• Discover new ways to elevate your game with the updated DGCourseReview app!
    It's entirely free and enhanced with features shaped by user feedback to ensure your best experience on the course. (App Store or Google Play)

Springtown, TX

Springtown West Park

Permanent course
2.795(based on 14 reviews)
Filter course reviews

Filter reviews

Filter reviews

Springtown West Park reviews

Filter
6 0
Freejenkins
Experience: 4 played 1 reviews
2.50 star(s)

Wish I could love it 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Dec 20, 2020 Played the course:once

Pros:

Some interesting, well designed holes
Mixes in a few good "woods" holes once you get to the back half of the course
Great signage

Cons:

STICKERS!!!!!!
TONS of walkers/joggers
Some benches/picnic seating areas/playgrounds in throwing lanes
Shared baskets

Other Thoughts:

Judged solely on the merits of the holes themselves I really enjoyed this course. Sadly, there are some massive downsides you have to deal with at this course. First, let's talk STICKERS! We played in the winter when 99% of the sticker plants were dead and we still got tormented by stickers. They are unavoidable and surely make this course a nightmare in the spring/summer. Then there's all the traffic at this course. I don't mind waiting for a jogger or a dogwalker to go by before throwing, but it becomes a real issue when people are sitting on a bench that is just a few feet outside of the throwing zone. There's also one hole that has you throwing dangerously close to a playground. Then there are the shared baskets. I don't know what the etiquette is here but teeing off and approaching your disc only to find people teeing from the other side to the same basket is a total mess.

I wanted to love this course, but the drawbacks are just too great.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
4 0
aclay
Gold level trusted reviewer
Experience: 39.8 years 327 played 254 reviews
1.50 star(s)

Springtown, good and bad 2+ years

Reviewed: Played on:May 30, 2019 Played the course:once

Pros:

-- Beautiful park setting.
-- Grass is mowed.
-- Restroom on sight (13 tee).
-- Land is used well, especially the creek. The water carry holes are intriguing. See Other Thoughts for a conundrum, however.
-- Big course map at parking lot/hole 1.
-- Plenty of signs making non-DGers aware of flying disc danger.
-- While no benches specially situated for disc golf, there are plenty of tables and benches throughout to rest or set your bag to avoid the ants.

Cons:

-- Tee pads are too short; a few are level with the surrounding ground, but most aren't, so a decent runup is not possible. One or two have a drop off at the end of the tee pad, creating a safety hazard.
-- Way too many fairways cross. 2-3 are immediate examples, but the worst is probably having the 16 tee 50 feet in front of the 4 tee.
-- Tee signs look nice but are often inaccurate. Distances are frequently laughably inaccurate: 4 and 5 are obvious examples. Baskets are in different positions or directions than indicated on the signs: 12 and 13 are the worst of these.
-- Walking paths, as well as picnic tables, come into play on almost every hole. On a weekday morning (shortly before lunch), I had to wait on nearly half of the holes.
-- Baskets are not numbered. Normally that isn't a big deal, but given that baskets are used for multiple holes and that the map and tee signs contradict each other frequently, the lack of numbers is a big problem.
-- The ants mentioned in previous reviews are an issue, although they were not quite as bad as I thought they would be.

Other Thoughts:

-- This is a difficult course to rate because the pros and the cons are both strong.If I were rating this simply based on the individual holes, it would be a 3.0 or 3.5. No. 7 is a microcosm of that dichotomy. The hole is a water carry over a significant creek with a big opening to reach the basket. Definite visual appeal. However, once you throw your tee shot, you must trek roughly 1,000 feet in either direction (back through the hole 6 fairway or ahead along the walking path, which then carries you through many of the holes you will play after No. 7) to find a bridge to cross. You then walk 1,000 feet back to the basket. There is NO way to cross the creek otherwise. Either path include a ridiculously long walk that carries you through other holes and has you out of sight of the tee, the basket and your disc for a long time. The end result is a beautiful hole that is almost unplayable. You then get to make that walk again getting from 12 to 13.
-- Horseshoes attached to a couple of wooden tee sign posts were cool bag holders and could have been a signature of the course, but I think there were only two. The other tee sign posts were metal and had no bag holders.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
5 0
tkmcdougal
Silver level trusted reviewer
Experience: 16.3 years 196 played 96 reviews
2.50 star(s)

