Freeport, IL

Krape Park

3.335(based on 21 reviews)
Filter course reviews

Filter reviews

Filter reviews

Krape Park reviews

Filter
13 0
knobby325
Gold level trusted reviewer
Premium Member
Experience: 8.7 years 323 played 248 reviews
3.00 star(s)

Nice Park, Nice Course

Reviewed: Played on:Jun 22, 2022 Played the course:once

Pros:

-Concrete Tees (see cons)
-Baskets OK
-Mix of open, technical, some use of elevation
-Park upkeep is decent
-Many other activities in the park to enjoy

Cons:

-#11 Tee Pad faces wrong way (change in course a while back)
-#16B is a short, strange hole added at a strange point
-Signage is way past its prime (DGA Peel 'N Stick (TM))
-You need a map or guide to get around some of the course
-Couple of long transitions (#11->#12, #13->#14)
-Roads and walking trails in play on many holes

Other Thoughts:

Krape Park hosts a good DGC in the southwest part of Freeport, IL. A multi-use park with a large playground, amphitheater, mini-golf course, paddle boat rentals, fishing, and a number of walking trails. The DGC inhabits the western part of the park and only comes into play with the trails, roads and a shelter or two. Most of the holes are open with large trees to affect your lines. Hole #4 shoots across the road and into a narrow area up the hill. #5 is a narrow fairway within the wooded area. #8 is a sharp left around some brush. #10 is your ace run (my buddy hit the cage, just missing his) in a sharp valley. The transitions to get to and from #12 and #13 are a bit of a walk, you'll want a map or guide or Udisc for that. #16B is an oddity in that it shoots perpendicular to #16 and right across it. Seemed odd at the time. The roads and trails come into play on several holes (#2-4, #6-#8, #11-14, #16B-#18). Otherwise an enjoyable round. Should have checked out more of the park, but another time. Fix the #11 tee pad and replace the signage for an upgrade here. Overall, Krape, is good. :p I enjoyed the round and would play again, if in the area.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
3 0
JAL3
Experience: 9.7 years 28 played 4 reviews
3.00 star(s)

Worth the Drive 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Jul 27, 2018 Played the course:2-4 times

Pros:

This is the course you think of when you think "disc golf." It's got woods, obstacles, water hazard, open shots. short-moderate distance, and concrete tee pads.

Cons:

Hole 11 tee pad faces the wrong way since they moved the layout to not interfere with the walking path. It's actually perpendicular to the line of throw. 11 basket is down the hill, along the road at the end of the brush on the right. Basically shooting down the tree tunnel. This is the one grass tee pad, which is really a mud pad at this point.
Navigation around the course makes sense in terms of flow except 12 and 13. They're down the walking path by the bridge that crosses the river going towards the carousel. Then you have to walk back to 14, which starts where 11 ended.
Signage isn't really the best, and you have to spin in a circle a few times in some spots to figure out where you're going next.

Other Thoughts:

I love the atmosphere of this course, but an updated course map is an order.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
1 0
perklc
Experience: 8 played 3 reviews
3.00 star(s)

Pretty, great for newbies 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Sep 12, 2015 Played the course:5+ times

Pros:

Most of the course is pretty wide open, but does have some trees to add some challenge. There are a few holes that may be a bit more challenges as you throw through the woods (namely holes 4 and 5). It's a fun course that doesn't get too busy and is in a beautiful park.

All of the tee pads are cement, which is nice.

Additionally, there is a bathroom and a Pepsi machine near hole 1 that are easily accessible until hole 11.

Cons:

The signage could use an update. It's not terrible, but I think it could use some new signs.

It is in a popular park, so during peak times (weekends especially) you'll have to watch out for walkers, bike riders, and cars.

After a few days of rain, or any good, hard rain, the lower holes (11-15) are pretty flooded and stay flooded for quite some time.

Other Thoughts:

It's not the greatest course in the world, but it is a fun course in a beautiful park.

