Omaha, NE

Seymour Smith Park

Permanent course
3.535(based on 45 reviews)
Filter course reviews

Filter reviews

Filter reviews

Seymour Smith Park reviews

Filter
12 0
LarsAnders0n
Experience: 16.5 years 4 played 4 reviews
4.00 star(s)

Rad Intermediate 18 in a Super Nice Park 2+ years

Reviewed: Played on:Aug 16, 2021 Played the course:once

Pros:

- Clean, well manicured course in a nice park.
- Lots of parking
- VERY difficult to lose a disc.
- Relatively* easy for a beginner to navigate. I didn't review the map at all before playing here and after parking, I realized I was closest to hole 12, so I played 12 through 11, and I got a bit confused at a point when I needed to cross a bridge, but otherwise, relatively intuitive to find your way.
- Interesting mix of throws from hyzer to anhyzer to holes where it'd be best to flick.
- Nice concrete t pads
- Multiple hole locations - There is short and long placements for t pads, and 4 A thru D basket locations. When I played, the signs were on the short t pads, which I was glad about since I haven't played in a while. They also used a nice mix of hole locations, and from looking at the other possibilities, I am sure the day I played the course it played easier than if many of the harder basket placements had been being used.
- Lots of fun throws
- Plays quick, I know from my apple watch, tracking a walk, I finished in 97 minutes, and walked 2.50 miles.
- Basically no opportunities to lose a disc. There is a gully that plays OB on holes, but you'd have to really throw poorly to have a disc go in there.

Cons:

- Not a ton of distance
- Not a ton of holes where I used real distance drivers, I mostly threw buzzes and 6 - 7 speed fairway drivers. Maybe 4 holes where I used anything higher.
- Once or twice I didn't know where I was supposed to go.

Other Thoughts:

- I played the course as all 3s, not really keeping track of what the holes said, as when I was throwing I wasn't sure if I was absolutely certain of which basket it was on the maps, due to not knowing the course.

- 4 out of 5. Really fun and worthwhile course for all levels of players. I simply had a blast playing this course, and would highly recommend to anyone I know who plays!
Was this review helpful? Yes No
7 0
hammerhead300
Experience: 12 played 7 reviews
4.00 star(s)

Omaha's Most Popular (and Busiest) Course 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Apr 18, 2021 Played the course:5+ times

Pros:

Most holes have two (concrete) tee pads, and all of them have several basket placements. There is enough variety in basket placements that your strategy can drastically change after they're moved, and hole 5 also offers a very different look from the pro pad than from the rec pad. The pro pad on 5 offers a big downhill shot that can be intimidating because of the ravine that runs along the left side and back side of the hole, but is extremely rewarding if you throw a solid drive.

There is some moderate elevation change, mainly with the tee shots on 11 and (the aforementioned) pro pad on 5, as well as the upshot on 2, with some moderate downhill play on 13 and 15 and a slight move back uphill between them on 14. There's a good mix of short, more technical holes with wide open bomb-runs (7 and 12 in the long basket placement are the most rewarding for the guys who can throw long), and there are enough obstacles and hazards to present a challenge without being too intimidating for beginners.

New signage has been added to the course within the last couple years and looks great. There are also several practice baskets that have been recently added that are perfect for working on putting.

Cons:

I wasn't kidding when I said this is Omaha's busiest course, and neither are any of the other reviewers. If you're playing on the weekend and the weather is good, you will almost definitely be among several other groups, and it's common to have two or three groups waiting to tee off when you get there. From my experience, most people are pretty chill about letting you go at your own pace and not expecting you to let them play through, but I'll typically take one or two breaks to let quicker players get through.

The course used to have trash barrels and benches at several spots through the course, but unfortunately due to vandalism, several of them have been removed. This is by no means a high-crime area and I've never had any issues while I've been at the park, so this seems to have been a case of just a few people ruining things for everyone else.

The ravine that comes into play on several holes is usually fairly easy to avoid, but if you drop a disc down into it, you're not going to have a fun time getting it out.

