• Discover new ways to elevate your game with the updated DGCourseReview app!
    It's entirely free and enhanced with features shaped by user feedback to ensure your best experience on the course. (App Store or Google Play)

Lombard, IL

Lombard Common Park

1.965(based on 28 reviews)
Filter course reviews

Filter reviews

Filter reviews

Lombard Common Park reviews

Filter
1 1
DiscGolfer80
Experience: 5 years 57 played 56 reviews
3.00 star(s)

Easy 10 hole course 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Nov 22, 2020 Played the course:once

Pros:

Excellent course for beginners or those who want to shake off the rust from winter time. Course is nicely laid out with little obstacles. Concrete tees with signage for each hole.

Cons:

Few holes play near walking paths, careful of park users.

Other Thoughts:

Imagine this park gets busy during the warm months with the walking paths and baseball fields surrounding the course.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
8 0
Three Putt
Staff member
Diamond level trusted reviewer
Premium Member
Experience: 29.5 years 152 played 127 reviews
2.00 star(s)

There is unrest in the forest, there is trouble with the trees 2+ years

Reviewed: Played on:Mar 28, 2019 Played the course:5+ times

Pros:

Good 'ol Lombard Common still has a disc golf course after seemingly every tree disease known to man decimated what was once a pretty wooded suburban park into a mostly open field. As a result, what once was a short technical park-style course is now a mostly open "throw at it" course set in a multi-use park. The shots are short to medium in length and mostly stay away from other activities, so the course sits well in the park and sets up well for novice/recreational players. This is the major plus the course has over nearby Madison Meadow, which conflicts with other park uses every time you turn around.

There is some slight up/down on holes 5-10 so the shots are not totally flat. The course flows well; you can play it without a map. The holes are marked by easy to find posts with basic tee signs. Most of the tees have concrete pads, although a few holes were relocated after the tree loss and those holes have dirt tees. There are local tee areas that make the holes longer if that is something you would want to do, but they are not marked for easy identification for the out-of-town golfer.

Holes 7/8 still have some trees, so there are a couple of holes where you can't just fling it thataway. That makes these two holes the highlight of the course. Otherwise there isn't a lot of placement needed to shoot well. It's a fairly straightforward rec course.

Cons:

The biggest problem the design has is that the basket for hole 4 and holes 5/9/10 are all on top of each other with no tree cover to protect anyone. It's a shooting gallery. You throw toward or near walking paths so there is an additional safety concern there. A couple of tees are pretty close to the last pin placement. You need to be aware of your surroundings and other park users while you play here.

Otherwise, the issue is that the shots are not all that exciting. There isn't a lot you can do given the lack of trees; the design is probably as good as it can get. The land just does not have the potential for solid disc golf anymore. All the trees that allowed that back in the day are gone. All it can be is a fun, open rec course.

Other Thoughts:

Lombard Common is a 9er with an extra hole to make 10. Madison Meadow is an 18-hole course with an extra hole to make it 19. The people designing Lombard's disc golf courses must have been big fans of This Is Spinal Tap.

Rating this course is somewhat hard to do if you played it a long time ago. I think a natural thing to do is hammer this course because it's not as good as it once was, which isn't entirely fair since nobody decided to clear cut the park to open up the disc golf shots. It's sad that this park and Madison Meadow lost so many trees, but the disc golf courses live on. It's just hard to separate what they are from what they were.

I really don't hate the course as it currently is. If I lived here I'd probably play it a lot given the conflicts with other park users you run into at Madison Meadow. It's a decent rec course and worth a play if you are already in the area. It's nothing special and not worth a trip if you are not already in the area. Madison Meadow still has better golf shots, so if better shots are what makes you tick you should skip Lombard Common for another round at Madison Meadow.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
6 0
c_a_miller
Diamond level trusted reviewer
Experience: 12.1 years 299 played 209 reviews
1.50 star(s)

A quick, easy play 2+ years

Reviewed: Played on:Sep 29, 2018 Played the course:once

Pros:

The park that this course sits in is a very well manicured park with a number of things to do. The course sits in a part of the park that is away from the rest of the activities. The holes are shorter to more medium length making it a perfect place to bring beginners (In fact I saw two brand new players when I was out playing) It is also a place where you can really rack up a low score. Every hole is two-able.
Navigation is very easy, the holes all have large tee signs that are visible from the previous basket.

