Form critique request

disc-golf-neil

Birdie Member
  • I started playing on 9/10/23, this video is from today. I have a racket sport background and have played A LOT of DG in these 4 weeks and have watched a lot of tournaments and form videos.
  • Both drives in this video felt the best today. I usually toe drag the back foot most of the follow through but in these drives my back foot actually came up and allowed me to follow through more fully even though I didn't think about doing that. I'm assuming it's better timing and bodyweight transfer that resulted in this naturally occuring.
  • Both drives (Tern, Roadrunner) went a little over 300 ft and were parked, which makes sense since these shots also felt the best today form-wise.

My max distance was 385 ft a week ago and I was able to break 300 ft regularly and semi-regularly get 350 ft drives, but I felt like I was muscling it so for the last week I was trying to improve my form and muscle it less, but now I rarely get above 320 ft. I also changed my grip from locking knuckles to curling knuckles and improved the nose angle by aligning the disc lower (between the index and middle finger). I don't think the grip change caused a loss of power.

I think while changing my form, I just accidentally messed up my timing and started reaching back and coiling as soon as my back foot landed for the x step, but in the linked video, I tried to start the reach back later and it seemed to help a lot, but it still seems like I'm missing power.

Some things I think I need to improve are:
  1. More closed brace foot, I have a tendency to open it a little. Probably as a precaution because a few times my foot didn't pivot accidentally and I twisted my knee.
  2. Brace foot more in front of back foot instead of aligned. I think I did this in the video a bit, but I might need to do it more.