• Discover new ways to elevate your game with the updated DGCourseReview app!
    It's entirely free and enhanced with features shaped by user feedback to ensure your best experience on the course. (App Store or Google Play)

Burnsville, MN

Red Oak Park

Permanent course
3.455(based on 40 reviews)
Filter course reviews

Filter reviews

Filter reviews

Red Oak Park reviews

Filter
6 0
User061824
Silver level trusted reviewer
Experience: 1.1 years 45 played 45 reviews
3.00 star(s)

Red Oak? Did you mean to say Sumac?

Reviewed: Played on:Nov 22, 2023 Played the course:once

Pros:

--Excellent piece of property
--Outstanding signage on tees and greens
--Prodigy baskets
--Concrete tees in good shape
--Free to play

Cons:

--On many holes, the 2nd tee option isn't much different.
--The flow from #9/#19 to #10/#20 is stupid

Other Thoughts:

This is a 10 basket course with 20 tee pads. You go around twice (if so inclined) for 20 holes, although in most cases the two tees for each hole are rather close together and don't change the hole much. No matter...it's the sort of course where it's not at all unpleasant to take a second lap.

It's mostly a par 3 affair, although the 9th/19th and 10th/20th are par fours. For my money, the 4th/14th is the signature hole. It's down off the tee, then back up to the basket. I suppose you can call the path you walk between them a fairway, but you really have to take this one over the trees on the left side of the fairway and up to the basket. The trouble is thick on both sides, and there is a tendency to get caught in the trees while down in the valley between tee and basket. It will certainly take more than one shot to undo any mistakes you make. Ask me how I know...

On the topic of getting stuck in the trees, one does get to wondering about the name of the park. Objectively, yes, there are quite a few red oaks about, but subjectively, if you didn't hate sumac before your round, you'll learn to do so by then end of it. With leaves off in the fall, it's thick and nasty, but at least you can throw something out over the top. In the summer it's got to be like trying to pitch out of a pup tent (all flies zipped down tight).

Eventually though, I suppose you'll find your way to the basket as we always do, and at Red Oak, you'll find the next tee with ease because of excellent next tee signage. Big numbers, big arrows, no ambiguity. Every course should do this.

The only disappointment regarding flow occurs between the last two holes. The basket for 9 is halfway up the length of the 10th hole. You end up walking a long way back to the tee, potentially into the drive of the group ahead of you, then doubling back to the last basket. There was enough room to do something else here, and it seems like a shame to finish the round with a weak point in the design.

I'll return to this one though. The positives outweigh the negatives by quite a margin, even if this isn't "really" a 20 holer.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
2 0
MQTdiscgolfer
Experience: 21.2 years 12 played 4 reviews
3.50 star(s)

Fun course, weird layout 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Apr 4, 2017 Played the course:once

Pros:

-Excellent variety of shots.
-Beautiful Park
-For the most part, well marked and easy to follow paths from one hole to the next.

Cons:

The layout:
It is technically a ten hole course, with two tees for each leaving you with twenty different holes. This wasn't really a problem for me since I was playing on a weekday morning, but if you were trying to play on a weekend, I would imagine it being hell trying to avoid other golfers.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
2 1
MPLSLam
Experience: 16.1 years 10 played 4 reviews
2.50 star(s)

Needs updating. 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Jul 17, 2016 Played the course:once

Pros:

Nice tee pads, good variation.

Cons:

The course needs some grooming. The over growth on the course is insane. If you look at the pictures of the course on here they don't look too bad, but you get out there and it's a different story. Hole 4 is a jungle, the walking path you see in the pictures is completely covered. The pictures were taken in 2011 and I don't think they groomed it since.

Lacks signage for direction to holes in some area.

Other Thoughts:

If you play this course i suggest you download UDisc so you can navigate through the course with the GPS. The tee signs need some updating and refresh. They are weathered and hard to read.