There is a ever so slight amount of elevation in the park that the course utilizes very well. I would say hole 8 is easily the best hole and most memorable hole as it the one hole that needs any amount of precision for a chance at a 2.

Cons:

There is a course message board right at the parking lot, but for whatever reason it is not close to the first hole. I was confused for like 10 seconds before I realized where the first hole was.

The course is very wide open, some holes only have one or two trees near the basket. If the only shot that you know is a 300' hyzer, you will do okay here (make your putts though) I've read that tree disease decimated this park as well as the nearby course, which is really unfortunate. It is still a con though.

A few holes cross or go very near walking paths. Just be wary.

Other Thoughts:

Madison Meadow is less than a mile away from here. In my opinion, both of these courses are just fine. No huge glaring issues, but there is definitely nothing special here that you can't find elsewhere.

Still, I enjoyed my time playing here. A local was telling me about the local tees that make the course longer and harder, so that may be an option to play an extra 10; you just need to find the right person to tell you where to go. I felt 10 holes was a perfect amount of the piece of land that this course was on. I would play here again, but not go out of my way to go play.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
6 0
EspressoPatronum
Gold level trusted reviewer
Premium Member
Experience: 18.9 years 256 played 247 reviews
2.00 star(s)

New... errr, Updated and Improved!

Reviewed: Updated: Played on:Sep 17, 2023 Played the course:5+ times

Pros:

- newer tee signs with small maps
- new, larger concrete tees
- some interesting shots created by trees in the vicinity of baskets
- well-manicured park cared for by the park district
- nice new Mach 7 baskets
- amenities such as restrooms, practice basket, benches in park, and garbage cans
- some decent mature tree obstacles on holes 7-9

Cons:

- mostly flat
- a lot of shots are very open without many obstacles
- some walking path hazards to avoid
- a little on the short side

Other Thoughts:

UPDATE 10/23:

This is still a pretty basic course, but the local club has advocated for a ton of improvements. There are new, far superior baskets, new tee signs with maps, new concrete tees, and a practice basket. The course is up to 11 holes now and has been reconfigured a bit. It's still very open and not particularly challenging but for a fun, casual round it's more respectable than previously.

___

This is a fun course which is quick to play through. I'm not sure why they went with 10 holes (as opposed to 9), but I'll never complain about fitting an extra hole in. Some of the shots are rather open and ordinary, but trees and slight elevation changes make for some interesting shots too. As flat as Illinois is, there is at least a bit of variation here. The signs could be improved with hole layouts, but they are there at least. Overall, this isn't going to be a destination course, but if you are local it's worth coming back to and playing now and then. It would be nice if the 1 or 2 holes missing concrete tees had them added, but that is a minor detail. Overall, I recommend checking it out if you are in the area, although there are better courses nearby, such as Madison Meadow which is also in Lombard.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
4 0
The Valkyrie Kid
Diamond level trusted reviewer
Experience: 46.1 years 1562 played 1507 reviews
2.50 star(s)

Enjoyable Rec Course In A Beautiful Park! 2+ years

Reviewed: Played on:Jun 23, 2016 Played the course:once

Pros:

Illinois seems loaded with these lovely, well manicured city parks. Lombard Commons is no exception. The park, beside having lush green grass also has ball fields, tennis courts, rest rooms and pic nic areas. I thought th course designers did a nice job with the layout here but then again, I was playing at 6:30 am on a Thursday morning.

