• Discover new ways to elevate your game with the updated DGCourseReview app!
    It's entirely free and enhanced with features shaped by user feedback to ensure your best experience on the course. (App Store or Google Play)

Okoboji, IA

Okoboji Gold DGC

Permanent course
3.925(based on 18 reviews)
Filter course reviews

Filter reviews

Filter reviews

Okoboji Gold DGC reviews

Filter
14 0
knobby325
Gold level trusted reviewer
Premium Member
Experience: 9 years 326 played 248 reviews
4.00 star(s)

Go For the Gold!

Reviewed: Played on:Jun 3, 2022 Played the course:once

Pros:

-Concrete tees for most (missing on #8 and #11)
-Baskets OK
-Very varied terrain, used well
-Favorite is #8, float down for a birdie
-Dual tees on majority give access to multiple skill levels
-Park upkeep was good

Cons:

-Working over the kame 3 times is exhausting for old, out of shape guy *raises hand*
-Walking path in play on #1, #12 Gold
-#9 is a totally blind shot over the kame

Other Thoughts:

Okoboji Gold DGC is located in Kenue Park in the western part of Okoboji, IA. The area is more known for the "Iowa Great Lakes" for all kinds of tourist and recreational opportunities. While the park is only about half a mile from West Lake Okoboji, there is no sight of it here, even from on top. The eastern part of the park has a 30ish foot high kame that the course works over twice and up and down the western face two times. The course starts "easy" with the first 5 holes under 325' (240' from White) each. There is a Mando on #2 that really only comes into play on the right from the Gold tee. #6 starts 2 boomer holes at 665'. #7 extends that to 935' (710' from White). Now the kame comes into play. A gorgeous shot from the top down the other side for #8. A totally blind shot over the kame for #9. #10 and #11 play up and down the west side. The finish for #13 is up the kame and #14 tees back down the west side. The last 4 play back in the meadow area to finish back up toward the bathrooms. There is a walking trail that comes into play on #1 and #12 Gold, but otherwise the course is to itself. The variation on length and terrain add to the difficulty and excitement. The rough on the flatter holes was knee to thigh high on this June afternoon, but I found my wayward discs just fine. There are even a few benches for us old guys to rest a moment. This course will test several aspects of your game, from some tight shots, to boomers, to accurate floaters. There was a little bit of swampiness around the #5 tee, but no water is in play on the course. The tee signs are just hole # and distance, could use an upgrade. Stop just south of here to ride the oldest wood roller coaster west of the Mississippi in Arnold's Park, or enjoy many other lake activities to make a trip of it . An enjoyable course that I will play again, when in the area.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
9 0
Upshawt1979
Diamond level trusted reviewer
Premium Member
Experience: 21.1 years 551 played 429 reviews
4.00 star(s)

Okoboji Gold Hot and Cold 2+ years

Reviewed: Played on:Aug 12, 2018 Played the course:once

Pros:

The gold layout in Okoboji is a fun course. It has holes that go from one end of the spectrum to the other. Long and open holes across flat stretches prairie grass, and the short runs up, down and over the top a tall mound with steep slopes that runs through mature trees.

The holes that are somewhere in between also present a nice challenge while staying entertaining and showing a variety of looks. Weather it's trees or tall grass, there are usually well defined fairways with changes in shape and distance. It seemed like the shorter the distance the more trees that are in play, but there are good lines that are playable for all of them.

The chances to make birdies are there, even from the long tees, but you have to execute a good mix of shots well. On the flip side, if you are unable to keep it in the fairway or avoid hitting the trees too much, strokes can add up quickly.

The equipment is solid all around. Most holes have two tees, both concrete. There are also good signs with the hole number, distance and par. The baskets are all in good shape, and marked with the number on top. The layout is easy to follow, but there is a good course map next to the first hole in case you need it. The park is clean and has restrooms on site.

The first two holes are both good examples of needing to make the correct throw to stay out of the long rough. The fairways are kind of left to right and getting off line could mean kicking around, searching for plastic. At hole 6, it opens up and gets long. There are no trees until you get near the basket, which is on a slight hill. It's a par 4, so birdie is not out of the question. Hole 7 is even longer, a par 5. The fairway is mostly open but the basket is under tall trees a long way from the tee.