If you go for your first time be ready to waste some of your time. Otherwise bring someone who's played the course.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
1 0
sc2sick
Experience: 12.6 years 24 played 11 reviews
3.00 star(s)

2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Jul 16, 2015 Played the course:5+ times

Pros:

Multiple Tees
Well kept baskets
Variety of holes including elevation and woods
Mixture of easy and mildly challenging shots

Cons:

Sometimes muddy
Easy to lose your disc on a couple holes, I think it's hole 4 that comes to mind where you throw 200 feet over a small valley

Other Thoughts:

Good course, use bright discs in a couple places unless you're super confident in your throws or you'll waste a few minutes looking
Was this review helpful? Yes No
4 0
mndiscg
Diamond level trusted reviewer
Experience: 16.1 years 483 played 478 reviews
3.00 star(s)

Red Oakers 2+ years

Reviewed: Played on:Jul 20, 2014 Played the course:once

Pros:

+At least a little elevation on every hole keeps it interesting. Hole 2 and 3 were pretty big elevation changes.
+Easy to follow layout.
+2 tees on each hole make it easy for you to play 20 slightly different holes.
+Tees are concrete and are off adequate size
+The holes are on the shorter side overall but there are some slightly longer holes especially 9 and 10.
+The course loops around to the parking lot nicely.
+The course is fairly lightly wooded as long as you stay on the fairway. If you get off the fairway it can get a bit harder. This course fairly punishes errant shots.
+This course is on the shorter side so it offers ace runs for many levels of players while still offering a bit of challenge and risk-reward play for more experienced players.
+Baskets are older but still catch just fine.

Cons:

-Lots of really, really slow players. Some just sitting at tees smoking weed. It could take you a long time to get through 10 holes. It is the only course in a large suburb.
-The two sets of tees weren't that different, certainly not worth being called separate holes.
-Like many old courses, this one is suffering from erosion issues.
-Losing a disc is possible, especially on those holes that involve sumac along the fairways.

Other Thoughts:

+This course is older and quite busy. Most of its issues stem from these two. It has some erosion, is quite busy, and isn't challenging compared to newer championship style course.
+This course is worth a stop. It had a high fun factor for me. I would avoid evenings and weekends, it could be really busy. This course is comparable to other nearby courses like Brockway and Alimagnet.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
3 0
MNthrow
Experience: 20.1 years 14 played 4 reviews
3.50 star(s)

Good variety of holes 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Mar 23, 2013 Played the course:5+ times

Pros:

This course has a little of everything. Up hill, down hill, valleys, water worries, tunnle shots, left and right turns.
It is mostly a dedicated park minus a walking trail that runs through but doesn't go accross a fairway.
It has a practice basket that is right next to the parking lot with some table to let you warm up and get ready.
A couple trash cans on the course really help.
Fairways are usually well maintained as well as good baskets in place.
10 tess but can really play as a 20 with multiple tees for each basket.

Cons:

The course can get a little busy in summer and packed.
A longer hole or two would be nice but being in a limited spot I know why there isn't one.

Other Thoughts:

Good local course to work and picking your spot and throw.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
3 0
1_Nation_Under_Par
Experience: 19.2 years 27 played 6 reviews
3.00 star(s)

Quality without the 'wow' 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Aug 12, 2012 Played the course:5+ times

Pros:

Free-to-play, 10-hole course with alternate cement tees. A good course, has a little bit of everything, short/long-ish, open/wooded, flat/hilly. Great wood-chipped paths and putting areas in some cases.

Cons:

It just seems very vanilla. Several holes seem to me to be nearly identical. A lot of mostly open rhbh hyzer shots.

Other Thoughts:

Definitely worth playing if you haven't. You walk away going "meh, it's good, just not THAT good."
Was this review helpful? Yes No
2 3
Boogie
Experience: 11.9 years 2 played 1 reviews
3.50 star(s)

2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Sep 20, 2012 Played the course:2-4 times

Pros:

* Nice starter course with challenges for beginners.
* Signs are well placed and very helpful as well.
* Well maintained.

Cons:

* Be careful if you just started playing, lots of ways to lose you disc if you don't pay attention to where it landed.