Other Thoughts:

There's definitely a reason why this course stays busy as it does. It's my go-to if I want to get 18 in without driving too far, or introduce new people to the sport. If you don't mind having to wait now and then for others to play through, it's worth playing if you haven't before and are in the area.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
1 1
Icky
Experience: 10.9 years 12 played 7 reviews
4.00 star(s)

Fun to play terrible to navigate 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Oct 28, 2018 Played the course:2-4 times

Pros:

Multiple teepads

Well manicured

Forehand & backhand friendly

Practice baskets

Cons:

Practically zero signage

Tough to navigate

Old baskets

Other Thoughts:

I've only played here a handful of times, but the biggest issue is there are no tee signs or markings leading you to the next holes. Along with the red, blue, and gold teepads this course can be a bit confusing even for locals. Apart from this issue the course plays great with a bit of help from uDisc's layout tracker. A lot of tricky shots through large, old trees. Seymour Smith has pretty wide forehand and backhand gaps making it fun for any type of player. I'd recommend it to any seasoned player, but it may be a bit challenging for beginners because of all the trees.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
2 0
aphilso1
Gold level trusted reviewer
Experience: 6.4 years 52 played 49 reviews
3.50 star(s)

Home Course 2+ years

Reviewed: Played on:Sep 18, 2018 Played the course:5+ times

Pros:

Well maintained. Most holes have two teepads, which are concrete and plenty long. All holes have multiple basket placements that are regularly moved. This creates lots of variety. Good use of elevation changes, trees, and creeks to create a fun park-style course.

Cons:

This is the most popular course in Omaha and can get quite busy. Not uncommon to see groups of 6+ beginners on a nice summer evening. When the weather is good, this course is slow. Also of note, some of the basket locations can be relatively hard to locate depending on what positions they're in that day.

Other Thoughts:

I consider this my home course since it's closest to where I live and is the place I play the most frequently. While I really enjoy it, there are other courses in the Omaha metro area that are better. If passing through Omaha and only able to play a course or two, my recommendations are Hummel and Treasure Cove.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
3 1
dickwolf
Experience: 27.8 years 50 played 21 reviews
3.50 star(s)

pretty alright!! 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Updated: Played on:Feb 17, 2017 Played the course:once

Pros:

nice course. moderate elevation changes, decent trees to play around. nothing tricky to it. fun.
Pretty much the best tee pads possible!!!

Cons:

REALLY busy.

Course is TIRED and could use a major refresher. New baskets and new signs would make a world of difference.

Not terribly easy to find the next hole.

A lot of random tee pads that not sure which hole they lead to.

Other Thoughts:

the people on the course were very nice and helpful. couldnt be more thankful for the courtesy of letting me play through and then join a group a few holes later.
after playing i bunch more and getting more familiar with it, i bumped up my review. it desperately needs new signage and baskets, but, the layout is retty good and fun.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
5 0
The Valkyrie Kid
Diamond level trusted reviewer
Experience: 45.8 years 1563 played 1507 reviews
3.00 star(s)

Nice Park Course But It Lacks Wow Factor! 2+ years

Reviewed: Updated: Played on:Aug 11, 2016 Played the course:once

Pros:

Seymour Smith Park is a large, sprawling city park. The course is confined to an area which disc golf exclusive, which is good. Parking will not be a problem here. There is disc machine at the start selling disc with prices ranging from $13.95 to $19.95. The sign says all discs are 170 g or more. Alas, the machine was empty. Whoever is in charge of this venture won't make any dinero with an empty vending machine.

The course features two concrete tee pads on each hole. Along with the A and B basket locations, there is probably a nice variety of play for locals who know the course. I was glad to so many reviewers mention that navigation is difficult for traveling players because both myself and the father/son combo behind me were usually going be wrong way. Missing or broke signs on some holes didn't help either.

There is some elevation on this Nebraska course. There are enough trees to provide some shade and also some challenge. Although are usually spread out and fairly easy to throw around.

All this talk about this course being so busy. I played on a weekday afternoon and although the course had players it wasn't anywhere close to busy. I have no doubt that Seymour Smith does get really crowded. But for those of you who have never experienced Morley Field in San Diego, THAT IS, the busiest disc golf course anywhere! Without a doubt!

Cons:

Navigation for players unfamiliar with the course is difficult. Tee signs could be updated and improved.

A couple of holes seem long just to long.

No signature hole.

Two holes play close to the busy street.

