• Discover new ways to elevate your game with the updated DGCourseReview app!
    It's entirely free and enhanced with features shaped by user feedback to ensure your best experience on the course. (App Store or Google Play)

ACID'S DYE TUTORIAL!!!

AciDBatH666

Double Eagle Member
Aight ppl. I finally have a full dye with images of nearly every step uploaded, got a list of what you need, and I'm gonna offer my own personal tips, tricks, and whatever else I can think of to help the ppl that are having problems/issues with dyes on their own.

DISCLAIMER: I DO NOT CLAIM TO BE DYE MASTER JESUS!! There is no wrong or right way to dye a disc. There's plenty of ppl who do things differently than me and it works for them. The steps I take to dye are going to go into detail the way that I have found to work the best for me. Ive been dying discs for prolly around 8-9 months, and here are some of my tips where you can learn from my trial and error. So if you any constructive criticisms, please post them... As those other ideas may help someone who's looking for a different way to do something in particular.

First off. Items you will need.
Xacto knives-Straight blade (No. 14 I think), and a 360 degree Swivel Xacto. Just trust me, The 360 swivel one makes it so much easier.
RIT Powder. Dont bother with the liquid. It's total SH*T. Lol. Stick with the powder.
Multiple color sharpies Try to get the thinner ones. You want to draw fine lines, this is going to outline where you'll do your cutting. So you dont really want a fat tipped line. I use multiple colors to symbolize what gets cut, and what stays. So try to have at least 2 colors or so. If you plan on doing multilayers of 2+ colors, it really helps to outline the colors on your first initial drawing instead of doing it later.
acetone
old T-shirts, or old rags (To help clean up stamp removal)
metal ruler
credit card (or any card, this helps apply contact paper to disc)
pan (preferably one with handles on both sides