There is a course sign but for some reason it's a couple hundred feet from the first tee. A little strange. All the holes but # 5 have smallish concrete tee pads. They perfectly serviceable here. All the pads and the baskets too are surrounded by wood chips. The signs are simple wooden ones with the hole #, distance, par and a simple route. The baskets are older models with a number on top.
Distances are mostly in the 200-300' range with only # 6 shorter at 191' and # 2 playing longer at 350'. Most holes have a tree or more protecting the basket although there is no difficulty in avoiding any trees.
Everyone seems to like # 8, perhaps due to it's slight elevation drop. Kinda makes it the "Top of the World" bomber hole on this course.

The course plays somewhere between an easy recreational course and your basic beginner course. Although, this is certainly a great course to bring your girlfriend, wife, beginner or kids to, I think it serves it's niche for those rec type players wanting to get in a quick round or anyone chasing Aces.

Cons:

# 5 is just a wood chip pad. What happened to the concrete here?
Recreational length and difficulty.
Flat.
Only 10 holes.

Other Thoughts:

I understand the park has lost many mature trees over the years. That's a shame because that's exactly what it needs along with some hills to spring up like the Hawaiian Islands.

Still if I lived close by, I'd probably be a regular here. I found the Commons to be more enjoyable than the longer but more wide open Madison Meadows 18.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
4 0
Jashwa
Gold level trusted reviewer
Experience: 20 years 174 played 88 reviews
2.00 star(s)

Chill course 2+ years

Reviewed: Played on:Jun 28, 2013 Played the course:once

Pros:

This is a very nice "after work" course, good for a quick round if you want to avoid traffic on 355 or something. There are some fun holes here, with a decent variety in distance. The park is multipurpose and there are a lot of things to do here if you want to make a day of it. It's also a great place to bring a beginner. The course flows decently, I was able to navigate it without a map my first time there.

Cons:

I tend to give courses like this the "benefit of the doubt" and bump their rating up to 2.5, but I just couldn't do it for this one.

*Very open, easy, and un-exciting holes.
*Completely flat terrain
*The course brings paths, baseball fields, soccer fields into play... a round here during even a moderately busy time would be horribly crowded and slow
*Some of the holes were missing their concrete tee-pads, but the teepads that were present were microscopic

Other Thoughts:

Madison Meadow is two minutes away from Lombard Commons and is a much better course. The only reasons that I'd choose to go to Lombard Commons over Madison Meadow would be if I wanted to play a faster round or if I was with a beginner.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
4 1
ElementZ
Diamond level trusted reviewer
Experience: 15.1 years 212 played 200 reviews
2.00 star(s)

Very mediocre course 2+ years

Reviewed: Played on:May 14, 2013 Played the course:once

Pros:

Here you have the typical 9-hole course (+1 bonus hole) that merits the "reasonable" rating of 2.0.

It's set in a maintained community park, has good signage and logical flow. The baskets are average, as is the layout. In general, I would just say this is a very average course in every meaning of the word.

It was surprisingly crowded the day I went out and played. There were about 15 people playing on 10 baskets, which was nice to see. It definitely has potential to be expanded and improved.

Bathrooms and water fountains are on site directly by the first basket.

Cons:

There's nothing here to make this course memorable. There's no real signature hole (outside of maybe #8). This course only warranted one play through in my eyes because it was so plain.

Other Thoughts:

I highly recommend playing the other course in the area over this one. This course is very easy and is a good course for beginners, but doesn't really offer a challenge for more experienced players.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
4 0
booradly
Bronze level trusted reviewer
Experience: 12.1 years 167 played 24 reviews
2.00 star(s)

another park district course 2+ years

Reviewed: Played on:Nov 26, 2012 Played the course:once

Pros:

-nice park
-decent cement pads
-good use of the park(the 10 holes are short but it would be much worse if they tried to cram in 18)
- good place to bring a friend who is new to the game
-good place to work on your mid range game
hole 8 is a lot of fun
-this course uses what few trees there are well