Other Thoughts:

* Hole #4 is lots of fun!
Was this review helpful? Yes No
5 1
notapro
Diamond level trusted reviewer
Premium Member
Experience: 20.9 years 570 played 284 reviews
2.50 star(s)

Beginner/Intermediate 2+ years

Reviewed: Played on:Jul 21, 2012 Played the course:once

Pros:

- Course is set in a decent sized park that has some hilly terrain and some dense woods. It seemed like it was pretty much dedicated to disc golf, can't imagine much interference here.
- Some of the toughest holes on the course have pretty clear fairways, but are bordered by extremely thick rough and have some tricky lines. #9 and #10 are both around 350', that need to start straight and finish hyzer in the woods. #7 is a blind RHBH anny shot with nasty rough on the right, staying on the fairway is crucial to avoid a bogey.
- Other holes have tighter lines in the woods, which need good accuracy to get to the basket. #1 starts it off with a couple tight lines up to the green, #6 is a little shot out of a skinny gap, and #8 is the tightest of them all with a straight shot/hyzer dead ahead.
- The rest of the holes are a little more open, but still are interesting. #2 is a blind downhill hyzer, #3 is an uphill shot with some trees to avoid, #4 is a short shot over a deep valley, and #6 has some trees by the basket. Even the blander ones have some character.
- Elevation changes are fun, and add some challenge. #1 is fairly tight, and slopes up near the green. #2 is a fun downhill, #4 is easy enough but slopes way up near the basket. That can lead to some interesting putts. Helps to mix things up.
- Nice pads, signs, and baskets. Navigation pointers help to get around, though the map can help find the different tees. Practice basket right by hole #1.

Cons:

- Some of the shots are pretty wide open, like #3, #4, and #5. It's possible to lay up on some of the tougher ones as well; while you might concede the deuce, it can make for an easy par.
- A few holes are on the short side, like #2, #4, #6, and #8. Hitting the line is the only real challenge on these holes, with the longest of these eight different pads at 252'.

Other Thoughts:

- All in all, a pretty fun course that offers a decent balance of tight and tricky holes, and longer holes with serious punishment for straying off the fairway. Elevation changes here and there keep things fresh, and the alternate tees help to make two rounds somewhat unique. A great course for beginners to learn the ropes, and probably still challenging to an experienced player. More advanced players will cruise through, no problem.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
1 0
Muskiebite
Experience: 14.2 years 174 played 29 reviews
4.00 star(s)

Hidden Gem 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:May 23, 2012 Played the course:once

Pros:

-Well kept course
-Good signage
-"Pro/Am" Tees
-Good mix of tight and open fairways

Cons:

-Most holes aren't very long
-Couple areas and tees which could prove hazardous for wayward discs

Other Thoughts:

This is a nice compact course. It's only ten holes but the pro/am tees are numbered so you can play 20 alternating between each holes pro and am tees.
Most the holes are pretty short, but there is a good mix where the wooded holes call for control shots and the open ones you can let loose and get some nice birdies.
There is suggested par but all the holes can be played as 3.

My hats go off to the Burnsville Disc Golf Club for keeping the course well kept. I am sure I will be playing this course alot
Was this review helpful? Yes No
1 3
Jedi-D85
Experience: 22.1 years 11 played 3 reviews
2.50 star(s)

4-25-12 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Updated: Played on:Apr 25, 2012 Played the course:once

Pros:

Baskets, tee pads, walkways, signage for next holes and hole maps. They are all very nice and make this a really nice course for a casual day at a course. It is a rookie course in my opinion. You can dig your tee shot 100 feet out and be in decent shape for the pin on a few of the holes.

There are some really nice elevation layouts and the actual hole layouts are well thought out with the limited room they had.

I like the practice basket for putting right at the parking lot before #1.

Cons:

Con is the beginner status in my opinion. It is a course where it is only about shot placement around an obstacle for a 230 foot hole.

There a few where you can get a good drive in for a seasoned arm but nothing where you need a good long 400 foot drive and a strong follow up to get your par.

If you have a bad day where you just can't place your shots very well you can still run par without an issue.

Also the only trash can is in the middle of the course layout and gets over filled on a nice day fast. It cloud also use a porta-john if possible.

Also there seems to be the curse of the free course where you have to be careful when you pick up your disc as you don't cut your fingers on the glass bottles people have decided to discard and break on the fairways.

It seems as if this course was stuffed into this area beucase it wasn't good for anything else and won't attract those who are out for "pro" day.

Other Thoughts:

I didn't have a huge desire to throw the full 20 as in my mind it is only a 10 hole with double tees for beginers and those who just getting a good grasp of the game.

I will bring people here to teach the basic flow of the game and how to throw as you aren't really tempted to try and over throw much on this course.

If you want more challenge head down the Kenwood in Lakeville to up the difficulty and distance.