Other Thoughts:

SS is a very solid, city park course. It's popularity speaks for itself. But like so many city park courses, it lacks creativity. The main challenge here seems to be it's length. It plays more difficult than the average recreation level course. I think most players below pro level can get their kicks here. I guess the two keys to the course are: A). Arrive early on the weekends and holidays. And B). Have a local guide you.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
5 1
Spike Hyzer 23
Experience: 30.6 years 92 played 87 reviews
3.50 star(s)

A Nice Course in the Heart of the City 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Aug 28, 2015 Played the course:5+ times

Pros:

The park is quite beautiful and has a far mix of elevation and mature trees lining the fairways, as well as one large dried out creek bed to cross (it isn't really in play, and it is more than a 60 foot drop to the bottom, which you will only hit if you over drive some of the later holes that go toward it). The holes are well designed to take advantage of the trees, and there are some short uphill holes in my midrange distance that I couldn't reach with my driver (one with an exceptionally well guarded green).

The signs and maps are excellent, there are local leagues, and there is even a disc vending machine on the premises.

Cons:

Hole 12 is nightmarishly long and poorly designed, coming into close proximity to a previous basket.

It's very busy almost all the time, and it borders on two of the busiest roads in the city, which is bothersome on holes 2, 7, 8, and 9 (the rest of the park offers a buffer for the rest of the holes).

Other Thoughts:

It's an enormous multi-use park with a nice bike path wending through it, and there are two paved wheelchair softball diamonds that are worth seeing because this city has produced multiple national champion wheelchair softball teams!

Great place.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
0 7
TomDaJester
Experience: 11.8 years 5 played 1 reviews
4.00 star(s)

2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:May 18, 2015 Played the course:5+ times

Pros:

The course is well laid out and they are improving it continuously.

Cons:

Not enough benches

Other Thoughts:

This is the course I learned to play on. I've seen it transform from a tree heavy course to one that has a good mix of treed and open fairways.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
4 2
Cartograph
Experience: 9.9 years 89 played 3 reviews
3.00 star(s)

2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:May 7, 2015 Played the course:5+ times

Pros:

Its a very gentle open and arguably easy/moderate course to play. There are two tees for different skill levels and to keep things "Fresh" when you are a local or play it alot.

Signs and paths show you the way if you have never been to the course before albeit some times one can get confused (going from hole 9 to hole 10 you might get confused and go to 13 by accident)

Dual pin placement also helps keep variety up and a decent number of trees keeps you looking for a good path to throw.

Cons:

Some tee pads are covered by dirt and when it rains there are hard to tee off from properly but not impossible.

Some of the hole signs are missing or gone and need replacing.

Other Thoughts:

Some of the trees and other vegetation have been removed and made some of the holes a bit easier (too easy for my taste)

Also Construction on the creek has finished finally and the bridge put back into place.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
9 0
Qikly
Diamond level trusted reviewer
Experience: 11.7 years 181 played 148 reviews
3.00 star(s)

Blue Collar Disc Golf in the Heartland 2+ years

Reviewed: Played on:Jan 2, 2015 Played the course:once

Pros:

Seymour Smith Park mixes things up through its varying tree density and distribution: there are some wide open shots from the tee that tighten up closer to the basket, some tree-dotted fairways that force you to thread your way without an obvious lane, a few open bombers, and some general lines with obstacles to avoid that provide leeway but reward good execution by affording a birdie look. None of it is highly technical, but there are enough varied lines, low ceilings, distance variation, and obstacles to make for worthwhile play. The never-too-thick tree distribution affords a lot of choice in shot selection while maintaining challenge, which is a nice plus. This would make for a solid home course and a good 18 to cut your teeth on.

At their best, baskets are positioned near tree lines or subsumed into small wooded patches, enhancing approaches. Elevation isn't drastic, but there are enough rolling hills and downhill shots to factor in. A few downhill shots on the back 9 contribute nicely. Road OB shows up occasionally, forcing you to consider it without being punishing or courting luck.

Parking is plentiful and bathrooms accessible. The course is conveniently close to downtown Omaha.

Cons:

The course is a pretty standard city park course. It plays much more like a set of par 3s than the online listing suggests. A good bit of these are solid holes that make you earn your birdie look, but there are no multistage holes and no emphasis on placement. While some approaches force you to consider accompanying hazards, many baskets are placed in the open, allowing for relatively automatic runs at the basket.

The long tees don't add much - many are just plopped down directly behind the shorts, adding a bit of raw distance and nothing more. Both sets of tees can be hard to find on a given hole, partly because of some missing tee signs. Between the missing tees and some rough-looking baskets, the course shows its age.

