• Discover new ways to elevate your game with the updated DGCourseReview app!
    It's entirely free and enhanced with features shaped by user feedback to ensure your best experience on the course. (App Store or Google Play)

Bracing and power pocket Check...or is it?

Snaques

Eagle Member
So I've been playing for two years now and have been practicing for a decent amount as well. On top of that I've been looking for info and trying to learn as much as possible while not on the field.

I feel like I know what I should do, but am not quite there yet. Actually, I'm at a point where I can comfortably throw 350' and max out somewhere at 380'-390'. However, I also feel that with my build as well as my athletic and motoric skill set, I should be pushing past 400', if not more.

I've tried to put emphasis on bracing and finding the power pocket. Actually based on the following image one might even think that I've done that:

Unfortunately, that is not the case since I'm very rarely feeling the snap and the distance is not there. So I was hoping you could check the following clip and let me know what I'm missing.

https://youtu.be/n6ZdvZFxfck

Opening the shoulders too early? Not shifting the weight enough? Pulling too early? :confused:

Your long stride is robbing your ability to generate more power with your hips.

Off arm (non throwing) can help by coming in tighter. Put hand over your pelvis, and it'll allow you to brace shoulders against pectoral muscles.

I would suggest the following:

1. Shorten up your plant step (~1ft.) It keeps your hips from being able to fire quickly.