Temple, TX

South Temple Community Park

Permanent course
3.165(based on 22 reviews)
Filter course reviews

Filter reviews

Filter reviews

South Temple Community Park reviews

Filter
12 0
aclay
Gold level trusted reviewer
Experience: 39.6 years 309 played 235 reviews
3.00 star(s)

South Temple Community Center 2+ years

Reviewed: Played on:Dec 22, 2021 Played the course:once

Pros:

-- Two large concrete pads for most holes.
-- Plenty of room. While this is a multi-use park (playground, water park and walking path), the disc golf course mostly avoids those issue (except the walking path).
-- Excellent distance variation: The short tees feature 10 holes less than 300 feet and four longer than 400 feet; the long tees have seven holes less than 300 feet and six longer than 400 feet, including four longer than 600 feet.
-- Water (a small creek/ditch) is in play on six holes.
-- The best holes both involve water. No. 8 is 148/201, so definitely an ace run. No. 14 (376/653) forces you to hit lines navigating multiple trees before crossing the creek near the basket.
-- DISCatcher baskets are older but still catch well.

Cons:

-- Poor course flow. A few long walks (8-9, 11-12) that are easily fixed by changing the order of the holes. Playing 6, 10, 11, 9, 7, 8, 12 isn't perfect (and 8-12 is somewhat of a long walk), but it's way better than the current order.
-- Some tee signs are missing or so faded they are close to unreadable.
-- No elevation.
-- Filler holes. This land is flat and has areas that are pretty wide open, so you have some holes where you just throw straight ahead 300-400 feet with few/no obstacles.

Other Thoughts:

-- Most of the course is open, but the distance variation (considering short and long tees) makes this course suitable to a wide range of skill levels.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
2 3
ivanhenson
Gold level trusted reviewer
Premium Member
Experience: 12.9 years 672 played 219 reviews
2.50 star(s)

Could use a little love. 2+ years

Reviewed: Played on:Jul 23, 2020 Played the course:once

Pros:

Mostly empty park so you can play at own pace. Several ace holes to try on. 2 pads on each hole.

Cons:

#1 was removed so the flow is off and all baskets are miss labeled. Lots of the pads are missing signs. or faded. This is an older course so older baskets

Other Thoughts:

With a few hours of work marking all the pads and baskets correctly would help out lots.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
5 0
The Valkyrie Kid
Diamond level trusted reviewer
Experience: 45.9 years 1562 played 1507 reviews
3.00 star(s)

Course Was Great For Rollers Today! 2+ years

Reviewed: Played on:Sep 26, 2017 Played the course:once

Pros:

The park at South Temple seemingly stretches forever in all directions. There are acres and acres of nicely mowed, turning to brown, cut short grass, which seems to be in a dormant stage making it the perfect course for throwing rollers. The park has a large water park and a newly built covered play structure. Other than the walking path, most of the park is disc golf exclusive.

The course two large concrete pads for most holes. The small metal signs that are screwed onto stout wooden poles are excellent but not quite immune to vandalism as the signs are slightly bigger than the poles they are attached to. This gives the idiotic vandals a way to somehow bend them or break them off. Note: signs that are slightly smaller than the pole can be more securely attached. The baskets are older looking Discatchers with either the correct or incorrect # on them.

The course has a nice combination of longer, open holes and shorter, technical type holes.

I wish I had read the reviews before attempting to navigate this course. It would have saved me a lot of aggravation had I known about the missing # 1 basket and the confusing attempt to re-number the following holes. I was able to quickly deduce that there was no # 1 basket but the subsequent mis-marked holes threw me for a loop. And left me looping until I met up with some locals after playing 10-11-12-9-8 in some walked out order.

# 18 was interesting with the trees lined up down the fairway. How do better big armed players play this hole? How about recreational players?

Cons:

Gees, fix the numbering fiasco. Help us traveling players.

Is there room to stick the # 1 basket somewhere else and still maintain the course's flow.

Too many open holes. No elevation.

