• Discover new ways to elevate your game with the updated DGCourseReview app!
    It's entirely free and enhanced with features shaped by user feedback to ensure your best experience on the course. (App Store or Google Play)

Mount Juliet, TN

Mundy Park

1.815(based on 16 reviews)
Filter course reviews

Filter reviews

Filter reviews

Mundy Park reviews

Filter
13 0
Shadrach3
Gold level trusted reviewer
Experience: 5.7 years 321 played 314 reviews
1.00 star(s)

Failing Beginner Course 2+ years

Reviewed: Played on:Feb 21, 2021 Played the course:once

Pros:

A short, woodsy course that is beginning the path to extinction.

Mundy tries really hard, and almost hits the nail. It is still a nine-hole layout despite losing the original hole (1) at some point (so holes are numbered starting at (2)). Most holes until the last three have concrete tees and signs. It flows well if you know where you're going.

It has a nice variety of heavily wooded, open, and in between, and even varies length some (from sub-100' to about 300'). It uses a variety of shapes including sharp lefts and rights, gentle fades left and right, and straighter drives. A few holes use elevation well, with a few at the front being downhill and the end playing mostly uphill. The ace potential is high. I think that it could be a good course for newer players with some changes.

Cons:

Quite a few, unfortunately.

-Shapes: Some tough to unbelievable shapes called for here. The start of the course is super touchy (bring multiple putter molds), but the first real absurdity is hole (5), which is a dogleg right with the basket way too far right compared to how far after the gap it is. The range from (6)-(8), while all throwable, are weirdly specific shots that don't line up naturally, especially for non-elite players.

-Amenities: Single-chain baskets aren't good. The last three holes don't have tee pads or signs, so are totally mysterious without a course map.

-Maintenance: A big one bringing Mundy down. The equipment does not look like it gets the attention it needs. Tee signs are decaying, brush isn't well-cleared, and one basket (7) is totally done for.

-Navigation: The course flows, but it's not always easy to see where to go because of aging signs or no tees. There is also no indicator of the start of the course--you just find a tee labeled (2) and that's apparently your entire welcome.

-Straight Line: The course begins on the exact opposite end of the park from where it begins. Really inconvenient.

-Ease: Pretty boring for most experienced players. Holes are mostly too short, the weird shapes aren't very satisfying to attempt, and the longer holes are mostly wide open.

Other Thoughts:

Mundy has the basic structure of a really nice beginners course. However, the exact design choices are suspect, it's hard to know what's going on without good navigation, some basic amenities are missing, and the equipment is aging. Right now, it's a Poor course. Were it to receive a revitalization, I would definitely consider upping my rating to reflect the reasonable nature of most of its holes.

-Ninth Hole: It's not included on the UDisc map, but the new hole (9) can be played from the walking path near basket (8) across the valley to basket (9) sitting on a plateau.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
8 0
JHNashville
Experience: 8.9 years 20 played 9 reviews
0.50 star(s)

:( 2+ years

Reviewed: Updated: Played on:Apr 30, 2021 Played the course:once

Pros:

There was no one there, which is a plus, I guess.


Big field by the last hole to practice distance drives.

Cons:

Course is hard to locate, even when using directions.
First teepad is wayyyyy out of the way compared to the parking lot.

Hole 1 (which is Hole 2) has a massive fallen tree blocking the teepad and fairway, making it unplayable.

Holes are not very well thought out. A couple are very strangely laid out, including sharp and sudden 100 degree doglegs and next to impossible ceilings due to lack of maintenance.

The baskets look like they're from the 15th century and are falling apart.

Teepads are extremely small. Enough room for a single step before throwing.

Really hard to find the teepads for the last few holes. Ended up giving up and not playing the last two.

Other Thoughts:

Sucks to see a course in this bad of shape.

Could be slightly salvaged with some serious maintenance and new baskets but seems like a lost cause at this point.