BIG POINT: WATCH OUT FOR SOME PLAYERS. I CAUGHT UP WITH A GROUP AND PLAYED WITH THEM. BUT WE ALMOST GOT NAILED ON #9 FAIRWAY FROM A WAYWARD TEE SHOT.
I went back to play solo round and had to duck out of the way on the side of the fairway from some chuckers drive heading for my eyes. "Claiming I didn't see you there"
Was this review helpful? Yes No
4 1
GDisc
Experience: 16.2 years 61 played 34 reviews
3.00 star(s)

2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Dec 10, 2011 Played the course:once

Pros:

Good City Course - It has Cement Tee Pads with Good Signage....It is a relatively easy course to navigate (for a new-comer)....Provides great diversity with the given land and Hole 10 comes right back to Hole 1 (which is always an advantage...Especially considering this course is technically a 20 Hole Course with 2 seperate Tee Pads for each Basket)

Cons:

A bit short and the Pars seem to be off! Hole 9/19 & 10/20 are potential Par 4's but every Hole should certainly be played as a Par 3!

Other Thoughts:

Fun Course in the Heart of Minneapolis's Suburb Culture! There was 1 1/2 inches of Snow on the ground when I played here and yet there were, still, 3 other groups out playing!.....If you are traveling along I-494 or 35W in the Twin Cities area, it is worth a stop!.....This course provides distance, technicallity and some elevation that will keep you challenged......Yet is not a true 'Challenge' Course! (For example.....River or Mountain Courses)....Overall a Fun One and can relieve the stess of the City!
Was this review helpful? Yes No
6 1
Badgerman
Silver level trusted reviewer
Premium Member
Experience: 20.8 years 551 played 62 reviews
4.00 star(s)

Hidden Gem 2+ years

Reviewed: Updated: Played on:Sep 23, 2011 Played the course:2-4 times

Pros:

1) Best navigation of any course I've played, and second best signage (Hibbing's tee signs are better). It is absolutely impossible to not know where the pin is or where the next hole is.

2) I don't know why other reviews have said that red oak lacks variety, i thought every hole was if not unique, then at least different from what you would expect.

3) There's a cool little bench tucked into the woods by tee 3, good spot to just sit and chill for a bit.

4) 10 holes between 160' and 400' with everything you could ask for except water. Uphill, downhill, tight woods, open woods.

5) Every single hole has some sort of elevation change, yet you don't feel like you're walking up and down a hill over and over.

6) Well Maintained. I think this speaks for itself.

Cons:

1) Some of the "Back 10" only differ from the "front 10" by a couple of feet to the back or side. This is the reason i will not call this a 20 hole course.

2) This isn't a deal-breaker for me, but there aren't really any big arm shots here.

Other Thoughts:

I can't believe this was my first time at this wonderful course, i will be back several times a week from now on, what a fun course!
Was this review helpful? Yes No
3 0
bigbeano
Bronze level trusted reviewer
Experience: 18.2 years 34 played 28 reviews
4.00 star(s)

Wonderful course! 2+ years

Reviewed: Updated: Played on:Aug 26, 2011 Played the course:5+ times

Pros:

-Practice basket to work on your putting before you start
-Baskets are nicely labelled
-Nice woodchipped trails between holes
-Very easy to navigate
-Nicely broken in
-Course map at the beginning of the course that outlays each hole along with distances

Cons:

-Sign from hole 6 tee area is missing
-Only 10 "true" holes, although there are alternate tees from each making it 20
-No on-site bathrooms

Other Thoughts:

I really had to reach for some things to mention as "cons" of this course. This is a wonderfully maintained course and is one of the best (if not the best) maintained free course I've seen. Some of the alternate tees are just a little farther back, but some are going at the basket from a totally different direction. The pathways between the holes are woodchipped, and along with the signs directing you where to go makes it more or less impossible to lose your direction. The course has some holes that are very tight and require you to be quite accurate with your shot. There is definitely potential to lose a disc at this course on numerous holes if one of your shots goes awry. The course isn't terribly long, but you must be accurate in order to get a good score here. The course is probably best played as an all par 3 course, despite the fact that there are four holes labelled as par 4 on the signs. All in all this is a great course and I would highly recommend giving it a try. I know I'll be back for sure.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
4 0
The Valkyrie Kid
Diamond level trusted reviewer
Experience: 46.1 years 1562 played 1507 reviews
3.50 star(s)

Nice Course W/Great Amenities! Thanks! 2+ years

Reviewed: Played on:Jul 24, 2011 Played the course:once

Pros:

Red Oak Park is just another of the Twin Cities stable of enjoyable courses. This one is so well maintained and signed that it's almost easy to forget that's it also a pretty nicely designed course. The course is not long but well laid out through the mostly small thickets of trees. There are two clearly marked pads for each basket. Note: That does not constitute a 20 hole course! That means this is a 10 hole course with two teepads for each baskets. Hence a 10 hole course still. Clear!

