• Discover new ways to elevate your game with the updated DGCourseReview app!
    It's entirely free and enhanced with features shaped by user feedback to ensure your best experience on the course. (App Store or Google Play)

Cincinnati, OH

Mt. Airy Forest

4.115(based on 123 reviews)
Filter course reviews

Filter reviews

Filter reviews

Mt. Airy Forest reviews

Filter
16 6
thrembo
Diamond level trusted reviewer
Premium Member
Experience: 49 years 242 played 195 reviews
4.50 star(s)

Wow Factor for the Big Guns 2+ years

Reviewed: Updated: Played on:Dec 26, 2011 Played the course:once

Pros:

+ One set of concrete tees and three pin placements (long, longer, and longest).

+ Absolutely gorgeous course, with sweeping hills, valleys, woods etc.

+ First rate full service Disc Golf store (The Nati) on site!

+ Brand new baskets.

+ Very friendly and knowlegable locals.

+ Plenty of parking, restrooms, picnic tables, pavilions, and a playground.

+ Benches and trash buckets at almost every hole.

+ Course is impeccably maintained. Mowed grass fairways, large concrete tees in great condition, and I didn't even see a cigarette butt on the ground anywhere. They have alot of pride in this course, and it shows!



Cons:

- Course navigation flows generally pretty good, but there was a long walk between two of the holes. I would recomend getting a map, or playing with a local on your 1st time through.

- One set of tee pads. On a long course like this, I would like to see a short set of tees, to make the course more accesible.

- I would have liked to have seen more holes in the woods. Most of the holes play in between the woods and the road, so there is plenty of ob. The locals said the city doesn't really want people in the woods, but hopefully this changes in the future.(There is some evidence of this already with the two alternate holes in the woods).

Other Thoughts:

Overall, a great course in an area known for its awesome courses.

This course is LONG. I would not recommend it for beginers, but anyone of at least an intermediate level of skill will have a blast here.

Friendly and dedicated locals, and nice courses with something for everyone, make the greater Cincinnati area a "destination" city for disc golf. I can't wait to come back!
Was this review helpful? Yes No
12 0
AdamJ
Experience: 34.1 years 156 played 4 reviews
4.00 star(s)

Course Pro Update 2+ years

Reviewed: Played on:Nov 7, 2011 Played the course:5+ times

Pros:

Upgrades for 2011: 20 brand new powder coated Red Mach 3 baskets from DGA, purchased by Cincinnati Parks and installed by volunteers. Addition of up to 3 Pin locations per hole for added challenges and erosion control. New benches and bridges built by local boy scouts. Planting of numerous trees and continued removal of Honey suckle throughout the Park.

Cons:

As I read through these reviews I notice many do not understand that we are still working on these renovations and most of the complaints will be taken care of when we accomplish our final goals. Hence the new signage and last few alternate sleeves will be finished by next spring. All I ask is please be patient while we continue to renovate this course to make it the best it can be.

Maps can be found at the Nati Pro shop for current layouts and info.

Other Thoughts:

We will be pulling out Holes A and B which play between holes 3 and 4 for the winter months. These two holes where removed due to the Parks dept. had concerns of the erosion back in 2006. We are always looking for hole sponsors to help cover costs of these renovations, if interested please contact me anytime for further details.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
10 0
hooked312
Experience: 16.1 years 34 played 17 reviews
4.50 star(s)

Beautiful Round 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Aug 15, 2011 Played the course:2-4 times

Pros:

- To start off the warm up area in unmatched. With the practice baskets and the driving net. A great way to prepare for the challenge ahead. And if you need a disc the pro shop has everything.
- Scorecards in the clubhouse with a map that makes up for the lack of signage. Take one with you.
- This course demands a variety of shots with a great mix of open areas to wooded areas.
- Proper use of the elevation that graces the park. And the course is well maintained. Bring comfortable shoes.
- Bathrooms, I think after hole #4. (also provided shelter during a pop-up thunderstorm). Also plenty of benches at the tee pads.

Cons:

- Naturally I would like to see better signage.
- A few times park pedestrians have come into play. It is a public park so this can be expected.
- Make sure you check the map for the long walk in between 6 and 7.

