• Discover new ways to elevate your game with the updated DGCourseReview app!
    It's entirely free and enhanced with features shaped by user feedback to ensure your best experience on the course. (App Store or Google Play)

San Diego, CA

Morley Field

3.765(based on 109 reviews)
Filter course reviews

Filter reviews

Filter reviews

Morley Field reviews

Filter
19 0
mndiscg
Diamond level trusted reviewer
Experience: 16.1 years 483 played 478 reviews
3.00 star(s)

"Most Played Course in the World"

Reviewed: Played on:May 5, 2023 Played the course:once

Pros:

+History: This course is 12 years older than me! It has a lot of the feel of a course that old but still is maintained well. Lots of the players that I saw were older players that have probably been at it a long time.
+Nice pro shop at the start. They were out of Morley Field custom stamped discs... Worker said that they sell out of them fast. If I were in charge, I'd never run out. They had lots of other good looking plastic but that's all that I was interested in.
+Decent scorecards/maps that you get at the start. Full color and nice card stock.
+Lots of unique SoCal plants on the course. Much different from what I'm used to in the Midwest.
+Maintenance: The course looks good. There are some areas where the foot traffic and general wear/tear has had an affect but it looks better than I expected. Lots of the course has grass and there was mulch down here and there were the grass likely can't survive.
+The course is located in Balboa Park which also houses the SD Zoo, multiple museums, other sporting facilities, gardens, walking/hiking trails, etc. It is a huge park and is truly a gem to have that much public space in the middle of San Diego.
+Tees are good enough. Some of them were worn smooth and a bit slick but good enough for this length of course.
+Multiple pin positions probably keeps the course fresh for locals. They were all accurately marked on the tee signs.
+No huge elevation but there are gentle ups and downs on most of the holes.
+Baskets are Disccatchers and were all in good shape.
+Hole variety was solid. There are holes that turn right, left, go up, down, fast greens, etc. No true signature holes in my opinion but no real duds either. There were enough trees and other foliage to make holes interesting but always still a line or two. Definitely a fair course.
+A couple practice baskets are helpful. Even with tee times, you might end up waiting to tee off at the first hole. They had a guy checking passes and making sure people started on time at the first tee.
+Playable year round in reasonably similar weather conditions. Can't be said for most courses that I've played. When I played, it was around 60, low winds. Quite nice.
+The course does a decent job of challenging more advanced players while not beating newer players into submission. It's technical but fair. You will hit some trees but it's pretty easy to find discs.

Cons:

-I get why they have a tee time system but... As a traveling player that wanted to play by myself, at my own pace, it wasn't ideal. I picked the earliest tee time with the hopes of having noone else sign up but that didn't happen. I probably won't be in SD again anytime soon but I wouldn't play here again due to this system. I ended up playing with a couple of locals that also came alone. It went fine but just wasn't what I was looking for. You could have great luck and get the best crew to play with or you could have bad luck and hate your round because of it.
-Even with the earliest tee time, we still waited a bit to tee off on some of the later holes due to the crossing fairways.
-Safety- The land used for this course is much smaller than most (or all) ~18ish hole courses that I have played. As a result, many fairways are close to each other (or crossing). Some pin positions are very close to the next tee. They do have various barriers to keep players safe but I'd rather just have a bit more space to spread out.
-I don't know a lot about the history of the layout as far as whether or not there were re-designs or any other updates. To me, the course had the feel of being pretty original. Back in the 70s, mid 300s was probably a longer toss but now it's pretty average. There's not a ton of variety in hole length. Most holes were between low 200s and mid 300s.

