• Discover new ways to elevate your game with the updated DGCourseReview app!
    It's entirely free and enhanced with features shaped by user feedback to ensure your best experience on the course. (App Store or Google Play)

Noob in North Cackalacky needs a little help

Rastnav

Double Eagle Member
Bronze level trusted reviewer
Greetings from the great Tar Heel state of North Carolina. Not born here, but raised up since about 1976.

So, I'm basically a noob to disc golf. I'd thrown a disc at some courses a time or two, but never had anything that wasn't a starter pack disc. Found an old DX Leopard in the garage when I was cleaning up and basically discovered the actual sport just before the lockdowns took hold as something that would get me out of the house and active. I think "Champs vs. Chumps" sealed for me that this was something I should put time into. I can't really explain it, but it made me feel really happy to see that kind of interaction in a sport.

I envy all of you that have found this thing much earlier than I, and I hope that when things go back to normal I can experience some of the community that seems to be endemic to the sport.

The course closest to me is Cornwallis Road Park in Durham, NC. That's now closed due to the lockdown, but the UNC course is open.

The Cornwallis course is one that you can easily get around with only a putter. It's very technical, with lots of narrow lanes, most holes under 200, and just three over 200, max 225. I basically throw a putter, one stable mid-range and one understable mid-range. I think my PB is 3 down from the shorter (red) tees. I got a really satisfying ace (my one and only) on hole 4 that's only 114, slightly uphill, with two sturdy pine trees framing the basket. Threw it straight into the basket.