• Discover new ways to elevate your game with the updated DGCourseReview app!
    It's entirely free and enhanced with features shaped by user feedback to ensure your best experience on the course. (App Store or Google Play)

Parker, FL

Under the Oaks Park

Permanent course
2.265(based on 19 reviews)
Filter course reviews

Filter reviews

Filter reviews

Under the Oaks Park reviews

Filter
8 0
TheChiefDC
Experience: 11 years 4 played 1 reviews
1.00 star(s)

Course was mostly destroyed by Hurricane Michael in 2018 drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Jul 29, 2023 Played the course:5+ times

Pros:

Nice view of East Bay.

Cons:

This course was destroyed by Hurricane Michael in 2018 and has not been restored. Course markers and signage are gone, making it nearly impossible to figure out where the fairways are. Baskets still exist, but are weathered and difficult to see. Land is flat. Most trees are gone. Not challenging.

Other Thoughts:

This course location is good. Hopefully, the course gets restored.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
3 0
jaredbrumbelow
Experience: 8.1 years 16 played 12 reviews
1.50 star(s)

Will only play it once 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:May 15, 2017 Played the course:once

Pros:

There are concrete teepads for each hole. As the course mentions, you are mostly under trees which allows you to not worry about losing a disc to gusts of wind or water like at nearby FSU.

Cons:

Main complaints with the course was that many of the holes interfere with or are near a walking path. I had to wait on three separate teepads to tee off (I'm not sure if this was normal crowd or more crowded than usual for a week day morning). Hole 1 plays near a chain link fence with a 4 lane highway just on the other side. My very first throw ricocheted off a tree into the median which led to me running out into the highway to retrieve it (I'll be damned if I lose a disc I can see). The signage was mostly terrible. It was missing completely on certain holes most specifically, hole 1, which made it hard to know where to start. The later holes are somewhat near the bay, but don't take advantage of the water. Finally, the course doesn't seem to be in the best neighborhood. I'm not a local, but there was one guy drinking near one of the teepads and another smoking weed near a basket which just made me a little uneasy since it was only 10am.

Other Thoughts:

I likely wouldn't play this course again and only tried it out in the first place because I was craving a round on vacation.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
5 0
wellsbranch250
Diamond level trusted reviewer
Premium Member
Experience: 10.4 years 663 played 645 reviews
2.00 star(s)

Longest hole distance average in PCB 2+ years

Reviewed: Played on:Jul 16, 2017 Played the course:once

Pros:

(1.906 Rating) Really the only course in the Panama City Beach (PCB) area that you can let one fly without worry.
- HOLE LENGTH - The only course in the PCB area where the hole length averages over 300 feet. Sure the 400 footers are labeled par 4's, but that doesn't really bother me and will let most players bring out their driver.
- SKILL LEVEL FRIENDLY - This really is not a beginners course per say but beginners should enjoy it regardless due to the low disc losing possibilities. The fairway widths are moderately spaced and should challenge rec and intermediate players. Advanced and pros will come away less than challenged however and should play them all par 3's.
- FORGIVENESS - The odds of losing a disc due to an errant shot is near impossible. Misguided shots are generally not further punished within the lightly wooded layout.
- TEES - Adequate concrete tees. Nothing extra special, but they do the job.
- NAVIGATION - Despite not seeing a course map, missing holes signage and missing directional cues, I still had no trouble navigating this one. I download the course map to my phone and it very much helped me between holes. Next tees are generally in view of the prior basket for further aid.
- QUICK PLAY - A single could easily complete a full 9 in under 30 minutes. Groups of 4 should probably finish in under an hour.
- NIGHT GOLF - This is an ideal night golf course. Spacious fairways, few trees, no overgrowth and no water hazards in play.

Cons:

Under the Oaks doesn't scream excellence in any area.
- CHARACTER - Other than solid tees and baskets, this course is missing just about everything. No multi tees, no multi basket placements, no practice basket, etc. There are however a few picnic tables at the tees.
- UNIQUENESS - The hole variety here is very much sub-par. First off, not even 5 feet of elevation change along the entire layout, and water elements are absent. Tunnels shots are mostly non-existent. No pocketing baskets and basket guarding is loosely achieved. Hole distances vary a little (216 to 420) Only one blind basket (2). There are three listed par 4's but they could easily be re-listed as par 3's.
- NOT CHALLENGING - Even if reduced to par 27, this course is not that difficult. As stated, mostly open lines to the basket. players that can throw 400 feet should be able to deuce them all.
- NATURAL BEAUTY - Of the four PCB courses I rate this one the lowest on the beauty scale, but it's still around the same level as FSU and Joe Moody Harris. Definitely not the most exotic piece of property out there, but yet also not awful either.
- SPACING - Slightly below average. If the course were full, there would be a few tees that could be reached by an errant throw because of little tree protection. A few fairways also feel partially shared.
- SAFETY HAZARDS - Five of nine holes have walking paths in play. Several walkers were already out for my 7 am round.
- SIGNAGE - Missing at more than half the holes.

