• Discover new ways to elevate your game with the updated DGCourseReview app!
    It's entirely free and enhanced with features shaped by user feedback to ensure your best experience on the course. (App Store or Google Play)

Grand Prairie, TX

Mountain Creek

Permanent course
1.895(based on 22 reviews)
Filter course reviews

Filter reviews

Filter reviews

Mountain Creek reviews

Filter
14 0
The Valkyrie Kid
Diamond level trusted reviewer
Experience: 46.1 years 1562 played 1507 reviews
2.00 star(s)

Baby, The Wind Must Blow! 2+ years

Reviewed: Played on:May 8, 2022 Played the course:once

Pros:

Mountain Creek Park has enough open space for about 48 holes but I somehow think, even if it had 48 baskets, the course would still be empty. It's not that it's not a pretty park, it's actually quite lovely with acres of lush green grass, a smattering of elevation, the lake on one side and a few scattered trees to keep things slightly interesting. So why was I so disappointed? First, the navigation was a pain in my behind. With no signage and no course map, finding the tee pads was a problem. Luckily, some kind golfer had sprayed painted the hole number on the pads. It was somewhat reassuring that when you located a pad, to at least know what number pad it was. The tee pads were Texas sized hexagons with the small painted on numbers. The baskets were very plain DGA models.

Secondly, the wind blew strong my entire round. I'm no fan of gale force wind conditions. I'm also not a fan of birds, snakes and prickly thorn bushes either. Luckily, Mountain Creek Park had none of these.

Cons:

Cons: Wind, wind and more wind.

No signage.

No course map or kiosk or any hint of where to start.

Too wide open for me and probably most disc golfers.

Park is a popular spot for large gatherings. I had to skip one hole in order to avoid one such group.

These cons just be be the reason that I was the only disc golfer there on a lovely Sunday in May.

Other Thoughts:

This course is not that far removed from being an above average disc golf course. Just make the wind go away, add signage, get a dozer and push enough dirt around to create some hills and then plant another 200 trees and watch them grow.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
4 0
aclay
Gold level trusted reviewer
Experience: 39.7 years 326 played 246 reviews
2.00 star(s)

Mountain Creek 2+ years

Reviewed: Played on:Jul 28, 2019 Played the course:2-4 times

Pros:

-- Tees are decent size and in good shape. Tee number is stenciled onto each tee pad.
-- Baskets are solid. A blue arrow is stenciled onto the cement under each basket pointing you to the next tee.
-- Nice park facilities (pavilion with picnic tables) that include restrooms (listed as closed December through March) and water fountain in the middle of the course. Also nice lake views.
-- Variation in distances: three less than 300 feet; three 301-450; three 451 or longer.

Cons:

-- Course is mostly open with a few trees in play. There is some minor elevation in play, the wind is likely the biggest obstacle.
-- No tee signs of any kind. The numbers on the tee pads help a lot, but standing on the No. 6 tee, you might see two baskets in the same direction. If you only see one basket, it might be No. 7.
-- Distances on map are frequently WAY off. Only No. 1, at 290, is listed at less than 300 feet. Nos. 5 and 7 are both shorter (in the 260-275 range) but are listed at 335-345. Other holes also appear to be off. The scorecard on this site lists red and white for each hole, but there is no indication of a second tee pad or pin position for any holes. The map on this site lists the distances that are listed as the white tees.
-- Trash. While it would be an overstatement to say it is everywhere, there were piles of trash in a lot of places, including dozens of beer bottles (some broken) on No. 3 looking out over the lake. There is a trash can 50 feet away. The parking lot by No. 1 also had piles of trash in spite of three trash cans, and most tee pads had one or more empty water bottles lying on the ground.

Other Thoughts:

-- Talk/rumors of an additional 9 holes (or at least tee pads) have been around for years, but I saw no evidence of that.
-- The area north of the parking lot (where hole 1 is located) looks under utilized by the park in general and could hold 5-6 disc golf holes.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
5 0
tkmcdougal
Silver level trusted reviewer
Experience: 16.3 years 196 played 96 reviews
2.00 star(s)

Mountain Creek 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Jul 3, 2017 Played the course:once

Pros:

Teepads are long and in great shape and the baskets are in good condition as well. This is a nice park right by the lake. The wind becomes a factor and they make use of the fee trees in the park.