Just to correct something a recent reviewer had said: hole 11 is not at the top of the hill, throwing downhill over a switchback walking trail. That is the tee pad for the previous hole 11. In order to find the actual tee pad for hole 11, when looking at the number 10 basket from the #10 tee direction, look to the left, and you will see a walking path that takes you to the switchback. Follow that down to the very bottom of that hill, and the #11 tee pad will be on the right.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
1 0
dwbaker
Experience: 28.8 years 50 played 9 reviews
3.50 star(s)

Summer fun 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Jul 28, 2015 Played the course:5+ times

Pros:

Number of great options besides disc golf. Twin caves, paved trail for walking/biking, Flagstaff for picnic, boats for river canoeing/paddling, playground beside disc golf course and below by the tennis courts and mini-golf course.

This course offers a number of different types of holes and requires some lefty turns and righty turns, some ups and downs.

Cons:

A bit buggy on holes 3-5. A few holes have changes since I played a few years ago. Hole 6 has a new basket location which helps as it was near a bush that ate many discs in the past. Hole 8 has a nice tea pad to throw, do not miss left towards the run off creek as there is a lot of poison ivy on the banks. Hole 11 tee pad is on the other side of the road. Be aware that you are throwing all the way down the hill and there is a switchback trail where you are throwing. Be sure to check if it is clear and/or have someone watch for you. After hole 12, there is a long walk to your right by a couple benches and you'll come out the other side where hole 13 tee awaits.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
1 2
Pink69
Experience: 10.7 years 2 played 2 reviews
3.50 star(s)

Hilly and can be wet 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Jul 9, 2013 Played the course:5+ times

Pros:

A great challenge with the trees.Love the way the holes differ.Some uphill some downhill.Also a thru thru the trees.

Cons:

A lot of walking,had a few issues finding a few holes.Sometimes hard to throw with a lot of traffic.

Other Thoughts:

My personal best was par59
Was this review helpful? Yes No
2 2
buggzbrown
Experience: 14.7 years 3 played 3 reviews
4.00 star(s)

Home Field Advantage 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:May 1, 2013 Played the course:5+ times

Pros:

LOVELY park that the course is set in. This is my home course even though we have two in town, this is the one I and and almost everyone i know prefer. lots of challenging tree lined shots, also some nice open shots for new players. all around great course. play it nearly every day.

Cons:

WATER.... i know its a part of the game but two of the holes run directly next to the yellow creek. More than a few times wind has gotten under my disc and its gone for a swim.

Other Thoughts:

Not much bad i can say about this course. when your done disc golfing take a boat out on the creek or go mini golfing or play tennis this park is full of fun activities for an entire day.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
1 1
allonzy
Experience: 18.7 years 35 played 2 reviews
3.00 star(s)

Home Course 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Aug 12, 2012 Played the course:5+ times

Pros:

Mix and match of some wooded yet "fair" fairways and more open fairways. Grounds are well taken care of minus all of the dirt around the baskets, doesn't help that we are in a drought either. Some holes have 2/3 pin placements that help keep the course fresh each month.

Cons:

Hole 5 has a very narrow "fairway" that most players do not like. The opening in the trees does not follow down to the basket. Even though they are making attempts to change things, there are still a few holes that are way to easy and are obvious ace runs.

Other Thoughts:

This course has ALL concrete tees now and several of the baskets have new positions that many have not seen yet. We are in the process of adding in even more pin placements!
Was this review helpful? Yes No
5 0
harr0140
Diamond level trusted reviewer
Premium Member
Experience: 15.2 years 1508 played 475 reviews
3.50 star(s)

If iI's Not Scottish It's Not Krap 2+ years

Reviewed: Played on:Jun 16, 2012 Played the course:once

Pros:

1) Nice large kiosk with information on one side and a soda machine on the back side.
2) Nice large rectangular concrete tees are always appreciated.
3) DGA signs with Hole #, Par, Distance, and a Map are decent signs that help with figuring out where you are throwing.
4) Nice mix of open park like holes coupled with a handful of tight wooded holes.
5) Elevation in play on many holes including some faster greens (potential for roll-a-ways).
6) Excellent old park with mature Oaks and other trees.
7) There is a river in play but more than that it is a nice visual on the course. Couple that with the waterfall as you drive into the park and it is a beautiful property for disc golf.
8) Bathrooms are available at the 1st tee and 18th basket.