Holes 8-11 play on and around the steep sided mound of glacial debris that was deposited there a long time before the first discs begin to fly in North America. 8 plays from the top of the hill to the flat at the bottom, and only a couple of trees stand near the pin to get in the way of a birdie. 9 tees off at the bottom, and you have to clear the crest of the hill and make it down the back side about halfway to reach the basket. Hole 10 and 11 are both short and wooded, 10 climbs the hill and 11 descends.

12 and 13 are another pair of longer holes, playing as par 4's from the long tees. They're both basically flat with plenty of trees in play and some more of the tall grass rough. I also liked 17, teeing around a couple of mature trees, and downhill just enough so you can't see the basket.

Cons:

Losing a disc in the rough is not hard to do. I lost my first drive to the left side of hole 1. The rough there was even taller than the rest. Stomped around in the grass and thistles for 20 minutes and never found it. I did find two others.

High winds are not uncommon here I would guess, but conditions were ideal the day I was there. This would make things even trickier. Beginners could have a bit of frustration.

Picnic tables and dumpsters by the parking area, but no benches or trashcans on the course.

Other Thoughts:

Okoboji Gold is a really fun course. Great design that utilizes the landscape very well. Aside from water, it has a little bit of everything. Not sure that I would call it championship level, but most experienced players will enjoy this course, I think.

I would love to play this course again. My only round from the long tees ended with a 63, 3 over par. There were definitely missed putts and poorly played shots that leave my lots of room for improvement.

It is a bit out of the way, but I am glad I included it on this trip. If you are able to get there for a round, I would recommend you do so. The course has a great and unusual combination of hole styles and terrain.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
8 0
XC_Eddy
Bronze level trusted reviewer
Experience: 16.9 years 30 played 13 reviews
4.00 star(s)

Best Course in NW Iowa 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Aug 18, 2017 Played the course:once

Pros:

Course has some serious length to it. 600+ #6 and 900+ #7 back to back is a fun combination.

With the length, placement still matters. #6, for example, plays straight for several hundred feet before an S-Turn of sorts towards the basket.

Good mix of wooded and open holes. The aforementioned "long holes" allow for players to open up and throw Max Distance. #10 and #11 are good examples of shorter holes that require players to throw a good technical shot to card a birdie.

Great use of elevation. #8 challenges players with a VERY downhill 225 ft placement shot. #9 returns back up this same hill and finishes on the other side. #10 works back up the hill again before #11 finishes down the hill for the last time. Creative use of one large piece of terrain for several holes. Iowa is generally a very flat place, so I was pleased to play the rolling hills on this course.

Beautiful location. Park is clean and the Fairways are well maintained.

Course signage is accurate and reflective of hole layout. I recommend taking a picture of the course map for reference prior to teeing off to help with course navigation as there isn't much in the way of next tee signs.

Excellent cement teepads.

Baskets were in good condition.

Cons:

Very long rough. A half cut near the edge of the fairway could result in fewer lost discs. I did not lose one, but my younger brother who was playing with me did. We watched where it went in, and still couldn't find it due to the height of the grass.

Long grass off the fairway includes poison ivy, thistles, and other brush that will cut you up. I finished the round with cut up legs and poison ivy. Fairways are wide enough to be fair, but throwing off the fairway is punishing beyond just having a difficult next shot.

Because of the course's length and deep rough, I do not recommend this course for beginners. My younger brother has not played a ton of disc golf, and we had to locate his disc in the tall grass at least once per hole. I imagine this could be a very frustrating experience for an inexperienced player.

For the most part course flow was intuitive, but the walk from #3 to #4 was tricky. Even with the course map we did some extra walking before finally locating the tee.

#8 and I believe #11 both make use of short teepads. Instead of a teepad there was simply a line on the sidewalk. It worked, but was an annoying change after having thrown on perfect teepads for the rest of the course.

Other Thoughts:

I only played the course once, from the Gold Tees. My comments are only pertinent to that set of teepads.

