Manhattan, IL

Round Barn DGC

3.455(based on 22 reviews)
Filter course reviews

Filter reviews

Filter reviews

Round Barn DGC reviews

Filter
14 0
EspressoPatronum
Gold level trusted reviewer
Premium Member
Experience: 18.6 years 224 played 215 reviews
2.50 star(s)

Fallen into Disrepair

Reviewed: Played on:Oct 28, 2022 Played the course:once

Pros:

- really cool/unique setting on 120 year old farm with... you guessed it, a round barn
- 2 practice baskets
- 2 baskets per hole
- nice large concrete tees
- decent Mach baskets
- port o potties at course
- cool scenery plays around a lake and then through the woods
- high risk/high reward water shots
- mixed use park, but generally good isolation of disc golf area

Cons:

- tee signs in really bad shape
- wooded areas very overgrown
- red basket on hole 2 is missing
- water carry on hole 4 is really pushing what most people can manage
- navigation was pretty unclear in many places
- last third of course pretty wide open and uninspired

Other Thoughts:

This course was really a big letdown for me. By all accounts, this was a really neat course in recent years that has not been maintained well. I think in it's prime, it likely is a 3-3.5 course, but due to the general state of disrepair I felt it only warranted a 2.5 and was fairly frustrating. Tee signs were in terrible shape and often unreadable. Navigation aids were nonexistent and it was very unclear at times where to go. In the front 9 alone, I threw at the wrong basket 3 different times. I can't think of anywhere else in 140 courses I've had this much confusion. At least one of the baskets was missing, and the wooded area was so overgrown as to make finding discs and even fairways a real challenge.

Some of the shots around the lake are really cool, with some baskets right on the short and at least one really long water carry (that I made a god awful throw on, goodbye Halo Teebird). The scenery here is very picturesque despite being mostly flat and you can see the potential. The first third of the course includes the cool water shots, with the middle third mostly being wooded, and the final third being by far the least interesting with repetitive, largely open, back and forth shots.

The equipment was somewhat serviceable here; the baskets were nice and visible and the concrete tees were generally nice, although the tee signs kind of ruined that experience. Navigation aids would be the biggest immediate upgrade that could improve this course.

The park was mostly deserted when I was there on a Friday afternoon. A few kids were at the playground with parents which is fairly close to the first couple of holes but not enough that it was a real safety concern. There are walking paths through the wooded part of the course, but I think these mostly were just used by park staff on ATVs. I never saw anybody walking them for recreation.

I appreciated what this course could offer, but the navigation and overgrowth frustration were just too high to truly enjoy it. It's sad since others seem to have had a great time in the past. Hopefully it gets a facelift at some point, but until then I'd probably pass on this one.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
1 2
Newmanjr
Experience: 28.8 years 2 played 2 reviews
1.50 star(s)

Could be so much better 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Jun 7, 2017 Played the course:2-4 times

Pros:

Beautiful wooded area with a pond.
Tee pads are nice and big.
Variety of shots.
Some very unique holes

Cons:

Biggest downfall is the upkeep and maintenance to the course. The park district has negecleted almost half of the course. It is all overgrown and is at the point in which you need pants to play the course to protect you ftom the over growth
The signs for the holes are useless and often point the wrong direction.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
7 0
davetherocketguy
Gold level trusted reviewer
Experience: 19.6 years 114 played 105 reviews
3.00 star(s)

And yet, another course in a multi-use park 2+ years

Reviewed: Played on:Mar 15, 2017 Played the course:once

Pros:

- Course set in your typical multi-use park setting and a few holes go counter-clockwise around a small pond.
- Alternate baskets on every hole - red and white. In some cases like hole 5, this gives quite a different feel and challenge to the hole.
- Nice tee pads at all of the holes. Some of them were gigantic circles. Your entire card could place all of their bags/carts on the pad and there would still be enough room for a decent run-up.
- I thought the baskets on 9 were interesting being nestled in the tree trunks and having the red on top of the white. It was borderline silly but I still liked it.
- All of the baskets are a DGA Mach whatever and were in great shape.
- With all the mowed grass, roller throwers are going to love some of these holes.
- I think the placement of the red basket on 3 is a bit tough but certainly made things interesting. Along that line of thought, the course does an excellent job of making use of the water hazard there.
- Things seem to be pretty well picked up. But then that might be a product of the wintery time of year I visited.