Cons:

1) Weedy thin turf throughout this course. Some areas are in decent shape, but many areas are thin.
2) There are some areas that are absolute jail . . . specifically left of #7 (a virtual cliff 45' to the left of the basket) and a few other areas near the woods with a lot of underbrush.
3) There are a couple places where the road is in play. You throw along the exit road on #1, over the exit road on #3, along the road on the big downhill #11, and along the road on #12.
4) They made some effort to indicate the next tee on the baskets but the signs were inconsistent and low quality. I appreciate the effort but wish it was perfect.
5) Compaction was evident in the woods from the limited fairways.

Other Thoughts:

I was 5' from losing my Ace Disc (5 aces with this disc) Star Gator on an approach along the river. Fortunately it held up in the grass and I nailed the 45' putt for my 3. That might have affected my rating of this course . . . just kidding. It is a solid course with excellent variety and elevation change. It is challenging for multiple reasons. It was also a beautiful course, lots of mature trees, a river, some nice tight wooded shots etc. I played this in the rain because I was on a mission that day to play a bunch of new courses but I do not feel the rain negatively impacted my impression of this course.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
1 3
juicebox
Experience: 14.7 years 19 played 3 reviews
3.50 star(s)

Gnarly Views and Possible Aces 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Apr 7, 2012 Played the course:once

Pros:

Who doesn't like a shot, at say, 8-10 realistic Aces?!? Very nice scenery around the park as well. I like how open it plays yet does present a few challenges with the more enclosed holes like #5(i think). Its also not too daunting of a course to take a child out frolfing with you.

Cons:

Not a fan of the wood chip tees. Bathrooms are a long ways away after the #11. Be aware if you're a "token" player, the Park Fuzz was well represented.

Other Thoughts:

I really dig this course! Its very beautiful and well maintained. I look forward to rocking this one again!
Was this review helpful? Yes No
4 0
notapro
Diamond level trusted reviewer
Premium Member
Experience: 20.6 years 568 played 281 reviews
3.50 star(s)

Beginner/Intermediate 2+ years

Reviewed: Played on:Oct 29, 2011 Played the course:once

Pros:

- Course is set within a large park that has holes weaving in and out amongst the various park roads. There aren't any other things to interfere with the DG, really, but waiting for cars is a real possibility.
- Large majority of the holes have pretty open fairways, with a few bigger trees to contend with. These force a variety of lines, with a multitude of various RHBH hyzers of differing lengths, as well as some straight shots. Usually there are a lot of different lines available, yet there are enough trees to make things interesting. Minor elevation changes also present here and there.
- Other holes have some cool features that stand out. Some very dense forest on holes #4, #5, and #10 demand big accuracy to avoid getting knocked down into some nasty areas. Decent elevation changes are present on these holes too. Water is present as well; to the left of #13's fairway and in front of #15's teepad. A steep cliff by #8 and #9 is another hazard; I don't know what you'd have to do to get your disc back there! A lot of walking perhaps.
- Great variety in hole length, there are a lot of ace runs with ten holes at or under 250', and also five holes over 315' (three over 400'). Helps to keep things interesting from start to finish.
- Mix of teepads from dirt to woodchips to concrete, all were decent except for some loose woodchip ones. Signs and baskets were good, navigation was not a problem especially with the map.

Cons:

- Overall, the course plays very short, and has a good amount of open shots. In other words, the difficulty isn't there for most of the round. If you can avoid the various hazards, be it jail, the water, or the cliff, it is very easy to score well here.
- A hefty amount of pavement here, to the point where it gets pretty annoying. Both an eyesore and a distraction, especially if there is any traffic at all.

Other Thoughts:

- All in all, a very fun course with some very cool shots. The elevated teepad over yellow creek on #15 is a fun bomber and highlights the round. Other holes with elevation changes and/or dense tree coverage help to provide some more fun and challenge. More experienced players won't be tested too greatly, and true beginners might lose a disc or two, otherwise it should be a good time for all!
Was this review helpful? Yes No
0 3
Pink-Discinator
Experience: 1 played 1 reviews
4.00 star(s)

newbee 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Aug 16, 2010 Played the course:2-4 times

Pros:

I liked the creativity of the course.I liked that alot of the course was short distance throws.

Cons:

For now course needs a touch up from the recent flood.

