• Discover new ways to elevate your game with the updated DGCourseReview app!
    It's entirely free and enhanced with features shaped by user feedback to ensure your best experience on the course. (App Store or Google Play)

New Berlin, WI

Valley View Park

2.875(based on 52 reviews)
Filter course reviews

Filter reviews

Filter reviews

Valley View Park reviews

Filter
6 1
DiscGolfer80
Experience: 5 years 57 played 56 reviews
3.00 star(s)

Fun while muddy 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Apr 12, 2022 Played the course:once

Pros:

Nice flow of holes. Few holes are can be unforgiving due to swampy conditions, but overall forgiving course for beginners.
Good for beginners to pick a line once "teeing off".

Cons:

Holes need new signs.

Most of course is wet/muddy after rain or snow melt.

Other Thoughts:

Bring a change of shoes/boots if wet.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
16 0
Horsman
Gold level trusted reviewer
Experience: 17.8 years 222 played 100 reviews
3.50 star(s)

Valley with a View 2+ years

Reviewed: Played on:Oct 11, 2021 Played the course:5+ times

Pros:

+ Concrete Teepads, they are a bit on the old side and a little shorter than average but they get the job done.

+ Bright Yellow Mach 5's I believe. This is a great upgrade from the older Mach baskets that used to be on the course. The yellow really makes the baskets stand out and not just become another bush.

+ This is a shorter course and is a lot of fun to just get out there and play a putter only round and not feel too restricted. I have played many round here with just a disc or two and shot some great rounds. If you are coming into this course and expecting a championship level course then you are going to have a bad time.

+ Hole 1 is a great starting/signature hole. Its a wide open down hill bomb that is the longest hole on the course. Its even more fun/nerve racking when the course is full and there are 20+ people waiting/watching you throw your first shot of the day.

+ There is a decent mix of left, right and straight holes. A forehand and backhand both aren't needed for this course but having both will help you out. Most of the course weaves thru the woods. Every hole has a fair line if not multiple lines. There are some tight fairways but the holes are short so it's not too big of a deal

+ Aces galore. Every hole has the chance to be aced by a good number of people. Every hole is short, like shorter than normal. It makes for a really fun round with your buddies. 18 under has been shot many times by many different people.

Cons:

- Teesigns. These need to be upgraded. They are old and worn out. They also go thru cycles where they are just full of ace graffiti, which is just dumb.

- Navigation will be a bit tricky if you are new and not playing with someone who knows the course. This is even worse when the winter course gets set up and the navigation gets a bit trickier. Next hole signs would be awesome.

- Wait times. Its hard for me to put this as a con because its only a problem because of how easy the course is and how much disc golf has exploded over the years. There will be times when you show up to this course and you see 20+ people waiting to tee off on hole 1. This leads to a$$hats thinking they are entitled to start now and they will just walk to hole 2 or 3 and just cut in and start playing.

- Mud. This course does get really muddy in the spring and after a hard rain.

Other Thoughts:

This course is one that I grew up playing and have payed it for the past 15 years. I have seen this course go thru many revisions and upgrades and where the course is today is miles better than what it was in the past imo. The course gets all of its love from the locals. I believe that the current baskets were donated to the course from the local league that plays there and came from part of their league dues. If this trend continues then the course will continue to get better and better.

This course is a great beginner/practice course. If you are expecting the same level of play that the other nearby courses offer than you will be let down. The Milwaukee area has a lot of great disc golf to offer from the challenging layout of Brown Deer to the beginner course that Valley View is. Go into this course with the expectation of just trying to have a good time and work on your short game and maybe get an ace.

Don't go out of your way to play this course especially only if you are going to play one course in the area. This course is a great compliment to the area but it's not a must play. It's a fun time, but nothing crazy.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
2 4
modest mike
Experience: 1 played 1 reviews
4.00 star(s)

Short and sweet 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:May 30, 2021 Played the course:once

Pros:

Wooded but easy to navigate the course. Very peaceful environment that's fairly clean and well maintained.