Navigation was relatively difficult, even with a map in hand. The layout doubles back on itself at a few points and is far from intuitive. Given how long the course has been installed, I'm guessing this is at least partly a product of multiple redesigns in order to provide the locals with variety, which is understandable, but makes things a bit tougher for outsiders.

The design lacks wow factor and signature holes.

Other Thoughts:

Seymour Smith is well worth a stop, providing a solid round for both locals and those passing through.

I can't comment on traffic since I played in January (though for what it's worth, the course was quiet the day I was there).
Was this review helpful? Yes No
11 0
mndiscg
Diamond level trusted reviewer
Experience: 15.8 years 480 played 477 reviews
3.00 star(s)

Busiest Course Ever 2+ years

Reviewed: Played on:Aug 2, 2014 Played the course:once

Pros:

+This course did have a high fun factor for me most of the time. I had a lot of birdies and ace runs when I was throwing well and had a hard time getting 3s if I missed a bit off the tee.
+Ace runs
+Baskets are in decent shape.
+Dual concrete tees provide variety and a choice of how much distance and difficulty you want. The tee choices are different enough.
+Multiple pin positions keep it fresh for locals and make travelers confused.
+A good amount of trees to provide challenge while keeping it fun. This course would be challenging enough for better players but not too hard for beginners.
+Shouldn't lose a disc here.

Cons:

-This is literally the busiest course that I have ever played. I got there before 9 AM on a saturday and the course was already full. I had to wait before hole 1 and on most tees after that. I played through a few slower groups but it was ultimately useless as there was always another slow group ahead of them. There were large groups, groups drinking (early in the morning), people throwing a few drives, etc. No etiquette. Pay to play would probably help this course a lot.
-Lots of wear and tear on an old and very popular course. Erosion near every pin position and tee. It could get very muddy at times.
-Some holes run too close together and that is amplified by the sheer number of people on the course.
-Even with the signage and traffic, the flow is weird. There are often many baskets in sight at once and you might not know where to throw. Watch the group ahead of you to see where they throw to and where they walk after the hole.

Other Thoughts:

-If this course was made pay to play, some of the major cons would be erased and there would be a lot more money flowing into this course for improvements. It could get boosted up to a 3.5.
-Some have commented about how traffic has been alleviated here since the addition of Hummel and reopening of Cunningham but it still seemed very busy to me. There is still far too few courses in this large city.
-This course is worth a stop as it is one of the better courses in Omaha and one of few in general. Try to play when it won't be busy!
Was this review helpful? Yes No
9 0
gabereif
Silver level trusted reviewer
Experience: 12.9 years 57 played 37 reviews
3.00 star(s)

Solid course 2+ years

Reviewed: Updated: Played on:Mar 14, 2014 Played the course:2-4 times

Pros:

-Parking is convenient
-Course is free
-Very nice tee pads
-Pin positions change
-Two tees per hole
-Well maintained, clean
-Good use of elevation, considering it's in Nebraska
-Some holes are short and easy and some are long (although none are particularly challenging)
-Several holes have multiple approaches
-There's no rough or water in which to lose a disc
-There's a practice basket

Cons:

-Navigation is difficult for first-timers. The tee signs don't have maps.
-It would be nice if a few holes had more obstacles/rough/challenge
-The pars listed on the signs are ridiculously easy for a few holes. I'm not sure what they were thinking on...
-A hole or two play too close to busy streets
-There's nothing particularly special about the course. None of the holes have great aesthetics. None are particularly challenging, except for requiring a little extra distance.

Other Thoughts:

I live in Massachusetts and travel to Nebrsaka for work. When I have free time in Omaha, this course is my first spot. I'd be proud to call this course my home course. It's a free course with everything you need for a solid disc golf experience and the two tees on each hole give you extra variety and challenge. That said, there's nothing special about the course. With better signs, I'd happily give a 3.5. And I'd love to spice up a couple holes by having them play over the crevasse.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
2 4
Burd
Experience: 12 played 9 reviews
4.00 star(s)

Seymour Smith DGC review 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Apr 4, 2013 Played the course:5+ times

Pros:

This is my and virtually everyone from Omaha, NE's starting course and most played. Well maintained with trees spaced out for some fun throws and good elevation changes make this course fun. Plus a doubles league that moves the pins to one of their several locations for each hole, every other week during disc season keeps the course interesting and fun to play.