Other Thoughts:

+This course has a high fun factor for me. The gameplay alone was great. For me, the crowds/busyness/tee times took a bit off the experience. The course is historic and should be played by everyone that gets a chance but there's certainly pros and cons to this course. On most of the best courses that I've played, I've had to nitpick to find cons but this one has some real issues. They might not bother you as much as me but I have to state them.
+I really struggled on how to rate this course. I went between 3 and 3.5 and ultimately settled on 3. I think it would be hard to rate it less than 3 but also very hard to rate it above 4. Unless one is very nostalgic and in love with Morley.
+I played with just two discs: MVP Volt and Innova Atlas. I maybe could have used something between them but got through just fine. I would have brought more but I ran to the course from downtown and that's all the room that I had in my luggage.
+Unfortunately, this was the only course that I was able to play in the area so I can't give any recommendations to others in the area.
+The course is pay to play. Probably a pro as it might slow the crowds a tiny bit and definitely helps pay for upkeep here.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
20 0
Shadrach3
Gold level trusted reviewer
Experience: 5.7 years 323 played 314 reviews
3.50 star(s)

Times Square, SD

Reviewed: Played on:Oct 6, 2022 Played the course:once

Pros:

A well-loved course that's the fun and busy center of San Diego disc golf.

-Amenities and Extras: A lot of good components here. The tees are weakest, a mix of rubber and small concrete pads. Great signs have all info, maps, and pin position indicators. Numbered DISCatchers. Lots of benches. There's a pro shop on site, an optional ace pot, and a great disc return system.

-Multi-Pins: Tons of alternate pin positions, which are all marked on signage.

-Maintenance: Real, short grass. Fairways had very little debris. Mulch was being spread over some greens during my play. I think this cultivated style is part of what makes Morley so popular - it's very pleasant.

-Community Feel/Vibes: One of those courses that has a huge community around it. Morley seems to be buzzing all the time, and a bunch of people all know each other. Comparable to Mt Airy or Sedgley Woods, the community center of their cities.

-Shot Shaping/Gameplay: Definitely a mix of better and worse, but on the whole it's basic shapes very well done with foliage and/or elevation. A lot of holes feature straight starts with varying steepness of finishing turns, which requires a surprising amount of finesse to choose the disc that stalls at just the right point. A generous number of gentle downhills are fun drives where you can enjoy the flight of the disc. Mixed in are some shorter ace runs, which tend to be more technical. While no holes floored me with their design, most of them were very fun and featured good variety.

Cons:

-Busyness: For me, easily the biggest drawback is how much traffic the course gets. On a Thursday morning playing solo at 7:30am, I waited to tee off on more than half the holes, and my round lasted over 90 minutes. I can't imagine playing at a peak time. I think you should expect to be waiting no matter what size group you have at any time.

-All 3s: Morley doesn't have any multi-shot holes, and its longest pin tops out under 500'. Not to say what's here isn't good, but a truly stunning course should incorporate more gameplay variety.

-Tees: Slippery when wet. Neither the rubber nor the concrete were grippy in the least, which definitely detracted from the gameplay. They also seemed to attract dirt, which contributed to the issue.

-Safety: With so many alternate pins, many are close to the following baskets. The back half also features multiple crossing fairways. Considering the traffic it gets, best keep your ears open for a Fore.

-Poke and Hope Holes: On my visit, four holes (7, 9, 12, 17) all felt like they lacked a true fairway, and instead necessitated a general shot and some luck. A blemish on an otherwise very fair design.

Other Thoughts:

Morley definitely reminds of other old community hub courses in other cities. It's lovingly kept, busy constantly, and features basic but very fun gameplay that attracts a wide variety of players. The huge drawback is the amount of traffic, but that's not an issue if you're enjoying a long round with good company. I confess I don't see why it's nationally known, but it's still Very Good.

~Similar Courses: Mt Airy Forest (Cincinnati, OH); Flying Armadillo - Big (San Marcos, TX); Sedgley Woods (Philadelphia, PA); Kereiakes Park (Bowling Green, KY).
Was this review helpful? Yes No
8 2
eakadima15
Experience: 27 played 17 reviews
4.50 star(s)

2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Nov 4, 2021 Played the course:2-4 times

Pros:

Easily the most beautiful course I have played. Majority of holes are visually stunning

Ideal combination of wooded and open shots

There are usually a ton of fun ace runs to attack with hyzers or turnover shots

The course is immaculately maintained. You can tell people care about this course and take terrific care of it!