Other Thoughts:

Also like the fact that where the course is their are other options of entertainment.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
4 0
mashnut
Diamond level trusted reviewer
Experience: 22 years 831 played 767 reviews
3.00 star(s)

Pretty, but not very challenging 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Jun 19, 2010 Played the course:once

Pros:

The course plays through a very pretty park, with a large creek, some steep elevation changes, and great mature trees throughout the course. There are a few holes that bring the elevation into play for some fun downhill shots, and the creek is in play on a couple holes for a little added risk. There is a nice mix of holes that call for a right to left or left to right shot, it felt pretty balanced for right and left handed players.

There are decent tee signs with distance and layout to both pin positions on each hole. The alternate placements could change up the course and add a little more variety. The baskets are a little older, but catch well. The park is nicely maintained, all the grassy areas were mowed and there was not much trash or vandalism here.

Cons:

Way too many holes here bring park roads into play, it felt like more than half of them played along or over, and there was a good amount of traffic so we did a lot of waiting for cars. It could be a real safety issue if players aren't careful to look for cars, and the pavement can be hard on discs.

The course is pretty short, most of the holes are very reachable even for newer players, and the course is also a little short on challenge. I'm a low level intermediate player, and I easily shot under par here, more experienced players will find nearly all the holes birdieable. The course could have made much better use of the woods and the elevation changes, with only a couple taking advantage of either of these great park features.

There are a couple spots where navigation is not at all obvious, some next tee signs would be really helpful. I recommend printing the map before you go, it's accurate enough that it makes it much easier to follow the course. The tees are downright terrible, they have eroded quite a bit so most are muddy rutted pits, and many have tree roots sticking up through them. You don't need a runup very often on this course, but when you do, you might be better off throwing from next to or behind the actual tee to save your ankles.

Other Thoughts:

This course is a fun, quick round with lots of birdie runs, but it isn't worth a long trip by itself. Newer players will enjoy reasonable distances and few places to lose discs, but will be challenged to learn different shots to be successful here. More seasoned players won't find too many challenges here to keep it interesting.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
2 0
joster83
Experience: 17.6 years 4 played 1 reviews
3.00 star(s)

Great Intermediate Course 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Jun 13, 2010 Played the course:5+ times

Pros:

Krape is a good course that tests an intermediate players all-around game. The holes are mostly streamlined except for the long walk up a hill between 16 and 17. It demands quality shots on most holes, as the course is wooded on more than half of the course. It also forces you to utilize a controlled anhyzer on #5 and #17. A couple good elevation changes and 3 water hazard holes make it just tough enough to be fun. The park itself is one of the best in the region and really adds to the enjoyment of the course.

Cons:

There are picnic/playground/fishing areas in close quarters on 4 holes. But if you have good control you are in no danger of shooting through a swing set or over any picnic tables. Occasionally, #18 might have a soccer game in progress in the fairway. The course itself could be a little longer, as it is fairly easy to shoot par. And, the tee boxes consist of wood chips and dirt. Much too often, you have to watch your footing or line up to the sides of puddles that accumulate because of the wear.

Other Thoughts:

I do love Krape, as it is my home course and I have grown accustomed to the few cons. To a new player here, I believe you will find the technical part of the course and the ambiance great. But as you play more, you will start thinking about all the opportunities the park has to make it great.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
4 0
#19325
Diamond level trusted reviewer
Experience: 22.7 years 351 played 175 reviews
3.00 star(s)

Awesome Park! Ok golf. 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Oct 26, 2004 Played the course:once

Pros:

As I was driving into this park I started to go crazy. I couldn't believe how big & beautiful this park was. You have to drive quite a ways thru this winding road to get to the first tee. On the way in there is a river, ravines, woods, & some great elevation.

Some nice elevation in areas with uphill an downhill shots.

Baskets are in good shape.

Good beginner course. Works all shots of a mid range game.

There are 6 or so really good holes.

Water comes into play on several holes.

Cons:

Print a map and use it. This course can be hard to navigate in a few places.

The tee pads are uneven and muddy after rain.

This is a short course that lacks challenge. Measures around 4,500 feet. This is a par 54 course.

Other Thoughts:

I was pretty disappointed with this course. The land avaliable could have an awesome course on it. I felt the design was average at best and did not maximize the potential this land offered.