Springtown Disc Golf 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Updated: Played on:Jul 9, 2018 Played the course:once

Pros:

Course has a large map at the front of the parking lot that is shared with a Wells Fargo. Good teesigns that have an arrow pointing towards the next hole. Good Discatcher baskets as well. Teepads were in great shape but a little short. There are a good mix of shots between open and long and some technical shots. I had to use my RHFH quite a bit this course which I appreciated.

Cons:

Some of the teesigns weren't accurate including hole 5. The teesign shows the hole tucked behind the horseshoe playing area but it is about 50 feet to the right. Hole 12's teepad is facing a different direction than 12's basket playing back over the creek. However, the course map shows a different location for 12's teepad so maybe someone accidentally mislabelled it.

My biggest issues isn't the courses fault but there were huge fireants everywhere. Everytime I picked up my disc that were 10-15 ants on them I had to blow off. Same thing with my bag. Also, there were massive stickers everywhere covering my socks and shoes.

Other Thoughts:

The course is broken up into sections.
First hole and second tee pad are close to the parking lot. 2nd basket is over the bridge. You then make a long trek heading towards 7 which you throw over the creek. 8-11 are on the other side of the creek then you shoot 12 back over the creek to start heading back towards the parking lot. The 18th basket is the same basket as hole one.

As a note: the majority of holes you will shoot at twice from different teepads with the exception of hole 15. This basket isn't used on the front 9 but is a short RHFH holes tucked into the tree line.

Overall this is a fun course and gives locals somewhere close to play. I think the course would play much better in the Fall when it isn't so hot since a portion of the course doesn't covered by trees and the bugs/ stickers would be gone.

I'll come back and play it during those months.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
4 0
TheHipstick
Bronze level trusted reviewer
Experience: 21.1 years 171 played 69 reviews
3.00 star(s)

Quality course for the area. 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Feb 4, 2018 Played the course:once

Pros:

Set on a nice big community park
Nice big welcome sign with course layout
Each hole has a sign for the hole layout
Nice concrete teepads for each hole
Nice discathers for baskets
Good flow for the course and good use of the land
Much respect for using what they have and doubling up on the baskets (using 2 holes per one basket)

Cons:

I would say the one big draw back is the proximity of some holes and the walking paths
I listed doubling up on the baskets as pro, but can also be a con
18 dedicated baskets would raise the rating for me
Only other con would be the amount of stickers/burrs the grass has

Other Thoughts:

Outstanding course for the area. I enjoyed the round that I played and would recommend this course to anyone in the area. Definitely worth playing.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
2 0
ivanhenson
Gold level trusted reviewer
Premium Member
Experience: 13.1 years 685 played 221 reviews
3.00 star(s)

Good a little odd 2+ years

Reviewed: Played on:Sep 12, 2017 Played the course:once

Pros:

Behind Wells fargo easy to find. Good map
good tee boxes
good cages
good signs
mark is well maintaned

Cons:

The double up on tees would make this hard if crowded.
Some signs especially #12 are wrong no longer played accross water
Ants on back thousand of fire ants
and stickers watch where you put your bag
very close to walking paths

Other Thoughts:

This is a fun course dont want to sound harsh. if its a little odd they should have embarrassed it and had a mondo through the huge concert blocks out there
Was this review helpful? Yes No
3 1
hotstang
Bronze level trusted reviewer
Experience: 13.2 years 452 played 59 reviews
3.00 star(s)

Weekday retreat. 2+ years

Reviewed: Played on:Sep 2, 2016 Played the course:2-4 times

Pros:

Good Disc Catcher baskets.
Good Signage.
Easy Flow.
Concrete tees.
Great for what should be a quick round. If park not busy.
Good layout for the area provided.
Pulls multiple shots out of the bag.
Enough holes to test all skill levels.