Wind was a factor today and probably is a given.

Other Thoughts:

I liked this course in spite of my navigation issues. The short grass on a wide open holes makes a great surface for rolling. On the other hand, some of these longer holes are excellent for showing off your big arm. The course is reminiscent of quite a few of Houston's stable of open golf course type courses like Agnes Moffitt and White Oaks North but the course it most reminded of was Zube Park, although Zube is orettier and has more defined fairways.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
8 0
c_a_miller
Diamond level trusted reviewer
Experience: 12 years 299 played 209 reviews
3.00 star(s)

Not Great. Not Bad 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Mar 11, 2017 Played the course:once

Pros:

This course feature dual concrete tees on all of the holes. The shorter tees are definitely good for beginner players or players wanting to go on a birdie fest. The longer tees are significantly longer in some places adding a fair amount of challenge to the hole. Even playing the shorter tees, I enjoyed the hole length variety. Some holes played ~130' that getting a 2 is a must while others were 600'+ where scoring a 3 would feel like an accomplishment.

The DisCatcher baskets are all older but in good shape with two layers of change in all. Minus the hole one snafu that is talked about in the cons, the course had very little navigation issues.

Flat, city park courses have a tendency to be fairly bland with not a whole lot of obstacles to contend with. I do think that this park could be grouped into that category, but the trees that are on the course do add a fair amount of challenge. For you Houston folks, I would compare this course more favorably than Agnes Moffitt. Similar course style, but has a higher fun factor and strategy involved.

Cons:

I stood on a concrete tee that said Hole 1 and 250' but looked straight to a playground. I threw a lazy hyzer far to the right of the playground thinking I was missing the basket. A local came up to me and explained that the course had changed and all of the holes were moved up one, so Hole 1 became the old Hole 2, so on and so forth. Only some of the tee signs and baskets reflected this change. It is only a slight issue, but once you figure it out, it should be no problem from then on.

The park is pretty crowded by non disc players. There is a walking trail that weaves through the course and Hole 14 fairway crosses the path while other holes play close. Watch out for pedestrians.

Other Thoughts:

All in all, the course is not terrible. I enjoyed my round and would happily play this course if I lived in Temple. It does not have any real glaring issues if you are courteous to the people around you, but no qualities that make it stand out form an average course.

Just for your information, the course map on DGCR is not a good map. It is out of date and does not show a whole lot of detail.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
6 0
dreadlock86
Diamond level trusted reviewer
Experience: 17 years 383 played 316 reviews
2.50 star(s)

2+ years

Reviewed: Played on:Nov 12, 2016 Played the course:once

Pros:

-discatchers in good condition
-long and short tees on half the holes
-creek comes into play on several holes
-lots of trees lining the sides of fairways, sporadic trees mid-fairway
-fairly intuitive navigation

Cons:

-hole 1 has been moved since the playground was constructed, confusing because the tee and sign are still there. this hole is now between 11 and 12; start on hole 2
-good luck if you find the creek on a shot
-no real stand out holes

Other Thoughts:

This course shows its age a bit but is still a fun track for the lower level player. Definitely feels and plays like a rec course, especially on the short tees, but has some good obstacles for that level player, mostly the creek but also some low ceilings and a few forced lines from the occasional trees in the fairway.

There are a few longer holes like 6 and 15 and a few of the holes around the creek are tricky, especially 14. Wind is a big factor on most of the holes. The creek and lines of trees separating fairways give a links style feel to the course. The grass was mowed when I played but I could see it being problematic and frustrating if it were overgrown.

This is a fun course for rec and intermediate players but probably pretty boring for advanced and above. Lions Park is a better option for those players, or a drive up to the Beast in Waco.


**Like this review? Hate it? Message me and let me know why! I want to make them better!**
Was this review helpful? Yes No
2 0
Pizza God
Diamond level trusted reviewer
Premium Member
Experience: 36.1 years 1717 played 560 reviews
3.50 star(s)

Mow more often 2+ years

Reviewed: Played on:Sep 11, 2016 Played the course:once

Pros:

Several strong holes on this course.