Other Thoughts:

Of the four PCB courses, I have this one rated third behind Bay Memorial and FSU. I would recommend Under the Oaks for players who prefer courses with 300 foot holes that are void of hazards. If I lived in the area, this one may be the one I'd play the most. 2 of the 4 PCB courses are too short (Joe Moody and FSU) and Bay memorial has too many unforgiving hazards.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
6 0
Mr. Butlertron
Gold level trusted reviewer
Experience: 21.3 years 675 played 131 reviews
2.00 star(s)

More Dol-fun Than I Was Expecting 2+ years

Reviewed: Played on:Jun 11, 2017 Played the course:once

Pros:

- free to play, free to park
- concrete tees
- numbered tee signs with distances
- forgiving fairways
- clean, well maintained course
- baskets in good condition, numbered
- slightly longer than an average 9 hole course
- multiple lines to the pin from most fairways
- intuitive clockwise layout, we had zero navigational issues
- beginner friendly
- map at hole 1
- the landscape is suitable for a second set of 9 safari holes

Cons:

- a pedestrian walking path surrounds much of the course
- some course flooding after a heavy rain
- no multiple pins or pads
- tee sign missing / vandalized on hole 1
- a little fairway overlap
- simple, kind of bland overall feel.

Other Thoughts:

This was the first course of my 3 course day trip to Panama City. My arrival was on the tale end of a thunderstorm, which meant the course was still a little soggy. Still, the concrete tees had adequate grip and the maintained fairways looked great. Water had settled in a few spots on the course, but it wasn't too much of an issue.

Tall oak trees are scattered throughout the course, they helped define otherwise open fairways. Some fairways had lower ceilings, but overall everything played pretty fair. There's very little chance of losing a disc here. RHBH hyzer lines with few skips shots added from time to time where are preferred route through most fairways. The longest hole on of the course was the only fairway that didn't really have a suggestible line to take, so I made do with a roller. The only holes I didn't throw 2's on were the ones that were that I couldn't quite reach from tee. I'm an average player, I shot a 21 with relative ease and didn't use a mid once, for what it's worth. Under the Oaks reminded me of Hitzman in Pensacola, with just slightly less variety.

Beginners to intermediate players will enjoy this course for its playability and forgiving fairways. There's a few holes around or over 400 ft to entice longer arms as well. Course baggers will enjoy this 9 hole course for it's reachable birdies, quiet atmosphere, and ease of play. I think the course designer did a great job designing this course with the land available. Hole 1 is near the entrance of the park from the main road. Oh yeah, and there's a possibility of spotting dolphins on the shore of the park grounds. Sadly, I did not see any in the water while visiting. I wouldn't necessarily go out of my way to play this course again, however, I enjoyed the course and would stop by if I happened to be in the area.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
4 2
KINGDUCK
Experience: 15.5 years 57 played 34 reviews
1.50 star(s)

needs a lot of work 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Jul 10, 2016 Played the course:once

Pros:

teepads
variety of possible throws to get to baskets
seven by the ocean
family park

Cons:

terrible signs including the billboard
could not find hole one
very confusing which holes to throw to
park seemed rundown

Other Thoughts:

Needs lots of work to make it a course I would play again.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
2 6
Bandit 01
Experience: 13.4 years 4 played 3 reviews
1.50 star(s)

2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Mar 1, 2016 Played the course:5+ times

Pros:

The only good thing i can say about UNDER THE OAKS DISC GOLF PARK is that the tee pads are in good condition.
5

Cons:

WHERE TO START?
1.) 5 OF THE 9 HOLES ARE INTERFERED WITH BY TH WALKING PATH.
2.) THE BASKETS ARE SO HARD TO SEE THAT YOU HAVE TROUBLE FINDING THEM..
3.) THE BASKETS THEMSELVES NEED TO BE MARKED BETTER AND MADE OF BETTER QUALITY.
4.) THEY SEEM TO BE MADE OF POOR QUALITY. THE REASON I SAY THAT IS BECOUSE NO MATTER WHAT DISTANCEI THROW FROM OR HOW HARD I THROW THE DISC THE CHAINS DO NOT SECURE THE DISC.. I AM SAYING 94%-98% OF THE TIMW THW BASKETS SPIT THE DISCS OUT AND USUALLY THEY FO TOWARD MY PARTNER.
5.) THE HOLE SIGNS MUST BE REPLACED WITH BETER FRESTOM.