This is the worst course I have played on to date. Not much to be said about it other than that.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
13 0
Cerealman
Diamond level trusted reviewer
Premium Member
Experience: 15.9 years 600 played 179 reviews
0.50 star(s)

The Effect of Neglect 2+ years

Reviewed: Played on:Dec 30, 2020 Played the course:once

Pros:

At the back of the park are the dying remains of a disc golf course. Littered with broken teepad signs and prehistoric baskets, the Mundy Park DGC is a sad reminder of what happens when a course is abandoned.

The first few holes are in the woods and short, but the design is decent and the fairways are fair.

The original Hole #1 was sacrificed, but a ninth hole/basket was added at the end of the course.

There is some moderate elevation on this course. Hole #9 is probably the most noteworthy, as you throw over a valley and the basket is positioned on the edge of a hill.

Cons:

I've played more than 300 courses, and these are the WORST baskets I have seen. The course was designed in 2009, but the baskets appear to be from 1909. The fragile metal baskets are bent and warped with a single row of chains surrounding a narrow center pole. The gold-colored paint is chipped in countless spots and the original coat of burgundy shows. The baskets are shallow and not even a disc deep. I did not have any spit-outs, but I imagine they are frequent. The last few baskets have been upgraded, however.

The teepads are tiny, though with the putter distances on most of the holes, you won't need much of a run-up.

The signs are in poor shape, and several were broken. Of course, with the removal of the original Hole #1, all the hole numbers are incorrect. There are no tee signs for Holes #7 through #9. Apparently, those holes were previously indicated with spray paint on the sidewalk, but those marks have washed away. I used the UDisc map to estimate the intended teepad area.

The decent design peters out quickly. The basket for Hole #3 juts out into Hole #4's fairway. And the line to the Hole #5 basket is ridiculous. Even though it's only 192 feet, the design is similar to an upside-down-J and will require a bit of magic to park your drive.

The right-side boundary of Hole #6 includes several fenced backyards, so if your drive goes right and avoids the towering pines, you might be scrambling to retrieve your disc.

After Hole #9, it's every bit of a five-minute walk back to your car if you parked near the entrance.

Other Thoughts:

Visiting a disc golf course nearing RIP status can be a strange pleasure. I was prepared for the worst, considering the five previous Trusted Reviewers' rating average was 1.4. I was not disappointed.

To reach the start of the course, park in the half-circle on the right just after the park entrance. Walk along the fence that separates the park from the manufacturing facility. Just before you reach the residential backyards, turn left and you'll find the first hole (with a sign that says Hole #2).

I hesitated to sentence Mundy Park with a 0.5 rating, but it is deserved. There isn't enough decent stuff here to merit a full point, especially for a course going the way of the dinosaurs.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
7 0
MrFrosty
Diamond level trusted reviewer
Experience: 31.2 years 764 played 387 reviews
0.50 star(s)

Mt. Juliet's Low Point 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Sep 15, 2019 Played the course:once

Pros:

The course sits in a multi use park with ball fields , a soccer field and cement walking path and some picnic tables and shelter above the parking lot . There are 7 baskets here , 2-6 with concrete pads and there are faded but readable signs for 2-6 . There , Done with the pros .

Cons:

Starting with ,,,,, #1 . Missing holes . I hate courses , especially 9 hole ones , that can't even keep the holes that they have . Typically a sign that no one cares . #1 is missing and apparently was claimed by a ball field , so now you can play Where's Waldo and find #2 without seeing #1 ( Hint; It's in the woods behind the fields ) I did not see the 9th hole , either . Which points me to #2. Navigation , no kiosk , and no online map . Once you find #2 , you can easily go from 2-6 , and there is some type of line on the cement leading to an uphill basket . Could that be number 7 ? Let's get an archaeologist to interpret it for us . No other lines for the basket on the hill near the shelter . Just safari it from 2 angles and call it a day. #3 It's a shame that good metal and cement was wasted on this course . Short concrete tees, and baskets listed as Instep but upon a closer look , I think it said Unstable. The cheapest baskets that I have seen in ages barely hold your putt ( I use a Blowfly on this single chain crap) . #4 Safety . little ones and their parents may be at the ball fields and stray a little ways from it . Also walking path joggers and dog walkers . Be careful when throwing , especially # 6 & 7 . #5 , The Walks . parking where you think the course is and actually where the course is are 2 different places . You will have a hike to #2 and From #8 . There is a creek bed with rocks by 6 & 7 , but no water in it . Disc risk depends on how you judge it . Chucking your drive over the barbed wire fence line near holes 4 and 6 might be a lost one. . Holes #2-5 are going to be a muddy mess after a good rain .

