• Discover new ways to elevate your game with the updated DGCourseReview app!
    It's entirely free and enhanced with features shaped by user feedback to ensure your best experience on the course. (App Store or Google Play)

[Innova] Baseline plastic or less weight for easier throwing?

Meillo

Eagle Member
Hoi,

I'm a beginner and have a 175g Champion Teebird. It is too overstable for me currently, only with my best shots I manage a straight flight out of it. I'm steadily improving with my technique, thus I am sure I'll be able to throw that disc as I like to somewhen later. Until then, I would like to have the same disc but easier to throw.

What should I go for?
1) 175g DX Teebird
2) 170g Champion Teebird (or even lighter)
3) Star Teebird?

Recommendations are appreciated.

I had a similar experience with a Champ Teebird. I tried a 168 Star Teebird, a 171 DX Teebird, and a 171 Champ TL. All went straighter than the Champ Teebird. Got more distance with the DX and Star.

My best discovery when starting out was the 150 g class discs. Going with DX is your best bet since you can try out more molds for less money. The Leopard is a great choice.

Leo and TL are both great choices. I throw both. Leo is a great disc for gentle turnovers, hyzer skips (skips more than any disc I have) and TL is my primary FH disc. I just bought and S line FD that I am hoping to get to throw this weekend, often described as a longer Leo. I generally try to keep my weights in the high 160s. The past couple of months I have been throwing a 168g Opto Saint that I bought early on and couldn't get up to speed. It's a great disc for me now, as I have improved. It has become my primary driver. Maybe the Saint is worth a look for you now or in the near future.

Beginners need to go more understable first and foremost, regardless of weight. It will also teach sound form going forward.