Valparaiso, IN 
Rogers Lakewood Park Share
Uploaded By: chuckdisc Hole #1 (Taken 10/2011)
3 / 336ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #1 Tee Sign



Course Rating Distribution
0.0
0.5
1.0
1.5
2.0
2.5
3.0
3.5
4.0
4.5
5.0

Reviews: 45
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
 Fun, Challenging, and Beautiful

5+    3/21/2009   3/21/2011
Review By: cefire
Played: 669  Reviewed: 134  Exp: 18.2 Years
11 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Roger's Lakewood is one of my all-time favorite courses for plain ol' fun. Due to the massive variety in hole-types and distances, Lakewood overall is accessible to a wide range of skill-levels. On the most difficult holes, newer players will have to patiently find creative ways to make par but will be rewarded now and then with a fun, tightly wooded shot where anyone who hits the line will have a putt for birdie. Pro players aren't going to find too many 'gimme's' though and will be on their toes trying to collect '2's.

While some of the very front and very back holes can sometimes be crowded with non-discers, most of the wooded central section of the course is located in disc golf only areas where you are more likely to see wildlife like foxes, raccoons, and frogs than pedestrians.

Finally, there are a couple of really memorable holes, mostly mentioned in previous reviews (such as 14 & 15) which will stick with you. 14, while not as long as other top of the world shots, remains one of my all-time favorites because of the beautiful view and the very real possibility of landing in monster shule!

From the start, the course designer and the local club have done an excellent job of keeping Lakewood in stellar condition. You'll almost always find fresh woodchips, clean fairways, and all of the little improvements that make the course shine.
Cons: The main drawback of the course at Roger's Lakewood is the lack of any multiple shot holes which require a drive to a landing zone and then a second well executed drive or long approach to the pin. Nearly every hole at Lakewood can be achieved in '3' with a 'just okay' drive and approach shot. There are several holes indeed which are very unlikely birdie '2's from the long tees such as hole 16 which plays straight up a tubing hill. The length and large elevation change prevents most players from reaching the putting green, but at the same time, a bogey is a rare event because of the (too short) distance for par 4 and the lack of any punishing features such as OB. Nearly all players with great, good, and just okay drives will get the par and move on.

Hole 10 approaches the qualification of a hole with a defined 'landing zone' but, again, because of the too short distance, does not give adequate reward to those who card the '3'. Add another 150' or so to this fairway and you've got a great par 4 hole with a well-defined landing area, punishing rough, and a tricky approach shot. As it stands now, players can bomb a hyzer or big flex over the trees to try for the '2' and if they don't hit the fairway, are usually close enough to get up and down for a boring par.

To get a little picky, some of the tees can be slippery when it rains - take care especially on the faux grass astroturf tees!
Other Thoughts: Lakewood definitely makes my best-of list of courses which are a blast to play and are accessible to a large range of players from AMII's to average pro's. There is a little bit of everything out here which gives it broad appeal and a well-rounded feel - you likely won't be disappointed!

11 of 12 people found this review helpful.

 Very fun,must play

2-4    3/18/2011   3/18/2011
Review By: Emoney
Played: 63  Reviewed: 16  Exp: 9.2 Years
8 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This is a great course that has a very high fun factor. I had a great time playing with a dgcr member (jukeshoe) that showed me the course. The course is set in a very scenic park that has playgrounds,fishing,skate park and most importantly DISC GOLF. The course has a large variety of shots that need to be executed, long,short,uphill,downhill,left,right,tight fairway and open bombs. Also has O.B. and water to contend with on several holes. Has great teepads that are grippy and level, even though most are different materials( Some people may think its a con but i think it adds character). Each hole has a very nice sign of the hole with yardage and alternate pin locations,as well as hooks to hang your bag on. Also there are alot of benches around the course to take in nature. The course seemed well groomed and clean and that the locals really love and take care of this course. Thanx guys. The baskets are not all the same but are in good shape. There is a port-a-john next to the parking lot which is nice. Alternate basket placements for most holes are a plus !!