Other Thoughts:

This course has no appealing value or looks . I couldn't imagine coming here to throw a hole or 2 even if my kids had ball practice in the field right beside it . They say that you appreciate other courses more when you have terrible course like this one to suffer through . I would say to pull the course and put the baskets elsewhere , but the baskets are one of the worst features. Maybe melt them down and make a ball bat or 2 for the knothole kids to hit with . Read wellsbranch205 and bjreah's posts on this . They are 2 experienced disc golfers and travelers . I laughed when I figured out that I was grading it even lower than they did . Whoever is in charge of this disc golf course ( deceased in 2013 ? ) and if they are still alive , they should be rolled up in that rusty barbed wire and rolled down into that jagged rock creek bed and clubbed with one of those Instep chain disasters . Dr Kevorkian this course and put it out of it's misery . A nice idea was lost here about 10 years ago . My Recommendation : If you are on I-40 near Mt Juliet , keep driving to at least Lebanon or Nashville , even to fill up with gas or go to the bathroom . FYI The .5 I gave the course was actually for ME because I found #2's tee by myself .
Was this review helpful? Yes No
9 0
wellsbranch250
Diamond level trusted reviewer
Premium Member
Experience: 10.4 years 663 played 644 reviews
1.00 star(s)

Approaching Tombstone Status 2+ years

Reviewed: Played on:Sep 3, 2018 Played the course:once

Pros:

(1.183 Rating) Your a daisy if you do this one.
- ACEABILITY - I unloaded a bunch of Judges on hole (4), but unfortunately my aim was nothing like the Earp brothers at the O.K. Corral shoot-out. Some could argue that my results were at best, errant warning shots. Anyways, this course will likely produce two or three times more aces than a normal course despite the horrible baskets (see cons, Chains). Hole (4) will be the most likely claimant at less than 120 feet.
- QUICK PLAY - Getting to the course almost takes as long as the course itself. Regardless, I was only out of my car for only 35 minutes and was then in route to Ethan Page Park.
- CHILL AREAS - A nice secluded picnic table on (2). When a lone picnic table becomes one of the best aspects of a course, you know it's going to be a course with issues.

Cons:

Lots and lots of issues with Mundy Park.
- CHAINS - Some of the worst basket I've ever seen. The info on DGCR says Instep, but these look even worse. A couple are listing a bit and a few have horrible yellow paint jobs. The only courses I've ranked lower in this categories are targets and poorly home-made versions.
- MISSING HOLE 1 - Hole (1), from reading a bunch of other reviews, has been missing for some time. I'd be willing to bet that they never put old (1) back as this will likely be a dead course in a couple of years. A new hole was squeezed in between Original (7) and Newer (8) weeks after my appearance, bringing it back to 9 holes.
- FINDING START OF COURSE AND NAVIGATION - There are no maps on DGCR. So to find (2), walk to the most South-Western portion of the park. There's a picnic table here and a decent tee sign. After this point I didn't have too much trouble traversing hole to hole. There are no directional cues between holes and there's some missing signage. Tees (8) and (9) are now located on the asphalt path.
- TEES - Pouring 3 foot by 6 foot concrete pads is a waste of concrete. Perhaps this was a way to add difficulty.
- CHARACTER - In addition to poor tees, navigation and baskets, the extras aren't here either. No multi-tees, alternate basket locations or practice basket. There is seating on one hole and there's lots of parking in a land far far away.
- UNIQUENESS - Actually one of the better aspects of the course but still very sub-par. There's some decent elevation in play with a couple holes hitting the 20 foot mark. A couple small creeks are also in play, although they were both dry on my appearance. A few tunnel fairways and also a few openish shots.
- LACK OF CHALLENGE - I birdied all the sub 180 shots between holes (2) thru (5), and then was apparently too dialed down for the remaining mid 200 foot looks. This place will be a scoring blood bath for any Advanced player mistakenly venturing here. I figure most novice level players should be able to break par here on average.
- PARKING - It's a good ten minute walk to tee (2) from the parking, or about a 1,500 foot walk. If you are wondering why I'm mentioning tee (2), it's because you didn't read my earlier cons. Once finishing (9) it's a 1,700 foot walk back to (2). The course apparently use to loop, but that is no longer the case.
- SPACING - Really really bad. On tee (5) you can see two baskets, but I had two discs in my hand, One for each of them. Holes new (7), (8) and (9) all play adjacent to walking paths and ball fields. Hole (8) specifically, has a barbed wire fence enclosure in play. I had to wait for walkers a couple times.
- NATURAL BEAUTY - It's no huckleberry. Holes (2) thru (5) are good, but old (7), new (7), (8) and (9) are very much lacking eye appeal. The creek along old (7) I thought looked nice from a distance, but as I got closer I realized it's base contained a lot of blast quarry rock, gravel and concrete chunks.