The iconic must-play course if you visit San Diego, hands down the best in the city

Locals in my experience have been very friendly and helpful

Pins are moved frequently to create new challenges, and the hole signs have the pin position marked to help you with the line and distance to throw

Cons:

Parking is very lackluster

There are overlapping fairways all over the course

Other Thoughts:

I love this course dearly and the Morley Magic is real!
Was this review helpful? Yes No
1 6
travelsurflive
Experience: 7.1 years 40 played 21 reviews
4.00 star(s)

Expensive crowded and tight 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Jun 8, 2020 Played the course:once

Pros:

Course is definitely fun with challenging shots.

Cons:

6 bux on the weekend seemed quite pricey for what you get. The course was very crowded with groups of 6 not trying to keep a pace but making everyone slow up. Some vwry tight area where 3 tee pads are theowing over each other gets a bit sketchy.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
16 0
HyooMac
Diamond level trusted reviewer
Experience: 7 years 427 played 395 reviews
3.00 star(s)

So Much History: so Much Fun to Play 2+ years

Reviewed: Played on:Nov 19, 2019 Played the course:once

Pros:

+ A classic course with lots of history and a great traditional disc golf vibe: many players carry small bags or just a few discs in their hands. They're serious about the game, but laid back and welcoming to visitors. The guy in the pro shop (more of a "pro shack") speaks with a lot of pride about the course, and has great stories

+ You don't need an especially big arm to play Morley. The game here isn't as much about distance as it is about placement, elevation and slope.

+ Lots of opportunity for both forehand and backhand tee shots

+ The course is really well-kept, and features 4-6 baskets placements on every hole. Excellent scorecard with map. Three of the holes feature "pro" tee placements, but you'll need a local to point them out (the one on #9 is up the hill 75 feet or so back, and you throw through a "V" formed by a couple of trees)

+ Living in the Northeast, this was my first time playing true SoCal foliage: low, scrubby and very grabby trees. They really represent a very particular type of hazard

+ A couple of standout holes: #9 has a beautiful shape to it. It's long down-and-up, with a distant fence of trees to navigate off the tee. I saw rollers, flex shots, and even a few high hyzers watching others on the tee. Hole #11 is a beauty with an elevated tee and a gap that opens up to a wide fairway. When the deepest basket position is guarded by a double mando in front of the green. The trees that cover #17 are pretty spectacular: gnarled, twisted and in your face. If you can keep them out of your head, there's a pretty clear line for a laced BH, FH or even a FH roller

+ The course is very manageable for new players. I brought a coworker who had played only a few times

+ It's pay-for-play but very reasonable ($4), and there are plenty of discs for sale in the pro shack


Cons:

- This "classic" course shows it's age in the tees, baskets and signage: you'll see that most of the concrete teepads seem a little "raised", because of erosion and years of foot traffic around them. Some of the greens have wood chips, but a lot of them are very very hard packed dirt: watch out for bounces and rollaways

- The tight layout creates some really sharp doglegs (hole #10 comes to mind). If you can't see the basket it's worth walking ahead and taking a look. There's a handful of blind tee shots that also benefit from taking a look: but there's so much traffic on the course that you're always risking slowing down play

- "FORE!" Four of the last five holes all cross the same valley. When you're in that valley and you need to keep your head on a swivel - they're firing from all sides!

Other Thoughts:

~ So many great stories about this place. Like the late addition of hole #19: the owner was away for a few weeks and the regular players put it in,so the course could finish at the parking lot. Paul McBeth aced #13 (look it up on YouTube). McBeth, Wysocki and so many other pros have made it to Morley

Was this review helpful? Yes No
1 5
Itsmeganpost
Experience: 13.8 years 52 played 2 reviews
3.00 star(s)

2+ years

Reviewed: Played on:Apr 21, 2017 Played the course:2-4 times

Pros:

The course is fun and quick. You don't see a layout like this very often, with fairways crossing over each other, which makes it really unique and iconic.

Cons:

The close quarters, while endearing and memorable, can make the course feel crowded at certain times.