Cons:

Not a whole lot of diversity/variation in difficulty for each hole (again, all par 3s).

Other Thoughts:

Very nice, relaxing par 3 course. Quiet and sparse forested areas make for a nice getaway not far from the city at all.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
11 0
MrFrosty
Diamond level trusted reviewer
Experience: 31.2 years 764 played 387 reviews
2.50 star(s)

Short, Fast , Fun 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Jun 12, 2020 Played the course:once

Pros:

The 18 hole Valley View Park has a nice parking lot , with a Port O Let right next to it . There is also a cement pad with a picnic table at the top of the hill where either someone can wait for a player to finish , or for players to congregate afterwards . Keep in mind that I played this course on a Friday morning at 6:30 with local phenom Tucker .
The Equipment : There is a nice kiosk with map at the top of the hill near the picnic table . The tee pads are cement , a little short at about 3 1/2 ' X 7' ? The signage was pretty decent where there were signs . Some were missing . Surprising since this course is in the center of a middle class area . The baskets are some nice yellow Mach IV , installed around a year ago . The course flows well in some spots , but not as well in others . There was some mulch in some of the fairways , which was a nice touch . Trash cans were present , too . I found out from Tucker that there are 3 pins in the woods that are " activated " when 3 pins are removed for winter sledding . Nice ( why don't you make it a 21 hole course until November , then shave it back to Winter 18 for the next 4 months ? ) . There are varying pin placements per hole here . They were mixed , some longer than others and some placed in tighter spots in the woods or against brush .
The Landscape : The first hole is thrown down off a hill , the the course stays flat or has small inclines until coming back until about hole 14 , which comes back up the hill that you threw off of on hole #1 . Steps were created to help you up the hill . #16 throws to what looks like a man made hill ( sledding ? ) Slight elevation changes for the last 2 holes . The park was mowed and was well taken care of when I was here . The overgrowth could be a problem on some holes , especially #2 or 3 . A misfire will cause a long search for your plastic . The mulch helps with overgrowth on the fairways .
The highlights : I don't know if a course that I shot a 5 down after driving 7 hours through the night would be considered challenging and surreal , but I admit many were a fun play . #1 was a downhill shot to an open basket to start off. #2 was a drive that you had to force right to left over a large amount of overgrowth to the tight fairway and green beyond . #11 was a left to right poke into the woods . #14 was a tight fairway shot into a green descended from the flat area tee . #16 was a fun midrange into a man made hill with the basket sitting atop . #17 was a basket placement in a crevice . Miss right and be up on a grade well above the basket , miss the the left and you are all the way down the embankment .
Signature Hole : #15 uphill drive to the basket tucked away to the right , with heavy foliage and a treeline to your right .
Time : This course is a fast play . Even playing with a partner , we were done in just over an hour . Foursome ? Maybe under 2 hours .

Cons:

#1 Navigation : Next tee signs and a more descriptive map could go a long way here . If not for playing with one of the local enthusiasts , I would be going in different directions starting at around hole 6 . The course breaks up after hole 15 and you have to walk over the parking lot to play 16-18 .
#2 Equipment . Enlarging the tee pads would be nice . We were okay because we were trowing putters or midrange disc from a walk-up on the pads , but kids or high schoolers would benefit from learning to step into their drives more . Signage could be fixed , but I understand if some punks keep breaking them down . NEXT TEE SIGNS , PLEASE .
#3 Elements . This course looks to become a quagmire after a good rain or 2 . Especially 3-6 and and other spots up to 15 . Wear waterproof boots . You Are Warned . Remember that the course changes during the winter .
#4 Challenge : Aces Abound here . This must be the feel good course of the Milwaukee area. Anyone above intermediate might avoid this course other than to get a quick round or 2 in .
Disc Risk : It is moderate in spots ( 2, 3 , 4 , 13 , 14 , 15) and almost nonexistent in others . The holes are short . Watch for a ricochet and listen for your disc to land .