Other Thoughts:

I was not impressed by this course and it's one of the worst I've played in the state of Tennessee. Not enough park space for any designer to put in an effective course. Houck or Kennedy might have worked it up to a 2.5 disc course. It appears whomever is currently in change of this course doesn't care anymore. The only infrastructure add in the last year appears to be the fading spray-paint of the tee boxes for holes (8) and (9). Go here if you must, but don't except to discover a way to walk on water down by the creek.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
2 0
eric_vdberg
Bronze level trusted reviewer
Experience: 41 years 1626 played 40 reviews
2.00 star(s)

Two Hole #7s 2+ years

Reviewed: Played on:Jul 18, 2017 Played the course:once

Pros:

Good mix of flight paths and distances.
Plays quickly, lots of parking.
Baskets catch better than one would expect given that they were installed improperly.

Cons:

No tee signs or distances for holes 7 thru 9.
Course goes in a semi-circle and hole 9 is not close to first hole.
Signs have not been re-numbered since hole #2 became hole #1.

Other Thoughts:

Factory fence next to park must have recently blocked disc golf road and parking area, and caused removal of course sign and hole #1.
Distances should be spray-painted on the asphalt for new holes 7 thru 9.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
2 0
jpc0233
Experience: 10 played 2 reviews
1.50 star(s)

It's still there for the most part 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Oct 1, 2016 Played the course:once

Pros:

Decent layout and placement of holes. Fairly easy to figure out where thr next hole is. Good if you want to work on short to mid range game. The park itself is pretty small so I think they did a good job with the the space they had to work with.

Cons:

Sign AND BASKET are missing for hole 1, and for hole 9 as well. So technically this is currently a 7 hole course. I wouldn't expect any replacements either from the looks of it. The baskets are complete crap. Single chain layer and most of the paint is rusted and coming off. Tee pads are extremely small.

Other Thoughts:

Played the whole thing on about 20 minutes solo. I was in the area so I figured I'd check it out. From the other reviews I've read my expectations weren't very high to begin with.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
1 2
DragonJarod
Experience: 3 played 2 reviews
1.00 star(s)

2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Mar 6, 2015 Played the course:5+ times

Pros:

Short holes, and can be finished in 20-30 min. Tight fairways, and some OB which offers some more challenge.

Cons:

Tee pads are short, and some are slanted pretty bad. The baskets are very old and do not hold your discs very well.

Other Thoughts:

Good for beginners.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
6 2
Vibramterraius
Experience: 10.5 years 38 played 13 reviews
1.50 star(s)

Used to be Quick and Fun 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Updated: Played on:Feb 8, 2014 Played the course:5+ times

Pros:

This course plays quickly all 9 can be finished in 40 minutes or less. Mundy DGC is very good for anyone starting out as the shorter distances to targets are easier to reach for players just beginning.
Like with many City Parks there is picnic, playground and walking/running paved pathway and it is easy for friends and family to get together and all have something they like to do here if there are non-disc golf types.

