

Pros:

Tight.
Tight.
Tight.

Lots of trees by the way.

Relatively nice teepads, I wish they were a bit wider but the length of them is solid enough to make up for it.

Defined paths inbetween holes, didn't need a map to play it.

Quite a bit of elevation, which when combined with some of the absolutely ridiculous hole shapes, makes for some really fun golf.

Cons:

This park is HUGE! When I played out here there were tonssss of people out here, saw at least 70 plus people while playing ON the course...none of them disc golfers, crazy loud music that you can hear all the way in the back of the woods, it's not a huge con but it is kind of annoying.

Other Thoughts:

I can't think of a lot of Pros and Cons but I can write about this course for days.

While this course is challenging, it is extremely fair. It has been worn in and there are almost no random limbs or trees to make you staying in the fairway an issue, the only thing to make this course difficult is YOU. Something I did with excellence.

These are some of the most awesome hole shapes ever, I can't think of the hole # off the top of my head, but the hole where you go about 300 uphill then about 270ish back in the direction you just came from almost..lol. So awesome. If you manage to stay in the fairway out here you will have a shit eating grin on your face, if not, well, sorry...
Was this review helpful? Yes No
6 0
allent
Experience: 15 years 39 played 6 reviews
2.50 star(s)

Tough & slightly scary! 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Updated: Played on:Dec 19, 2011 Played the course:once

Pros:

This course is extremely wooded and difficult, but is a great practice course in that it requires a ton of different shots from the tee, as well as from the woods, and pinpoint accuracy. Unless you are a true pro (and maybe even then) you will hit an early tree at some point(s) and will end up having to throw all sorts of wicked recovery shots that you just don't have an opportunity to throw very often. Playing this course and working on your game on these holes will make you a better player, there is no way around it. Just don't go here expecting to shatter par, especially from the back tees.

Cons:

I love a difficult, tight, wooded course, but this course borders on the insane. It almost feels like you are taking some sort of a final exam to graduate from a year-long anger management course, just to see if you can keep your cool. Some holes have one tee and others have 3...some are very rough concrete, others are different concrete, others are carpet, and 1 was dirt. The signs at the tees didn't seem to be very accurate or helpful beyond helping you know where the tee was located since most were completely covered in leaves. The back tees, on those holes that have them, didn't look like they'd been played in a while, but I guess that's understandable since the front tees (or middle, depending) give you all that you want and then some. I also found it odd the number of people (mostly kids) walking right through the course. I'm not sure why this is, but apparently there must be a school nearby and they use the paths through the course to get to the community center in this park. There was a good bit of trash scattered around and a few holes play right up close to the backyard of some pretty rough looking houses. I would not flirt with darkness on this course. Once the sun sets, be close to your car and ready to get out of dodge!

Other Thoughts:

This course just has so much potential. A few holes need some sort of throwing lane to at least attempt. I will, however, play this course again and recommend it to anyone looking for a challenge. I had to think on this course about my shot and the disc I would throw more than I can ever remember on any course I've played. As I mention, I do believe playing this course, especially developing any sort of proficiency on it, will make me a much better player and make other courses that I thought were tough and tight, not seem quite so bad. But I'll definitely make sure I have someone I know to play with and will be done by dusk.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
Top