• Discover new ways to elevate your game with the updated DGCourseReview app!
    It's entirely free and enhanced with features shaped by user feedback to ensure your best experience on the course. (App Store or Google Play)

Good overstable putter

dyepb_16

I'm looking for an overstable putter to throw off the tee. Right now if I throw a putter off the tee it's either my pro-d magnet or my crosshair and both are way to floppy. So what have you guys found to be some nice overstable putters for driving. If it helps at all I usually throw a nuke off the tee pad for any kind of normal drive.

I've read a lot of people hand pick discs and look for a less domey disks when they want more overstable, but I don't know what would be more or less domey for each disk. Thanks for any input I've only been playing for a few months so I'm still learning a bunch.

Super overstable - Zone
Overstable - Banger GT, Rhyno, VP, Wizard
Slightly overstable - Ridge

Those are the ones I'm more familiar with, at least. There are a whooooole lot more.

I throw a CryZtal Challenger off of the tee. It will go 300 on pretty much any line I want as long as I throw it properly. I love the amazing consistent flight that it provides. Definitely one of the most consistent discs I have ever thrown. The one I throw has a little bit of a shoulder to it, but then is super flat on top.

From most to least stable, my putters (I drive with all of them) are:
ESP Zone
Pro-D Zone
SP Reef
D Reef
Soft APX

Esp is crazy stable, D Zone is stable with a strong finish. SP Reef is stable with a straight finish, D Reef and Soft APX are a tick understable.

KC Pro Aviar and DX Big Bead Aviars can be fairly overstable when new.

I throw those, along with an esp Zone which is crazy overstable. I hesitate to call the Zone a putter as it feels faster because of how stable it is; it will go straight for a bit if you power up, but always fades hard.

Wizard, Challenger, or Avair.