Cons:

This is the busiest course I have seen anywhere ever. Most are beginner players that do not always let smaller groups pass and throw before you are done with the hole. For this reason alone I have been seeking courses elsewhere to play.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
0 5
Birdie30
Experience: 14.8 years 23 played 2 reviews
3.50 star(s)

Learner Course 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Mar 15, 2013 Played the course:once

Pros:

Cement tee pads. Elevation changes. Lots of trees and nice shade for the summer. Very easy course but still can be a little challenging.

Cons:

To many people on the weekends. You have to go on a weekday and as early as possible. To many huckers!

Other Thoughts:

It could be a little better, it was rather easy. Lots of stuff to do in the park for the whole family. A must play for anyone who has never played, just do go on the weekends.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
0 4
lilrif
Experience: 18.8 years 18 played 1 reviews
3.50 star(s)

Home Course 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Dec 18, 2012 Played the course:5+ times

Pros:

Wide open with a little terrain. Nice cement tee pads. multiple placement for baskets and 2 tee placements at every hole

Cons:

crowded on weekends with casual players. some let you play through while some just do not understand that they have 8 and there is only two in your group.

Other Thoughts:

Great course for beginners and advnaced the like. when the baskets are changed in the summer almost weekly it is like a new course.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
1 0
Nathan Stahl
Experience: 11.6 years 18 played 12 reviews
3.50 star(s)

Everyone can enjoy 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Updated: Played on:Oct 29, 2012 Played the course:5+ times

Pros:

Very well marked and laid out is all through out the park. All levels of experience will enjoy this course. Everyone I talked to on the course was friendly and helped with locating my disk covered in leaves. Good elevation changes but easy to keep track of your disk. Multiple disk basket locations for all holes to keep the course ever changing.

Cons:

I have played it once during the weekend and it was crowded. Three times I played it during the week and much better. Still always had other golfers, but not hard to play straight through. Some of the course benches could use repairs and the vandals need to stay away.

Other Thoughts:

It is a great time and try to stick to weekdays if you hate crowds.

What is the deal with taking out all the trees, the third hole is ruined now. The course has become just a boring open field with few trees. Then they block the only bridge to cross the stream and make it dangerous to play. I really hope something is fixed soon. Maybe this is a ploy to get people to stop playing the course, if so it is working!
Was this review helpful? Yes No
5 0
mashnut
Diamond level trusted reviewer
Experience: 22 years 831 played 767 reviews
3.00 star(s)

Nice park course 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Sep 16, 2012 Played the course:once

Pros:

The course plays through a pretty multi-use park. There isn't much rough, but the whole park has scattered mature trees to add obstacles. Several of the shots have low ceilings to navigate, adding to the effective length and difficulty. The hills here aren't huge, but they come into play on many of the holes and are used well to add some fun downhills and some tougher uphills.

The dual pads here are nicely designed to offer different looks on some of the holes, not just long and short versions of the same shot. There are also dual pins, adding to the variety and replayability. The tee signs show the length of all 4 tee and pin combination, and both sets of tees have good concrete pads.

Cons:

Most of the holes here are pretty straightforward, with little punishment for missing your line and not a whole lot of different challenges. Too many of the shots are straight or only call for a slight turn one direction or the other, you can get by and score well without great line shaping skills. The distances get a bit repetitive, with lots of shorter holes in the same range.

The signs don't indicate the current pin positions, only really an issue on the couple blind shots but it's always nice to know which distance you're throwing without having to guess. The first tee is a ways from the parking lot, it was a little tricky to figure out where to start. The course is showing some wear from heavy traffic, with soil compaction and some erosion evident.

Other Thoughts:

This is a great beginner course, without much distance or rough and an intuitive layout. More experienced players won't find a whole lot of challenge, and there isn't a ton of variety to keep better throwers coming back. If you're looking for a quick, fun round this is a great place to stop.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
1 3
btroberts011
Experience: 11.8 years 16 played 7 reviews
4.50 star(s)

What a great course 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:May 14, 2012 Played the course:once

Pros:

Great course with lots of challenging shots that take lots of creativity to deal with. WIthin the first 4 holes I tossed discs RHBH RHFH Thumber and a huge RHBH Anhyser. The course has multiple tee boxes that give a huge variety and really change the game.