Other Thoughts:

Valley View is a fast fun course to play and hang out , here in New Berlin . Because of this , it is one of the most popular courses south of Milwaukee . Be prepared to wait during peak hours on large groups . I am in no way knocking this course . This is perfect for someone to cut their teeth or be introduced to the game . An excellent stepping stone to Root River or Dretzka.
I read an earlier post that the city of Berlin is not very attentive to the disc golf scene . A shame , because courses give the young locals and families something to do outside , especially in the summer and introduces the city to out of towners . We actually spend money in the cities that keep our interest . I have now been to Wisconsin twice solely for disc golf excursions . Someone opened up the piggy bank for mulch in the fairways and nice baskets recently plus having alternating pins . Elect them mayor if you can .
My Recommendation : fairly technical but very short , great for families , dates , newbies , introducing the game , locals , high schools to compete , maybe a Trilogy Challenge , travelers , and especially the Course Collector ( 45-50 minutes and about 10 minutes from Root River Pkwy. ) . This may not be more than a putter ace folly for the more seasoned players .
I certainly don't want to appear that I am knocking this course . It has stood the test of time ( ca. 1996 ) and is coming up on it's 25th anniversary of existence . These types of courses are critical in bringing new blood into the game .
I had a lot of fun here and I know that Tucker did , too .
This is not a course to go out of your way for , but if you have an hour or so to spare , Try This Course .

Was this review helpful? Yes No
11 0
wellsbranch250
Diamond level trusted reviewer
Premium Member
Experience: 10.4 years 662 played 643 reviews
2.50 star(s)

Grand Master Rec Course 2+ years

Reviewed: Played on:Aug 25, 2018 Played the course:once

Pros:

(2.495 Rating) An easy going shorter course packed with ace potential.
- ACEABILITY - My gosh, I'd be willing to bet that if there's a decent sized league here, that the chains are likely run up at almost every gathering. Numerous sub 200 footers shouting "putter run me". I envisioned chains being smashed on 2 or 3 throws of mine during the round only to ping a tree late just adjacent to the basket. Tree Ace! I have a lot of those.... I'd think the average Joe is throwing in multiple aces a year here. 10 year skilled locals are probably approaching 50 aces.
- FUN FACTOR - This is a total free good course and it is probably producing disc golf addicts in droves. It very much reminds me of my first home course in Austin which is also a sub 4000 foot 18 holer. Short holes, moderate technique and lots players throwing sub 45 rounds. This is the ultimate easy going recreational course.
- RAW BEAUTY - This course is really charming in sections. Starting on hole (4) the course dives into a heavily wooded technical portion. The stretch from hole (8) to (10) was by far the best. (10) is just absolutely siren.
- CHAINS - I missed the upgrade to MachVs by a week. I knew something was up when I started noticing newly dug pin placements adjacent to current basket locations. Despite me playing on the older MachIIIs, I still gave the course credit for upgrading the baskets.
- QUICK PLAY - Just over 45 minutes in playing time for my break of dawn raid. I'd be willing to bet that this course gets quite busy during ideal times, so be cognizant of a few extra waits during those times.

Cons:

Too easy for a segment of the disc golf community.
- LACK OF CHALLENGE - This is a total feel good course. Anyone looking to test their skills or that enjoys an intense challenge won't be satisfied in their round here. There are far too many throw away holes where it's a 150 foot deuce or die play. I truly wish this course had more holes like hole (10) or (11). I think I played a touch better than normal on my round here, but I still think that throwing eleven down as Intermediate level player is an indication of not being tested.
- OVERGROWTH - There is some very thick overgrowth on a few holes. The worst stretches were between Holes (2) and (6) and then also (12) thru (15). I was able to avoid it for the most part, but I still had to do some moderate searches on the fringes a couple times. I could see newer players doing a lot of search and recovery.
- NAVIGATION - Pretty bad on my visit. Much of the tee signage was unreadable. The course map was drawn by hand and is far too diagrammatic. I noticed very few directional cues between holes. There was a tapped spoke on basket (7) if I recall correctly, but I don't remember another occurrence. Be sure and have a printed course map or one downloaded to a phone, this is not an easy follow. Perhaps this is also being updated.
- TEES - The tees are a touch sub-par. The tee surfaces are concrete being either 4 by 8 or 4 by 10. I felt cramped on several holes.
- UNIQUENESS - The variety here is less than to be desired. Far too many holes are open lines or simple movement holes. No par 4s and the longest holes are not much over 300 feet. Water is pretty much a non-factor and elevation only plays a significant role on a handful of holes. I enjoyed the slight twisting of a few holes in the middle but again, way too much simplicity for my preference.
- VANDELISM - I saw some tagging on garbage can and signs among other things. It doesn't seem like a bad area of town so I suppose this is the work of a few misinformed wannabes. I'm sure most locals are disgusted by the idiocy of a few.

Other Thoughts:

Staring down hole (1) I knew this was going to be a fun round and it delivered. Had I been new to the game and living in the Milwaukee area, this would have been my course for the first couple of years. Perfect for players with less than two years' experience or for those who just want to have a good time with a group of friends. The course however, is not an exotic destination like a few other courses in the region. It's not for the player that can bomb-it 500 feet or the one who can shoot several under a Dretzka from the back tees. It's for the regular guy who can only play once or twice a week... and he'll love it.
- WINTER HOLES - After (12) I went to the right into the woods and found a couple temporary holes without baskets. I contacted DGCR legend Harror1012 and asked what this was for, and he told me that these are winter holes to avoid the kids sledding near a few holes. For real!?! Please add these permanently and sacrifice a couple of the bland featureless shots. Fully wooded tunnel shots with eye appeal and elevation movements... I'll take more of that!
- CHARACTER - Some good stuff, but also some lacking aspects. As has been noted about, the baskets are new, The tees are slightly sub-par and navigation has seen better days. In addition to these noted items, on the good side there are numerous alternate basket placements and there is a bunch of tee seating, garbage cans and tee shading. As for missing items, I didn't see a practice basket, multi-tees or a finishing shelter with picnic tables.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
7 0
Flavored Snacks
Experience: 7 years 37 played 9 reviews
2.50 star(s)

What? Where? 2+ years

Reviewed: Updated: Played on:Mar 25, 2018 Played the course:once

Pros:

- Very Nice and Scenic
- Great Use of Elevation
- Good Parking
- Close to Waukesha and Milwaukee
- Free to Play
- Holes are tough but fair

Cons:

- Confusing Layout
- Lack of Next Tee signs
- Heavily Vandalized Tee Signs
- Some baskets sunk into the ground
- Easy to get lost in the forest

Other Thoughts:

This course was fun to play and pretty short overall. The things that would make this course a decent 3/5 at least are "next tee this way" signs and fresh tee signs that either aren't completely vandalized or non existent.

Update 1: I realized after writing this that the holes in between 12 and 13 at the moment are replacements for 1, 2, and 15. These will be reverted back soon. I'm dumb. I have upgraded the score from its original 2.0 to 2.5 because of this.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
4 0
capskorner
Experience: 8 years 15 played 4 reviews
3.50 star(s)

Nice Course 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Dec 30, 2017 Played the course:5+ times

Pros:

Nice mix of wide open and wooded holes
Winter pins are fun adding more wooded shots
Hole distance variety is nice
Hard to lose a disc except for hole #14 on the right side.
various elevations make for fun challenges.

Cons:

Winter holes are hard to navigate unless you know where they are.
Hole #14 right side can be swampy at times and is very heavily wooded - easy to lose discs here
Tee boxes seem short

Other Thoughts:

Overall this has always been a fun course to play. Nice mixture of challenges always make it interesting.