Cons:

Changes made in 2016 have not done this course fairly. Due to new fence being installed by adjacent business and due to football traffic parking on the fairways and on top of the Tee Pads. Hole 1, 8 and hole 9 have been relocated. This means that what was hole 2 is now hole 1. That is a bit of a hike from the parking space which makes finding hole 1 for new players a bit of a challenge.

Holes 1, 8 and 9 have been placed further back past what was hole 7 which is now hole 6. Tees for 7, 8 and 9 are now thrown from the pave walking/running pathway. 7 and 8 are thrown over the pathway as well. This is a potential hazard for non-disc golfer. Your disc can easily collide with anyone on the pathway. Add in that there are now also some blind spots where you may throw and just a moment later someone can jog around the corner on the pathway to become a unwilling disc catcher. Well best to not throw 7 and 8 if even moderate park use is occuring.

9 still tees from the path but at least will not affect runners/walkers. However it does require the disc flight line to cross the corner for one of the football fields. The Basket is directly in and fairly close to a playground area. Here again caution must be used. If anyone is using the football field or playground area there is a potential for hitting someone with a disc.

For throwers who prefer longer Tees and big run ups the Tees are Mundy are short. It is usually not a problem however as most of the course is short enough that you don't really need a big run up.

The InStep baskets are in rough condition and really are poorly designed with the single chains extending so far out that the disc will often not even have a chance to fall into the basket but rather falls to the outside of the basket.

Other Thoughts:

This used to be a favorite course as it was a quick play course where you could do some serious short game tuning.

The Park favors foot ball over Disc Golf and it is evident in the way the DGC has been up rooted and pushed around.

Sadly this course is being removed from my favorite list and on a serious note I'd like to see the MJ Park Commission simply relocate the Disc Golf course to another City owned Park or area. Also take the sport a bit more seriously as Disc Golfers should have as much right to throw on a course as Football Fanatics do to park on the fairways and over top of the Tee Pads. I mean REALLY!!!
Was this review helpful? Yes No
3 0
Coast
Experience: 23.2 years 32 played 3 reviews
2.50 star(s)

Good course to relax on 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Jun 24, 2011 Played the course:once

Pros:

As most have pointed out this is a course with very little traffic, therefore you are going to be able to take your time and enjoy each hole with multiple throws or having little need to rush.

The holes are well taken care of and it is easy to follow the signs from hole to hole. If you get off to the rough your will have a easy time locating your disc and just about as easy a time getting towards the basket with your next shot. Each hole plays very short with the exception of 1 and 7. These holes are not monsters though.

With the mix of wooded holes and open holes you won't be burned out after one round and could easily play 1-3 round in about 2 hrs.

Cons:

It is a little tricky trying to find this park, but it might have been my bad planning going into Mt. Juliet. (It is right off the interstate down the road that runs parallel to the Providence shopping center. There is a sign for the park on down that road.)

Once I was there it was tricky to find the first tee from the parking lot, but if you go up to the flag pole and walk down the path to the white picket fence you will see it easily.

The first thing you notice are the small tee pads that are about 5'x3'. Its a little awkward with one's normal steps but there is room behind the pad for more of a walk up. Once you get down to the basket you'll see that they are a bit smaller than most baskets and only have one ring of chains. These chains will not necessarily grab your putter, so no banging it home.

There are some fences along a few of the holes that if you go over them it would be a pain to retrieve your disc. I would say keep it low and know how your disc will fly with your throw type (RHBH, RHFH, LHBH, LHFH)

There are a few holes that you have one ending right into the next fairway or putting area of another hole. This would actually only be a problem if there were alot of people out there and then you might have to wait around or keep an eye out for the others playing not to hit you or vice versa.

Other Thoughts:

As a whole I would go back and play this course, but that is knowing what I'm going to get for the drive there.