Cons:

-most holes are very short hole 2 is the only one over 300 feet
- a lot of easy shots with maybe one or 2 trees on most holes but is still rather plain
-the pads are very short but because of how short the holes are its not THAT big of a deal
-some of the baskets could use a little TLC some of the baskets/ tops of the baskets are lose and made me miss a put or two
- i some paths come close to the baskets in places and i can see other park users being close to harms way

Other Thoughts:

-this course is what it is and that is another park district course. they did the best with the land they had but i think that i could come here with just my hornet and shoot under par.
but if you are in the mood to just throw mids for a chance at some aces then this course is worth playing
-the park says it is open till 10pm so might be a good spot for some night golf this time of the year if its not to cold for you
Was this review helpful? Yes No
9 1
Jukeshoe
Diamond level trusted reviewer
Experience: 14.8 years 316 played 268 reviews
2.00 star(s)

Uncommonly Common Commons 2+ years

Reviewed: Played on:Oct 27, 2012 Played the course:2-4 times

Pros:

- Good use of the very little elevation in play (#'s 6, 7, 8 and 10).
- A good beginners course. Mostly open, grassy shots with scattered trees to provide the occasional obstacle.
- Tee signs with distance. Mostly concrete tees with one or two natural tees.

Cons:

- Short hole lengths make this a bit repetitive.
- Several open shots adds to the repetition.
- The tees were in pretty bad shape in places. #10 had water filling the (sizeable) rut in front, making it an awkward teeing surface.
- Funky homemade baskets with huge nubs sticking up from the basket. Not much of an issue, but not really ideal, either.

Other Thoughts:

- Located in a busy city park, the course manages to stay (mostly) out of the way. I'd avoid this course completely under crowded conditions.
- Not terrible golf by any means, but other than maybe #8, not a whole lot of challenge or thought required. Bring a putter/mid and go to work. The openness of the course makes this a good practice course for those trying to up their game. Also good for casual players/families/strollers.
- I'd hit this everyday for practice/fieldwork if it were in my neighborhood. I'd even go slightly out of my way to play it again in a pinch. But nothing to get excited about.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
9 0
SneakyJedi
Gold level trusted reviewer
Experience: 15 years 149 played 83 reviews
2.00 star(s)

Good for Beginners/Practice

Reviewed: Updated: Played on:Aug 31, 2012 Played the course:5+ times

Pros:

~ Easy to navigate
~ Plays quickly if you just want a fast round
~ Beginner friendly
~ Generally clean and well kept

Cons:

~ Only one hole over 300'
~ Most holes are pretty wide open
~ Teepads are short, and the ground in front and behind has eroded on many, making many run-ups hazardous

Other Thoughts:

I generally play this course for three reasons:
1) I am in a bit of a hurry and don't have time to play 18 at Madison Meadows
2) I have a new disc I want to try out or something I need to work on
3) I am taking someone out to teach them the game

A nice short course, nothing special, but not much to complain about either.

***2023 UPDATE***

Wow, this was my second course ever reviewed and third played. My reviews and disc golf ability have certainly evolved over the past decade plus. Here is an update to my review after more than 10 years following some recent course improvements.

Lombard Commons recently saw some minor design updates along with the addition of new concrete tees and purple powder coated Mach 7 baskets thanks to the amazing efforts of the Parked for Parks group. This is a great improvement to the previous course equipment and the uniquely colored baskets pay homage to the official color of Lombard as the Lilac Village. New permanent tee signs are apparently coming, but for now there are a mix of the old signs that only show the hole number and distance, and small, laminated signs on stakes showing updated hole information, of which a number were missing. There were also quite a few new trees planted. They don't impact the course much at their current size, but if I update this review after another 10 years there might actually be some more shot shaping required at The Commons.