When I played on 12.30 I didn't notice hole #18 basket being broke anymore...I think they fixed it.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
9 0
Dire Wolfy
Experience: 9.1 years 10 played 5 reviews
2.00 star(s)

Decent course 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Updated: Played on:Sep 4, 2017 Played the course:5+ times

Pros:

This course is very beginner friendly and has a lot of fun, ace run type holes, when the course is clean it tends to be very fun to play.
Most people are nice and usually don't complain at the pace you're moving at, if they are in a rush usually they just nicely ask to play through.

Cons:

The type of people that come here since it is a free course, they can range from extremely stoned to extremely slow. Just yesterday I was playing in a big group and offered for the people behind us to play threw, they said we were moving decently and they didnt want to, then about 5 minutes later a group of stoners came walking by and said "there is multiple groups behind you ladies" and proceeded to block me while I was on the tee and they walked on the fairway. This is something you could expect to see from a free course like this.

The trash: There are trashcans on almost every hole, but people just litter alot, trash can be found in the strangest of places when searching for your disc.

Other Thoughts:

Usually in the mornings on the weekends this course isnt that busy, if you were to play earlier than 10:00 am would be more fun because less of a crowd.
Update 6/14/17: summer holes have been in place for a while, course is very over grown at the moment, watch where you throw.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
4 0
danilau
Experience: 8 played 7 reviews
2.50 star(s)

2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Jul 27, 2017 Played the course:once

Pros:

Nice wooded course that was fairly easy. There was a decent variety of holes hooking left and right.

Cons:

Pretty much all of the signs were full of graffiti and not able to be read. I did not know the pars for most holes so I guessed most were par 3 and a couple were par 4. Also it was a little difficult to find my way around without being able to tell which hole number I was on.

Other Thoughts:

After hole 15 you will have to go up by the parking lot for 16. The course would be a lot better if the signs could be read. Otherwise it was a pretty enjoyable course to play.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
9 1
Kegelexercise
Silver level trusted reviewer
Experience: 30.1 years 56 played 25 reviews
3.00 star(s)

Course Fills A Role Well 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Updated: Played on:Nov 5, 2016 Played the course:5+ times

Pros:

1) For as short of a course as this is, Valley View scores very well in the variety department - the course utilizes one large hill, and several smaller, rolling hills through the woods to create a diverse disc golf course. Valley View has uphill holes, downhill holes, and features many technical holes through the woods where you will need to be accurate hitting different lines. Accomplished players will have an easy time notching birdies, but you have to execute your shots, otherwise it's easy to wind up in trouble. Multiple pin locations on some (maybe all?) holes.

2)Tees - kind of a "accomplishes the basics" thing, but each hole has a concrete tee off spot (one hole tees off from a large section of pavement present for other park use). The tees could stand to be longer, but properly installed concrete tees beat dirt or rubber tees, every time.

3) A slight winter layout modification: the large hill I mentioned earlier is used for sledding during the winter, so the baskets using this hill are pulled, and reinstalled in the woods for three unique hole locations. It's a nice little tweak that adds to the replay value of the course during the winter months.

4) EDIT (9-16-19) Baskets: New, yellow powder coated baskets have been installed on every hole. The old Mach III's were in really poor condition, so much that this was a legit problem that was addressed. Thank you Mike Harrington!

Cons:

1) Being a fairly easy course to play, Valley View is often very crowded, and heavily by the "stoner high school kid" types. They're usually friendly and amiable enough, but you'll come across obnoxious, inconsiderate groups of people more often here than on other courses.

2) Going off this same theme, the course could be better cared for. VV put out trash cans at most, if not every tee, which I don't remember being the case 5-10 years ago, but you'll still see trash in some places left by inconsiderate groups, and plenty of "graffiti"-ish crap on the tee signs (more on this)

3) Tee signs. They suck. Only a few holes even have present/readable tee signs - many have been destroyed and/or defaced so badly that they might as well not be there. Fortunately, the hole to hole flow on this course is good, and there aren't really any blind holes, otherwise, this would be a bigger deal.