Cons:

- Like a lot of courses of this type navigation is a PITA. First timers are going to want to print/download the map off of this site or you'll get lost. The are very few tee signs here and with one exception none of the tee signs have any hole information on them. This course would benefit GREATLY from tee signs and "next tee" arrows of some sort otherwise it's kind of a mess of random baskets and concrete pads.
- The red and white basket locations often had me scratching my head as to what the idea here is. On most of the holes the red basket is clearly supposed to be harder of the two. But on number 11 the red basket is clearly a much easier basket than white. Then on 10 the red and white baskets are 20 feet apart. I do not understand the point of two baskets when the two locations don't really change the hole...The same can be said for hole 7.
- Several of the holes are just ... boring. 14, 2 and 15. Seems like with the available land something different could have been done with these.
- NO BENCHES. My 45 year old, achy knees hate you Round Barn.

Other Thoughts:

This is a decent course but nothing great. I think the design overall is not bad but, not great. And unfortunately, with the plot of land there I think this is the best you can do. It wouldn't be a bad course for a C or B tier type of tournament.

Its just another course with fairways that are mowed grass interspersed with trees. There is some elevation but not a lot. It's fun to be sure but nothing really special.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
5 0
SpartanDisc
Silver level trusted reviewer
Premium Member
Experience: 21.7 years 237 played 27 reviews
3.00 star(s)

2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:May 6, 2016 Played the course:once

Pros:

- Good tee pads and dual baskets on every hole
- Hole 9 signature stacked and guarded basket is a nice touch
- A few risk/reward water holes added some challenge and variety

Cons:

- Most holes are largely open and very forgiving
- Some of the 2nd baskets don't offer much variety (they are right next to each other). On other holes they are completely different shots
- Majority of signs were removed or blank. On several holes you can't see the red basket from the tee, so there was a lot of walking around the course trying to find the next basket before throwing

Other Thoughts:

When I first drove up, I saw a pretty open field with a number of baskets in it and wasn't expecting much. While there were a lot of pretty open holes, they made great use of the trees that are available and there are just a few pretty tight and technical holes on the front nine. Water plays nicely into a few holes, but the pond was very green with algae so if you disk gets wet, kiss it goodbye. Also I have heard the mosquitoes get out of control in the summer which is believable giving the look of that pond.

This is a decent course and would be great for beginners (except the 1 or 2 water holes that could be risky). For more seasoned players it's worth checking out, but doesn't offer near the challenge or variety you could get from other nearby courses like West Park or the Canyons.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
4 0
SneakyJedi
Gold level trusted reviewer
Experience: 14.8 years 143 played 83 reviews
3.50 star(s)

Fun Course 2+ years

Reviewed: Played on:Sep 14, 2013 Played the course:5+ times

Pros:

- Equipment is good, baskets catch well, and the large circular teepads are great.

- Multiple pins (Though in many cases the alternate pins don't actually add much)

- Course is in a beautiful park and is nice to play through

- Variety, several holes around the pond, some longer more open holes, some winding through large trees, some through more tight alleyways.

- The limited elevation is used well to provide some interesting greens.

Cons:

- There aren't really many great holes. Hole 3 is a standout, the stacked, protected baskets on 9 are cool, but the hole itself isn't spectacular. There aren't really any bad holes, but not really anything that blows you away.

- Always seems to be windy here, can get tiring.

- As mentioned above, the multiple pins seem like a missed opportunity, in many cases they don't really add anything, could be nice for more beginner players, but just come off as "meh."

- Hole 5 seems to just eat discs.

Other Thoughts:

I enjoy playing this course from time to time, but more often than not I end up heading to different courses when I make the trip to the Joliet area. Highland, West, and Community Parks are generally higher on my list of courses to hit.