Other Thoughts:

I love this course and think it's a must-see if you are in San Diego.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
5 0
Nate32
Gold level trusted reviewer
Experience: 10.9 years 75 played 60 reviews
4.00 star(s)

Reviewed: Updated: Played on:Jun 28, 2020 Played the course:5+ times

Pros:

Morley Field Disc Golf Course is located just outside of downtown San Diego. This course located is located in Balboa Park and attracts quite a lot of people. Morley plays through somewhat of a hilly terrain.

Pro shop includes quite a few discs that you can rent if you are just starting. You can also purchase some of them as well. Baskets are for sale as well as some other accessories.

I love the two practice baskets that they have just because with that many people stoping by it makes it much easier to practice putting than when your jam packed into one practice basket or none.

It costs 3 dollars to play which I think it is worth it just because it is some what well kept and there are some fun downhill shots.
-Brand new discatcher baskets make it SO much better. The old baskets had extra chains going every which way and they were mach 1s or 2s.

Holes include pretty good tee signs and large concrete tee pads.
My favorite hole is hole 11. This hole plays as a down hill flex shot that just sales down into the valley. Most of this course plays on dirt but hole 11 does not.

There are two sides to this course the first about 14 play on one side of the pro shop and then the last 5 play on the other side.
(Pictures are outdated).

Cons:

I was wondering if they had yearly passes just because the monthly passes are a little pricey if you live kind of far away. If you live in the area it is worth it.

This course is very busy. Also there are very large groups ahead of us that we had to wait for.
There are a lot of Fore's going around on this course. It is a little jam packed but its not to bad.

Parking is very hard. The parking lot is so small there are only about 20 spots.
Honestly I don't think there should be about 6 pin locations on each hole. It makes it fun but its not very necessary.

Other Thoughts:

I definitely would play here again this course is fun but busy. For $3 its definitely worth it. They definitely made the right decision to switch to Discatcher baskets.

I do like the blind shot holes just because it reminds me of Delaveaga.

Netting around the last hole deffinetly helps that part of the course is so tight. But I did get my disc stuck on top of it woops.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
4 0
Breh
Gold level trusted reviewer
Experience: 14.1 years 192 played 190 reviews
4.00 star(s)

2+ years

Reviewed: Played on:Sep 22, 2018 Played the course:once

Pros:

Has a nice pro shop. Very well maintained, multiple pin locations to keep it fresh. Some really fun technical shots. Great pads and baskets with flags on top, so you can see the pin from pad. Beautiful setting with some cool shots/elevation change. Makes you throw different shots

Cons:

No real holes to air it out but great technical course. Main issue I have is some fairways cross and this course gets a ton of player traffic.

Other Thoughts:

Most players were very nice and yelling fore is big here as a lot of fairways are close and the place is very crowded with all skill set of players. However a great course and would love to play anyway
Was this review helpful? Yes No
4 1
DonJuanDeLaNooch
Experience: 22.8 years 37 played 9 reviews
4.50 star(s)

California Knows How to Party 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Sep 11, 2018 Played the course:once

Pros:

On Site Pro Shop
Cool California Foliage--Palm Trees!!
Great community feel
Great mix of holes
Sense of Nostalgia

Cons:

Small space overall be prepared to dodge errant shots and to yell Fore!!!

Other Thoughts:

I arrived at the course about 6:15 and was still not the first one there on a Tuesday. The reports about the course getting crowded are spot on. The people I met while playing there were all very cool just like the course itself. This was the first time I had played a course quite like this. Being from Texas our courses even when tight and technical have enough space between fairways that you don't really have to worry about errant shots. If you are in the San Diego area its a must do. Very highly recommended. I loved it. I will play it again the next time I'm in the area without a doubt.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
15 0
armiller
Gold level trusted reviewer
Experience: 9.2 years 275 played 60 reviews
3.50 star(s)

Great Old School Golf! 2+ years

Reviewed: Played on:Feb 24, 2018 Played the course:once

Pros:

- fun shots (predominantly "hit your line for two" golf but those lines are a blast)
- good disc golf amenities (tees, signs, baskets, multiple pin locations, pro shop) and impeccable course maintenance (including rotation among many pin locations)
- although busy, it's dedicated disc golf property

Cons:

- busy busy busy! (i.e. wait times unless you're here off peak hours, higher than average chance of hitting or being hit by errant discs, crowded parking)
- holes are fairly short, though this is forgivable with the technicality
- holes are generally crowded together, with overlap to some fairways and several baskets located relatively close to other tees

Other Thoughts:

This is a disc golf only property on the northeast edge of San Diego's famous Balboa Park. The property itself, and the experience, is pretty unique. The land is crowded both in terms of the holes (cuz they've really maximized this space) and the people (I got here around 8am on a Saturday and it was jam-packed). There's a very nice pro shop where you pay an entrance fee and can fill any lacks in your bag (I bought a nice Z Undertaker here).

Overall, I found the atmosphere very casual. There were tons of disc golfers, and about half appeared very new, alongside some more experienced players. Everyone was having a good time, and the relaxed atmosphere may have contributed to wait times. I had planned to get here earlier and play twice, but I ended up taking off after one round. No regrets, but I left to hit up some other good (and less busy) courses in the area. From CCDG Ian Anderson's Google review: "... really busy on the weekends. Get there before 8:30 am if you can." I agree.

The golf is extremely fun. Some hole locations are very short, and it's "old school" disc golf -- there's almost always a good line that can get you a two. The golf is done well, and there's enough challenge and variation that it's a lot of fun. Terrain and vegetation wise, it's similar to most courses in area. There are slight changes in elevation with California desert-type trees that are big enough to create good disc golf holes. Fairways are grassy and/or dusty. I ended up tagging along with two different groups of locals, and it helped tremendously that they knew the pin locations. As a side note, this would be a great home course because there are so many pin locations that it can be a very different course on different days given many different pin configurations.

I find only 10 courses on DGCR with 100 or more reviews and this is Morley Field's 100th. The others are a Who's Who of longstanding, popular and even legendary courses, e.g. Flip City, Idlewild, Blue Ribbon Pines, Mt. Airy, and Beaver Ranch. In other words, this is one of disc golf's popular and beloved courses. It's a classic in a populated area, and it's likely one of the most played courses in the world. Of those other 10, only Golden Gate Park and Idlewild have been played by more people (at least according to DGCR). Whether you're a bagger, disc golf history buff, or just a fan of fun courses, you too should get out here.

Rating: I'm going 3.5 for "very good." The golf itself may be a bit better, but it's just a little bit too crowded (both in terms of population and space) for me to go much higher. Nevertheless, if I'm back in San Diego this will be the first course I play (during off peak hours, if possible).
Was this review helpful? Yes No
6 0
wolito
Gold level trusted reviewer
Experience: 17.3 years 88 played 87 reviews
3.50 star(s)

Beautiful Morley Field 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Jun 28, 2018 Played the course:2-4 times

Pros:

What a great location and setting! This park is incredibility maintained! The trees and brush definately come into play on most of the holes. Enough shot variety from big hyzers to low ceiling shots. There is slight hills throughout the course which add some character. Most holes are easy enough to get a par 3 on each. Tee signage was great, with stickers indicating basket location of which are moved weekly. Most holes have 4+ locations. Tee pads are a mix of cement with mats on top and worked well. Discatcher baskets in great shape with flags on top to indicate location and hole number. Pro shop on site with disc and snacks to sale. Nice scorecard provided with daily tag.

Cons:

Knowing that land value is at a premium in Cali, I would like to see a longer/bigger course. Most holes are on the shorter side, about 300 feet. Not much chances to really let your distance drivers to fly. A fairway driver would probably be sufficient for this course i.e. Leopard or even midranges. This place gets packed! I got there right at 700am and was first on the course but by the time I was done, the small parking lots was already full with about 20 cars at 830 in the morning on a Wednesday! A good course for sure, but also because there is a lack of good alternatives in the area. I think pay to play may keep some of the traffic down.