Cement tee pads on all the holes, most with alternate short and long pads.

Most of the holes have tee markers with distance on them.

Cons:

Looks like the city does not mow out here often. Grass was very long in some parts and lots of clippings pilled up.

Missing a few tee markers

seems like every hole is either way short or way long.

Other Thoughts:

Course flow is decent, but you need a map or play with someone who knows the course the first time around.

Several of the holes have risk reward shots

You need both your long air shots and tight technical shots, sometimes on the same hole.

they play the walking paths OB, some of the walking paths are 3 to 4 feet away from the baskets.

GET your birdies on these 200 ft holes, you will need them with the 600ft holes
Was this review helpful? Yes No
8 0
markmcc
Diamond level trusted reviewer
Experience: 12 years 278 played 254 reviews
3.00 star(s)

Nice Park Course, but a Little Mixed Up... 2+ years

Reviewed: Played on:Feb 24, 2016 Played the course:once

Pros:

This park course is flat and open for the most part. Many of the holes have short and long tees, so there is a great variety of hole lengths from 177' out to 653'. There are enough trees to require some shaping of drives, but there are no heavily wooded areas or tight fairways. Wind is likely to create the greatest challenge.

A creek winds through the course, and with recent rains there were several small "ponds" in play as well. Holes 6 - 11 play around the wettest area, with a couple of basket placements near water and Hole 8 throwing across the creek.

Good level concrete tee pads. Simple signs with Hole Number, Par and Distance. Innova baskets are showing their age but catching fine. A few were a little out of plumb.

Cons:

From the standpoint of a travelling disc golfer who will likely get to play this course only once, navigation was an issue. A playscape was built over the original Hole 1 pin position, so right off the bat things are a little messed up. The two original tee pads and signs for Hole 1 are still in place. So after searching around for a bit then realizing that Hole 1 is gone, you finally make your way on to Hole 2. I'd suggest pulling the original Hole 1 tee signs to reduce this confusion.

From Hole 2 on there is confusion regarding the numbering of the course. Some tee signs have new numbers reflecting the elimination of the original Hole 1, some don't. Some baskets have new numbers, some don't. The original Basket 1 is now planted out beyond Hole 11 somewhere, but I wasn't able to figure out where the new hole tees from.

Things get pretty crowded back in the corner where Holes 6, 7, 9, 10 and 11 play. Several baskets and tee pads in close proximity to one another.

As noted the course is flat and mostly open, so there isn't a lot of technical challenge here.

Other Thoughts:

This is one of those courses that the locals won't have issues playing, since they know where the "new" Hole 1 is and aren't impacted by the incomplete renumbering of the tees and baskets. But a visiting DG'er will struggle a bit with layout.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
1 4
steady1
Experience: 15.9 years 5 played 5 reviews
3.00 star(s)

Fun 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Nov 24, 2012 Played the course:2-4 times

Pros:

Well maintained. Open fairways, parking and signs good. Easy to get to on south side of town.

Cons:

Vegetation in some spots. No bathrooms on back holes.

Other Thoughts:

First course I ever played. Fun course to learn the game on.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
5 0
bogeymanjr
Bronze level trusted reviewer
Experience: 12.7 years 35 played 24 reviews
2.50 star(s)

Out In The Open 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Sep 26, 2012 Played the course:once

Pros:

This course features 18 holes of good practice disc golf. I appreciated the fact that the course was mowed and manicured, excepting the weeds around the currently dry creek. It would be easy to lose a disc if a person were not careful with their throws. There are long tees as well as short tees. The only problem I could see was the wind and it was blowing this day. Very few obstacles to stand in your way. A good place to air some discs. I had few problems with navigation. I only consulted my map only once. That was for going between holes 6 & 7. My favorite hole here was 8. Long tee, you had to throw across the creek twice while getting over all the weeds. Short tee, just once. And the basket was protected by a big tree that has to be gotten around. Plenty of trash cans and interesting layout overall.