Course is a nice addition to the area, but not quite as much of a draw.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
6 0
StevieWraithVaughan
Experience: 154 played 4 reviews
4.00 star(s)

2 in 1 course 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Aug 23, 2013 Played the course:5+ times

Pros:

-Multiple pins on each hole
-Many circular tee pads
-Mix of challenging and easier holes
-Lots of variety available
-Unique
-Nice Park
-Disc store less than a mile away

Cons:

-Location (kind of in the middle of nowhere)
-Not really a con but the pond can be a problem for someone not wanting to risk losing a disc.
-Not much to complain about

Other Thoughts:

Really nice layout and some very unique holes and creativity. The round paved tee boxes are great and accommodate player that might want a different path to follow. (VS. straight tee boxes)

Having different pin options allows you to play a different course twice in the same location. Sometimes I will even mix and match between red and silver pins in a round. Having that option is truly unique and keeps the course interesting.

If you are one that doesn't want to lose discs in the water then layup, these holes are still playable if you throw safely. If you think you can clear the water and can't throw 350'ish consistently then maybe you should reconsider if you don't want to lose plastic.

Great course, fairly close to Westpark and the Oaks. Some of the red tees are really really long and seem nearly impossible to finish in two w/out alot of luck.

Not much around the area it is out in the country, so get food before, or bring a cooler.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
12 0
Jukeshoe
Diamond level trusted reviewer
Experience: 14.5 years 315 played 266 reviews
3.00 star(s)

Round & Round Dosey Doe! 2+ years

Reviewed: Played on:Mar 9, 2013 Played the course:once

Pros:

- Round Barn (named for the huge white round barn at the entrance) plays through a grassy, mostly open area that has a smattering of trees throughout. One or two holes include somewhat tighter looks off the tee, but nothing gets into "technical" wooded golf. The course is open enough that most botched tee shots still result in a par.
- H20 is definitely the best part of this course. Unfortunately it only comes into play on #'s 2,3, 4, and 5 with #'s 3 and 4 Red (i.e., the longs) easily being the standout holes. Both offer risky water carries while offering a safety route for less experienced/skilled players.
- Good signage, tees (many are circular, adding to "round" motif), baskets. No lack of amenities. Dual pin positions offer a more difficult layout as well as the shorter Silver holes. #9 has the Silver and Red baskets stacked atop each other (Red on top). Definitely something I hadn't seen before; the concept seemed neat, but the execution (with a tight cluster of tree trunks behind the pin) took a lot of the risk out of gunning for the upper basket.
- Decent use of the minor elevation changes throughout. Nothing spectacular, but all the major wrinkles are used to utmost effect (#18 comes to mind).

Cons:

- The major con here is that much of the course seems the same. Not much distinguishes the non-water holes from each other. The holes aren't bad, per se, just kinda bland.
- Several of the holes towards the middle of the course seem tightly clustered together, with potential for fairway overlap. This could become a bit of a safety issue on busier days.

Other Thoughts:

- The greatest attribute of Round Barn is the nice lake. Not only does it provide some challenging, well-designed holes, but it also is a pleasant relief from some of the nastier Chitown-area "water" holes. Runoff ditches, scum-filled ponds, pollution, and poop-water are all "water" hazards I've seen in Chicago. Thus, the relatively clean and picturesque lake does much to help Round Barn's appeal.
- Overall, decent without ever really wowing. Simply not enough standout holes to bump it up to a 3.5.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
2 2
depauw
Experience: 6 played 4 reviews
3.50 star(s)

Round barn a soild course 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Updated: Played on:Jun 11, 2013 Played the course:2-4 times

Pros:

the tees are made of concrete and offer good grip the tee signs are of good quality there are two baskets at each hole one for advanced players and one for newer players there arent many people at this course so you can almost always play at any pace you want

Cons:

tee signs keep disappearing ive seen many people lose discs in the pond the woods are full of misquotes and they will eat you alive unless you have bug spray
Was this review helpful? Yes No
2 5
dwebb
Experience: 9 played 7 reviews
4.00 star(s)

Great Play, Bring a Boat 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:May 5, 2013 Played the course:2-4 times

Pros:

Course has a great layout with a variety of short holes and long holes. The course is very well maintained and has large concrete tee pads and almost brand new catchers. There are both short and long catchers on every hole, and most holes are able to be played by beginners.