Other Thoughts:

Such a beautiful looking and maintained course! Everything was in great shape and well taken care of. I certainly enjoyed my time on the course and would love to play it again sometime. It has stuff to offer both a beginner and seasoned player alike. Longer length holes would help it out a bit. A really good course that gets used a lot for good reason.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
1 4
quillan
Experience: 1 played 1 reviews
4.50 star(s)

home course 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Jun 2, 2018 Played the course:5+ times

Pros:

.short holes
.good baskets
.trashcans on each hole
.fun holes
.challenging holes

Cons:

.slippery tee pads
.no brooms on every hole
.crowded all the time
.no parking

Other Thoughts:

some people at morely are staying at the benches without paying for a play band. (especially on hole 9)
Was this review helpful? Yes No
10 0
listentomorejazz
Experience: 14.1 years 55 played 11 reviews
4.00 star(s)

Pure Disc Golf Shots 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Mar 14, 2018 Played the course:2-4 times

Pros:

-Concrete Tee Pads in good shape
-Multiple basket positions which are updated weekly
-Great Variety in shot selection
-Enormous variety in elevation, used effectively
-Terrific community
-Course is in superb shape
-Primarily Disc Golf only
-Minimal Possibility for losing a disc
-Signage is good, navigation was good enough

Cons:

-Course plays on top of itself; most holes are interfered with another hole, to the point where safety becomes an issue
-Because of the above, along with the popularity of the course, wait times can be egregious
-Single tee pad/single basket position (make sense for the course, but a 5 start course needs multiple)

Other Thoughts:

I played 2 rounds in a single day and was thrilled by the afternoon.
Morley Field has what I like to call "Pure Disc Golf Shots." Those shots where you can blast a Roc and watch its full flight, but with danger abounding if the shot is off.
Previous reviewers comments about blind shots are well merited. If I had not have had a guide, my experience may have been hampered. But a course this crowded, it's hard to not find a guide or meet up with someone who can show you the way.
The course was also very, very well maintained (shout out to Chris who acted as my guide for the first round). The locals and the club really care about this course and it shows- no litter, the lines are clean, the grass is mowed, the trees are in great shape. This is part of the benefit of pay to play (notice that was not in my list of cons).
One thing I found astounding was that a number of the "trees" are simply dead trees or large limbs that have been cemented into place to create the fairway the designer wanted. It was done very tastefully and I never would have known- that CA weather does interesting things to plants...
Very physically demanding for being all par 3s. A lot of up and down hills.
Would recommend playing the course highly, I sincerely enjoyed it and wish I could have seen all the possible pin positions. Would make for a terrific home course.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
15 0
endermetal
Experience: 10.2 years 41 played 8 reviews
3.50 star(s)

Old School DG Done Right... For the Most Part 2+ years

Reviewed: Updated: Played on:Oct 27, 2017 Played the course:5+ times

Pros:

Situated in the northeast corner of Balboa Park, Morley Field is THE course to play if you find yourself in the area. It is an icon of San Diego disc golf and one of the oldest disc golf courses in the world.

Each hole offers beautiful, sculpted fairways with tons of different vegetation (my favorite being the Jacarandas when they're in bloom), and plenty of personality. Most holes offer a couple of different lines to the basket, and several different shots may be needed to get the absolute best score.

The pin positions are rotated weekly and there are between 3-8 different positions at each hole. The different positions are not merely cosmetic, but can drastically change your line or the throw you need to execute. Other courses may have different positions, but I feel they may only change the way the hole is played slightly. I feel this course is infinitely replayable because of the constantly rotating positions; it's like playing a new course each week!

Cons:

As others have pointed out, the crowds are INSANE. I'm not going to go into too much detail since they've been discussed ad nauseam, but I would like to address something that not many others have pointed out much, and that's the recreational nature of this course: I find that too many times I will hit my preferred line, only to have my disc batted down by a phantom branch or iron leaf. Some holes have too many random objects in the way, which can make the course feel like an unpredictable mess at times, especially holes 12 &13.