Old hole 3 was abandoned in favor of two new holes in the same area upping the total holes from 10 to 11. This didn't really make the course any more congested than it already is, and actually reduced the chance of discs finding a playground, overall a slight benefit to the layout. The biggest issue with the course in its current state is layout confusion. The old hole 3 tee sign and pad are still in place and you have to pass them to get to the new tee which plays to a different basket. I actually played the old tee first since the original basket location is still in use for the new hole 4, wondering why the tee hadn't been updated, before finding the new tee pad. This issue, combined with the mix of old, temporary, and missing tee signs make for slightly confusing navigation, so hopefully new signs are put in place soon and the old, superfluous equipment removed.

This is still a short, easy course great for beginners and casual rounds, but it has received an awesome face lift and is in the best shape I've ever seen it. Anyone should feel lucky to have this course nearby, the perfect spot for a quick post-work/school round.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
5 0
BuzzArmStrong
Experience: 15.2 years 50 played 16 reviews
1.50 star(s)

2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:May 21, 2012 Played the course:5+ times

Pros:

Concrete tee pads (with the exception of hole 5) - baskets are in good shape (though they are not top notch baskets) - Holes 2,7, and 8 are alright - plays extremely quickly if you don't have much time for a round- every single hole can be aced (not quite sure if this is a good thing).

Cons:

Other uses for the park can get in the way of a few holes - Most holes are essentially wide open and only require that you avoid one or two trees - Doesn't require that you stay in any sort of fairway, you can throw almost any shot on any hole (I could probably play a round both all backhand and all forehand without running into any real problems) - Nothing unique.

Other Thoughts:

It's alright for a quick warm up round or for people just starting to learn, otherwise it is pretty boring.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
6 2
krc1130
Bronze level trusted reviewer
Experience: 16 years 25 played 25 reviews
1.50 star(s)

Cramped course with little challenge 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Jul 9, 2011 Played the course:once

Pros:

Most holes have concrete tees, markers on each hole listing the distance and general direction of the basket (though help isn't needed there). Course starts and ends near the parking lot, which is always convenient. Ample parking so long as other events aren't going on.

Cons:

The course itself is very boring. All of the holes are pretty open and short. If there are other events going on, baskets and tees could easily be obstructed by people. The course is very cramped and a lot of the holes and tees are on top of each other. Very few obstacles are on the course unless you count bystanders on the trail or watching a baseball game.

Other Thoughts:

I played this course since I was in the area to play at Madison Meadow. Given how close this course is to a very decent 19 hole course, there's really no need to play here other than to mark it off your list. This is a good course for beginners, but it holds little appeal beyond that. It's easy enough to follow and the park is nice, but the course is also way too easy to play.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
5 2
tjclassic82
Experience: 14.2 years 31 played 2 reviews
2.50 star(s)

Lombard Short 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:May 1, 2011 Played the course:5+ times

Pros:

Lombard Short is a wide open grass course with baskets that play next to usually one or two trees in wide open areas. You can likely buzz or use a putter for almost every hole. Good course for mid range and buzz or putter driving practice, most holes are aceable if you can throw 300.

Cons:

Lot's of walkers right through the middle of the park at times, when it's windy there's not much protection, Hole 2 plays very close to the infield of a baseball field that almost always has 5 yr olds... so try not to kill one! half the course is dirt tees that can get muddy.

Other Thoughts:

If there's a lot of rain, the course will be a lake. Give it a couple days.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
2 9
petsounds85
Experience: 16.1 years 39 played 5 reviews
3.50 star(s)

An excellent 9-hole course 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Apr 5, 2011 Played the course:5+ times

Pros:

Beginners: A fun course to learn on.

Advanced/Pro: A great place to practice or even play a couple rounds. Good mixture of short, long, technical.

Cons:

I remember a couple years ago, the park was flooding a lot, the grass was dying and it smelled terrible. Sometimes you get huge groups of kids that will hold up smaller groups but for the most part people will let you play through..