Cons:

While the holes outside the trees are grass, those under the canopy are mostly weeds and can be a little buggy. There are holes on this course with water in play so bring a floater and a long pole for retrieval.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
9 0
LeddZepp8687
Bronze level trusted reviewer
Experience: 12.8 years 115 played 19 reviews
3.50 star(s)

Round Barn DGC 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Oct 21, 2012 Played the course:2-4 times

Pros:

-Good mix of shots here, Some short but technical shots and some wide open holes.
-Concrete pads, Some of which are circular which is unique.
-A couple risk/reward shots which are not usually found on other courses in the area.
-Lots of big oak trees, and plenty of other smaller trees to add obstacles.
-The double basket on hole 9 is awesome. Both times I've played here I hit the basket but missed the ace, I like the idea of having two baskets on top of each other, increasing the odds of an ace.
-Signs are now up and look very nice, despite the fact that someone has already broken the display off of their respective posts on two holes.
-Multiple baskets, These are great if you are an experienced player and will be bringing someone who is not as experienced.
-Nice quiet setting, If you come here and there are only a few other disc golfers out it can be very peaceful.
-Excellent place to work on shot shaping
-Proximity to other good disc golf courses

Cons:

-Its always windy here it seems. That can get old but it is what it is.
-Some of the holes seem repetitive.
-Fairways do get close together here and that could be an issue as this course gains popularity and traffic.
-Needs a couple more garbage cans throughout the course and maybe a port-o-potty near the back of the course near the 11 teepad.

Other Thoughts:

I played this course for the second time today and I enjoyed it much more than my first time here. Now that there are signs and I knew how to navigate the course I was a lot more at ease. The lack of signage the first time here really bothered me.

I really would like to hit this one up as my first play of the day when I am fresh, because then I believe I would have a better time here. Both times I've been here I had already played 18+ holes at some of the other nearby courses and I tire out after the first handful of holes when I get here. That being said, trinity links and highland are both nearby, if your coming down to the the J town to make a day of disc'n then make sure you hit this one up too.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
8 0
booradly
Bronze level trusted reviewer
Experience: 11.8 years 164 played 24 reviews
4.00 star(s)

round barn 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Updated: Played on:Oct 1, 2012 Played the course:once

Pros:

- very nice park
-some tee pads are nice big round and concrete that are very nice for me because i have a very big stride
-the shots by the pond are fun you can risk a shot over the pond if u want but don't have to
-many holes under huge oak trees make for nice hard shots
-each hole has two baskets silver ones that are easier and red tees for more skilled players
-hole 9 is awesome with 2 baskets stacked on top of each other that is possible to ace with a perfect shot
-has one or two holes that really test your arm

Cons:

-no directions to baskets / next hole as of yet but there is a map in the parking lot i would recommend taking a picture of the course map on your phone to help u find your way
-if you throw into the heavy underbrush / heavy woods on the back side there are thrones F*@%ing everyplace you step

Other Thoughts:

me and my friend played here for the first time today and my buddy was getting frustrated by the lack of signs until we met up with a local who had played it many times who helped show us the way
- i was told that they have put in signs at the tee pads but have not been there yet to see for myself
Was this review helpful? Yes No
11 0
mashnut
Diamond level trusted reviewer
Experience: 22 years 831 played 767 reviews
3.50 star(s)

Fun mix 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Aug 4, 2012 Played the course:once

Pros:

The course plays through a grassy park with mature oak trees. A few holes bring a pond into play, offering some great risk/reward decisions. All offer safe shots that avoid the danger of ending up in the water but take away the birdie opportunities, to get deuces on these shots you have to take the riskier route over the pond. On each of these, the short basket is a much more beginner friendly option with less risk and more room on the greens between the basket and the shore.