Cons:

Too open and too easy in most respects. This course is an excellent practice course, especially for beginners to learn the game. I just cannot see where this would be much of a challenge for anyone above intermediate ranking. This course would benefit greatly if some weeds were mowed down around the creek area.

Other Thoughts:

As I have mentioned before, this is a good practice course to get some good drives in. Lots of ace and birdie opportunities from the short tees. I just could not justify more than a 2.5 for this course.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
6 1
preton
Experience: 21 years 94 played 2 reviews
3.50 star(s)

Fun little gem 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Apr 4, 2012 Played the course:5+ times

Pros:

I've never played a course that does more with less. At a glance, South Temple doesn't look like much. The land is mostly flat and featureless, with only slow, gradual undulations across the park, and none of the holes feature much in the way of tree coverage. The only other remarkable feature in the park is a creek that winds throughout from noth to south. What makes this course impressive is what the course does well with so little in the way of challenging landscape.

The course is expertly designed, squeezing every ounce of potential out of the sparse wooded areas, gentle slopes, the creek and wide open areas. Even the wind conditions are used strategically to add challenge to a course that could have easily have been less interesting and fun in the hands of a less skilled designer. Plenty of very good scoring opportunities greet you in holes 6-11, but the winds swirling through the trees keep things interesting, especially on 8, 9, 10 when the creek comes into play. The rest of course provides plenty of challenge to the average player, with few easy birdie opportunities, and many of the more challenging sections of the layout. 18 may be the toughest hole on the course, a 420'+ par 3 with a line of trees between the tee and the basket. What makes this hole consistently brutal is that the hole faces the large open area of the park, and a 20-25 mph (or higher) headwind greets you almost every day, making par a great score even for good players.

Most holes on the course also feature pro tees, which add a higher level of difficulty for more experienced players. While a couple of these tees do not greatly change the hole, some add a considerable level of difficulty. This is nowhere more apparent than on #14. From the short tees, 14 is a definate scoring hole with a good drive. From the long tee, it's a 650' beast dog-leg right, under low tree limbs and then over a creek, making even a par 4 a difficult proposition.

Tee pads are concrete on each hole, and are in very good condition, as are the two-layer chained baskets. The concrete paths that wind through the course help keep your feet relatively dry during most of the course on wetter days, and at least every other hole has a trash can at the tee pad. The trash cans are well maintained and are emptied often. The grass is also mowed often by the city, which is very much appreciated. The signs give hole number and distance accurately, and are free of graffiti.

Cons:

As stated above, the park does not offer many interesting land features. The first three holes are not terribly difficult. Only two small saplings protect the #1 basket. They will make the hole much more fun in years to come, but right now the hole is really a tee and basket sitting alone in a field.

There are some areas on the course that have some undesirable plant species to watch for, namely poison ivy and bull nettle. Be careful when chasing discs into high grass or kneeling in shorts.

Other Thoughts:

Based only on the holes making up the course, a 3 is a fair rating. What bumps this course up to a 3.5 is the details that make this course such a fun play. Well-kept grounds, few park patrons to worry about and high quality tee pads, baskets, paths, benches and trash cans make this course a very fun way to spend a couple hours, and a course deserving of a 3.5.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
5 0
thshistory
Experience: 15.3 years 10 played 4 reviews
3.50 star(s)

The Other Temple Course 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Jun 21, 2011 Played the course:5+ times

Pros:

This is a great course for beginners and intermediates. It is a stand alone disc golf course with the exception of a walking trail and a water park near hole one. There is ample parking and a board with the course layout near hole one. There are concrete pads and a number of holes have long boxes as well for added difficulty. There is adequate signage on each hole.

A creek runs through the middle of the course and comes into play on about 8 holes depending on what you want to call "comes into play". It is a primarily flat course with no real elevation challenges. There is a nice variety of hole length. Holes 7-11, sometimes referred to as Birdy Row, can help you gain a few strokes back with well thrown shots off the tee box. Most trees are shorter trees, not taller than 10-20 feet, with the exception of the trees around the creek.