Other Thoughts:

Overall, Valley View presents a decent disc golf experience that fills a "shorter, technical course" niche in the local disc golf scene. There are definite improvements that could happen here - the signage is awful, the baskets need a lot of work or replacement, and this course would improve dramatically if this was done. It's my understanding that there are willing parties in the local DG scene ready to do the work to fix the course up, and could probably do so in short order, but the city of New Berlin is notoriously difficult to work with, and has stonewalled numerous efforts over the years to improve this course.

All that considered, I don't think I'd recommend Valley View as a "must play" for folks having to make long trips, but Valley View is a solid enough course that fills a role in the local scene, and is a good place to stop and shoot a round if you're in the area.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
3 0
mk.ultra
Experience: 20.1 years 17 played 1 reviews
4.50 star(s)

Short but incredibly fun 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:May 4, 2016 Played the course:5+ times

Pros:

If you can throw 300', every hole is an ace run. Perfect course for ace pools. Beautiful wooded section.

Cons:

I would love to see longer tee boxes and more switching of pin positions.

Other Thoughts:

This is my home course, and I've played it hundreds of times. It still keeps me coming back. The holes are short; every shot could be an ace run which keeps it very exciting. There is also a decent amount of variation as you get into the wooded portion of the course. Incredibly fun course, not sure how it's rated so poorly.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
2 7
Spike Hyzer 23
Experience: 30.9 years 92 played 88 reviews
3.00 star(s)

Short Course 2+ years

Reviewed: Updated: Played on:Jun 24, 2015 Played the course:once

Pros:

Ace runs!!!

The course begins oddly, with a downhill bomber hole which belies its true nature. The vast majority of the rest of the course is very short and highly technical (though most good players will get putters close for deuce). A lefty will have trouble with #7, while a righty will love the longer ace run ( found it lefty friendly overall). I love the overhanging willow to protect the 13th green.

Cons:

It's a great beginner course, but the tees and some signs are showing signs of wear. 12, 14 and the open holes near the end aren't as interesting as the rest of the course.

Other Thoughts:

It's fun and challenging, and you can hit a lot of trees and fail to score, or you can be on your game and drop scores like McBeast!

Ace runs!!!
Was this review helpful? Yes No
1 3
SharkRock135
Experience: 6 played 2 reviews
3.50 star(s)

Decent Course 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Nov 11, 2015 Played the course:5+ times

Pros:

-multiple pin placements
-good amount of wooded and open holes
-fairly easy course for beginner and intermediate players

Cons:

-some garbage and piles of dirt by some holes
-most tee signs are gone or unable to read

Other Thoughts:

Good free course in the Milwaukee area for someone just starting to play or is getting better. Some holes are a little too easy. I got an EAGLE on the 1st hole because it was a 320 ft par 4.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
5 0
knivile1
Experience: 13.1 years 60 played 25 reviews
3.00 star(s)

1st time at Valley View 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Jul 11, 2015 Played the course:once

Pros:

-Multiple pin placements
-Short, but technical shots required through the trees on most holes
-Good for beginners and intermediate players
-Benches and trash cans everywhere
-Good community of local players(from what I observed)
-Mulch lined fairways, easy to navigate
-Stroller friendly for my little caddie

Cons:

-Some trash not picked up when their is a can only feet away, though on more than one occasion myself and the other golfers out on Saturday were picking up after other people
-Graffiti on tee signs(made a lot of them unreadable) and benches
-Amount of traffic on a good day could be a problem for some, but for as busy as it was when I was there, there was a good sense of etiquette from all others that I encountered out on the course
-Cannot always make out the basket from the foliage around it from the tee (see other thoughts)

Other Thoughts:

Moved to the greater Milwaukee area in February and have been slowly expanding my knowledge of the local courses and getting out to play them.