All in all , i really liked this course and i love to see that the locals are extremely involved. It looks as if they made the best course they could with the land they had( great job and great course). I will definitely play this course in the summer when the rough grows in, which looks like it will add a great challenge.
Cons: Navigation- Im glad i got a local to help me navigate this course,im sure i would of had a little trouble. Print a map and that should solve that problem.
Hole 7- not a big deal but after u throw ur shot u have to walk down a steep downgrade thats mainly dirt and could cause a fall or slip,steps would be nice..no biggie though
Hole 2- Its a nice hole but it is way to easy for someone to accidentally throw into the skate park and not only hurt there ego/disc but possibly injure a skater.
Hole 19- You have to throw towards the skate park parking lot and the basket is way to close to cars in that lot,its asking for trouble imo.
The park also looks as if it can get very crowded with not only disc golfers but people fishing,biking, and walking and may cause a risk of hitting someone because alot of holes play near these areas.
Side note- The rough was pretty "narley" and i played before spring. I can only imagine what its like in the summer. Not a major deal
Other Thoughts: This course got a half a disc higher score because of the local efforts. U can see the local efforts on every hole. There are many courses that get installed and left unkept,not this one. It will definitely make for a extremely fun round with plenty of reachable holes for everyone and great challenge if u miss ur line. Go play this course cause if you dont you will miss a gem. This course is a prime example of how good a course can be, with the dedication of locals willing to do what it takes to make a stellar course. Thx to you all

8 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 Great Indiana DG!!

1    9/11/2010   11/11/2010
Review By: Terry C
Played: 49  Reviewed: 27  Exp: 20.3 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Course is set in a big beautiful park with a wide range of terrain.
-Some big elevation changes.
-Most holes have mature trees as obsticles.
- Tight windows, and length on many holes.
- A great mix of left, right, and straight shots.
-A good mix of hazards
-Mix of tall and skinny trees, short and wide trees, shrubbery, and dense rough to make things challenging.
-Challenging pin placements.
-Water on multiple holes. Hole #1 is directly over the pond.
-Basket are in good shape.
-Tee signs are good.
-Pads are made of different materials but all in descent shape.
Cons: -Pay to play during the summer may be a con to some.
-slightly confusing layout for first time players.
-Inconsistant teepads may be a con to some.
-Being a multi-use park some holes are too close to where people congrigate and play tennis and other things.
Other Thoughts: I found this park very enjoyable to play. It was challenging yet still had a definite fun factor to it. I believe its one of the best courses in its area. I would definitely recomend it, Im looking forward to playing it again.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Intermediate/Expert

2-4    10/3/2010   10/8/2010
Review By: notapro
Played: 465  Reviewed: 280  Exp: 14 Years
14 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: - Course is set in a big, multi-use city park with a pretty wide range of terrain. A great setting for disc golf.
- There are three different sections to the park, which have different types of holes. Majority of the holes are in a dense forest with significant slopes, some are on flatter ground with mature trees, and a few are more open with extreme elevation changes. The holes with mature trees are typical to the midwest, but have added challenge with water, tight windows, and length. Definitely none of these are throwaway holes. A great mix of left, right, and straight shots, with a good amount of elevation changes and hazards.
- One section of the park plays on the side of a big hill, which has a monster downhill bomber shot [watch out for the forest(s)!], and another good uphill shot. These holes are much more wide open, with absolutely nothing in the fairway, but have very extreme slopes. A great change of pace from the rest of the course, and right in the middle to break the round up nicely.
- The rest of the course is in dense, tight forest, with lots of elevation changes. Many tight windows to hit immediately off the tee, in the fairway, on approach shots, and near the basket. Mix of tall and skinny trees, short and wide trees, shrubbery, and dense rough to make things very difficult. Although the terrain itself was very similar, the holes were very different. Extreme curves in all directions, some softer ones in all directions, a few where a OH shot is highly recommended, really a complete mix of all kinds of shots. Throw in some elevation changes, and shot selection and line shaping become do-or-die from the beginning to end. How each shot starts, the path it takes, and how it ends, are all very important to score well.
- Lots of protected, sloping, or elevated greens make every shot count. Lots of approach shots and putts require a solid game plan; getting it close can be a real challenge, even from close in.
- Very good use of water on multiple holes; there is real danger of going in. #1 is directly over the pond, #2 is a right-curving hole with the pond on the right, and #24 has a huge slope to the left that eventually meets the water. Definitely a big enough factor to influence the shot selection.
- Basket are in good shape, though rusted. Tee signs are generally good, even with the multiple pin positions. Navigation can be a little tricky, but not impossible.
Cons: - One of my biggest cons is present here - concrete. Multiple holes play next to or over an old scraggly road, which really hurts the atmosphere and possibly your discs.
- Some of the teepads were in abysmal shape, to the point where I was worried about slipping right off. Can't imagine what they would be like in the rain, mud or snow.
- A few other park activities interfere with the disc golf, like a skate park next to #2's fairway, but it's not too bad. Only a factor on a couple holes.
- Some holes are kind of close to each other, and there is a chance of errant shots finding other holes. #15 comes to mind, where discs from #14's tee can end up in #15's fairway.
Other Thoughts: - This is a very punishing course that will make you throw almost every shot in your arsenal, and make you throw them well. Sure, there are some easier holes, but that is only in comparison to the tougher ones. #10 and #13 are serious brutes, with long, curving, tree-filled, uphill fairways, bordered by very thick rough. #13 even has a "turtle-shell" green to top it off. Definitely some professional-caliber disc golf to be found here. Make sure to score well on the front nine; things get serious starting with #10.
- I had to go 4.5 discs with this review, but would put it closer to a 4 than a 5. The teepads are really bad (dirt would be better at times), and there are a lot of shorter holes that don't have much of a "wow factor". Other than that, not much to nitpick, and definitely put this on a different level than all of my other 4-discers.