Cons:

There are not many "cons" to this course other than the fact that there are not many memorable holes. It is very well maintained by the City of Temple Parks Dept. and the local club Temple Disc Golf Association. It could use more trash cans and benches, though there are some. There are also no restrooms to speak of unless you can talk your way into the water park.

The design seems purposeful and as creative as possible given the natural terrain. The only truly uninspiring hole is #1 which is just a pad and basket in a large field.

There could be better signage in directing players to the next tee, but seeing how as a majority of courses do not have this, I can't exactly ding this course for not having it.

Other Thoughts:

This really is a great course, well maintained, and in superb condition. I wish the course could attract more tournaments. The only reason it is not a 4 or higher is simply the design. It is a good design, very consistent and makes good use of the natural terrain. The ranking system says a 3.5 is "very good" and indeed this is a very good course.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
5 0
backward_axis
Experience: 13.4 years 14 played 7 reviews
3.00 star(s)

S. 5th Street 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Updated: Played on:Feb 15, 2011 Played the course:5+ times

Pros:

This course is easy to find within Temple City Limits. The entire park is flat with moderate trees in the fairway, which makes this one nice for any player not really wanting to have to exert themselves by hiking up and down through a hilly wilderness. It also plays relatively fast. So, if your looking for a fast 18, this park is for you. The course is really beginner-friendly in that, even if you don't have much of an arm, you can still go out and have fun. The ease of the park makes it a great one for anyone new to the game; as the majority of holes are under 300'. There is a creek that runs the entire length of the course that comes into play on numerous holes. #3,5,6,7,8,9,10,14 are all holes where your disc can easily end up in the always looming creek if you're not careful. And holes #8,10,14 actually involve you throwing across said creek. The tees all have signs with the par and distance and the entire park is very easy to navigate. Only a couple of next tees are confusing to get to (#7 from #6), and even then its only a matter of "Do I go Right or do I go Left? Oh no, #10 is left, I guess I'll go right." There is also a nice walking path that runs throughout the course going to the majority of holes; and being as it a dg course and not a multi-use park, there isn't usually alot of foot traffic. One really neat thing is that there is a water park right next to the course and, if playing in the summertime, you can always cool down with a nice splashing after a quick 18. The upkeep is pretty good in that all of the fairways are mowed and the only really tall grass/weeds/vines are along the creek. My personal favorite hole is #14: Because it takes advantage of everything the park has to offer, (you drive, big trees on both sides, you throw through the tree/vine/weed lined creek area and over the creek to the other side to a basket that is mostly obscured from view even in winter.

Cons:

There doesn't seem to be much variety between holes. The majority of holes are all like variations of the same hole: (i.e. flat, a few big trees, a creek nearby, and more or less straight ahead. The scenery doesn't change very much throughout. The only bathrooms nearby are the ones at the waterpark; and if it is their off-season you are out of luck. My least favorite hole is #1: Out in the open, no obstacles, flat ground, and less than 300' away. I can see how it can be mistaken for a second practice basket by a first time visitor.

Other Thoughts:

As previously stated, the course is moderately wooded. However, the only really dense plant-populated areas are along both sides of the creek for about half of its length throughout the park. Along both sides there are plenty of trees, throngs of thorny vines clinging to those trees, and a bunch of weeds approaching the vines. Not that I view that as really pro or con, I just think it's kind of interesting to not only see discs stuck in all of that mess, but also sees the tools of unsuccessful retrieval stuck up there as well. On a side note: until recently, the course was open 24/7; which made it the ideal course for night dg in the area. Now however, the course has a 9pm curfew and making the only course for night dg in the summer Lion's Park(11pm curfew), and which would probably end you up with a broken leg if you go dg-ing around in the dark.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
1 5
michelsea
Experience: 20.9 years 25 played 5 reviews
2.00 star(s)

killeen area discers 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:May 6, 2010 Played the course:once

Pros:

Pretty easy course hard to loose a disc on and good for beginers

Cons:

No real scenery holes are bland and not a lot of variation.