Other Thoughts:

6.) UPDATE SIGNA AND DIRRER TONIGB6LNIGHT/
Was this review helpful? Yes No
5 1
G8rman78
Experience: 9.3 years 6 played 2 reviews
3.50 star(s)

Fun 9 holes 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Jan 10, 2016 Played the course:5+ times

Pros:

There is plenty of variety of shots and varying distances. Beautiful oaks and old pine trees provide shade in hit summer days. Hole 6 had a beautiful view, saw dolphins swimming there the other day. Take a moment to enjoy the view. It's challenging enough for advanced players to enjoy, but not too difficult for newer players. This course is just right for everyone, especially when it's freshly mowed. On the other side of the park there is a playground with a big castle area for kids to play on

Cons:

The signs could be better and if you haven't played there before finding a couple of the pads could be challenging. The biggest problem is the walking path that good through most holes. We spend quite some time waiting to be able to make a safe throw when it's busy. Bugs can be rough in the summer, but this is Florida and a part of life. It's only 9 holes.

Other Thoughts:

I consider this my home course and love it. Some people I play with came up with some good alternate pads to make a back 9. This layout had some challenging lines and a couple places to throw bombs. I highly suggest this:
Par 3 unless otherwise noted
10. Right side of concrete to basket 1 par 4
11. Pad 4 basket 2
12. Pad 5 basket 3
13. Pad 2 basket 4
14. Pad 9 basket 5 par 4
15. Pad 6 basket 7 par 4
16. Concrete area near 8 pads to basket 6. The wood fence near losing lot is mando
17. Pad 7 basket 8
18. Concrete area between pad 8 & basket 8 to basket 9.

Have fun trying these!
Was this review helpful? Yes No
1 2
soft focus
Experience: 24.1 years 82 played 4 reviews
3.50 star(s)

2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Jan 10, 2015 Played the course:once

Pros:

Great lengths. Best 9 hole rice played.... Easy to follow...great scenery... Not a dinker course like others in the area...technical shots...lots of fun

Cons:

Flat...walking trails....only 9 holes

Other Thoughts:

For a 9 holder, we had fun....great park if you have young kids, as there is a big play area with an awesome wooden castle type play area...definitely worth the stop. Don't let the 9 holes fool you.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
4 1
S.Cann
Gold level trusted reviewer
Experience: 15.1 years 158 played 83 reviews
3.50 star(s)

Excellent 9-Hole Course! 2+ years

Reviewed: Updated: Played on:Dec 28, 2014 Played the course:once

Pros:

-The holes here vary in length, but really work well together. There is a sense of balance here with the 3 par 4's in the 400s really pushing this course above your usual pitch-n-putt 9 hole course.
-A map is definitely needed here, but pretty easy to follow with map.
-The course is definitely well-designed despite the small space. The lines and gaps are challenging, but not excessively so.
-Palm, Oaks, Pines, and sand. Just a pleasant disc golfing experience.

Cons:

-This course is a little cramped with the walking path crossing through almost every hole and the small piece of property designated for disc golf. I really wish this course could have been expanded to include the wooded area surrounding the playground (without bringing the playground into play).
-Seriously, those walkers come out of nowhere. You end up having to do a lot of watching and waiting between throws.
-The bathroom located near the parking area is not the worst bathroom I have seen on a disc golf course, but it is far from the best.

Other Thoughts:

Under the Oaks is lightly to moderately wooded and flat and is not your typical 9-hole course in a public park. The hole design really is fantastic. I wanted to rate it higher, but it really needs to be expanded to 18 holes and bring the water into play. It is sorely disappointing to have a course right on the water and not really taking advantage of it.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
4 0
aclay
Gold level trusted reviewer
Experience: 39.7 years 327 played 254 reviews
2.50 star(s)

Decent 9-hole course 2+ years

Reviewed: Played on:Jun 28, 2013 Played the course:once

Pros:

Distances varry from mid 200s to lower 400s, so you have some control shots and some that let you air it out a little bit. There is a beautiful water view on No. 6.The chance of losing a disc is just about nil.

Cons:

Signs are minimal. Some paper signs are lying near the tee pads, but some tee pads have just a number handwritten on a post, and some tee pads don't have that much. Some baskets are difficult to find. I threw at the No. 3 basket when I played No. 1, for example. You have to be careful to avoid people on the walking path that winds through the course.