Other Thoughts:

At first this course was a little overwhelming, but each time I play it I enjoy it more and more. So if you play it for the first time and don't enjoy your round, don't give up on it. Also with the community in Cincinnati it seems as though this course is well taken care of, so I am excited to see the improvements as the years go on.
If you enjoy a fun challenging course that take a little less than 2 hours to play this is the course for you. It is truly a beautiful piece of land that is well maintained by the city.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
3 2
Jason Kerl
Experience: 37.8 years 56 played 4 reviews
4.50 star(s)

Home of The Nati Disc Golf 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Oct 30, 2011 Played the course:5+ times

Pros:

The Nati Disc Golf Pro Shop On Site.
Practice Net
2 Practice Baskets
DDC Court available
Brand New Red Mach 3's
Alternate sleeves for each basket. Making the course average to really long.
Well maintained.
Trash bins on every tee.
Bench on every tee

Cons:

Tee Signs are in the midst of being replaced so only a Con for now.

If this is your first time playing the course be sure to pick up a map at The Nati.

Other Thoughts:

Big thanks to Adam Jones (course pro), The Nati Boyz, and all the other volunteers who have helped in bringing Mt. Airy back from the almost dead.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
6 0
EspressoPatronum
Gold level trusted reviewer
Premium Member
Experience: 18.8 years 256 played 247 reviews
4.00 star(s)

Great Wooded/Technical Course 2+ years

Reviewed: Played on:Oct 1, 2011 Played the course:once

Pros:

-forces use of many different types of shots and challenges you technically
-signs show layout of holes, distance, and par
-pro shop at course is awesome and has almost any disc you'd ever want
-beautiful course in 1500 acre forest
-bathrooms onsite
-some narrow and challenging fairways without extreme overgrowth in the woods to lose discs
-excellent practice/warmup area
-logical flow between holes for the most part
-garbage can and bench at almost every hole

Cons:

-some holes are missing their signs
-sometimes a little muddy in the woods

Other Thoughts:

This is an excellent course in a great natural setting. It's not often you have a pro shop on site and I loved that, it has an amount of variety you can usually only find on the internet. The course is technical and challenging but a lot of fun. If you're in Cincinnati this is definitely one you have to hit.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
10 1
Bikinimower
Silver level trusted reviewer
Experience: 21.7 years 174 played 67 reviews
3.50 star(s)

Love the Nati! 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Sep 17, 2011 Played the course:2-4 times

Pros:

You can feel the love and respect for the sport here
The course Pro Shop is excellent
The warm up area is the best I've ever seen
They really really take care of this place
Clean and Maintained
Not to tight
Long and Fairly open

Cons:

Kinda repetitious
Outside of 2 wooded holes and the last 3 it didn't really use the land as good as they could have
Wouldn't recommend it for a beginner
Spend a lot of time playing next to a road

Other Thoughts:

From the minute you pull in here you can tell that this place takes their Disc Golf seriously. The Pro Shop is very nice and the people working there are helpful and friendly. They warm up area is excellent, best I've ever seen. It's the first place I've ever been to that has a net to warm up your drives on. It also has 2 practice baskets.

You will be hard pressed to find a scrap of garbage, an un-mowed fairway, or overgrown brush. They keep this place gorgeous.

The course itself is large, outside of hole 8 you will will not have many ace opportunitys. If your just learning I may suggest somewhere else. Most holes are long with generous lines, they have trees in the fairway or they follow a tree line but they are not wooded holes.

It's just my personal preference but I will usually fall in love with a course if it incorporates the landscape and the natural surrounds creatively into the course (for example,Lincoln Ridge) and outside 2 holes that break off into the woods and especially the last 3 holes, which I thought were great. I didn't feel that this place really capitalized on the land. (but to be fair, I'm not really all that familiar with the area so the may have done the best they could do with what they had)

But other than that it was a great course. I played this course a long time ago when I was just learning and had not been back for years. I like it a lot better now that I've had some time to sharpen my skills and have played enough courses to really appreciate the difference between an average course and a great one. I wouldn't recommend this one for beginners but if your an experienced player and you live nearby it should be a staple. If your a road tripper and your in Cincinnati you'd be crazy to pass this one up. It's one of the best in an area that is just overflowing with great courses!
Was this review helpful? Yes No
11 0
discNDav
Gold level trusted reviewer
Premium Member
Experience: 38 years 437 played 91 reviews
4.00 star(s)

clean park and nice DG challenge 2+ years

Reviewed: Updated: Played on:Aug 5, 2011 Played the course:2-4 times

Pros:

"The Nati" pro shop on site...what a wonderful selection of discs. It was air-conditioned in 2011 unlike my previous stops there.