Other Thoughts:

This course is good if your just starting out but I wouldnt drive very far to throw this course. But there does seem to be some construction and hopefully improvements down the rode.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
9 0
srm_520
Diamond level trusted reviewer
Experience: 20.1 years 156 played 142 reviews
3.50 star(s)

The "Other" Temple Course 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Updated: Played on:Mar 13, 2010 Played the course:once

Pros:

Hole lengths range from a 150' to over 650' depending on which concrete tee you decide to play. The long tees play almost 7000' in mostly open terrain, so players long off the tee who want to improve their play in the wind will really enjoy this course. Holes #3 and #5 play the drainage ditch while over a third of the course has a small creek running through it. All of the shorter holes play along the creek, so conservative play should keep you dry, plus the creek is small and disc can be retrieved in many of the areas.

The flow of the course pretty good from the long tees, but the map provided under links is a useful tool for first-timers. Note the transitions from #7, #8, and #9 as well as #11 to #12. Parking is ample by the water park, but can be very busy on a warm summer day. However, it's the perfect place to drop off the kids, while you get in a couple of rounds.

BEST HOLE/S: #14

Cons:

Unlike a lot of hill central Texas courses - there are no real memorable holes here. The course is dead flat, so elevation junkies should stay at Lion's Park. I felt like I was back in Houston playing a longer version of Agnes Moffitt Park with a creek. Signage is average, but is not the high quality Houck signs that you can find on many of his courses. Also, given the light foliage, bring some water, because this place hot and dry in the summer.

WORST HOLE/S: #1

Other Thoughts:

Although overshadowed by much more impressive Lion's Park, South Temple community Park is an interesting mix of lightly wooded creek -lined holes. Built back in 2002, this Houck designed course is a good place for beginners and recreational level players. The short tees offer good ace runs, and the long tees are just challenging enough for the big arms. Although this is far from the many superior Houck courses in the Dallas and Austin areas, the interesting b lends of lines and flat terrain are just enough to make this an enjoyable experience. Experience Temple and combine this course with Lion's Park to make a fantastic day of disc golf.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
1 2
ruxc82
Experience: 23 played 4 reviews
4.00 star(s)

Great Course 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Aug 12, 2005 Played the course:5+ times

Pros:

I think this is a great course. Like most have said there is a nice mix of long and short holes. Very well placed tees and baskets to get the most use out of the mature trees on the land. I would highly recommend this course to any body. Pros could even like this course because they can work on different shots from huge hyzer bombs, to rollers, and so on. Also the course is well taken care of as well.

Cons:

I have no cons of the course. As for texas during the summer this place is very hot. Yes the wind might be blowing but it does nothing for you. Bring water better yet bring a golf umbrella for shade it gets hot. Lot of trees on the back nine help add some shade.

Other Thoughts:

Since I haven't been there in several years there wasnt a water park located here. However still should be a great place to play some golf. Awesome tee pads, nice large creek when water is in it. Worth the stop to check it out.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
3 1
Roc1Time
Gold level trusted reviewer
Experience: 22.8 years 131 played 118 reviews
3.50 star(s)

The stepkid 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Feb 11, 2010 Played the course:5+ times

Pros:

I really like this course and it doesnt seem to get played very often since I rarely see anyone here. Yes this course is mostly open and flat but there are some great holes here despite that fact. You will have to be able t throw many shots and be able to do so in a big wnd because the wind is always here. Now the navigation is not an issue as te course flows very well. This can be enjoyed by not only the newer players but also the more advanced and even the pros. The crrek and the path make good OB if your looking to make the course harder on you as well. The pads are concrete and once again the dual tees are a bonus. The waterpark is nice if your lady and kids dont want to play.