Cons:

Could lose a lot of discs if not careful with some of your shots. Could be waiting a while to tee off because of the high demand to play this course

Other Thoughts:

I came up to omaha from dallas the other weekend and played this course in my short amount of free time. It was well worth it and I just want to go back since I have gotten back to texas. Everyone on the course was very nice in directing me to the next hole/pin. Highly recommend
Was this review helpful? Yes No
10 0
notapro
Diamond level trusted reviewer
Premium Member
Experience: 20.6 years 568 played 281 reviews
3.00 star(s)

Beginner/Intermediate 2+ years

Reviewed: Played on:Dec 28, 2011 Played the course:once

Pros:

- Course is set in a medium sized section of a city park, bordered by roads on three sides. There are a ton of other activities here, like a skate park and a shooting range, but the disc golf is well separated.
- Most of the holes here are littered with mature trees to force different lines from start to finish. There are those that are more or less clear of any brush, and force a hyzer, straight, or anhyzer depending on what seems easiest. Other holes have more dense patches of trees, like the ends of #1 and #17, or the wall of foliage to clear on #3. Decent mix from fairly tight to pretty open.
- One side of the park is one side of a big hill, and a lot of holes play up and down the slope. #11 is a nice, long downhill with OB road on the right, while #10 is a short shot that is on a little hill. Almost every hole on this side of the park, about 12 overall, have some elevation either way. There is also a nasty depression running through the middle of the park that provides some dangerous pin positions.
- Good variety in holes lengths, especially with the two different sets of pads. There are a lot of holes in the 250'-300' range, with some more on the longer side. Bigger arms might need some drivers to hit some of the lower lines under the branches, perhaps.
- Nice pads, for both sets. A lot of different shots on some of the longer ones, not just added length. Good baskets, and good signs even with the copious amounts of graffiti.

Cons:

- A lot of the holes here are very similar; finding a path through mature trees, and avoiding the trunks and branches. Hitting the line will usually set up for a deuce, and missing the line/hitting a tree might just result in a par. Definitely very forgiving.
- Pretty short course overall; especially with some of the downhill shots taking away even more of the length. Makes things fun, but takes away a lot of the challenge.

Other Thoughts:

- Fun factor on this course is up there, it is awesome for a relaxing day of discing. There are enough trees and elevation here to make things interesting, if not exciting. Perfect for beginners, as long as you avoid the nasty ditch in the middle of the park. More experienced players should hope to shoot low here, or try out the long tees for a bit more challenge.
- Very busy course, based on the low stress/high fun design. Lots of partying going on when I was out there, nothing too crazy.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
2 0
JimmyJazz
Experience: 15 years 3 played 3 reviews
4.00 star(s)

My stomping grounds 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Sep 9, 2011 Played the course:5+ times

Pros:

So many. Multiple spacious, cement teepads on every hole. Baskets with multiple positions that actually make a significant difference in both the layout and the difficulty of the hole, and which are rotated pretty regularly. The course is laid out on a hillside that a about a third of the holes go either up or down. So lot's of elevation changes, but it's the same slope. Hole 11 (I believe) does go down a different and steeper hill, and is wide-open- it's a lot of fun to hurl discs down. Good variety of wooded and open holes, and the usually noob-unfriendly hole 3 has you throwing right over a densely-overgrown creek.

Cons:

CROWDED with a lot of casual and serious frolfers who are occasionally prone to getting irritated with each others. No individual hole is hugely memorable.

Other Thoughts:

This is a really solid course without a doubt. All of the pros I listed are totally valid, but what really makes Seymour are the people who play there. It's true that there are lots of people in Omaha who consider it their home-base, so if you like a brisk, quiet, concentrated round you might get irritated by people playing music, or stalling you up with a large, unskilled group. But I hear enough quibbling about the lack of etiquette that I want to point out the overwhelming sense of cmmunity and goodwill that almost everyone brings there. People are just chill and friendly, happy to chat or let you mind your own business if you prefer. If you are playing by yourself, most groups will let you play through. There is a notable lack of litter around. People are know to bring drinkables, but you wouldn't know it from cans and bottles scattered around the course, just by the heaps in every trash can. Here's an example: Earlier this summer, I found a frisbee with a name and number on it that I called to see if the owner was still at the park. He was a few holes behind us, on his second round of the day, and we agreed to wait for him at the picnic table after hole 9. When he arrived, he gratefully took his disc back and recognized the friend I had been throwing with from a wallet that he had found some holes back.My friend had dropped his wallet without even realizing it, and this individual, whose frisbee I had just returned, returned it to him without being prompted. That is the sort of awesomeness that is cultivated at Seymour Smith. Also, the course is legitimately pretty boss by its own merits.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
Top