Cons:

Tees are good for most holes, but a little short for some of the longer holes.
Not ideal for busy days.

Other Thoughts:

Very good idea of doubling up baskets. Otherwise a course would not of worked in this park without a lot of walking.
Bathrooms available.
Playground available.
Pars need to be fixed.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
3 0
jackybaby72
Experience: 8.3 years 22 played 2 reviews
3.50 star(s)

Not a bad course 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Jun 4, 2016 Played the course:once

Pros:

A great course for beginners- which I am (been playing for 3 months). Lots of open holes. The baskets are great quality. Park seems to drain well- we just had about 5 inches of rain a few days ago and very little mud. Enough obstacles to make it a challenge. The opportunity for making a good throw exists on most holes. Advanced players might enjoy the scenery. Lots of trees across the creek will challenge everyone. Low water crossing at the creek eliminates the hike to cross the bridge. Use of land is really good to provide all types of shots.

Cons:

Long arms cannot be used here. Most holes are quite short. A few holes provide no testing of skills at all. The multiple use baskets can create confusion when the park is busy. My pet peeve is when there are so many trees in an area where luck is necessary for making a good shot instead of skill. Across the creek is where this is true. Only two or three holes, but it exists. The ace hole at 17(?) is a challenge, but is ridiculous.

Other Thoughts:

I like the course. Played on a beautiful day with my wife. As a beginner I shot +1. Had the best shot of my short time playing- sank 100+ foot hyzer shot around a few trees for birdie. Fun to play. I saw something here I haven't seen at the 10 or 12 courses I've played- "Watch for flying discs" signs. The safety responsibility is shared by DG'ers as well as patrons. The city is promoting the sport amongst all of its citizens. Is over an hour from the house, but on a nice day I'd drive out there for a change of scenery.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
2 2
Pizza God
Diamond level trusted reviewer
Premium Member
Experience: 36.3 years 1756 played 611 reviews
3.50 star(s)

Not what I was expecting 2+ years

Reviewed: Played on:Mar 2, 2016 Played the course:once

Pros:

New Tee pads for all the holes
Nice Innova Disc Catchers
Good use of the land

Cons:

Very dangerous course if the park is busy.
There are 11 baskets for 18 holes. This means 7 of the holes use the same baskets.

Other Thoughts:

Even though this course can not be a tournament course, I would enjoy playing here more.

A wide variety of holes, with interesting shots.

A new basket and hole has been added for hole 11 and changed hole 12. They removed a what use to be hole 12 that would not have been a safe hole.

Basket for 13 has also been moved.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
2 0
14bbryant
Experience: 6 played 2 reviews
3.50 star(s)

Changes Have Been Made 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Aug 15, 2015 Played the course:5+ times

Pros:

Pretty solid spread of 18 holes, not a ton of walking, and there are several easy holes, which is great for beginner players.
This course has holes for hyzers, anhyzers, flicks, mandos, excellent variety!
A combo of both open field and wooded area.

Cons:

Multiple holes throwing to the same basket, making a little slow when the course is crowded. It's no more than two holes though.
There are a few holes that are close to picnic tables and sidewalk, so be cautious when throwing!

Other Thoughts:

This course is an awesome small town place to play. It's the closest one to my home, so I get to play here often and I never get tired of it. The variety of wooded and open field holes is fun. Mandatory flights on 6, 9, and 17 add a little difficulty to the play.

Now for those who have played this course before and didn't like the safety, the course has changed up a bit!!! Both tees and baskets from several holes have been moved to safer areas, and one basket has been added.