I have been limiting my play around here to the courses that are still free (not Milwaukee county) but that is just my preference for now. I do hope to play Brown Deer and Dretzka before the summer ends.

First trip to Valley View this past Saturday was definitely fun and I can definitely see a return visit in the future.

My son has been accompanying me to most of rounds lately so that I can get him outside and he can see and experience nature at a young age. He is not old enough to walk yet, so he stays in his stroller unless I need to feed/change him and Valley View was extremely stroller friendly. The amount of benches and trash cans also aided me greatly when it did come time to take a break and change his diaper or feed him from his bottle. Not too much elevation that I was worried about the parking brake not working and just enough to add to the layout of the course.

I carry a backpack style bag after receiving one for a birthday gift from my family this year but I could easily have just thrown 4 discs (putting putter, driving putter, mid-range and fairway driver) into the storage of the bottom of the stroller and had all the discs I needed for the day.

There was a good mix of left to right and right to left shots and the trees made it deceptively hard at first glance. I think the biggest two improvements that could be made to the course is new signage and either flags or powder-coating of the baskets to allows for better recognition from the tee.

I may have gotten a bit spoiled during my last round of golf before coming here; having played the private Bonnie Brook DGC in Detroit over Independence Day weekend. All of their baskets are powder-coated safety green and orange and are unmistakable from the tee and I think that that could help out Valley View quite a bit as I had some difficulty making out where the basket was located.

Overall, great little course that made for a very enjoyable round.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
3 2
BigRemy
Experience: 10.2 years 39 played 2 reviews
3.50 star(s)

Great 18 hole 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Updated: Played on:Sep 23, 2014 Played the course:2-4 times

Pros:

-The holes are pretty short, but with pin and tee placements around trees on a lot of holes, this increases the difficulty. Good technical course.

-Right off the freeway, and that makes for a quick trip from the southwest suburbs of Milwaukee County.

-Cool downhill shot off of hole 1

-The Speedway gas station close to this course has a okay selection of discs. Some local disc retailers sell discs in the parking lot from time to time. Check the VV FB page.

Cons:

-Layout changes in the winter and for things like soapbox derbies, but after two or three rounds you'll be used to it. Sometimes they have the map for alternate layouts posted behind the sign on #16.

-Garbage on the ground, right next to garbage cans. C'mon, man!

Other Thoughts:

Gets super busy on nice days, especially in the spring.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
6 0
pr0phetx
Experience: 16.2 years 19 played 3 reviews
3.50 star(s)

Simple and Fun 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Sep 13, 2013 Played the course:5+ times

Pros:

-Variety of hole selections ranging from completely wide open to completely wooded.
-Every hole and pin placement is aceable, meaning its all relatively short holes. This makes it easy for newbies to get their feet wet.
-The course itself is very well kept, in terms of mulch and brush. There is a lot of trash sometimes, but when there are so many people coming through, it is understandable to not be able to keep up with all of it.
-Almost all the holes require good placement as opposed to huge distance. Navigating the trees is really what makes this course fun.
-Did I mention its short? You can play around in about 30-45 minutes (maybe quicker?) when there isn't anyone there. This makes for a nice relaxing, quick round when you just want to get out there and throw.
-They leave the pins up for winter.

Cons:

-It's almost always crowded from 3pm - 7pm during the week and usually always crowded on the weekends. Like terribly crowded. Multiple groups of 5+ in a row isn't uncommon.
-There aren't any holes where you can just go full blast. I just play with a mid range the whole round and have no problems getting birdies on any holes.
-There isn't really anything that makes you go "WOW". The first hole is the closest you will get to a signature hole but thats a stretch.

Other Thoughts:

This year has been the best year for the course in my opinion (although I do miss the old configuration/holes). Everything has been well maintained from the muddy parts getting mulched to the thick brush being thinned out, everything just makes for a much smoother round. They have even added in a few new pins this year that add a bit (a tiny bit lol) of difficulty. Mike H, the guy who maintains the course and runs leagues there, is always around on Mondays selling a wide selection of discs at really low prices which is a huge plus. Its nice to be able to buy discs right on the course.