Other Thoughts:

I don't see why this place doesn't have a higher rating. It's a great place to play. -Especially since there's not a lot of great 9 hole courses here (that I've played) anyway.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
14 0
discRabbit
Diamond level trusted reviewer
Experience: 25 years 1218 played 136 reviews
1.00 star(s)

2+ years

Reviewed: Played on:Jul 21, 2009 Played the course:5+ times

Pros:

Only a few blocks down the street from Madison Meadows, Commons is the little brother of the Lombard pair. While having a few fun holes, Commons is shorter, much easier, and frankly just not nearly as good as the Meadow. That said, the course designers have done a pretty good job of maximizing the available obstacles and gritting their teeth through many forced redesigns over the years. You'll still have to throw a few good shots to get birdie on a few holes but advanced and pro level players aren't going to be challenged in any meaningful way.

Cons:

The biggest con at Commons is the progression over the years from a park that was relatively heavily treed for late 90's Chicago area courses to one that now plays through a nearly completely barren field. Although it was perhaps slightly shorter, the 'old' Commons was much more challenging requiring touch, accuracy, and a variety of shots off the tee. The old concrete teepads have become heavily eroded over the years and the dropoffs on the sides are twisted ankles waiting to happen.

Other Thoughts:

Sadly, over the years, Commons has lost nearly all of the luster it once had. The crab apple groves and huge willow trees lost to disease have been replaced by tiny saplings or nothing at all - come back in 20 years and course designers might once again have some obstacles to work with! Having grown up in Lombard and played my first disc golf round at Commons (and probably 1000+ rounds thereafter), I have a lot of great memories of the friendly, welcoming crew of folks who call(ed) this place home :)
Was this review helpful? Yes No
6 0
ChiBlender36
Experience: 24 years 16 played 2 reviews
2.00 star(s)

Basic and Straightforward 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Oct 2, 2010 Played the course:5+ times

Pros:

- Concrete tees on all holes but # 5
- Baskets get the job done (old homemade I believe)
- A nice quick 10 holes
- Trees that are there usually come into play guarding baskets
- A few (2 - 3) diff types of shots required on tees
- Easily navigable

Cons:

- Very short (short holes are all 200 - 220 it seems)
-"Long" holes are around 300
- Can get crowded
- No creativity really

Other Thoughts:

Better than some of the other 9 holers in the area. Near Madison Meadows which makes Commons a good warm-up round. Located in a nice park with lots of other things going on usually. Almost every hole is an ace opportunity which makes for some fun.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
7 0
DocHaole
Gold level trusted reviewer
Experience: 16.9 years 79 played 48 reviews
2.00 star(s)

Common Park 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Apr 5, 2010 Played the course:5+ times

Pros:

- All tees are cement with clearly marked signes with accurate distances.

- A good mix of open shots with enough trees to add flavor.

- This is the perfect place to introduce a friend to the game, before you wear out their arm at Madison Meadow.

- The park is kept clean and the grass never gets out of hand

Cons:

- Short and open, it's not much of a challenge for experienced players. Basically a deuce or die course.

- Sometimes dog walkers or other pedestrians will come into play, but it's not that big of a safety risk.

Other Thoughts:

This is a nice neighborhood course to get in a quick round, it doesn't really stand out good or bad. Personally when I'm in the area I play this course as a warm up before Madison Meadow and I still find it enjoyable.

Does any one else find it ironic that it's called Lombard COMMON Park? For an average 9 holer it serves its purpose well.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
9 0
notapro
Diamond level trusted reviewer
Premium Member
Experience: 20.9 years 570 played 284 reviews
1.50 star(s)

Beginner 2+ years

Reviewed: Played on:Jun 20, 2010 Played the course:2-4 times

Pros:

- Good mix of holes, in mostly open land with a good number of mature trees. Most of the holes involve avoiding large trees, so there is some thought needed when teeing off. Not extremely challenging, but not wide open either.
- A little elevation change here and there also help to add some difficulty, and enjoyment, to the holes. Nothing too extreme, more of sloping fairways as opposed to drastic dropoffs.
- Tees, signs and baskets are in good shape.