The rest of the course offers multiple routes through mature trees. Having a good selection of different line shaping skills is valuable here, you can throw a hyzer on most holes but it's not always the best option. A few elevation changes come into play, and are used as well as possible. I liked the rollaway greens on the last couple holes, they keep things interesting through the end of the round. The stacked basket is a cool quirk, adding an elevated pin position while still offering the cool protected pin position to the shorter basket.

The tees are nice, many are large circular pads and the rest are standard rectangular pads, all are textured concrete. The baskets are new and catch great, and having the short beginner friendly silver baskets and the tougher red baskets is a great feature.

Cons:

There are a lot of holes in the trees that feel a bit similar, there's not a whole lot of space to stretch things out and the rough is very limited so the land doesn't offer much chance for variety. The lack of length keeps even the long layout from being all that challenging for better players. Some of the holes don't offer much difference between the long and short baskets which was a little disappointing. A few spots have fairways that are very close to one another, that definitely could be a safety issue as this course gets popular.

Other Thoughts:

Beginners will find the silver baskets approachable, with reasonable lengths and less water danger. The red baskets offer some fun challenges, they're a little short to really test top players but it's a course that is enjoyable for most skill levels. I will definitely be playing this one again when I'm in the Joliet area, and I recommend a stop if you're passing through.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
7 0
stpitner
Experience: 18.5 years 63 played 1 reviews
3.50 star(s)

Challenging, Well thought out Course 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Jul 28, 2012 Played the course:once

Pros:

I love playing well thought out courses. I also really enjoy when a park district supports and implements the ideas of the course designer. Not many park districts would pull the trigger on circle teepads, and more than half of the holes have these. Dual Baskets on EVERY hole enables me to play the reds while my wife can play Silvers and give each other a great challenge. Very unique shots all throughout, and the pond shots are VERY tough.

Cons:

Would have liked to see the more signature holes later on in the round, but you can't really do that and still be able to start/finish near the parking log. Hopefully the park district will let a couple of the holes for the red baskets near the end get pushed back a little deeper to add to the challenge.

Other Thoughts:

In order to get to this course I drive by 3 other courses, including Channahon and West Park. I would definitely pass West Park to get to this one, and I'd enjoy continuing to play it as much as Channahon. I hope to continue to see nothing but improvements out there!
Was this review helpful? Yes No
7 1
Bodangle22
Experience: 14.7 years 95 played 2 reviews
3.00 star(s)

almost but not quite 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Jul 11, 2012 Played the course:once

Pros:

This course is in a beautiful park with lots of great land for disc golf. I played the red baskets. #2 is a type of hole not seen much in this area. It requires an upshot. The upshot is a downhill shot to a well guarded basket. #3 peninsula hole is the epitome or risk/reward. #4 is an epic shot over water and requires a little more distance than it appears off of the pad with an excellent pin position. #5 is also a cool RHBH anny shot that requires putting it over the water and hitting a 30 foot wide gap on the right side of the fairway about 225' off the pad. after that gap theres another 200' feet give or take on a well guarded fairway to a nicely place basket position. #9 stacked baskets are something I have never seen before and on top of that its in the middle of jail which makes for interesting putts. #10 has a nice basket position on top of a small hill. #15 is a monster uphill shot then back down a little bit to the basket. up and down sloped holes are always cool. #16 im guessing will be an island type hole when it comes to leagues and tourneys with the path coming in play just before the basket. #17 basket position is stellar. death putts galore for that one. #18 is a great way to end the course with a nice elevated shot over 2 "valleys" with the basket placed on top of the 2nd hill. The circle tee pads are something new to this area and a great perk to this course.

Cons:

This course really disappointed me and the group I was playing with. For having 2 baskets on every hole I was really expecting more distance and variety for the long baskets. #1 was not the way I would want to start a course. A tee pad and a basket 250' away with nothing in between. #6 and #7 is where my bubble really bursted playing this course. Both of these holes are definitely "filler" holes. Holes 6-10 were all crammed together super tight in an area where some really great holes could have been made. Too much of this course (red baskets) were simple buzzz or putter shots with very little in the way to stop them from getting to where you want them to go. This was the most disappointing thing about this course. I was really hoping to be able to pull a driver out on more than maybe 5 holes.