You are no longer throwing so close to the pavilion at hole 5 and 13.
Hole 11's tee and basket have been moved. The tee is next to the basket of 10 and the basket is a straight shot through some trees.
Hole 16's tee has been moved away from the picnic tables.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
3 2
wjdgilbert
Experience: 5 played 5 reviews
1.50 star(s)

Lawsuit waiting to happen! 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Mar 28, 2015 Played the course:once

Pros:

- Good variety of wide open and wooded holes
- Clean and well maintained
- Beautiful signage
- Good family environment

Cons:

- DANGEROUS!!!
- T-ball practice in the middle of fairways
- Benches/picnic tables in the middle of flight paths
- Sidewalks zig-zag through the course
- #2 and #3 fairways cross each other and #2 teebox is across the creek and blind of what's happening on #3.
- Someone is going to get hit and hurt on this course!
Was this review helpful? Yes No
5 0
Nemmers
Silver level trusted reviewer
Experience: 11 years 89 played 33 reviews
3.00 star(s)

Pretty good, pretty neat... 2+ years

Reviewed: Played on:Mar 22, 2014 Played the course:once

Pros:

- Fun layout! Playing through a fairly expansive, well-utilized park, this course is a great place to introduce new players to the game. Add to that the quirky, almost disingenuous pars assigned to the various holes and you've got yourself a challenge that appeals to all-comers, regardless of experience. Though it's 18 holes but only ten baskets, the back-and-forth layout really makes it seem like you're playing to a different pin. It offers long bombs, tight shots, subtle but seemingly complicated elevation changes, compelling (if not intimidating) water shots, and lines that will make you utilize every tool (and possibly every disc) in your bag. Between par 2's and the #17 "ace par" hole, you'll be hard-pressed to find another course that doesn't frustrate you, inspire you, exasperate you, and motivate you to come back and do better. Yes, it borders on the ridiculous (especially #17), but therein lies the fun.

- Great atmosphere! Springtown really did an awesome job incorporating all the various aspects of a community park into one cohesive unit. It's got pavilions, horseshoe pits, walking/jogging trails, shallow waters to explore, custom benches made out of fallen trees, soccer fields, horseback riding, and plenty of activities to keep even the most jaded, spoiled kid entertained for hours. In short, even the kid who has it all will find something to keep himself occupied with at this park.

- Excellent signage/Superb navigation. Gives distance, par (such as it is), and location to the next tee on every hole. It'd be hard for even a first-time player to not be able to find his way to the next hole.

- Outstanding equipment. New baskets and concrete teepads offer forgiving targets and no-slip tees to maximize your experience and increase your accuracy. In short, you can't blame the gear for a high score. There's also plenty of parking in several locations offering different starting points for your round.

Cons:

- WARNING: Dangerous. That's the biggest (and only real) beef I have with this course. Though it isn't exactly "ten pounds of $hit in a five pound bag," the layout is potentially a serious hazardous to non-disc golfers. The walking/jogging trail runs along several of the holes, and some of the fairway lines cross directly with (if not directly through) potentially well-populated areas such as picnic pavilions and horseshoe pits. When I was playing #6 there was a family reunion of sorts grilling at one of the pavilions and several young kids were playing football directly to the right of the fairway, easily within anyone's reach with a disc. I had to play ultra-conservative to avoid even coming close to hitting them. On a busy day - however busy this park in a town like Springtown gets - theses lines could almost be considered irresponsible. A chucker who lacks self-awareness could give us all a bad name with an errant shot on this course. In short, be very, VERY careful on this course.

- Though I said it's a pro, some people might find the pars on this hole a little preposterous. I'd never seen a par 2 before, but some of the courses I've played are almost too easy as a par 3 so it's not out of the question. Nevertheless, a 180' ace for a "par"? Wow. And even if you par'd that, would it be considered an "ace?" I'm gonna need a judge's ruling on that one. (Though personally I'd count it.)

- No topless Hooters girls frolicking along the #8 fairway.

