• Discover new ways to elevate your game with the updated DGCourseReview app!
    It's entirely free and enhanced with features shaped by user feedback to ensure your best experience on the course. (App Store or Google Play)

Forehand and sore side

fasteddy8170

Par Member
This is about the 3rd time within the last 6 months I've tried to start to learn a forehand. Every time I try, I seem to hurt something on my body. Whereas I've been backhanding for 4 years and I've never hurt anything.

Back in February I was laid up for two days due to jamming my back while trying to throw forehand--and I wasn't even throwing hard, like 200ft. And I've never had a back issue in my life.

The time before that after 1 day of throwing I got a dull pain at the top of my right leg that wouldn't go away.

So, now that my body is feeling okay again, I thought I'd give it a try one more time. Well, this time I got a pain after about 3 throws in my oblique area--like 6 inches to the side and below my belly button. Like where your love handles are. I'm left handed and the pain is on my right side.

This is the video where it happened. Keep in mind: I know my form sucks. Well, it sucks because I've never throw forehand before. But even the lightest of flicking with just my arm makes the right side hurt. What's the deal?

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ljGnADq0PDU&feature=youtu.be

Reminds me of your BH. You start with your stance too wide and leaning back instead of maintaining posture on the rear leg and turn into the braced rear hip, your feet never leave the ground so there's no weight moving. My weight is further loaded back with a more upright stance and front foot airborne about to stride forward with the rest of my weight like a pitcher.