14 of 15 people found this review helpful.

 

1    8/21/2010   8/23/2010
Review By: mykeg44
Played: 64  Reviewed: 44  Exp: 8.2 Years
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Rogers Lakewood is a phenomenal course over a large area of land with some great distance shots, terrific use of elevation, and unique wooded shots. The course has a very secluded feel and most of the holes are in their own area of the park with only the first two and last few playing anywhere near other park activities

The variety here is fantastic. Every tee shot is a new look and the course plays through a diverse range of areas. It starts out with two shots around a small pond, with the first requiring you to throw over it. The course then moves into a more open area for a few longer, more upen shots with trees protecting the baskets and tall grass forming rough along the fairway.

The course then gets gradually more wooded, but never goes into a fully forested area like you typically think of as a "wooded course." These wooded shots play through orchard-like areas with grass fairways. Some skillful line-shaping is needed to score well on these holes.

#14-16 was my favorite section. #14 is a top-of-the-world tee shot with a 590ft bomb down a hill with rough to the right and a patch of trees forming the fairway to the left. The next two shots play along, then up this big hill.

This place is extremely well maintained with trimmed fairways, well-defined rough, garbage cans, benches, and brick tees on many holes.
Cons: The biggest issue I had with this course was the baskets. They're old DisCatchers, and while they're still functional, many have significant rust and they do not catch as well as newer baskets.

The signs here are really nice, but I found the recommended flight path pictured on many signs to be unreliable. On many shots, the basket is not visible from the tee, so if I followed the flight path shown on the sign (instead of walking the fairway and finding the basket) I found that the angle shown on the sign was different than the actual basket placement. There are multiple pin locations shown plus I was being lazy on some holes and not walking the fairways to see the chains for myself, so I would recommend doing that.

Hole #21 plays close to a pavilion and parking lot and is really the only conflict with a non-DG area of the park. When I played there was a BBQ going on and I almost hit a car on my (bad) drive. 9 out of 10 times I'm guessing this isn't an issue though.

The few remaining rubber tees are less than ideal and were a little slippery, but I only remember a couple of these, and for the most part the tees are great.

I felt like the final 4 holes didn't live up to the rest of the course. Except #23, these holes were all shorter and more ordinary than the course's other holes. I thought #24 was a boring way to end a great course. However, these are still above average shots on most courses.
Other Thoughts: I was on the fence between a 4 and a 4.5, but the variety and fun factor here are so high, I looked past the imperfections. This ranks in the top 5 courses I've played so far.

The $5 car fee ($7 on the weekends) is well worth it. Other than the baskets, this was among the most beautifully maintained courses I've played.

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 my god my golf

1    7/28/2010   8/1/2010
Review By: bygwyllay
Played: 90  Reviewed: 78  Exp: 10.3 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Fantastic scenery throughout a massive park maintained by a $5/car fee. Signage fresh and a majourity of holes had hooks on which to hang your bag (a very unique feature!)

Start out shooting over a lilypad-filled pond, then around the skate park and into a field. Holes 6-11 are a gauntlet of tightly-wound tunnel shots - lines must be hit or you will not be happy. Beautiful ravine shot on #7, with a tight entrance. #9 is a wicked right hook over a small road. Blind holes aplenty. #10 almost made me quit - punishing rough that you cannot recover from. The course opens up quite a bit after that. HUGE hill comes into play for holes #13-16. Massive bomb down #14 might be the signature hole on this course. The last six were my favourite, under a canopy of mature trees, with a few birdie ops. I enjoyed the brick tees; a nice touch.
Cons: However several tees were just dirt or the brick had been pulled up a bit. #12s tee was a spray-painted box on a concrete path. You can get lost after #10; I ended up at #14. It took me quite a while to locate the next tees...
Other Thoughts: This was first Indiana experience, and I came away impressed. It is obvious that a lot of care is put into the course and the park as a whole. 24 holes is sometimes a chore but the layout maximizes the variety of terrain the park has to offer. I did walk into a few summer camp activities, which was a surprise. This course is extremely challenging and I would not recommend it for a first-timer. I will definitely play through again and bring others.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Excellent