Cons:

- The holes are pretty short overall, so there is not much challenge for a more experienced player.
- Layout is kind of cramped at times; I can definitely see people getting in each other's way or being bothered by wayward discs.
- A lot of other things going on at this park. I went on a weekend afternoon/evening, and it was full of non-DGer's. Only affected one fairway, but it could have been much worse.

Other Thoughts:

- I had played this course nearly 6 years ago, and I didn't recognize it. It is much more of a "real" course that it was before the 2008 renovation. I would consider this a good complement to the nearby Madison Meadows park, for a warm up or cool down.
- This is an excellent beginners course. The sloping fairways, mature trees, and short hole lengths are great for a new player. More seasoned golfers can probably skip it.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
10 1
Countchunkula
Gold level trusted reviewer
Premium Member
Experience: 18 years 215 played 72 reviews
2.00 star(s)

My new home course 2+ years

Reviewed: Updated: Played on:May 7, 2010 Played the course:5+ times

Pros:

A decent 10 hole course in a neighborhood park that also features baseball diamonds, a pool, tennis courts and space for other activities.
-Beginner friendly
-A quick round.
-10 holes (kind of like an amp going up to eleven, bonus!)
-Good flow, it is always obvious where to go next.
-Signs show hole # and distance.
-Good distance variety (for 9 holers in the area).
-I really like hole 7, it has the most restricted flight path on the course, but features two routes and some elevation drop.
-Bathrooms and a vending machine in the bulding to the left of hole 1's fairway.

Cons:

-Course is mostly open, with only a few holes requiring you to shape lines.
-Short, narrow tees
-Baskets are beat-up and showing their age.
-Often busy with both golfers/chuckers and dog walkers.
-Course can hold a lot of water, especially on 4 and 9 where a pond sometimes forms.
-Walking path can come into play for the inaccurate on a couple holes.
-The second hole is called hole A, after that it goes on to hole 2-9. This can be confusing your first time playing.
-Hole 9 (the final hole) finishes up near 1's basket. It flows better to walk to the second hole (hole A) after finishing your round if you want to do another loop.

Other Thoughts:

Apparently this course was more interesting/challenging before a big storm took out a lot of trees and necesitated the current, open layout.
This course is just south of St. Charles Rd. East of the course on St. Charles are Mickey's hot dog stand and Lunar Brewing. Mickey's is good and reasonably priced, Lunar brews a lot of interesting styles and not too many of the common ones.

Edit: Dropped rating to a 2 due to a realignment of my reviews.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
6 0
mykeg44
Silver level trusted reviewer
Experience: 15 years 72 played 45 reviews
1.00 star(s)

2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:May 4, 2010 Played the course:2-4 times

Pros:

Located in a smaller park, the course offers a quick/easy round, or a place for new players to learn the game. The layout is super easy to follow, and the signs, baskets, and tees were all in great shape when I played. Along with Madison Meadow, there is plenty of discing to do in this area of Lombard.

A little bit of elevation and some scattered trees provide a little line shaping on some holes, and offer a nice little challenge for newer players.

Cons:

Overall, this is one of the weaker suburban Chicago courses I've played. For most players this course is just ace run after ace run over wide open fairways. The trees add the slightest bit of challenge, but don't really force you to change up your shot that much.

I was also surprised at how crowded this course was. I played on a weekday afternoon and got caught in between a couple large groups, so despite being just down the street from the much larger (and far superior) Madison Meadow I still had to spend time waiting to shoot.

Other Thoughts:

I would definitely recommend skipping this one. There's nothing here you can't find just down the street. For newer or younger players this course may offer a chance to learn how to play, but for anyone with experience this one is a dud.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

Latest posts

Top