Other Thoughts:

Water that could have come into play on No. 6 wasn't brought into play. With some slight adjustments, water could come into play here and provide a signature hole for the course.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
5 1
swatso
Diamond level trusted reviewer
Experience: 15.9 years 760 played 414 reviews
2.00 star(s)

Walk On By 2+ years

Reviewed: Played on:Dec 20, 2012 Played the course:once

Pros:

Tee areas - concrete, 5'x10', and signs with photo/distance information. Either the distances are a bit exaggerated, or my Leopard flies ~50' further in Florida! :)

Water-view from basket-6.

Cons:

About half the holes play near/across a walking path frequented by a seemingly endless supply of retirees out for their morning constitutional.

Flat - even by Florida standards! :-O

Other Thoughts:

Course is set upon a flat, rectangular plot of sandy land, with a few groupings trees, in a small, public park. A map is a necessity for the first-time/infrequent visitor, as the most visible basket from tee-1 is #3, and from tee-7, #4. Course plays in a clockwise manner, except for #3, which double-backs upon fairway #2, and a bit of a double-back from basket-8 to tee-9.

While not wide open, most holes will only have a few trees to miss at the midpoint, and a tree or two near the basket. Throwing straight with a touch of left-fade will suffice on most holes, too, except #7, which is a sharp, mid-fairway lefty. Distance is what varies most between the holes, with four in the 200s, three in the 300s, and two in the 400s.

Worth a play if in the area.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
2 7
tonyreynol
Experience: 4 played 4 reviews
1.00 star(s)

Disappointed 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Oct 20, 2012 Played the course:once

Pros:

Concrete Tee Pads. Decent Baskets.

Cons:

Almost NO signage. Hard to see baskets without some type of signage. Walking trail through the course. Poor maintenance.

Other Thoughts:

I'm new to this sport and have played a number of courses in different states. This is the most neglected course we've played. Was very disappointed. Clean up the park, provide some nicer permenant signage, and get rid of the walkers, and this course could really be decent.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
2 11
Discalier
Experience: 40 played 8 reviews
1.00 star(s)

Too many trees 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Apr 4, 2012 Played the course:once

Pros:

Good baskets. Concrete pads.

Cons:

Way too many trees, and no discernible path to throw down.

Other Thoughts:

They need to cut away some of the trees to make 'fairways' or at least so you know where you should be throwing. Currently it's a crap shoot.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
2 1
eng2joe
Experience: 14.2 years 12 played 6 reviews
3.00 star(s)

Under the Oaks Park 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Mar 30, 2012 Played the course:5+ times

Pros:

It is a nice course for a quick game. I played it in less than 30 minutes. The view from the 6th basket is great.

Cons:

One of the biggest cons for me was having to wait for the the walkers on the path. A couple fo the fairways cross the walking path.

Other Thoughts:

Great course for beginners and for a quick game.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
10 0
ZMan44
Gold level trusted reviewer
Experience: 20.2 years 179 played 110 reviews
2.50 star(s)

Best 9-Holer I've Come Across 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Nov 18, 2011 Played the course:once

Pros:

Under the Oaks DGC is located in a park that is really close to the ocean. In fact, I think it backs up to part of the coastline. In any case, there is salt-water visible from the course which I think is pretty cool. Even with this location, there are concrete tee pads which seem to be in decent condition. Baskets are also in good condition.

For a 9-hole course, this is a tough place to play. There are some birdie opportunities available, but there are also some definite bogey holes. Though I would classify the course as open, there are a significant number of mature trees to provide obstacles. The shade is amazing given the location. I have yet to find another place, just off the coast that provides the canopy found at this course. I understand that this park could only contain a 9-hole course, but I wish there were 18.

Open courses typically allow the player to have options off the tee, which I like. However, I also like it when each player is almost forced into executing a similar shot every now and then. Under the Oaks does a great job of providing this aspect. Most holes give you the option of finding your own line, while others clearly indicate the designed line.

Cons:

My only con is that the course is only 9-holes. I want more. Since I travel and play a lot, I design my ratings based on whether or not someone should go out of their way for a course. It is so hard to recommend that someone go out of their way for 9-hole course...no matter how good it is.

Other Thoughts:

The design here is really, really good...especially for most 9-hole courses that you come across. As a general rule of thumb, I begin the rating for a 9-hole course at half of the standard scale. The reason is that I generally believe that most 9-hole courses are a waste of time. They typically fall into 2 categories: courses to introduce new players to the game, or old courses that were never popular enough to be expanded to 18 holes. Neither type is typically attractive to me. Under the Oaks breaks the mold in that it is 9 holes because of geographic limitations.