Cons:

There is no signage at all. 2 or 3 of the teepads have the hole numbers scratched into the teepad. Once you find the teepad you can tell where you are supposed to throw. There was a lot of beer cans on the fairways. If you pack it in please pack it out.

Other Thoughts:

If you park by the playground you can start on hole 6 and work your way around. If you play this route you will have a decent walk from hole 9 to hole one where the other parking lot is on the far side of the park. Hole 1 is the only hole on that area of land. Hole 2's teepad is 30 feet past the basket of hole 1. After hole 4 walk up the hill and you will see hole 5's teepad. The basket is under the trees near the houses.

The navigation has much improved since I last stepped on this course 4 or 5 years ago. It is suppose to go to 18 teepads with 9 baskets but I did not see the orange paint on the grass for the newer holes. After you played it once navigation would be easy but for people new to the park they could have some difficulty.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
3 0
Jacob.Warren.89
Experience: 10.2 years 44 played 4 reviews
4.00 star(s)

Nice, Different 9-Hole experience than the rest in DFW 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Nov 27, 2016 Played the course:5+ times

Pros:

-Nice Baskets

-Concrete Teepads

-You can almost see every basket from the teepad

Cons:

-Sometimes there is a lot of traffic by hole 6, there is a playground right there so if you go on the right day, you could be at risk of hitting some kids.

-no signage

-It would be nice to have a trashcan or 2 throughout the park, alot of debris from the playground/neighborhood winds up on the fairways

Other Thoughts:

It is a really fun 9 hole. Has more distance and open shots than kennedale (which is one of the closer 9-hole courses). Rumor has it they will be expanding it to 18 holes, which will be great.

Plays off the lake, so it is sometimes a little windy
Was this review helpful? Yes No
3 0
Pizza God
Diamond level trusted reviewer
Premium Member
Experience: 36.2 years 1745 played 591 reviews
3.00 star(s)

Much improvement 2+ years

Reviewed: Played on:Apr 26, 2016 Played the course:once

Pros:

Cement Tee Pads
Good condition baskets
Pretty park next to the lake

Cons:

Hard to navigate as there are no tee signs

Other Thoughts:

the park has some mesquite trees scattered around. The course tries to use these as much as possible. In some holes the design is good, others are boring. Because of this, several of the holes are pretty long for a 9 hole course. This makes it at least interesting for the better players.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
3 0
TheHipstick
Bronze level trusted reviewer
Experience: 21.1 years 171 played 69 reviews
2.00 star(s)

Wide open 9. 2+ years

Reviewed: Played on:Aug 21, 2015 Played the course:once

Pros:

Very nice concrete teeboxes.
Very nice baskets.
Fairly easy to follow without signs at the teebox.
No real traffic to deal with. (walkers,dogs, or joggers)
Park on location which is nice if you have kids with you.

Cons:

No signage at the teeboxes.
A little bit of trash out on the course, didn't see any trash cans.
Every hole was pretty much the same, not much of a shot shaping course.
Pretty much grip and rip off the tee.
Some trees but not enough to make it difficult.
No trash cans.

Other Thoughts:

It's located at a nice park that seems to be taken care of (some trash around). This would be a great 9 hole course if had a few more amenities. (i.e. signs, trash cans, more trees to bring up the difficulty).

All in all it wasn't a bad little 9 hole course to practice you big driver shots or practice your long to mid range game.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
2 0
hotstang
Bronze level trusted reviewer
Experience: 13.1 years 452 played 59 reviews
3.00 star(s)

Getting better 2+ years

Reviewed: Played on:Aug 14, 2015 Played the course:once

Pros:

New large teepads.
Nice Mach 2 baskets.
Pretty easy to follow.
Just park in lot by basketball court.
Good course to work on your drives.
Nice for a quick quite round.
Bathrooms and playground.