Hole 1: dogleg left with fencing off to the right

Hole 2: short-slightly uphill curved shot to the right for a putter or a easily thrown midrange

Hole 3: downhill slight dogleg right

Hole 4: narrow fairway, shortest hole on course

Hole 5: good RHBH natural hyzer shot with minimal arm put into it

Hole 6: great hole to go over the top with a Thumber, easier I say than trying to get through the ground level opening

Hole 7: maybe most challenging hole with large coniferous trees down middle of fairway. RHFH might be easiest way but turning one over just right is a good challenge (just be careful it doesn't come out of it early or you could be in the baseball field)

Hole 8: level open shot with tree line and thick growth down left hand side

Hole 9: Careful not to get into the baseball field but keeping a sidearm low or putting your backhand our far enough can be a fun challenge to park it

I heard mention that they may try and turn this into a 18 hole course. I say put a little bit more into what is already there and it would be just as good as adding on. Maybe multiple tees from longer distances or different angles and there is always the possibility of multiple basket placements being added.

I'd recommend playing this course cause it offers something different than all the other courses around town and it is very well keep up.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
2 2
johnnyfoodstamp
Experience: 14.4 years 25 played 22 reviews
3.50 star(s)

I'm on top of the mountain!!! 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Oct 5, 2010 Played the course:5+ times

Pros:

Excellent signage. Never crowded. Lots of skill shots. The thorns on 6 are quite challenging. Good use of OB.

Cons:

Older baskets have seen better days. Child sized tee pads make for awkward drives.

Other Thoughts:

I love this course. We drive from Nashville on a regular basis and play through 3-4 times (usually about 30 min. per round with 2 people) Look forward to the day I can finish at -9... Check it out if your near the area!
Was this review helpful? Yes No
12 0
bjreagh
Diamond level trusted reviewer
Experience: 27.8 years 350 played 321 reviews
1.50 star(s)

2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Updated: Played on:Apr 1, 2010 Played the course:2-4 times

Pros:

This little 9 hole course is perfect for: 1) introducing the game of disc golf to people, 2) for beginner level players to work on their game in an unintimidating setting, 3) for families to get in a fun round without taking all day, 4) for experienced players looking to work on their short game and have some ace runs, and 5) getting in a quick round or two after work.

The course has concrete tees, small but all you need. It has 9 nice baskets, although they are the cheaper Instep kind. There are also nice and effective tee signs.

The real strength of this course is the hole design. There are some really fun holes out there. No two holes are the same. #7 is one of the most gorgeous holes I have seen on any disc golf course- about 280' protected by a steep grassy bank with tall pines on the right and 2 isolated pines and a creek down the middle- you can't play a wide hyzer (RHBH) or you hit the hill, you can't play a high hyzer because of the trees- this hole is challenging as well as aesthetic pleasing.

Although most of the holes are short there is still a lot of trouble on each hole you have to avoid. On hole #1 it is easy to sail your disc over the fence to a warehouse. The short wooded holes in the middle have dense rough. The thorns and creek on #6 are a place you do not want your disc to land. The outfield baseball fence comes into play on #8 and #9.

Cons:

This course is very, very short and really easy for the experienced/advanced disc golfer. If I had to play here everyday I would eventually get bored.

Other Thoughts:

This course is right off of I-40 in Mt. Juliet. The road to the park ends at the park (trust yourself as you pass the industrial places- it seems like you are going the wrong way down a dead end).

*Update: this course has trended the wrong direction since its creation. A re-design and getting somewhat rundown. It was not all that great to begin with, and I have no desire to ever play here again in its current state.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
6 0
jgentry
Silver level trusted reviewer
Experience: 16.1 years 47 played 36 reviews
2.00 star(s)

practice course 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Apr 28, 2010 Played the course:5+ times

Pros:

This course is close to my work so sometimes I go out there and play a quick nine on my lunch break. It is a short course that is really, really, really easy. There are some woods and some open holes. There are some nice benches and the tee signs are also very nice. For the small land they had to work with it is laid out decently.

Cons:

This course is extremely short! I throw a putter on 5 of the 9 holes. A couple of the holes can interfer with a previous hole so be careful of other people playing as you could easily hit somone on a next pad or next fairway. The baskets are the instep cheapies and for some reason they made the catching area even smaller on then when they put them in. The tee pads are also extremely small. The longest hole is maybe 330. This is strickly a pitch and put course. I have never shot over par on this course (it really is hard to finish nine over par on this course) and a good player that gets hot could very well shot 9 under or mayber even lower with several very ace freindly holes. That is if the baskets will catch an ace.