The pads are wedge shaped and great. The baskets are DGA with the red numbers facing the correct way. The tee signs are super. They're mounted on 8" by 8" poles with probably a 6" by 6" colored sign under a thick piece of plexiglass. Very pretty and virtually indestrucible. Some of the best signs ever. There are wood chips paths to follow and wood chips spread around the baskets. No muddy problems here. Most of the holes are fairly short and then you get to # 9 with it's 357' pretty, natural hyser fairway. Hole # 4 was fun throwing from the top of one hill to a basket on the next hill.

Cons:

# 9 and # 10 are listed as par 4's but they really play as more difficult 3's. The course is recreational in nature as it's not quite a true intermediate course. It was absolutely perfect me-an aging recreational player. It lacks the wow factor or an EPIC hole. Advanced to pro players won't find the challenge they're looking for here. Big armed players will be disappointed that they aren't getting to show off their guns.

Other Thoughts:

This is an EPIC moment for me. This is my 300th review! I want to take this course home with me along with the recreational department/local club to maintain it. The signage, cleanliness, challenge for me, navigational help, baskets, dual tees, design, and pads all join forces to make this one great little 10 hole course. It just misses making my favorites list.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
4 0
djschnabel
Bronze level trusted reviewer
Experience: 27.5 years 253 played 27 reviews
4.00 star(s)

Nicely Laid out course 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Aug 8, 2011 Played the course:once

Pros:

This course has the best navigation of any course that I think I have played (60+). It is easy to find (remember to go to the second parking lot), the practice basket has slight elevation changes, trees for obstacles, and is next to but not in the way of 1/11. I still would call this a 10 hole course, but some of the alternate tee boxes do provide quite a different shot, so I see the argument either way. Some holes are great for ace runs, some holes challenge you to hit certain lines, and some holes allow you to chuck it as far as you can. Good usage of elevation, and I saw 4 deer while playing this morning. There is a bench at pretty much every teebox.

Cons:

I don't remember seeing garbage cans. Some of the holes play along side others, and yes, you do have to walk back on hole 9 to get to 10/20's teebox. Not a big deal for me, as any other way would greatly decrease the challenge of hole 10/20.

Other Thoughts:

I was amazed at the navigation as stated above. Great signs that even the drunkest of your friends could follow. I played at 6:30 in the morning, so I can't attest to how crowded this course could get, but I imagine when it does, especially with newer players, you will have to watch out for errant throws. The brush could prove to be brutal with a lot of bad throws, but we didn't have too many problems finding our discs that went exploring.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
5 0
harr0140
Diamond level trusted reviewer
Premium Member
Experience: 15.5 years 1508 played 480 reviews
3.50 star(s)

Another great Twin Cities Course 2+ years

Reviewed: Played on:Jun 17, 2011 Played the course:once

Pros:

1) Dual concrete tees on this great course. These are always appreciated! Alternate tees definitely alter the course too!

2) Nice color coded posts to indicate which tee you are looking for.

3) Nice signs on the tees indicated par distance hole # and a map.

4) Nice entrance sign to the park indicating Red Oak Disc Golf and also a nice sign as you approach the first hole, indicating the overall map of the course and each holes layout. It also indicated the course was adopted by the Burnsville Disc Golf Club. Nice to see a local presence on this course.

5) Nice use of elevation on this course, there are some real elevation changes on many of the hole including #4 where you are basically shooting over a ravine, with an overall net elevation change of very little, but the potential differential is huge.

6) Plenty of garbage cans to make sure people take care of this park.

7) Lots of variance in distance on these holes . . . I just always hate playing courses with all the holes in a certain short range of distance. This course ranges from mid 100's up to the upper 300's. This promotes lots of different disc use as well as different shot making needed.

8) Practice basket is available for use by the first tee.