Cons:

Only 9 holes.
Needs signs with footage.
Pedestrians come into play on a few holes.
Trashcans are needed at a few holes.
Lakes not in play.

Other Thoughts:

Nice to see someone added teepads.
I would love to see this course 18.
Also like to see this put in play for a tournament.
With Turner and Veterans nearby would make a good 3 course layout.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
1 0
mavsfan0434
Experience: 12 played 11 reviews
4.00 star(s)

Very Nice 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Jun 3, 2015 Played the course:once

Pros:

- New concrete tee pads are awesome
- Course is nicely, recently mowed
- Baskets are easy to see and high quality

Cons:

- A couple of holes are hard to find after the last basket, just keep the map open on the phone

Other Thoughts:

I REALLY enjoyed this course, not sure why the poor reviews. The course is perfect for beginners. It's fairly open, nowhere to really lose a disc. I can see where this could be difficult on the weekends because of pedestrians, but it's a perfect after work course on weekdays.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
2 1
Hector Chain
Diamond level trusted reviewer
Experience: 16 years 222 played 191 reviews
0.00 star(s)

No mountain, no creek, just danger 2+ years

Reviewed: Played on:Apr 7, 2015 Played the course:once

Pros:

There are concrete pads and real, actual baskets.

There is a pretty lake nearby.

The only other pro is that the risk of hitting someone is mitigated by the fact that you'll never want to play this course a second time.

Cons:

This is one of the worst ideas for a course I've seen. I was in Central Park in NYC a few weeks ago, and this felt every bit as busy. On a Tuesday evening. The park was humming with walkers, pick up basketball games, soccer practices, dog walkers, and people just standing around conversing.

If you're going to be in a park with this many people, it's probably a good idea to be well out of the way and have pretty short holes. Nope. Most of the holes here were bombers, and other than maybe the first hole, they were plenty close to park users. I was really nervous about throwing, and eventually I stopped and just walked the holes. I know you're not supposed to review a course where you didn't play all the holes, but I assume I get a dispensation when there are 10 people in the fairway. That isn't an exaggeration.

Even if the course were empty, it wouldn't get a high mark. It's mostly open with long walks between holes and pretty uninteresting lines and throws.

Other Thoughts:

Dallas is maybe the best disc golf city in the country. There are plenty of great courses. This one does not fill a niche or serve any area lacking in courses. Best case, you have a crappy option when other great courses are nearby. Worst case, someone gets hit. I've never seen a course with a greater chance of hurting a bystander. No need for this.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
2 0
ericb45696
Experience: 35.1 years 42 played 4 reviews
1.50 star(s)

fund during the week 2+ years

Reviewed: Played on:Mar 27, 2015 Played the course:once

Pros:

Some nice open long shots.
Nice view of the lake.
Nice new baskets and great new tee pads.
Easy to follow with map and probably not too hard without, I believe Jim is working on signage.

Cons:

Not sure what the layout was before, but pedestrians WILL come into play on a few .
Lot's of trash when I was there.

Other Thoughts:

Nice little 9 hole but I would not want to play on a weekend in good weather as the pedestrians there will have no clue and not understand your yelling "fore" or waving around at all.
It's super close to my house so I'd probably come out here to practice during the week if low on gas. Watch the ant hills around 2-4. Not flat, minor elevation but not hilly.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
3 1
Jim Dart
Experience: 2 played 2 reviews
3.50 star(s)

Nicely Refurbished 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Feb 20, 2015 Played the course:once

Pros:

The course layout has been improved by reducing the intersection of disc golfers with others in the park, and offering some new very scenic and fun holes. New Mach 5 baskets have been installed. Tee pads have been installed also.

Cons:

Still only 9 holes. But, you can play the course twice. Signage is yet to come.

Other Thoughts:

If land north and south of park, adjacent to the lake is made available, the course could be expanded to 18 holes.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
6 0
texhop58
Experience: 22.1 years 104 played 19 reviews
1.50 star(s)

what could of been 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Oct 17, 2014 Played the course:once

Pros:

-This review is pretty simple because there is not much to talk about-Its an average course.