2-4    7/7/2010   7/20/2010
Review By: Jax11
Played: 102  Reviewed: 35  Exp: 8.2 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - Very challenging course.
- Great distance variety.
- Good elevation.
- Well defined fairways.
- A lot of options on what to throw, does not favor a particular throwing style.
- Very scenic and beautiful.
- Interesting water hazard on hole #1 and hole #2.
- Very friendly locals that maintain a solid disc golf community.
- Small pro shop that also manages a lost and found for discs.
- Solid tee pads.
- Solid baskets.
- Solid tee signs
- Two pin positions on every hole to keep the course interesting.
- No navigation issues.
- There are hooks for your bag on every tee sign.
Cons: - Very thick rough.
- I'll say it again, the rough is thick.
- Rough has thorns.
- It is easy to lose a disc in the rough. I got careless and lost 3 in one round.
- Very few teepads were not cement or cobblestone, those could use updating.
Other Thoughts: Roger's Lakewood is a gem of a disc golf course that plays through lightly to moderately wooded terrain with some nice rolling hills. It forces you to hit lines and punishes you when you don't. It is super challenging so bring your A game if you wish to tackle this monster. The terrain is used brilliantly to make this course challenging and fun. The only drawback for me about this course is the amount of rough. It is thick and swallows discs. You can tell the local clubs have made the effort to cut trails in through it to help out the searches, but it still needs more trimming IMO. I believe going off the fairway should result in a tough next shot, but it doesn't need to be impossible to shoot and/or find your disc. Overall, I believe Roger's Lakewood is an excellent course and definitely a destination course. The only things it needs for me to push it to a 5/5 would be some major rough clearing and an indicator as to what position the basket is in on the tee signs. If you are in the area you have to hit it. With Lemon Lake only 30 minutes away you can make a great week or weekend of disc golf. It does cost $3-5 to get into the park, but nothing to play the course which helps keep the course from being swamped with people. Enjoy!

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Fun and Challenging

5+    7/8/2010   7/10/2010
Review By: agent_peebody
Played: 12  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 17.6 Years
6 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: A wide variety of hole types (open field, tight, doglegs, monster downhills, uphill). Very improved with the addition of a few holes and most of the tees are now concrete. Never the same shot from hole to hole (exception on 4 & 5). Trashcans at almost every hole, along with a place to hang bags, and a bench.
Cons: Pretty hilly, and can get rough when it's super hot. Poison ivy in the summer (AHHHH!!!).
Other Thoughts: Great course, I learned how to play on this course and I can't find one that rivals it to this day.

6 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 Rogers Lakewood Park

2-4    11/10/2008   7/10/2010
Review By: mcnal1sp
Played: 7  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 15.3 Years
0 Helpful / 12 Not
Pros: The tees are of good quality, with convenient hooks on which to hang your bag at every tee. Very scenic and provides a lot of challenging shots.
Cons: I'd say this course is geared more towards the experienced thrower who doesn't mind destroying a few discs when lumberjacking the many, many trees that riddle these fairways.
Other Thoughts: To me the course is at its most enjoyable in the winter. Call me crazy, but I've played it more times trudging through snow than I have in the summer or spring.

0 of 12 people found this review helpful.

 On the way to Lemon Lake

1    5/14/2010   5/19/2010
Review By: HuntingtonHyzer
Played: 18  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 8.1 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Nice layout.
Plenty of trashcans.
Seemed like everyhole was a different shot.
Loved the shot under the overhanging tree as well as the long sweeping downhill shot.
Local at the little shack/clubhouse, marked a map helping us find a few of the tees.
Punishes errant shots,due to very thick woods off the fairways.This can also be a con.
Also...they had hooks to hang your bags, at every tee station. With the wet conditions this was a MAJOR plus in my book.

Cons: Without assistance a few of the tees would have been difficult to find.
Lots of wet areas. We have had lots of rain, so this may not be a fair con.
Mixed teepads are ok, but some were slippery do to the rain/mud.
Other Thoughts: We played this course on the way to our weekend trip at lemon lake, and i am so glad we did. Its worth the drive. Course allows you to try every shot in your arsenal, but its not too demanding to take away the fun of the game. Will be making many more trips in the upcoming years to Rogers.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.