The course is near the nature center and also a bike path. We encountered several walkers throughout the course of our round. Please be courteous and represent the course well when you encounter non-players on the course.

All in all, a great course, and the best in NW Iowa
Was this review helpful? Yes No
2 1
dickwolf
Experience: 28.1 years 50 played 21 reviews
4.50 star(s)

in my top 3 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Aug 6, 2017 Played the course:5+ times

Pros:

-mowed beautifully wide fairways
-visually appealing course, flowers everywhere and rolling hills
-teepads are quite good
-challenging, fair.
-requires a moderate arm at minimum. beginners will struggle, but this course will get you good fast if played a lot.
-very good variety of holes
lots of elevation change, lots of trees

Cons:

-plan on losing a disc, the rough is very pretty, but borderline stupid length.
-baskets are merely decent. nothing special
-lots of bikers, walkers

Other Thoughts:

this is easy, this course is great! very fun, very well cared for and well worth playing. destination course. pros would likely eat this course up. i got very lucky and caught a wind free weekend, but i could see this course being a nightmare on windy days. as fun as they come.
take a picture of the map at the first hole if you do not want to get lost.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
1 3
HabitualOffender
Experience: 9 played 8 reviews
2.50 star(s)

Had High Hopes. Was Disappointed. 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Jul 25, 2017 Played the course:2-4 times

Pros:

- Beautiful park and location
- Bathrooms on site and easily accessible
- Map at beginning of the course
- Great baskets and pads
- Clearly marked holes from distance
- Well maintained fairways
- Free Parking

Cons:

- This park is half a wild grass park
- Sections in timber are difficult and narrow
- Basket placement is sometimes questionable

Other Thoughts:

Really wanted this course to be a 4 to 4.5 star for all the good things it has going for it. Sad that the designers couldn't make a pure disk golf course. The wild grass makes it IMPOSSIBLE to find disks. Spent more than half of my time playing 2 rounds here looking for disks and chest high grass. would be much easier to play in the spring or fall depending on what park maintenance does with the grass at that time of year. Lost 2 disks on this course and learned not to play my favorite disks on a new course.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
4 0
IHearChains
Bronze level trusted reviewer
Experience: 20.1 years 211 played 34 reviews
4.50 star(s)

a beauty in the prairie and oak savannah 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Jul 23, 2017 Played the course:once

Pros:

Among courses that lack water hazards, this is one of the finest I've played. The high prairie vegetation bordering the fairways serves the role of hazard pretty well. The variety is excellent, with every elevation change (and there are many) contributing differently to the hole design. The course maintenance and mowing was awesome (the pics here on DGCR don't do it justice, it is manicured). If you're in the area, this is a must-play.

The first few holes are sparsely wooded with a few trees creating a well-defined line to hit, and challenging. These are fun par 3 holes reachable with a solid drive for most intermediate or advanced players, a great way to start the round, not requiring max D straight out of the car.

Then the course moves to some open bomber holes that have some excellent use of elevation change, a long downhill run from the tee, then gradually climbing again to the basket. The design of holes 6 (665ft par 4) and 7 (935ft par 5) really rewards 450ft driving distance in order to get partway up the hill. A good 380ft drive still leaves you in the low area of the hole, making that 2nd drive up the hill so much more challenging.

Next is a series of par 3 holes with very significant elevation changes. It's a nice workout climbing up and down. Hole 9 was especially interesting, sharply uphill, then sharply downhill on the approach, not sure I've ever played a hole with both uphill and downhill quite this dramatic on the same hole.

Finally there are several holes that are long par 3s or short par 4s set in beautiful oak savannah as noted in the course description. Oak savannah is an ancient native Iowa ecosystem that has mostly disappeared due to agriculture and development, and I really enjoyed seeing this nice preserve. The elevation changes here are not quite as severe as the previous set of holes, but the elevation is used differently and complements the rest of the course well.

Cons:

You're playing across a well-traveled biking/walking path on two holes. One of them has poor visibility and it's good to have a spotter check for bikes. I was afraid one might appear just as I threw.