Cons:

Windy and not much shade at all. Bring drinks cause it can get hot and its a long way back. Some of the rough is just that.

Other Thoughts:

I hit these courses every time I go down to Llano and love to do so. There is a good mix of golf and it breaks the drive up. Both are really worth the stop and I think you will enjoy.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
3 0
vaderdave
Experience: 18.9 years 17 played 4 reviews
3.50 star(s)

South Temple Community prak 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Nov 30, 2009 Played the course:5+ times

Pros:

This 18 hole disc golf course, with long and short cement tee pads, is very user friendly. A good mix of long and short holes, that allows you to blast a monster drive, and makes you "place " a good approach shot. "Birdie alley" is a mix of short, challenging holes in the middle of the course, with one "island type green" (hole 10). Designed by John Houck on a 50 acretrack of land, it has a creek that runs through the middle of it. Not much elevation or shade in summer time, so bring water, the city has just built a water park on site, so bring the kids and leave them in the lazy river while you play golf. The city of Temple and the TDGA takes real good care of this course. I play this course alot

Cons:

Some trees, some water, very hot in the tx sunmmer, bring drinking water, no restroon and big mosquitoes in spring & fall

Other Thoughts:

A great place to work on your game, and see our new water park,,,,
Was this review helpful? Yes No
2 0
Lurkingturtle
Experience: 15.2 years 11 played 3 reviews
3.50 star(s)

Rotary DGC South Temple 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Updated: Played on:May 7, 2009 Played the course:5+ times

Pros:

Very easy to follow the course. There are signs at every box and course map at the start of the course. Multiple tee boxes on most holes. Great for trying out new discs and different throw types.

Cons:

Very wide open. Not many trees to block any wind or sun. No elevation change to speak of. People often take their dogs out to the course and leave behind their waste so watch out on fairways and even on some greens. In the underbrush be sure to look out for poison ivy and oak.

Other Thoughts:

Now that spring is here there are quite a few snakes out and about the course. I went just the other day and left a disc in the water due to a 4 ft. snake swimming around in the creek at 10 basket section and my buddy walked into a snake while searching in the underbrush along the creek by the 14 fairway.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
3 1
wtafro
Experience: 15.2 years 10 played 2 reviews
3.00 star(s)

Great Beginner Course 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Mar 4, 2009 Played the course:5+ times

Pros:

- Wide Open
- Pretty Flat
- Can take some chances
- Many long drives
- Only thing at park is disc golf
- Creek is only main place to lose a disc

Cons:

- No trees to block wind, makes it hard on windy days
- Can get pretty torn up if you do not throw in the fairway
- Not very scenic

Other Thoughts:

I have only been playing for a few weeks, but have played this course probably three times a week. The first few holes are very good to test your throws and new discs on. This course is much easier for beginners than Lion's Park in Temple, but it isn't as scenic.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
4 1
sidewinding
Gold level trusted reviewer
Experience: 16.2 years 81 played 68 reviews
4.00 star(s)

2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Jan 4, 2009 Played the course:once

Pros:

The distance variety on this course is very impressive with ranges from 150' up to the mid 800's. There are alot of par 4's.

There are nice long concrete tee pads on every hole.

There is a sign at EVERY tee with hole #, distance, and par. There is also a bulletin board at the start with a large map of the course.

Both pro and amatuer tees increases the already high variety of shots and distances. The biggest of arms will be challenged and the wimpiest will make at least one birdie (my wife made three).

The John Houck design means that every hole is unique and challenging. Even though it is flat and lightly wooded, the use of a winding creek, distance, and some well placed trees makes this an excellent course.

Cons:

There's not much shade so mid-day play in the summer will be tough.

If you don't land in the fairway you may have to deal with thorny bushes and trees.

This course doesn't have quite as much scenic beauty, with mature trees and hilly terrain, as Lion's Park.

Other Thoughts:

I actually slightly prefer this course to Lion's Park. The residents of temple are lucky to have such great courses.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

Latest posts

Top