The practice area btw the pro shop and tee #1, they have a net to practice your drives plus a basket for putting.

The DG directional sign to other world class courses, you got to see it!

Very clean urban park, Cincy takes care of their parks unlike most big cities.

The course provides a great DG challenge starting with a par 4 on #1. Great elevation changes throughout the course.

Cement tees (although some are cracked and slightly uneven in spots since they are not new). The new tee signs indicate which basket position is currently being used, A, B or C.

Newer large benches on most holes.

Course plays around large mature trees, the fairways are quite fair. Nothing too tight.

Scenic and well maintained park with cut grass.

Cons:

The long walk btw a few holes, 3 to 4 and even longer walk backtracking to 7 from 6 while passing most of 5.

More anhyzer than hyzer shots for this RHBH player.

Half the holes are btw 300-400, this Adv Master simply can't birdie most of these even with a great drive. I'd rather have slightly longer par 4's.

Other Thoughts:

Print a map ahead of time, this will save you considerable time your first time through.

Alternate basket positions are being planned to provide more variety and help with erosion control.

One of the "big 3" in the Cincy area along with Idlewild and Lincoln Ridge (both in nearby KY).

Probably a 4.25 star course but I'm a very tough reviewer of courses and can't choose 4.25.



Was this review helpful? Yes No
6 5
chainsmoker513
Experience: 17 years 16 played 2 reviews
4.50 star(s)

2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Updated: Played on:Jun 14, 2011 Played the course:5+ times

Pros:

The course has a nice practice basket, a great pro shop, and generally the players are great. The course is challenging and great chances to make some tricky shots. The scenery is great, some wooded holes and the design is well thought out. I played twice today and found out that on hole 17 (possibly others) they switched the location of the basket. all of the baskets are in great shape.

Cons:

The Tee signs don't exist on some holes so by my guess i play them as par 3's since they have many long par 3's.

Other Thoughts:

Mt. Airy is about 5 mins away from my house and i just recently started playing there again. I really like the design of the course, It is a good Challenge. I'm not the best player but this course is amazing to test your skills. If you need somewhere challenging, well designed and all around a great course Mt. Airy is a great place to play!
Was this review helpful? Yes No
9 0
TalbotTrojan
Gold level trusted reviewer
Experience: 15.7 years 112 played 104 reviews
4.50 star(s)

The Country Club To The Max 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Jun 13, 2011 Played the course:once

Pros:

This course has a very high fun factor and is such a good experience. The fact that there is a pro shop and practice area is a really nice touch. I have never seen the practice driving range before. The design of the course is potentially one of my favorite designs out there. This is a park course that makes use of the land and natural features of a park course with really only one filler hole. The whole area is well maintained. There is a nice little play ground in the middle of the course which may contribute to some foot traffic but the design of the course really minimizes this. There were buckets at every tee sign and the tee signs were really nice. The tee pads were nice consistent concrete. There was a really good mix of holes and very few holes that felt like any other hole on the course. There are several holes that are marked as more than a par 3 but rightfully deserve the par that they have.

Cons:

Some of the baskets are a bit tough to find at first but that is more due to the length and hiddenness of the baskets. There is a long walk from hole 6 to 7, but I guess it had to happen at some point. Hole 16 is a bit tricky to find only because you finish hole 15 and immediately want to go to hole 17 which is nice and easy to see. The parking lot near the pro shop may be a little bit small for a busy day though there was not a lot of traffic on a monday morning.

Other Thoughts:

This course was just a lot of fun and a very fair course. It was hard but not insane, it was good even for a beginner. The course defiantely makes use of length but not to a fault. I really enjoyed holes 1, 15, 16 and 18. This is a must play course, maybe even more so than some of the other highly rated courses in the tri state area.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
0 4
clyderandall
Experience: 14 years 13 played 8 reviews
4.00 star(s)

Excellent Course 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:May 19, 2011 Played the course:5+ times

Pros:

Fun and challenging every time. Spoke to the guy at the pro shop on site and they are going to install new sleeves for each hole to move the pins weekly. This will add a new and twist to this already great course.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
0 9
dbcaldwell
Experience: 15.2 years 6 played 2 reviews
4.00 star(s)

2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:May 12, 2011 Played the course:once

Other Thoughts:

I really enjoyed playing at Mt. Airy this morning. Being from Northern Kentucky, I can compare this course to Lincoln Ridge. It is similar in terms of technicality. It definitely pushes you to make harder throws, and challenges every part of your game. Overall, better than Lincoln Ridge, but Idlewilde still trumps the Tri State courses. This course was great and i am excited to play it again.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
14 0
roadtripstuff
Gold level trusted reviewer
Experience: 21.2 years 286 played 57 reviews
4.00 star(s)

One of Ohio's Best 2+ years

Reviewed: Played on:Mar 12, 2011 Played the course:once

Pros:

On-Site Pro Shop
Practice Basket
Netted Driving Area
Course Begins and Ends at Pro Shop
Concrete Tees (Some could use work.)
Good Use of Elevation
Great Variety
Very Scenic

Cons:

Tee Signs Need Work or are Missing Altogether
Some Tees Are Broken and Uneven
Plays Around A Lot of Traffic/Other Park Go-ers
Limited Parking Close to Beginning of Course
Too Open (My Opinion)

Other Thoughts:

Mt. Airy is a great 18-hole course located in a huge and scenic city park. When you enter the park, from Colerain Ave, veer right and continue for .40 miles to Pineridge and turn left. Follow Pineridge until you see the Nati Pro Shop.

From the parking lot you can see the pro shop, practice baskets, and driving area, the only practice driving area I have seen. The driving area is a practice area with long concrete tee pads facing a large net to catch your drives.

From the parking lot you can also see the first tee. It is opposite the pro shop, down the hill. Be sure to grab a beverage or two from the pro shop if you don't have anything, a round here can take anywhere from 2-4 hours, depending on the number of people in your group and on the course that day.

For the most part navigation is pretty straight forward except for the previously mentioned walk between holes 6 and 7. Just head back toward the basket for 5 and cross Pineridge Road to get to the tee for hole 7.

The course, for the most part, is pretty open but has some mature trees that come into play on nearly every hole. The variety of shots, hyzer, anhyzer, and straight is nice, but all but two holes are over 300ft. with the majority being in the 325-400 range. While these aren't huge holes, "smaller" arms or less experienced players might find it difficult to shoot well here.

All-in-All Mt. Airy is a great course. Scenic, challenging, and well thought out, it is easily, in my opinion, one of the best courses in Ohio. The only real knock I have on the course is the amount of pedestrian and vehicle traffic that comes into play. Other than that, this course has it all. The pro shop is one of the best I have seen at a course, and the practice area is top-notch. I definitely recommend this course to anyone thinking of making a trip to Cincy.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
0 12
DrewMillerRH
Premium Member
Experience: 15.2 years 192 played 10 reviews
4.00 star(s)

2+ years

Reviewed: Played on:Mar 5, 2011 Played the course:5+ times

Pros:

Well designed course, well maintained, solid tee pads, awesome pro shop on the course, beutiful mature forest, good use of elevation

Cons:

Over the years, it's lost two wooded holes that added swing to the course.

Other Thoughts:

If you're in Cincinnati, play this couse!
Was this review helpful? Yes No
18 1
tistoude
Gold level trusted reviewer
Experience: 15.9 years 200 played 61 reviews
3.50 star(s)

Grip it and Rip it 2+ years

Reviewed: Played on:Oct 26, 2010 Played the course:once

Pros:

This course is located in a very nice urban park that features lots of grassy fairways and tons of elevation changes. For the most part this course plays through the open parts of the park along the edges of the woods with only a couple of exceptions. This course is pretty open and really favors players with power so get out your big guns and loosen up your arm ahead of time. There are quite a few holes that while long have OB and dense woods along the fairway so your long drives need to be at least loosely controlled. Most of the holes feature some mature hardwood trees that require some shot shaping but leave many different line choices available. There is a pretty good mix of hole design at Mt. Airy. It has left turning, right turning, straight, uphill (lots) and downhill holes. There are also a few really good pin positions on the course that feature drop-offs or are protected by trees. The baskets and tees appeared to be in decent condition and the tee signs were nice. Also at the Disc golf parking lot there is an extremely nice Pro Shop called The Nati. The building itself is super cool and they offer a great selection of discs and gear. The staff was super friendly and helpful. We were told that in nicer weather there is a driving net near hole 1's tee that can be used to warm up. The course was very clean and free of debris despite there having been a pretty bad storm earlier in the day. Some notable parts of the course I really liked were the tee shot on number 2 (even though it goes over a road) that had trees right in front of the tee but has gaps for both backhand and forehand, hole number 11's very fast green tucked in the woods, and every thing about hole number 15. A 560ft down hill right turning hole that slopes away on the right of the hole and behind the pin.