I also feel there are too many blind shots and criss-crossed fairways--seriously, you will never hear "FORE" yelled as often or as loudly anywhere else. But for the small amount of land they have, the course design is generally excellent, although I would prefer to see more open, long distance shots and less crossing fairways.

Other Thoughts:

I've heard people voice concerns over the parking lot situation. I've found a simple solution to this: There is a large parking lot near some baseball fields and an archery range close to holes 14/16. I don't even try to look for parking in the main parking lot and simply prefer to park in the back. Less hassle that way.

Ultimately, Morley is a blast to play, crowded as hell or not. Each hole has its own unique characteristics and defining traits which make each drive from the tee feel like a special experience. It's simply a fun course that I would recommend as my number 1 disc golf destination for people visiting San Diego--it's a disc golf experience unlike any other!
Was this review helpful? Yes No
5 0
BBB-SoCal
Experience: 26 played 17 reviews
4.00 star(s)

Got to play with Ian from CCDG as a tour guide 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Jul 20, 2017 Played the course:2-4 times

Pros:

Multiple Pin Positions (changed each Monday)
Brand new DISCatcher baskets (July 2017)
Manicured grounds
Good mix of challenges over entire course
Great locals

Cons:

Some pins are invisible from the tee.
Tee signage is a bit exaggerated in terms of pin locations.
Some holes overlap in terms of opposing throws.

Other Thoughts:

I had the pleasure of playing with Ian A. from CCDG on this course and he was a great guide.
The grounds are well-maintained (for the $4 or $5 admission price) and are constantly worked upon. The money does go to a good cause and there is a pro shop and an ace pot available if you need it.
I have been told that this course is insanely busy but I played at 6am and had the course to myself.
This course does require you to have a good amount of shot selection (FH roller, BH roller, forehand, etc.) to really get a good score.
The signage is a little cartoonish in its scale and would make it hard for a first-timer to accurately aim at a hidden/far basket.
I enjoyed this course a lot and I actually managed to get 2 birdies my first time playing (and none the second time I played) which is very good for me. I had great company and I would recommend others visit this course too (preferably early in the morning).
Was this review helpful? Yes No
5 1
Prost
Experience: 8 years 20 played 8 reviews
4.00 star(s)

Great Time 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Jul 17, 2017 Played the course:once

Pros:

-Outstanding staff that is courteous and helpful
-Great variety of shots needed
-Great us of elevation in a small space
-Well thought out placement of protective netting to keep throwers safe (a couple of holes throw near the tee pads to other holes)
-Well maintained course
-Benches at every hole
-Great signage and layout

Cons:

-Because of the limited space, you need to look around and duck when people are yelling
-I didn't run into this problem, but there can be some waits (the line was stacking up a bit as I left)
-Can be difficult to locate baskets even with the outstanding signage
-If you show up early be aware that they could be changing baskets as you're playing (at least on a Monday morning) and the sprinklers can add a new element to your throw

Other Thoughts:

-The earlier you show up, the more open the course is. I can't speak to how early they start letting people play, I got there at 7:15 and never waited at all for a whole.
-If you have questions, the staff is great but the people on the course are super helpful as well.
-I didn't run into any parking problems (and was driving a full-size SUV), but I could see if it could be more difficult to park

Great course, with some minor inconveniences. I can't recommend to get up as early as you can to not run into the crowding issues at this beauty of a course.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
0 7
Tan-Vic-Own-Sim-Moon
Experience: 13.2 years 94 played 10 reviews
4.00 star(s)

The mecca! 2+ years

Reviewed: Played on:Feb 21, 2017 Played the course:2-4 times

Pros:

Awesome course, fairly short, but great use of trees and bushes

Cons:

could use a bit more length, course is packed every single day all day so very very slow rounds. Discs flying everywhere at all times, so heads up!
Was this review helpful? Yes No
9 0
forehandfranz
Gold level trusted reviewer
Experience: 32.1 years 226 played 128 reviews
3.00 star(s)

Hot as fuego, in San Diego 2+ years

Reviewed: Played on:Sep 22, 2016 Played the course:once

Pros:

Morley has cemented its status as a legendary course in the San Diego area. I was able to join a few guys on this crowded course about midway through my round, and 2 of the 3 had never played anything BUT Morley Field in their disc golf careers. I will get to that later.