Check out my Illinois Top 10.
http://discontinuum.org/index...1486.msg68704#msg68704
Was this review helpful? Yes No
3 1
bisket1978
Experience: 16.6 years 6 played 6 reviews
4.00 star(s)

Best course in the Midwest!! 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Dec 3, 2009 Played the course:5+ times

Pros:

This beautiful park is host to some of the best, and most diverse holes I have seen.
From Aceable par 3's, to challenging, densely wooded par 4's, as well as medium length open and tree-lined par 5's, this course has it all!
Scenic views surround each hole, and elevation changes make this a unique course to play.
With so much to do at this park, you could easily spend the entire day there, and yet it's close enough to other nearby courses to make it a full day of Frolfing too!
Challenging par 4 over the Yellow river on hole #15 from the pro tee.
At least 2 or 3 Ace opportunities.

Cons:

Not too many cons here.
Some of the baskets are behind obstructions, making it extremely challenging to hit chains.
Tends to flood after heavy rains on 14, 15, and 16.
Picnic areas on hole 18, make it difficult, but only because people don't realize they are in the way!

Other Thoughts:

Overall, I am very satisfied with this course. Yes, I do live here, but I don't believe my review would change if I didn't. I have played some of the nearby courses, and while some of them are o.k., Krape beats them all by a longshot. A very well maintained, clean and scenic course. Fun for all skill levels.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
1 3
Keithzilla
Experience: 19.7 years 65 played 5 reviews
1.50 star(s)

(not so) Solid course (anymore) 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Updated: Played on:Apr 20, 2016 Played the course:5+ times

Pros:

-Hole diversity. There's a beautiful bevy of shots to be had. (edit - most of the holes were recently simplified to cater to the numerous toddlers that frequent the course.) Numerous terrains. Nice use of elevation changes on #3, #4, #5, #10, and #11. The course plays through both the woods and open areas of the park.

-Nice concrete tee pads. up until recently this course was dirt/chip pads, and absolute hell on your ankles. Footing was hard to come by and your drives suffered. The new pads are nice.

-Nice multi-use park setting right in the middle of town. The course is easy to get to, and makes a nice family outing setting if you bring your peeps out for the day.

-Pet and stroller friendly. I take my 2 year old with me all the time, and we do just fine here in a jogger.

-Baskets are older but still in nice shape with very grabby chains. Not as visible from a distance as other manufacturers, but adequate.

-Very sociable course. There's always friendly people playing if you're looking to meet new people. (Edit: this is no longer true. Last time I was here someone just grumbled and ignored me. The local club Facebook page is nothing other than constant arguments and tweeny girl drama. no thanks.)

-Krape is in the hub of a number of good courses, making it a nice course to drop by and play on your way to Rockford, Madison, Quad Cities, etc. (Edit: They've made this course so easy it's not worth a stop anymore)

-The course isn't terribly dense, so errant shots aren't hard to find. This is a bigger deal than everyone thinks. A course is either wide open and boring, or so wooded you can't take a beginner with you because you'll spend all day looking for discs. The undergrowth in the woods is nicely beaten down. Lost discs are pretty rare.

-Nice kiosk with rules and event postings at hole #1.

Cons:

-Busy multi-use park puts non-golfing pedestrians and picnickers in the middle of the course. Hole #7 plays dangerously close to a popular playground. Picnickers have a tendency to pull tables out of the shade and into fairways on occasion.

-Roads come into play too often on this course. On holes #1, #2, #3, #4, #10, #11, #12, #14, #15, and #16 the road could potentially be a problem for both motorists and pedestrians. You actually throw over the road on #2, #4, #11 and potentially #3 if you take the hyzer route. Hole 11 is especially dangerous because it is a short downhill shot and another road is approximately 20 feet beyond the basket, both of which are blind from the tee box. (Edit: it's worse now. there's a new walking path in the course that's in play on damn near every hole.)

-Hole signage is dated, innacurate, and too small. (Edit: and they didn't change the signage with all the "updates")

-Players unfamiliar with the course will have a difficult time navigating. "Next tee" signage is inadequate. From basket to next tee you're blind with a long walk from #6 to #7, #10 to #11, #13 to #14, and #16 to #17. You also have to cross #11 fairway to get from #16 to #17.

-There's not enough trash cans on the course.

-No alcohol in the park. Sorry Pretzels, this is a con on any course I review.