Other Thoughts:

The designers of this course know how to design courses and I can only expect to see changes to this in the future. Unfortunately from what I hear a lot of the land they wanted to use was not made available to them a last seconds notice which seems to me why there are these filler holes. I doubt I'll come back to this course until changes are made because the hour and a half drive isn't worth playing 7 or 8 good holes. I really hope the red baskets get a major make over to make this course a beast. The potential is there. My rating doesn't factor in the lack of signage and benches.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
Designer response by #19325
Tee signs have been installed.

Hole 1 will have an Island built around it in the future. The plan is for a similar green like USDGC 17.

I am trying to get #14 & 16 lengthened down the hill.

The plan was for a minimum of 4 par 4's but it didn't work out. Adding long par 4's through the Oaks would have been impossible. The open areas to the East and South are off limits.

There were a lot of restrictions and areas we needed to avoid. We could not use the creek area in front or wooded area near the creek. Those pavilions really take away a ton of room for buffer zones. If you look at the area the course is on it's really not that much land.
7 0
notapro
Diamond level trusted reviewer
Premium Member
Experience: 20.6 years 568 played 281 reviews
3.50 star(s)

Intermediate 2+ years

Reviewed: Played on:Jul 8, 2012 Played the course:once

Pros:

- Course is set on the ground of an old farm, taken over by the park district. Doesn't seem like there would be any interference except for a walking path by #16 and #17. No problem.
- Roughly half the holes are set in a large section/grove of smaller trees that force/take away lines. Some are pretty tight, like the hallway on #7, and the low ceiling on #13. Others are more open but still require accuracy, like the uphill shots on #6 and #8. #11 plays out of the woods with a few trees right off the tee, and #12 plays back into the woods from an open meadow.
- Other holes are more open, like #1 which only has one large tree to worry about. #14 is almost wide open, a nice downhill shot with a little tree in the fairway. #17 plays around a large tree, with a basket on top of a smallish hill, and #18 is a long shot over rolling terrain. #2 is a bomber shot with lots of length, and trees to snag approach shots by the basket. Most of these holes also have elevation changes to keep things interesting.
- Three of the holes have major water hazards here. #3 has a water carry with the basket on a peninsula. Water left, behind, front the basket, with a large tree on the right. #4 is a much, much longer water carry that has a huge bush forcing a wide hyzer shot if you aren't going over the water. The silver pin isn't too tough to get to, but the red is far across the water with another large bush blocking the lay-up option. #5 is the big boy, the red pin is tucked way back in the woods to the right. Getting to the window involves a high RHBH anny over the lake or a very skinny shot straight between the water and the woods. Tough hole.
- Tricky basket positions add to the challenge in many spots. #3's is close to the water, #17's is on top of a hill that slopes on both sides, #9's baskets are within a tight cluster of trees, and one is elevated (on top of the other, no less). #11's baskets are right next to each other... don't end up on the wrong side I suppose.
- Great teepads; some circular for different lines and others rectangular for the same line. Good baskets. Tee sign pending, but the navigation isn't too terrible, even without them.

Cons:

- Holes amongst the smaller trees are a little crammed in, there are some close fairways, and some close baskets/teepads. I could foresee some errant shots ending up in other people's business.
- Course is kind of split between holes that are pretty darn tough, and others that are pretty easy. At times it seems way too hard for beginners, at other times a little too straightforward for anyone else.

Other Thoughts:

- Overall, a fun course that has lots of birdie opportunities, and also some double, triple, or worse bogey opportunities. The silver pins are well suited to beginner players who know how to avoid water; the red pins are much tougher for the more experienced players.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
3 3
Water_Wind_Spirit
Experience: 15.8 years 31 played 4 reviews
3.50 star(s)

Round Da Round 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Updated: Played on:Jul 9, 2012 Played the course:2-4 times

Pros:

Round t-pads are pretty neat! Got my first ace here - along with my first black ace - along with back to back aces with a friend.