Hole 2 needs a wider mow near the basket, the only hole where I had any complaint about the mowing. The landing zone is really narrow, which would be OK if you can see it from the tee, but its blind -- better send a spotter on this one.

Other Thoughts:

Some sign distances seemed off, as if newer tee pads had been added later, after the original design: From the gold tee, hole 3 is about 380 ft, and hole 5 is about 260. Also, elevation change of 6 and 7 are incorrectly listed here, they are downhill off the tee and uphill to the basket. These are minor issues, doesn't detract from my rating.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
1 0
benny34
Experience: 18.2 years 55 played 15 reviews
4.00 star(s)

Classic course 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:May 15, 2017 Played the course:5+ times

Pros:

+ Lots of variety in distances.
+ Surprising amount of elevation.
+ Multiple tees for most holes.
+ Variety in holes, 900+ feet to 150 feet technical holes.
+ Course map at the parking lot.
+ Restrooms in a central spot where many holes come together.
+ Well maintained.
+ Big teepads.

Cons:

- Lots of trees but getting off the fairway is not punishing enough.
- Distance markers but no graphics on the tee signs.
- Not really any risk/reward type holes.
- Layout is mildly confusing if you didn't check the map!

Other Thoughts:

This is a classic disc golf course. Long par 5s with some potential trouble. Par 4s that take 2 good shots to get to the green. Par 3s that can be trouble and "should get" par3s as well. Holes have multiple routes for drives. Course also lacks a signature hole. Maybe hole 6 is this after a slew of par 3s and stepping up to a 665 footer with a drop in elevation followed by back up a hill with some guardian bushes.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
1 6
tlyons
Experience: 24 played 1 reviews
4.50 star(s)

2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Oct 17, 2015 Played the course:5+ times

Pros:

This is a challenging course with varying shots. You have a nice mix of very long open holes and shorter wooded holes. White and Gold tees for different skill levels. Well maintained.

Cons:

Only con is the lack of tee signs. Which I know is in the works.

Other Thoughts:

If you are in the area. This is a must play.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
2 2
pjthediscgolfer
Experience: 15.3 years 29 played 7 reviews
4.00 star(s)

Fun, challenging course! 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Aug 8, 2015 Played the course:2-4 times

Pros:

-Nice baskets!
-fun for players of all skill levels
-requires a wide range of shots
-grass well kept and fairways are very nice!
-provides closed in technical holes as well as open bomb shots
-very friendly environment
-challenging but not too terribly hard
-two tee pads for nearly every hole
-pads are painted with par and distance
-lots of fun holes with elevation changes, hyzer shots, trees, tunnel shots and many many more
-overall a very fun and well kept course!

Cons:

-easy to lose discs.
-signs could use some updating
-awfully open on the west side of course allowing for heavy amounts of wind
-QR code on course map seems to be broken or not working anymore

Other Thoughts:

Overall, it's a very very nice course. Very well kept and the design had a lot of thought put into it. If you're in the area, definitely worth a stop to play a round or two. Or three. Maybe four....

Also, if anyone's in the area, hole six has a lost tie dye champion Valkyrie in the grass to the right about 250 feet down the fairway. If you find it, I'm offering an award. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? Yes No
2 1
Heathbar1969
Experience: 1 played 1 reviews
4.00 star(s)

Finally 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Aug 10, 2014 Played the course:2-4 times

Pros:

I have been waiting for a true disc golf course at the lakes for many years. Okoboji Gold was worth the long wait. If is fantastic! It provides the locals are friendly and helpful. There are good facilities there and easy parking . The locals are friendly and helpful.As an advanced player I found the course challenging and visually Beautiful. A young fawn followed me around my first day there. I have been vacationing or living at the lakes all of my life and now I will get here more often. I will definitely bring more discs in the future. Congratulations Dickinson County, you now have a world class disc golf course to enjoy.
Big shout out to the designer, the maintenance guys, and those responsible for getting this fantastic course installed here in Northern Iowa.

Cons:

The only con I can think of is the tall grass flanking most of the fairways. I would list the lack of cement pads as a con however local sources informed me that new pads are going in very soon.