*great layout kind of. Since you are playing the tee as if its right of previous basket, the course is actually put together well
*nice clean park-mowed well
*Great lake view over Dallas
*couple of park lots
*good use of tree obstacles
*since no teeboxes, safari golf is an easy option
*good set up for the area they were given
*great potential

Cons:

*No teeboxes- not even a worn piece of grass by teeboxes
*no tee signs
*no course map
-honestly these above is what kills this course
*people have started taking chains from basket
*missing basket
*walking path through course- was not very active though when i was there. It probably comes into play 4 or 5 times on this 9, i mean 8 hole course)
*would of liked to seen a few holes moved closer to water just to add the element in

Other Thoughts:

This course could get a 2.5 to 3 for a 9 hole course, if it just had something missing for guiding. Maps, Teeboxes, signs, painted arrows on trees, Anything. The course design and set up plays better then the 1.5 i gave it, But since you really have no clue where you are going, where you are throwing, It gets bumped down. With a little TLC, this course would be a nice little 9. I truely hate giving this course this score, but under the current playing conditions, it is what it is.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
0 3
Tiffanyfox2009
Experience: 17 years 1 played 1 reviews
2.50 star(s)

Not bad for practice/beginners 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Mar 1, 2014 Played the course:5+ times

Pros:

-Baskets are in good shape
-Not a lot of heavy traffic with other players
-Safe Neighborhood

Cons:

-Missing one basket
-No clear path direction
-Few tees but not enough for the baskets present
-Baskets not clearly numbered
-Walking path through most throwing zones

Other Thoughts:

For a safari course, this is pretty average. Besides missing the one basket, the course is in good condition. No real fear of losing discs unless you throw WAY off the mark and make it to the lake!
Was this review helpful? Yes No
9 0
dreadlock86
Diamond level trusted reviewer
Experience: 17.1 years 388 played 318 reviews
2.00 star(s)

not as bad as I expected 2+ years

Reviewed: Updated: Played on:Jul 6, 2013 Played the course:once

Pros:

-new concrete teepads
-new baskets
-nice, clean park
-the park has elevation, a fair amount of trees around 7-9, and a great view of the lake
-potential to play some cool safari layouts

Cons:

-not much in the way of obstacles, the course is mostly just long and open
-pedestrian paths throughout, well-used by walkers and joggers
-very little shade on this mostly open course
-the wind is nearly always blasting off the lake

Other Thoughts:

After existing in a miserable state for years, this course finally has designated tee pads and they are concrete. A most welcome update for a course that really isn't as bad as it looks.

Use the parking lot of the north side of the park and you will drive past hole 1 on your left. The layout flows clockwise around the park. The rolling hills come into play on hole 3 and to a lesser degree on holes 4, 6, & 7. Holes 7-9 have a number of trees in play and will require a small amount of line shaping but they're still pretty open.

There used to be a small pond in the middle of the park, close to where tee 6 is located now if I remember correctly. Not sure if that area still gets flooded. The pedestrian trails are well used but I have never seen as many in the park as Hector Chain indicates above. I've only played in the morning or middle of the afternoon though.

This course is not worth going out of your way to play but it is not as bad as the rating would imply. Definitely a worthy place to practice if you live nearby or somewhere an adventurous group can go to play safari golf, especially if the other courses around town are crowded. Very close to Turner Park.


**Like this review? Hate it? Message me and let me know why! I want to make them better!**
Was this review helpful? Yes No
1 2
UFOWTF
Experience: 4 played 4 reviews
2.00 star(s)

Make up your own course here. 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Apr 20, 2013 Played the course:2-4 times

Pros:

Wind Practice. Empty of golfers. Endless amount of possibilities. Lake Views. Military helicopters flying over.

Cons:

No tees man. Not even worn path in the grass. Some woman laid a blanket down when I was trying to throw from #4 to #6 so I just turned and started throwing from some basket to some other basket. No problem ladies I don't have any tees anyway I don't know what I am doing.