Cons:

Nothing really bad to say about this course.

Other Thoughts:

In the vicinity of other great courses in the area!
Was this review helpful? Yes No
3 0
AcesandChains
Experience: 3 played 2 reviews
4.00 star(s)

Round Barn 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Jul 4, 2012 Played the course:5+ times

Pros:

- 3 shots over water, each with a "safe" route.
- Round tee pads
- Two baskets for every hole
- 2 true par 4 holes

Nice mix of long open, and short technical holes. Not all the short holes were technical, nor all the long holes open, but that was the general feel.

Silver baskets are great for casual players, and the Red baskets are a good challenge for tournament, or more advanced players.

Cons:

- No tee signs yet

Other Thoughts:

I love the fact that the course designer was the only one to give this course a (lowly) 3.5 so far. Every one else who has reviewed it has given it a 4.

You may lose a disc in the water at this course, so I recommend bringing a few water discs that you are comfortable losing. (Why risk losing your favorite disc?)

Round Barn Farm makes a very unique and welcome addition to the courses in the area. A big thanks to Manhattan Park District for putting in the course!
Was this review helpful? Yes No
5 0
whitechocolate
Bronze level trusted reviewer
Experience: 15.9 years 437 played 23 reviews
4.00 star(s)

Someone finally gets it 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Jul 8, 2012 Played the course:once

Pros:

-Dual Baskets
-Secluded from other activities
-Cement Tees
-Signature type holes
-Mixed Shots

This is an outstanding designed course just a few miles south of I-80. This course has unique features that you do not generally get to find on most courses, especially in the Chicagoland area.

First, all holes had two sets of baskets, silver for shorts, red for longs. Majority of the baskets were strategically placed. Sometimes when courses have dual baskets they are generally the same hole just a little longer. A good portion of the holes had baskets uniquely placed, especially where the land counted. Holes 3, 4, 5, and 18 definitely come to mind on making the holes different. Cement Tees are definitely nice (and almost a must), but added round tees were definitely a great experience. It gives an opportunity for some great safari holes for leagues or tourneys, as well as an early morning when you have the course to yourself.

The course played throughout the fields not mixing in to other activities. Not once did I think I could throw into the playground, or hit someone while they were having a picnic. Although there are times where you come across a picnic bench or a gazebo, however the holes were designed properly with safety for all park goers in mind.

There are some solid signature holes on this course. Some of the holes that make me want to go back and play this course again. Red 3, 4, 5, and 18 definitely come to mind. The "stacked basket" as well is definitely worth playing again.

I also like that there is a solid mix of challenges here. Some of the silver are beginner friendly enough and some of the red baskets are borderline brutal. It gives challenges for both newer players as well as more experienced players to enjoy. It is not set up to alienate new players yet does discourage experienced players to come out time and time again. I also like that there are multiple routes on most holes. Nothing really forces a particular shot, although there are some obvious better choices. You can walk up to most holes and debate what and how you throw.

Cons:

-Amenities
-Overall Challenge

This is all nitpicking. There are plenty of port-a-potties, but for "the misses" something a little nicer would be great. Not a big deal at all, but we've all been in port-a-potties.

There are some great holes on this course, however, some of the middle holes are pretty similar in challenge and vibe. The little bit of elevation changes helps a little bit, as well as some well thought out basket placements. They used what was there and stretch the land to the corners of the park. Nothing really could be done. The stacked baskets helps break up what can be seen as similar on 6 through 10. Nothing gets crazy long through there but it's just the lay of the land. But I think the awesomeness of holes 3 through 5 being early in the round, is what would leave a little to be desired.

Other Thoughts:

All things considered, I would give the course a 4.0 (Excellent). I am taking in for the fact that the tee signs are going to installed shortly, Hole 1 is being turned into an island hole, and both baskets are being moved on Hole 11. If they let a couple of the holes go into the wooded areas (which was not allowed), it could potentially be a 4.5 caliber course. This course holds it own against the best courses in the area.