Cons:

Mt. Airy is just too open for my tastes. I prefer courses that reward accuracy and distance evenly and have a mix of open and wooded holes. Quite a few holes play near the roads or the parking lot, with hole number 2 actually going over the road. Hole 18 can put the pro shop itself into play if your drive hyzers out early. Some of the tees were still in ok shape but were cracked or needed to be leveled . It would also be nice to see some alternate tees put in. As it stands now beginners would have a hard time on this long course. With all of the great land around this course it could easily become a premier course. I did hear from the guys in The Nati that there were a few woods holes in the past that were moved and that there are some temporary holes that are setup occasionally for tournaments that are pretty good. This course as it is felt very much like just a longer park style course and not quite the championship caliber course that I had heard it to be. One final con that I am not sure should be attributed to the course itself is the amount of men "cruising" the parking lot near hole number three. It was super creepy and we were told by locals that this was fairly common and even worse elsewhere in the park.

Other Thoughts:

Mt. Airy was a fun play and a solid course with an awesome pro shop. I like playing bomber courses occasionally and I got to air out some new plastic without fear of losing it. I liked the course but if I make the trip out to the Cinncy area again I will probably head to Banklick and Idlewild first.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
4 10
hanesjm
Experience: 3 played 3 reviews
5.00 star(s)

2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Sep 27, 2010 Played the course:5+ times

Pros:

Long challenging course. Great variety of scoring holes and hole where pro par is literally for pro's. Hole 5 is a 700+ dog leg right that is a challenging 4 let alone a 3. 17 in long pin placement is also a challenging par, great course to play if your looking to challenge yourself. Shooting 54 (pro par) is a pro level score. very clean course well maintained. mixed baskets being replaced with new baskets and new huge pads are in the works to be in by the end of this season, also new sleeves for alternate pin placements on nearly every hole. A great course only getting better! Nati Disc Shop at first tee, if you have not been stop in and see the guys. they are all great help and the shop has one of the best disc varieties you can find. Hosts weekly ace fund and weekly ace fun random doubles. Annually CC and Flying Pig.

Cons:

Could easily be a major quality course with simple additions and changes, Allot of the small cons are in the works to be fixed but seems to be taking a while for work to actually begin. New pin placements, baskets and pads could easily skyrocket this course to the top ten best.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
0 12
sickem2
Experience: 17.2 years 5 played 5 reviews
4.50 star(s)

A favorite 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Aug 18, 2010 Played the course:2-4 times

Pros:

Love the scenery at this course. There are alot of open, but tricky holes. Try to play when it not all that windy, cuz if you disc goes sailing... it may sail into the bush. Its a lengthy course, set aside about 2-3 hours to play this course.

Cons:

Dont perfer to throw around the traffic and approaching cars. The back holes are gone, those were FUN!!

Other Thoughts:

FUN FUN FUN!!!!
Lots of water fountains throughout to grab water.

Check out the NATI
Was this review helpful? Yes No
13 1
woottebs
Experience: 1 played 1 reviews
4.00 star(s)

Mt. Airy Forest DGC 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Aug 16, 2010 Played the course:5+ times

Pros:

-Located within large, wooded, well maintained park
-Features "The Nati" pro shop; a top of the line, fully stocked disc golf store complete with refreshments and knowledgeable staff
-Concrete pads on all 18 holes with recently regalvanized baskets.
-Many holes have options for the golfer off the tee. Different shots and routes are available with various risk/reward.
-Excellent variety and diversity of shots off the tee, with varying distances, shapes, and woods.
-Challenging track with good distance on many holes. Many true par 4's (and one par 5) which require BOTH distance AND accuracy off the tee.
-Thoughtful layout of linked holes has good flow
-Excellent use of elevation change, slopes, and drop-offs on and around the putting greens forces golfers to make decisions on approach, and punishes errant putts.

Cons:

-In my opinion, hole 3 just does not fit in with the overall theme of the course, and overall is just not a great hole.
-Parking isn't the greatest I've seen, gets overcrowded at times.
-A couple of the tee pads are slightly slanted up or down, or have small drop-offs at the front of the pad. A couple others have large cracks and are uneven.
-No really good informative tee signs throughout the course.
-A variety of different types of baskets makes some holes harder to putt on than others.