9) Benches available in spots to rest in between drives.

Cons:

1) Quite a few areas on the course where the turf is wore down to nothing and is compacted and will erode. This seems typical for Twin Cities DG and that can be assumed is from the amount of players in the area.

2) Thickness of some of the peripheral areas is pretty rough . . . you are penalized badly, but not just in disc golf also in your body trying to get through those areas.

3) Sounds like it would be busy, but I was there on a Friday morning so I only saw a gew other disc golfers as well as some cross country runners.

4) Flow is decent except for #10 because after putting out on #9 you must walk 100' back up the fairway (and into harms way) and then potetnially cross in front of the group in frot of you throwing from the tee on #10.

Other Thoughts:

This is just a solid course. it is nice design, pretty decent maintenance, great amenities on site and it presents a challenge with each shot.

I would play this course over and over . . .some rounds I would try to get my best score and the next round I would try other crazy routes which are certainly available. Give it a shot sometime try the big anny rather than the straight up the gut shot. Test yourself!!!!

Im not sure why everyone says this is 20 holes . . .it is only 10 with 2 sets of tees. Yes the tees alter the hole but it is still the same fairway for a good portion of the hole so in my opinion why call it front 10 back 10 when it is just 10 holes played from two sets of tees.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
3 2
Adontalis
Experience: 14.2 years 84 played 5 reviews
4.00 star(s)

Great Course for Learning 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:May 30, 2011 Played the course:5+ times

Pros:

Great tee pads.
Great signage.
Each hole presents a different challenge.
I personally learned how to play on this course almost exclusively. Some very frustrating tight shots (1/11, 6/16 and 8/18). However that helps improve your game.

Cons:

Thick shurbs. Do NOT miss right on either 4/14 or 7/17. As the season progresses, we're talking lost discs.

Other Thoughts:

I love this course and would suggest it to anyone of any skill level.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
2 3
Attix
Experience: 14.2 years 6 played 3 reviews
3.00 star(s)

Delivery Friendly! 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Updated: Played on:May 29, 2011 Played the course:2-4 times

Pros:

Very fun course for beginers and people who play daily. Each pin has 2 tee's on it so you get double the course in the same area.
Holes are spread out and vary in difficulty.
The last time I was there a Jimmy Johns delivery guy was walking through with free sandwiches advertising that the local store delivers to the course and that they will even deliver out to the specific hole you are on.

Cons:

The brush here can be very thick unforgiving. Whether its because of the thorns slashing at your hands, or that they are so good at eating discs, you really don't want to stray off the fairway here.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
4 1
E_Rock25
Bronze level trusted reviewer
Experience: 14 years 77 played 35 reviews
2.50 star(s)

Fun compact course 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Apr 28, 2011 Played the course:2-4 times

Pros:

Red Oak Park is a nice medium 10/20-hole park course. The course has something for everyone and will really challenge most beginners. More experienced player will appreciate the fact that shot shape, placement and accuracy are required for a good score. You don't need a big arm to play this course as the longest hole is just under 400ft. It has a decent variety of shot requirements and lots of moderate elevation changes. There is a good mix of open and wooded holes some of witch are pretty tight. Hole 1,6 & 8 are tough shots that must weave through the trees for a chance at a 2, 8 being the most challenging. Hole 4 is a fun hole from hillside to hillside and rollaways will be a factor. The ninth & tenth holes are the longest and nine is a fun downhill blind hyzer.

The course has great signage & wood chip paths from hole to hole, as well as wood chip greens. It is well maintained and pretty clean. Tee pads are in good shape and most of the alternate pads require a completely different approach.

There are a few chances at blind or semi blind aces that would be awesome.

Cons:

I was not overly impressed with this course, it is nice but not that imaginative. Most of the holes are straight with a little turn just before the pin. For the most part the alternate tees only ad a little distance. It is kind of forced into the space that it is in and I think it might have been a better idea to only have 9 holes. (I never played the course before it was changed). The course can get busy/ backed up and there is a chance of being hit by a disc on a few of the holes.

The thing that bugs me the most about this course is that face that there are two ponds that are not used at all. Some course don't even have the option of having water holes so I think any course that has water as an option should use it.

Other Thoughts:

This course is fun but it is way out of the way for me to play and I will not drive to Burnsville just to play it. If am am in the area and have the time I will play it again.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
Top