I hope park district see the reviews on this course. Windy City Disc Golf installed a product that we are truly lacking in the Chicagoland area. This course is well executed, inviting to all player types, and safe for everyone in the park. If anyone ever ask me to "take them to a course to show them what disc golf is all about", this is where I would bring them. Well down Mathattan. I will be driving passed 11 courses just off the highway to frequent this course.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
5 0
Rexdiscus
Experience: 18.8 years 192 played 8 reviews
4.00 star(s)

Great Addition to the Joliet Region 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Updated: Played on:Jul 6, 2012 Played the course:once

Pros:

I really like this new course. The designer/s did well with the land they had to use. Number one is short and very open, an easy deuce chance, especially if you play the silver baskets like I did the first round. It reminded me of Patriots Park in Homewood. However, the first hole is not indicative of how the rest of the course plays. There is plenty of variety. A lot of courses have dual tees, but not many have dual baskets on every hole. The silver baskets offer less advanced players a less risky, yet a fairly challenging, round. The red baskets offer more length and challenge. I like how the lake is used out here. Your discs have a chance to get wet if you are too short or left on holes three and and four, depending on which baskets you are playing. Like another user said, the peninsula set up for the red basket is is very cool. There are some tight, tricky little holes between five and seven. Five is very tight unless you want to risk starting it out left over the lake hoping it well bend back without getting snagged on the tree branches. On the right is bushes the entire way down. The stacked basket on nine is unique, a first for me. It is also one of the most well guarded holes I have ever seen. Number 9 is not long, but a deuce is tough if you are not within five feet of the stacked basket. I just had to get a photo of this unique basket/s . There is not a lot of elevation on this course, but what exists is well used. There are some holes on small hills that offer a chance for a roll-away. Number 11 has the two baskets side by side, something I have never seen before. Some might not like that, but I do. The tees are nice cement tees, some of them big circular tees, another first for me. The atmosphere of this place adds to the experience. It is in a rural setting. The old barn and old tractor on number 1 gives it a rustic feel.

Cons:

Obviously, the lack of tee signs is a con. I do like to know the distance of each hole. Even though the red baskets offer more length, the course is still not very long. i do not throw it over 400 feet, but it is nice to have at least three or four holes over 400 feet, but this course offers enough fun to offset the lack of bomber holes.

Other Thoughts:

Be careful not to go too long on number 14. My bud went long and the downhill trajectory sent his disc into the high grass. We spent about ten minutes trying to find it since you can not see the bottom of the hill from the tee. The Joliet region already has a pretty nice range of courses. This is a very nice addition. I give it a solid four. A few minor tweaks and the addition of tee signs might get me to raise my rating to a 4.5. I look forward to hitting up Round Barn soon. Disc it up!
Was this review helpful? Yes No
3 2
sthomas128
Experience: 15.7 years 54 played 16 reviews
4.00 star(s)

-:[ WoW ]:- 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Jul 3, 2012 Played the course:once

Pros:

.
-:[WoW]:-
**This is going to be a world class course when completed.
**2 baskets per hole: A Silver (short/safe) basket and a Red (long/risk-reward) basket per hole
**Super appropriate round tee pads on quite a few holes, different angles needed to the different baskets.
**Nice job using the multiple baskets to create variety
**Looks like there's going to be a few hanging baskets at some point???
**Nice water shots, love the peninsula green on # 3.
**Good "pucker factor" on # 4 red over the lake, it is an intimidating shot
>>>>># 9 with the stacked baskets inside the lilac tree is VERY CQQL (banked a deuce putt off of one of the branches into the red basket on my first round...)

WILL ADD MORE LATER AFTER I GET TO PLAY THE "COMPLETED/TWEAKED COURSE...

Cons:

.
That there are not more courses with this much thought put into them around to play...

Other Thoughts:

.
**Giving this a 4 as-is...
**I'm sure that's going nowhere but up as soon as I can play the completed/tweaked course

GREAT JOB GUYS...
Was this review helpful? Yes No
Top