Other Thoughts:

There is no doubt that this is a destination course. Local sources told me that the installation of Okoboji Gold has caused a sudden boom in the number of disc golfers in this area. And that my friends is what it is all about. Okoboji Gold is truly an exceptional disc golf course.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
1 3
Clue
Experience: 30.2 years 109 played 11 reviews
4.50 star(s)

Awesome Course 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Aug 7, 2014 Played the course:once

Pros:

Absolutely beautiful course. I love the Oak Savanna with lush grass underneath. Plenty of length for top players, and at the same time a very fair length for beginning players. There are a couple quirky yet unique holes, but some really good straight forward ones as well. I thought it was easy to follow. I think this is easily the best course in NW Iowa and would recommend it even if it was out of the way. This course is exactly why you hire a qualified designer.

Cons:

Natural tee pads made for a couple off balance shots, but when concrete goes in this will be one of my favorite courses.

Other Thoughts:

***This course looks much better now than it does in the pictures provided***
Hole 7 is too long for most players, recommend the short tee. Before you tee off on hole 8, walk north on the ridge line and peak at hole 9. It's blind and quite a trek up the hill to see where you are throwing, however the grass was mowed right where you need to throw!
Was this review helpful? Yes No
6 0
FredHJ12
Experience: 12.8 years 18 played 18 reviews
4.00 star(s)

Best Course in the Area! 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Updated: Played on:Jul 23, 2016 Played the course:5+ times

Pros:

-Nice and big sign at the beginning of the course with a general course map
-Concrete tees are excellent
-Tee signs have an interesting look, give distance
-The baskets are new and in good condition.
-Dual tee pads for most holes
-The park is very well maintained. Never had an issue with garbage
-Incredible variety of shots. Some very fun tactical shots in the wooded area, and some incredible open bombers
-Nice elevation in the park
-Challenging course overall, but not unbearable
-The land here was put to really nice use
-You can put all of your discs to good use here
-Holes 6, 7, 8, and 14 are all very fun shots in my opinion

Cons:

-Course flow is a bit tricky in some spots. Have to walk a bit to get from one hole to another. It can be challenging to find the next hole sometimes
-Really easy to lose a disc here. Lots of really high grass in the open areas. Helps to have someone spot you
-This course has always been just slightly overgrown for my taste, even in the fairway. Not a huge issue, just nitpicking a bit
-Can get really buggy close to nighttime

Other Thoughts:

It never takes that long for me to realize how legitimate this course is each time I play. Just an incredible course in my opinion. A very wide variety of shots and a high amount of fun factor for me. In order for this course to be truly elite, I think it could use some slightly improved signage (which would help with course flow) and just a touch more TLC. With that said, it is still a destination type course that is worth traveling to. I've noticed improvements each of the past few years I've been here, and I hope that trend continues.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
3 3
tengstrom
Experience: 15.9 years 147 played 4 reviews
4.50 star(s)

Finally, Okoboji discovers our sport 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:May 31, 2014 Played the course:once

Pros:

• Okoboji is a mecca for recreation but it took the region far too long to discover our sport. I have been going to family reunions there for 29 years and for the past seven I have wished there was a legitimate course nearby. When the people there finally put one in, boy, did they ever come through. Nice work.
• Challenging, enjoyable design with many legitimate par-4s, quality par-3s and a titanic-but-reachable par-5.
• This course will make you get your daily exercise.
• Plenty of variation among shots. Hole 9 (up, over, then down into woods) is a kind of hole I have never encountered before.

Cons:

• Needs concrete tee pads.
• Could you extra mowing (particularly on right of Hole 7) or a good dose of trampling down the grass.