If this were an 18-hole course with similar design on the back, I would give it a 4.0. I think it is that good. As is, it is currently the best 9-hole course I have ever played, which is not too shabby. If you are vacationing in PCB, then definitely give this course a shot. It is a little bit of a drive from the tourist beaches, but worth the trip from there. As I stated earlier, I simply have a difficult time encouraging other users of this great site to go out of their way for a 9-hole course. But if you want to give it a shot, then great. It is a nice little spot for a course.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
9 0
ERicJ
Diamond level trusted reviewer
Experience: 16.6 years 287 played 154 reviews
2.50 star(s)

Solid Small Park 9-Holer 2+ years

Reviewed: Played on:Dec 24, 2011 Played the course:once

Pros:

Nice concrete tees of sufficient size allow players to throw to new DGA Mach-5 baskets. For a small park 9-hole course most of the holes are surprisingly challenging, though not necessarily in the best way. There's a course overview map at the start and individual hole maps at each hole. All the teeboxes are visible from the basket (although #9 requires a bit of backtracking) so navigation isn't a problem even for first timers. Great view of the bay out the back of the park when you get to hole #7. Nice to see the Panama City area pick up a second course.

Cons:

The walking/jogging path is in direct conflict with many of the holes and may require waiting on pedestrians before throwing. The individual hole maps are a direct cutout from the overview map and thus not always in the appropriate perspective when you're standing on the box, it'd be better if some of them were rotated. Above, I mentioned the challenge of the holes... quite a few of them don't seem to have an intended fairway: there's just a bunch of random trees between the tee and the basket. A couple of the holes (#2 & #9) where there are very early trees off the teebox that make the view of the basket look cool, but don't really add anything to the hole. Posted distances are somewhat off of the laser measurements.

Other Thoughts:

This is a nice family park with a large playground for kids, picnic areas, and restroom facilities. Parking might get a bit tight on busy days. There are small plastic posts all over the park to identify plant types, I suspect many of these posts will fall victim to unintentional disc damage. I liked the course when we played, but we only had to contend with two pedestrians; I can see that being a big problem on nice/busy days. You can tell the course was installed by someone with <span class="italic">some</span> knowledge of course design, but moving a few tees or baskets could have made this course really good.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
7 0
flyingdisc
Experience: 13.1 years 18 played 17 reviews
3.00 star(s)

2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Updated: Played on:Jul 4, 2011 Played the course:once

Pros:

Good shade throughout the course.
Nice area to go and bring the family while you play.
New concrete pads and baskets.
There are signs at each hole now with info on length to basket, par, and direction of basket.

Cons:

Certain baskets are hard to spot right away.
A few holes cross over walking paths so be aware if people are on the track.

Other Thoughts:

I enjoyed the course right away and was happy to finally have one in this area. As I mentioned I think it is a good place to bring the family while you play as there is a playground area, picnic tables, rest rooms, and on the back of the park is the bay. The course itself is actually on the left side of the park as you enter and is seperated by a chain link fence, but does have a walking track around the course. Holes seem to be a good length. Look for hole 9 after you throw your disc on hole 8. Hole 9 is parallel to hole 8 and you will need to look for the concrete pad for hole 9 on your left as you walk back towards the beginning of hole 8. Went during sunset when it wasn't so hot, but there is plenty of shade on just about every hole, and there really were not many people in the park.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
4 1
Roderick
Experience: 13.1 years 13 played 3 reviews
2.00 star(s)

2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Jun 15, 2011 Played the course:once

Pros:

Nice range in distances and difficulty.

Cons:

Hole one runs parralell to highway 98 with the closest point being the goal. Only a four foot fence is there to prevent disk road kill. The fairway on hole eight runs directly through a raised concrete picnic area. There is currently no signage, just sharpie in the corner of the pads to indicate distance and direction of the goal.

Other Thoughts:

Excellent BBQ across the street!
Was this review helpful? Yes No
5 1
TheRoc
Experience: 2 played 2 reviews
3.50 star(s)

Brand new course. 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Jun 10, 2011 Played the course:once

Pros:

Lots of long holes, but very challenging because of the trees. Brand new tee-pads (concrete). Challenging at any level. Hole 7 gets an interesting breeze off the bay, which makes even putting a challenge.

Cons:

No signage (yet). Only 9 holes, but they used the space well.

Other Thoughts:

We are on vacation and hit the other Panama City Course (Joe Moody Harris Park) right before this course. Made for an interesting 18 holes.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
Top