Morley is a rather short, technical course that has a lot of twisty trees everywhere and manicured lawns that makes for a rather beautiful experience for a variety of experience levels. The course is a mix of tight lines and more open shots, with many of the greens offering challenges of slope and trees. I would say if you play there regularly, you would be able to tap into the lines quite easily, except for the fact that there are numerous pin placements (I recall 5 or 6 on many). I suppose part of the appeal is that since there are not many highly rated courses nearby, that having this variety of pins would be a huge attraction for locals that would possible get bored of the place otherwise.

Other attractions include the pro shop onsite, and some friendly locals who don't mind having newcomers play with them. The place is well-maintaned and worth the small greens fee.

Cons:

Yes, the crowds are a con if you don't like waiting at nearly every hole. I suggest you try to join a group if you are alone, or combine groups to give yourself some good conversation as you inevitably wait at every tee pad. Somehow I was lucky - I played on a weekday evening alone until I caught a pair on #9, and they offered to let me play with them. They said that it was a rare evening that the course was as "quiet" as it was.

Everything is pretty crammed together, so there was truly a danger factor with discs straying onto other people's fairways. The worst culprit was hole #1. With the pin in the long left position (A), you throw a righty BH hyzer which runs the risk of hitting everyone on tee #2 (I hit that tee pad both times I threw). At least they could put a protective net around tee #2.

Other Thoughts:

I got some really good vibes from this course, but it wasn't the epic experience I had expected. A quite enjoyable layout, for sure, but didn't have any signature holes or great variety of length (other than what the alternate pin placements could offer). It had a very old school feel, very similar to Oak Grove in Pasadena - and you could tell that new disc technology has outgrown this type of layout. As I mentioned earlier, some of the local people never play any course but this, and not because it is the greatest course ever, but that it shines a lot brighter based on the lack of great local courses.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
1 3
Dlaxdaddy
Experience: 19.1 years 4 played 3 reviews
4.50 star(s)

Homefield is the best 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Jun 20, 2016 Played the course:5+ times

Pros:

Great location, lots of diversity in the holes (especially when they change them weekly), good mix of distance and technical shots and an awesome pro shop.

The price ($3 the last time I was there) is definitely worth it. The staff are great, and the food/drink selection is pretty good as well. The course is laid out very nice, so you will not get lost, and the tees/pads are kept up very well.

Cons:

Can get very crowded during peak times (i.e. 3-5pm, etc.). When it's packed like this, it makes it hard for people who don't know how to play/want to learn hard. Feeling rushed is a constant on this course. I have had quite a few people throw on top of me when teaching others how to play. Some of the local players can be a bit rude about this as well.

The parking lot in the front could use some work. Most of it is dirt, but would be better off with pavement or concrete.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
2 3
xaeLen
Experience: 13 played 13 reviews
4.00 star(s)

busyiest course ever 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Nov 20, 2015 Played the course:5+ times

Pros:

the benches on every hole are nice because you have to wait on more than half the course. if you are a new player there are signs to let you know where the basket is. the workers change the baskets every Monday so it does not get boring. the course is very short and technical. the bathrooms are at hole 1. the pro shop is really close to hole 1. the people who work there are really nice.the tee pads are really nice.

Cons:

you have to wait forever on more than half the holes. the bathrooms are not that clean. the toilet gets clogged all the time. there is no soap in the bathroom.

Other Thoughts:

it is one of my favorite courses. i play it 2 or 3 times a week at least. they give you a little bracelet so they know you paid. it costs 3 dollars on weekdays and 4 dollars on weekends. it is more crowded on weekends than weekdays. try not to go on weekends unless you go there before 6am.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
Top