Overall its a fun little course that leaves you feeling good when you can say "I shot neg 8 today".
Was this review helpful? Yes No
5 1
DiscinFiend
Experience: 25.1 years 76 played 3 reviews
2.00 star(s)

2+ years

Reviewed: Played on:Jun 1, 2013 Played the course:2-4 times

Pros:

Has a nice mix of wooded and open holes. The fact that there are multiple pin positions is nice. Decent technical shots in the woods. Good course for practicing approach shots & throwing putters/mids from the tee. Concrete paids are good. Good variety of different shot selection needed from the tees.

Cons:

The holes are short. Most players could play the hole course with a putter & maybe a mid. It is wet a lot (because it's in a valley). Some of the signs are broken/vanidilzed & many of them aren't legible. Tall grass on a few holes can make it difficult to find a disc in the event of a bad shot. If its been raining recently it can be very muddy & flooded in many parts of the course.

Other Thoughts:

The leagues here are well organized & are fun to play in. I enjoyed the original course setup from years ago better but its still good now.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
5 0
Jashwa
Gold level trusted reviewer
Experience: 20.1 years 174 played 88 reviews
3.00 star(s)

Not sure if designed for experienced disc golfers looking for a fun relaxing round, or for 10 year olds 2+ years

Reviewed: Played on:May 11, 2013 Played the course:2-4 times

Pros:

My buddy and I played this course after playing a tournament at a much more difficult course, and we had an absolute blast here! The views here were incredible and the holes offer a wide variety of shots, playing in and out of the woods.

It was a very relaxed round, and none of the holes were all that difficult and the course seemed to be pretty clean and well maintained.

Hole 1 is the obvious signature hole of the course... a 280ish ft drive down into the "valley." This is best use of elevation on the course, but there are a few other fun elevation features used in the design too!

Cons:

If you are looking for an intense round of disc golf, Valley View is not the course for you at all. Every hole here is an ace run, which makes for fun, but not much challenge. most people will not need to take out their drivers for this course.

The teepads here were teeny tiny and some of the signs were missing. The flow was not all that great, and navigation between holes 15 and 16 was not obvious. After you finish 15, cross the parking lot to get to 16's teepad (there's a concrete slab that looks like a teepad near 15s basket but isn't one).

Other Thoughts:

All in all, this course's claim to fame is that it's just plain fun. I think it's definitely worth checking out even if it's a bit out of your way.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
3 3
fritothedog
Experience: 22.1 years 48 played 6 reviews
3.50 star(s)

Fun short course 2+ years

Reviewed: Updated: Played on:Apr 27, 2013 Played the course:2-4 times

Pros:

Fun course! Accessible to beginners due to its short holes but also technical enough to provide a challenge. Nice, well maintained park.

Being from Oklahoma where most things are fairly flat I enjoy the elevation changes that this course has to offer.

Went on the first nice weekend so it was packed but once we teed off on hole one everyone moved pretty quickly and everyone was friendly.

Cons:

Could stand to have a bit more length to some holes.

There were holes, especially in the valley, that were quite wet and marshy.

It was fairly busy both times I have been.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
3 2
mwright57
Experience: 4 played 2 reviews
3.00 star(s)

Spring Fever! 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Mar 31, 2013 Played the course:5+ times

Pros:

The snow around the course is melting fast. There was a lot of mud last week at the bottom of the baskets and some puddles on the tee boxes but since then it has started to dry up fast!

Cons:

The baskets were not moved back to holes 1 and 18 yet so make sure you take your second shot off the tee pads of holes 4 and 10 to the additional basket.

Other Thoughts:

Now is a great time to try new routes or techniques since the vegetation has not grown up and it is still easy to find a wayward disc!
Was this review helpful? Yes No

Latest posts

Top