Other Thoughts:

Mt Airy is easily the best course in Cincinnati, as well as the most challenging. The course is currently under heavy renovation which will address most if not all of the cons listed above.
Heavy trees and OB line many of the fairways which makes controlled drives very important off the tee. However, with an average hole length of appx. 415ft, the course demands long drives WITH tight accuracy. This, combined with the punishing OB and woods hands out strokes to golfers who are errant off the tee. Then, you have to contend with the tough approaches and putts.
However, with all that said, there are plenty of deuce opportunities on the course, and a really low score is out there, if you're on your game. Roughly half of the holes (give or take a few depending on how big of an arm you have) are deucable, with a good drive. Overall, 54 is about the scratch score average.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
14 2
weeman
Gold level trusted reviewer
Experience: 20.2 years 653 played 61 reviews
4.50 star(s)

Excellent course, Tough challenge 2+ years

Reviewed: Played on:Aug 1, 2010 Played the course:5+ times

Pros:

Mt. Airy gives even seasoned players a run for their money. Adjacent to the clubhouse is a large net for warming up and a practice basket. I recommend utilizing these because you'll need your game to be on starting with hole one. The clubhouse has a friendly staff and a wide selection of discs to choose from. Now on to the course. Fairways have moderate to heavy woods that can leave you scratching your head after a bad shot. Basket placements are fair and seemingly all are on some sort of slope or at least right near one. There's not a lot of thick underbrush in the rough but enough on certain holes that errant shots/kicks will leave you searching. Course has some considerable length and all these shots favor accuracy over distance. Be sure to make your birdies count on this course and in most cases 3's are good scores. Tee pads were generally in good condition with those on slopes having an extra few feet of ground level with the tee on the ends for follow through steps. Course has several stair cases and gravel walking trails throughout that aid in navigation and safety. More of these amenities are continually being installed/updated.

Cons:

As mentioned by others, several tee signs are missing and others are dirty from people writing on them over the years. Also, some (but not many) of the teepads are cracked and may affect footing. Worth mentioning because I've seen it happen multiple times, near number 14's basket (formerly number 1) are several picnic tables that get used regularly by families. Though hitting these tables is highly unlikely, children like to play near the basket and are generally unaware of disc golfers and the risk of getting hit. So be careful of that.

Other Thoughts:

Mt. Airy can be a fun course to bring people of all skill levels to, just don't make them keep score. When playing near dusk or just after dawn there's usually a good chance you'll come across deer throughout the course. With that, be sure to watch where you step due to their droppings. Overall Airy has several very scenic shots and a lot of character. It provides a different challenge that you won't come across at neither Banklick/Lincoln Ridge or Idlewild. It ranks among my top ten favorite courses I've played. Thanks to the GCFDA for all their work they do for this course.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
3 7
mrcoach00
Experience: 7 played 1 reviews
4.00 star(s)

Not for the meak 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Jul 20, 2010 Played the course:once

Pros:

I've never played a course that had it's own clubhouse; had to be a thousand discs in the store. Fun, yet challenging course that is fairly well maintained. A couple of the Par 3's seemed fairly long to me, especially those that trekked uphill.

Cons:

Locating hole #7 after finishing #6 took some time; thankfully the gent playing behind me was kind enough to point me in the right direction (back toward clubhouse).
A few of the maps at the tees were missing, which would leave a first time player a little curious.

Other Thoughts:

Went in the AM on a July weekday and although it was only 75 to 80 degrees it got hot quick. There isn't a tremendous amount of shade on this course. Almost all of the holes have atleast one wooded boundary, but that didn't translate into much shade on the course. Bring the sun screen and a beverage.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
1 10
puttinhutton
Experience: 40.1 years 8 played 8 reviews
4.50 star(s)

What a Jewel 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Sep 15, 2009 Played the course:once

Pros:

What a jewel you people in Cincinnati have here. I could play this course every day and not get tired of it. The pro shop is one of the best and in an amazing historical building. The people there are awesome. The course is maintained in almost impeccable condition. I know I was at least half-way to heaven. The big, beautiful mature trees, elevation, fantastic scenery, good hole variety, all this adds up to a great course.

Cons:

A few holes are a bit too open, but listing any cons here seems like whining to me.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

Latest posts

Top