• Discover new ways to elevate your game with the updated DGCourseReview app!
    It's entirely free and enhanced with features shaped by user feedback to ensure your best experience on the course. (App Store or Google Play)

GPS and Disc Golf

trimixjoe

I am new to the game and went to a course recently that was poorly marked. I am also interested in getting my town interested in having are own course (Tinley Park, Illinois).
I got this light bulb of an idea to use my GPS and Google Earth to map out a course and it works really good! I can easily measure holes and print out an aerial view of the course for later on use.

What do you think? I am sure many have already done this...

Lasers work better. But you can get very close in distance with a decent gps. Should work.

GPS will not work so well in dense woods, either.

I have a buddy who goes geocaching and had 3 Garmins break on him... 3! Just a warning, they don't make em' like they used to. He actually posts here.

My Lowrance GPS has a guarantee accuracy up to 10-5 feet. You would be close enough with a decent one.

I am new to the game and went to a course recently that was poorly marked. I am also interested in getting my town interested in having are own course (Tinley Park, Illinois).
I got this light bulb of an idea to use my GPS and Google Earth to map out a course and it works really good! I can easily measure holes and print out an aerial view of the course for later on use.

What do you think? I am sure many have already done this...

Lasers work better. But you can get very close in distance with a decent gps. Should work.