Other Thoughts:

This course is in a very small area and the holes are actually decently designed. Just the designer obviously did not know much about teepads or baskets. Lots of ace chances and lots of birdies to be had.

This is a great place for kids or beginers to learn the game. It is OK for practice or if you want to feel good about yourself by shooting really low : ). Don't go out of your way to play here though. Definately not worth any drive when you consider the other courses in this area.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
2 1
ironmike1378
Experience: 14.2 years 3 played 2 reviews
4.00 star(s)

Mt. Juliet's 9 hole secret 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Apr 29, 2010 Played the course:5+ times

Pros:

For only 9 holes this is a great course that you can play over and over.

Cudos to Mt. Juliet for keeping this course clean and maintained.

Hole 1:
Bench and trash cans
gives you the chance to rip it with a wide open area

hole 2:
trash can
nice start in the woods with ability to birdie

hole 3:
challanging straight away down hill

hole 4:
nice short range throw for birdie but will punish you if you go into the trees or over throw

hole 5:
bench
my favorite hole, thight fairway with dangers on bothsides. forces you to not mess up

hole 6:
great challange that gives you 2 directions to go on ether side of a group of trees. if you can slice your disc just right you have a shot for a birdie

hole 7:
bench
one of the hardest holes on this course. you will have to navigate around large trees that will block your view of the tee.

hole 8:
allows you to rip it (but beware not to hook it or it will go into the woods)

hole 9:
no pro about this hole other than good luck keeping it out of the ball field

Cons:

First and for most is finding the entrance for the course. as soon as you drive in the main gates you will not see the 6inch sign.

All Tees are too short!

hole 1:
wind can be a problem here. if you can go straight it will be in the woods or on the other side of the fence that you will have to jump.

hole 2:
no cons here

hole 3:
could use some trimming back on the high branches

hole 4:
no cons

hole 5:
fence on the right side with barbwire. if it goes over in to back yards you will most likely not get it back

hole 6:
thick brush on right side that can be hard to find disks

hole 7:
barbwire fence again

hole 8:
wind usally is bad here

hole 9:
way to close to ball field ( almost hit a kid playing little leage )

Other Thoughts:

This is a fun and beautiful course to play. great for a after work course with its short amount of time it requires. I usually play it twice if not more in one day.

Make sure to bring bug spray(ticks).

Worth the trip!
Was this review helpful? Yes No
7 1
brattenj
Experience: 21.1 years 287 played 5 reviews
3.00 star(s)

Great for Mids/Putters 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Mar 24, 2010 Played the course:2-4 times

Pros:

This course is very easy to follow with great signage and flow. The course starts with a 325ft hole followed by holes 2-5 which are all under 175 ft. Holes 6-9 finish up the course with a bit longer of hole but none over 275 feet. This course makes great use of the available land and will test your mid range and putter game. There are a few small streams that flow through the course but retrieval of discs is not an issue.

Cons:

Two of the only cons are that the concrete tees are a bit on the short side. I realize that when holes are so short you don't necessarily need a longer tee pad but I just like the run up space. The other con is the instep baskets. These are single chain catchers and blow thrus and spit outs will be common.

Other Thoughts:

I for one am glad to have this course. I have played in over 20 states and enjoy cities that have at least one real short course so that I can work on my putters and mid ranges. This course is also a great way for beginners to learn the game without the frustration of the other local courses that are much longer.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
4 1
ambroze
Experience: 19.1 years 239 played 26 reviews
3.00 star(s)

Short 9 Hole Couse 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Mar 22, 2010 Played the course:once

Pros:

Mt. Juliet's first disc golf course is a short course with pee pads that are very small and most holes are very short. It started out very promising on hole #1 with a 327 ft hole, but went down hill from there with a bunch of less than 200 footers in the woods. They also have the cheaper baskets with 1 set of chains. There are benches, good signs and trash cans.

Cons:

Can be muddy, too short but good for beginners
Was this review helpful? Yes No
Top