Other Thoughts:

We each are an architect of our own reality. A group or disc golf gang could easily turn this park into an awesome 9holes. They are numbered so you can figure something out for sure. I will go here again cause I liked to throw next to the lake without fear of losing discs.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
3 2
Discengineer
Experience: 14.5 years 70 played 10 reviews
1.00 star(s)

Such Potential 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Jun 1, 2012 Played the course:once

Pros:

Very good baskets, clean park that is well maintained, Great View of Mountain View Lake.

Cons:

Some baskets are missing chains, No Tee Boxes, No Layout or Map.

Other Thoughts:

Is a very nice park that could be very good but has not marked course layout and just random baskets out about.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
3 1
Bmar04
Experience: 21.9 years 10 played 4 reviews
0.50 star(s)

Not too good 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Oct 22, 2011 Played the course:once

Pros:

Practically no one there at the park. There is a very large open area there if you need a place to practice some long range throws, this would be the place for that. If you want to practice throwing in high wind, this is def the place for that too. View of of Mountain Creek Lake is okay.

Cons:

There are no signs or distinct worn areas for tees. Have to pretty much make up your own course out of 9 baskets. Lots of broken beer bottles all over the park, it is in a pretty crap neighborhood. One basket had chains missing also.

Other Thoughts:

I won't go back, I was just close to the area and went to check it out. I would only go there if you are setting some goal for yourself to play every course in Dallas or if you live near to the park.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
3 1
emook
Experience: 14.6 years 46 played 9 reviews
0.50 star(s)

What an experience 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Nov 6, 2010 Played the course:once

Pros:

Great wind practice

Cons:

Not a very great neighborhood
Lots of people wondering around
some baskets have no chains
no direction really mapped out
no signs
No tee pads

Other Thoughts:

If it wasn't for someone on here posting how to play the course I wouldn't have had a clue how to navigate the place.

All you really need to know about this course is just look out low on my list of cons that tee pads and signs are. I honestly don't think this course is worth a play
Was this review helpful? Yes No
5 0
TxDiscGolfBoy
Silver level trusted reviewer
Experience: 18 years 34 played 33 reviews
1.50 star(s)

Mountain Creek Rundown!!! 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Aug 16, 2010 Played the course:once

Pros:

-Nice view of lake and nice park
-Great course for roller and/ wind practice and accuracy.
-Well groomed
-Nice long shots
-Terrain is small trees and big sloping hills
-Nice cool breeze off the lake on warm days

Cons:

-No pads....not even designated dirt pads
-Numerous baskets with missing chains...#2's basket actually had 2...2 CHAINS!!!
-Walking trails all throughout could lead to park traffic and human obsitcals.
-Extremely Hot in warm weather.

Other Thoughts:

This course needs some work. Pads, signs, chains....the works.

They have enough room for what could be an 18, it just seems as though they didn't make great use of the land. Maybe their budget was to small.

All tees are played from the previous pin. (Tee #1 is #9's basket, #2 pad is #1's basket, etc)

Might have to walk around a bit to find your starting point, if you haven't been here.

If you're close, yeah, stop by. If you're more than 15 min. away, don't hesitate on not going.

Course was pretty weak overall, but with the right amount of effort and work, it could be a really nice little course.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
5 2
Roc1Time
Gold level trusted reviewer
Experience: 23 years 131 played 118 reviews
1.00 star(s)

What a waste!! 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Jul 25, 2010 Played the course:once

Pros:

What an absolute waste! The park is amazing and the views of the lake are great as well making you get your hopes up for just enough time to break your heart. The park is taken care of very well for having no trashcans and for the traffic that is around here. There are baskets here and that is really about it.

Cons:

The traffic is super heavy! The baskets are in poor shape and as said before there are no teepads. Watch out for dog poo.

Other Thoughts:

I have never heard good things about this course and that is the reason I have never gone down here, the only reason I did today is I was super early for a round at Turner. I pulled into the parking lot and thought, "man it doesnt look bad at all, and just the park itself makes it look great.", then I got out and realized why I have hear no good things. I am really surprised they havent pulled it yet for someone getting hit and/ or no play. Safari golf is all this is good for and that is even a stretch. There are far better courses around here so dont waste your time!
Was this review helpful? Yes No
Top