Other Thoughts:

When this course is all done, it ought to be a destination course. Good work, Dickinson County Conservation Board.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
6 0
mndiscg
Diamond level trusted reviewer
Experience: 16.1 years 483 played 478 reviews
3.00 star(s)

Decent Lake Course 2+ years

Reviewed: Played on:May 8, 2014 Played the course:once

Pros:

+Nice baskets that are easy to see and catch well.
+Great variety of hole length. There are some pretty long open holes, medium length holes under the oak savannah canopy, and short but tight holes up and down the hill.
+Decent elevation. Some rolling hills in the open and some steep tight holes on the main hill.
+Well maintained park. No garbage anywhere.
+A few ace runs if you hit the right line. Nothing too open or easy though.
+Chuck used all of this park to put these nice 18 holes in. The park isn't as big as I initially thought.
+Disc golf only park- there might be walkers and nature lovers here too but there isn't any infrastructure set up for anyone but disc golfers.
+Nice, serene setting outside of town.

Cons:

-Natural pads
-Course flow is weird and signage is needed to correct this. I kept going to the wrong tee. There are mowed paths throughout the course and they often lead in the wrong direction. They might be mowed out for other park users but are very confusing to disc golfers.
-Erosion will be an issue on some of the hill holes with any use.
-Open holes weren't that fun for me.
-Pretty windy, the west side is very open.

Other Thoughts:

+Will probably be bumped up to 3.5 with cement pads and better navigation. I think this course will age well.
+This course will probably be slightly higher rated by those with big arms who liked open bomber holes.
+Some holes had a high fun factor for me. They were the medium length lightly wooded holes and the short ones on the hill. The long ones were open and windy and not as enjoyable for me.
+This is the only course worth playing in the lakes area. Stop here for sure if you are in the area.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
0 3
mev53
Experience: 16.1 years 17 played 9 reviews
3.00 star(s)

2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Apr 9, 2014 Played the course:once

Pros:

Nice layout
18 holes
Trees and grass
Nice hill shots
Great use of multi throwing styles

Cons:

Long course
Have to walk around parking lot to play holes in order
Relocating a few holes this would be a great course.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
0 4
kyand33
Experience: 12 years 2 played 1 reviews
4.50 star(s)

Great course in a great area. 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Aug 12, 2013 Played the course:2-4 times

Pros:

Lots of variations- there are some long some short, some wooded some open, and some uphill some down hill.

Great Area- there is so much to do in Okoboji and there are always things going on. The course is just far enough away from everything that you feel out in the wilderness.

There are 2 different length tees to accommodate for all types of players.

There's 18 holes so it never gets old!



Cons:

The only negative is that it is fairly easy to lose a disc, but if you're with a few friends and someone can go ahead and spot, you shouldn't have trouble.

Other Thoughts:

Awesome course!
Was this review helpful? Yes No
1 2
TwistnShout
Experience: 13.2 years 4 played 3 reviews
3.50 star(s)

The Newbie is Groovy 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Updated: Played on:Jul 6, 2013 Played the course:2-4 times

Pros:

I enjoyed the length and scope of this course from the nicely wooded to open field with a hill or 2 in between. You will need a few tricks in your bag to weeble this wobble that may tilt ya but may you never fall down. Has bathrooms and benches on a very nice piece of landscape.

Cons:

Most tee pads weren't marked but aren't too hard to find.

Other Thoughts:

This is a great course. I will be back for sure...I would just recommend printing the course map to carry with. It will save you some extra hill climbing:) I would rate this course a 4 but for the lack of next hole direction, which really was the only 'flaw' except for the ravenous brush that ate my Lace:(((((.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
1 2
JaminLDC
Experience: 19.8 years 23 played 5 reviews
3.50 star(s)

New and Necessary for the Lakes 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Jun 21, 2013 Played the course:once

Pros:

This course has a lot of challenging holes. Great mix between long and short. It's nice to have dual tee pads on almost every hole to help with some of the lengthy holes, and believe me there are a couple "Lengthy" holes!

Cons:

The grass is very very high throughout the course making it take extra time to find errant throws. I understand I was there within 5 days of the baskets being installed so hopefully they can mow a lot of it down and widen the fairways. You're bound to find a couple ticks after your round.

Other Thoughts:

All in all this course is awesome. I haven't played a course that challenged me for par in awhile, so if you want a challenging game you better check this course out. Not to mention the plus of if being at the Iowa Great Lakes. There's plenty to do after you play a round!
Was this review helpful? Yes No

Latest posts

Top