Other Thoughts:

All in all, Springtown West is a short, quaint, charming little course that has enough intrigue to make even the most jaded chucker want to take a consistent run at it. I'm giving it a 3 because of its toughness based on the par numbers, but it would be a 3.5 (and gunning for a 4) if it didn't have such blatant possibilities for vexatious litigation. Some may call the course "gimmicky" and they might not be wrong, but it definitely isn't your run-of-the-mill pitch-and-putt, if only because of how it's intended to be played. For a po-dunk little town in east Texas it damn sure isn't boring. I wish more designers had this kind of chutzpah. It might not (probably won't) make it into your favorites, but you could do a lot worse. Springtown is worth a look.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
1 4
Discengineer
Experience: 14.5 years 70 played 10 reviews
2.00 star(s)

Most for your buck 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Jan 29, 2014 Played the course:once

Pros:

Good tee pads, baskets and variety of shots

Cons:

Like mentioned just the sharing of baskets can get tricky.. I counted 10 baskets for 18 holes

Other Thoughts:

Hey its a course and found some people out there that where grateful for them to be there.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
2 2
ScratAg
Experience: 35 played 1 reviews
3.50 star(s)

definitely worth a visit 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Nov 30, 2013 Played the course:once

Pros:

It's a nice park with beautiful new baskets. There are some fun throws with plenty of variety.

Cons:

Throwing through and around picnic areas could become a problem if people are really out using the park. It's a town of 2500 though so I doubt it really becomes a problem a lot.

The par labels are goofy there are some par 2's and even an ace. I just played them as 3's and everything was great.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
8 1
dreadlock86
Diamond level trusted reviewer
Experience: 17.2 years 388 played 318 reviews
3.00 star(s)

pleasantly surprised 2+ years

Reviewed: Updated: Played on:Mar 31, 2013 Played the course:once

Pros:

-fun layout that makes good use of the land available
-creek in play, some minor elevation, and a few tight wooded shots
-the alternate looks at the same baskets are actually pretty different
-good variety of open/trees, short/long
-great new discatchers

Cons:

-walking trails throughout with lots of pedestrians
-picnic tables, walking trails, benches, and a parking lot in the fairways
-no signs yet and some tee areas are not cleared/flat/safe
-finding the park can be odd, the location is strange due to some construction, just remember to turn into the lot before the Wells Fargo

Other Thoughts:

I was pleasantly surprised by this course as I was expecting your typical doinky little small town course in a city park. What I found instead was a well-thought layout that makes really great use of the limited resources of this odd little park, despite some obvious safety concerns that will almost certainly require adjustments in the future.

The park stretches back into a surprisingly large space surrounded by residential areas. Walking trails enter the park from various directions and neighborhoods. A creek winds throughout and comes into play on 2, 3, 7, 12, 16, & 18. You have to throw across the creek on 2, 7, 12, & 18. Some minor elevation comes in on a few holes as well as some park amenities: fence at the baseball field (holes 4/14), horseshoe pits (holes 5/13). Also a parking lot on hole 9 and various walking trails and park tables and benches throughout. I can see hole 5 getting a mando forcing you around the right side of the horseshoe pits but then it puts tee 14 in the fairway.

A note about the basket configuration, the following holes share the same baskets:
1/18, 2/17, 3/16, 4/14, 5/13, 6/12, 7/11, 8/10
After playing hole 3, you will see basket 15 off to the left. Tee 4 is ahead to the right and shoots toward the basket next to the fence of the baseball field. After playing hole 8, follow the trail ahead and you will see the basket for 9 off to the left. The tee for 9 is past the far end of the parking lot off the to left, shooting back toward the basket. Then play the back the other direction from the other pads you've seen marked along the way.

Overall, a very fun course with a few serious holes. Safety concerns may become an issue here but I imagine the idea is that the pads are temporary until an optimal layout is decided. This course makes a nice pair along with the new course in Azle and the drive from Ft. Worth is not bad at all.


**Like this review? Hate it? Message me and let me know why! I want to make them better!**
Was this review helpful? Yes No

Latest posts

Top