Other Thoughts:

Established course in a nice park setting. Can be aggravatingly busy. Local club tries damn hard to make this course a gem (Edit: no they don't) but it has some (Edit: lots of) shortcomings and design flaws that are difficult to fix in the allocated space.

1.5 - This course used to be fun, now your entire round is aggravating as hell.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
8 0
tallpaul
Diamond level trusted reviewer
Premium Member
Experience: 35.8 years 934 played 133 reviews
3.00 star(s)

one of nicer in area 2+ years

Reviewed: Played on:Aug 21, 2009 Played the course:once

Pros:

Very nice park. Quite enjoyable overall experience. All types of shots required. Water only in play if you're off quite a bit; but very picturesque views of yellow creek.
GOOD SIGNAGE.
Best course of the four in area (i.e. Point Rock, Old Mill, and Millcreek Parks). None of these courses are bad; just pointing out that Krape is best of four.

Cons:

With that said; it's fairly short by modern standards and therefore, can't give it more than a 3. One hole wide open and 158 feet. Dirt tees (as all courses listed above are); fairly worn (other three played much less; and unworn). The yellow creek views are excellent. (con jack)

Other Thoughts:

Beautiful waterfall view off to the left as you drive to course; inside park (quite a drive through park to get to course; make note of your directions before you go. Not that tough to navigate; but make note ahead of time).
Was this review helpful? Yes No
1 1
Sford13
Experience: 14.7 years 6 played 6 reviews
4.00 star(s)

Great Course 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Jul 3, 2009 Played the course:2-4 times

Pros:

A very nice course. This has all aspects of the game in one place. If you like long more open holes. You will find them here. If you like medium distance in the woods. You will find it. Blind tee shots, elevation changes, and many more challenges are present at this course. Yet it is still very parable.

Cons:

I really can not think of anything bad about this course other than the hike back up the hill to get to 17.

Other Thoughts:

My only regret is that this course is so far away. I would be here alot playing if I only lived closer. Everyone should play this course at least once.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
0 2
syruphussy
Experience: 14.7 years 4 played 3 reviews
4.00 star(s)

Unique Course! 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Aug 12, 2007 Played the course:2-4 times

Pros:

Diverse park offers many different challenges.

Various trees, grasses, bushes make the course interesting.

Elevation changes are a bonus.

Cons:

Water! A few of the later holes are along a paddle boat river. I worry too much and skip them, but enjoy watching others attempt. I have heard they dredge the bottom, so I suppose write your phone number on your disc and hope for the best.

Other Thoughts:

The park is a great place to spend time in other than just the disc golf. There are party pavilions near the first few baskets, but then are further and few between. Their is a playground and grilling areas. The historical value of the park also makes it unique. Nice place to spend a day. I found the entrance really pretty and easy to navigate, however the exit is less smooth and confusing.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
6 0
Tripod2
Bronze level trusted reviewer
Experience: 21.7 years 17 played 17 reviews
3.00 star(s)

Krape, where's the pin?!?!?! 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Updated: Played on:May 3, 2008 Played the course:5+ times

Pros:

Great variety of shots are needed to do well on this course. Hole 2 is very aceable, holes 4 and 5 are wooded, bogey nightmares, water is a big hazard on 16 and 17.

I thought this place was challenging.

I forgot the hole number, but there is a cool, somewhat blind drive going downhill. There is a really tall flag placed atop the pin so you have something to aim at, but that's sometimes hard to see.

The park is very pretty with trees, elevation, the rest of the park in the distance, water, and paddleboats. I haven't done it yet, but I'm sure this park is really pretty in the fall with the turning leaves.

Elevation becomes a significant factor on a few holes here. Because I'm not used to that, it hurts me each time I play. That's good! There is a good mix of shots.



Cons:

Last time I went here was after some hard rain, and there were a few holes washed out on the back 9. Mud and skeeters everywhere.

First time I went here I had a hard time finding the course. Perhaps I'm blind, but I didn't see signs everywhere for the course. Eventually, it was found, but geez...

There's a pavilion/picnic area that comes into play on 2 holes. I nearly hit a guy who, thankfully, was paying attention.

Other Thoughts:

Play this course along with Sinnissippi in Sterling and/or Anna Page in Rockford for a nice day out!
Was this review helpful? Yes No
Top